2019
Hyundai
Kona

Overall Rating 4.54/5Overall Rating 4.54/5Overall Rating 4.54/5Overall Rating 4.54/5rating 4.54
4.5
(13 Reviews)
Latest review about 20 hours ago
Category Summary (Avg. out of 10)
  • Value
  • Features
  • Build Quality
  • Fun
  • Reliability
  • Performance
  • Exterior
  • Comfort
  • Interior
  • Styling

VD
Victor D.
2019 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
03/22/2019
Love it
I own the Ultimate and i love it. The gas mileage and safety sensor features are great. Love Bluelink, but pissed i have to pay so much to maintain it after my 3 years are up. I hope this car is built to kast as i wanted low gas mileage and durability, so lets see...
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

TR
Tim R.
2019 Hyundai Kona
Overall Rating 1/5rating 1rating 1rating 1rating 1
03/22/2019
Great Car, Crappy Service!
My wife, and I were out car shopping, and I had done my research on cars I wanted to buy. Didn't know that after the test drives, I wouldn't like any of them. My wife suggested Hyundai, so we stopped into Underriners in Billings MT. (160 miles away from us). We have had 3 Hyundai's in our family, so while I was skeptical, I was open minded about it. We looked at a couple cars, and then saw the Kona. We fell in love with it, and purchased it on the spot, even though it didn't have a few features that I really wanted like Navigation. Here's where it gets interesting. The dealership had the Kona limited listed for 27,000 (ish), but immediately pulled the car around, and threw away the window sticker. While we sat there, they didn't once talk about price, but rather payments, and warranty (6000 dollar warranty) at any rate I didn't go for the whole warranty, but rather part of it. This was on a Saturday, and on Monday, I called the dealership because I had done some research, and found there was an Ultimate that had all the features I wanted. The dealership told me there was nothing they could do at this point. (Didn't bother to tell me that Hyundai has a 3 day Shopper assurance return/upgrade program. This must really be just a gimmick) So I had an appointment the following weekend to have some things done to the car, and when I got there I talked more about trading the car. They told me that it had depreciated by 10,000 dollars, and it would cost me 4000.00 out of pocket, and my financing would go up the rest. WOW, a car depreciates 10,000 dollars with less than 600 miles on it? (160 each way just to the dealership) Well I was upset, and returned the warranty at this point, and went home. When my first payment was due, I noticed that the amount I owed was 32,000 (and some change). So my total price went up 5000 dollars, even though I returned the warranty? Well, Then I decided to get a little deeper into my loan agreement. They had increased the car price to 29,000 (and some change), and lowered the warranty price by more than half, and of course that limited the warranties effectiveness anyways, so I'm glad I returned it. So all in all the car is just fine, but not all of what we had originally been looking for, and lacking features that we would have been more happy with, but were never told about. Since we are not rich, we can not just eat the cost, and get what we wanted in the first place, so we are stuck with a car that cost too much, and we can never get close to a decent return on, so we can't even sell it to recoup the cost of Underriners cheating us out of our money. I would not recommend buying a Hyundai ever. Sure they are making great cars, but the dealerships where they sell them will lie, and cheat to oversell you out of your hard earned money.

Pros
Great Car

Cons
Poor service

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

MP
Margaret P.
2019 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
03/18/2019
The Kona is grrreat
I drive a lot and the gas mileage is better
Than advertised. In the snow it holds the road and zooms up the hills where I live.
All in all 1 complaint, no rear windshield washer squirter. Love my bright orange Kona.

Pros
It looks and drives like a sport
Car. Good gas mileage. Like the back up camera and CarPlay.

Cons
Passengers in the back feel the bumps.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

LH
Leticia H.
2019 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
03/18/2019
Love my Kona!
I love my Kona. It has all the features I requested in a vehicle. The exterior is dmsll but the interior has a lot of space. It has safety features. I know that I will be safe. It's great for driving during winter weather. I never got stuck in the snow or didn't slid on the ice. It started without problems in the frigid cold weather. I love the style and the way it looks. The Ko a was my first choice. I am happy I purchased it
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

CG
Charmaine G.
2019 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
03/13/2019
Kona
I have driven a Hyundai for years my last car was a sonata 2012 and I have never really wanted to drive a SUV however when I went into the dealership to trade my car in the sales person showed me and allowed me to test drive the Kona which is not to me like a suv but more like a cross over I love it and then I expressed that I was gonna retire in a few months and only wanted to pay a certain amount and they worked it out for me and it is great on gas so it all worked out thanks to the team and or staff at the dealership thanks Jennifer
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

SD
Sharon D.
2019 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
03/08/2019
Hyundai Kona
I purchased the Kona on December. 27, 2018 and I love my Kona. The gas mileage is great. I do a lot of highway traveling and am very pleased with this vehicle. I have already put 4800 miles on my vehicle.

Pros
The menu screen is big, body style, mileage.

Cons
No email alert on phone system, manual trunk opening.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

DN
Deborah N.
2019 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5rating 3rating 3
02/26/2019
2019 Kona
I love the look of this Vehicle, especially the red with black contrast, except that it doesn't come with power seats, and the other bells and whistles. Not enough power, also I like having the GPS built in without using my phone. I'm sorry that I gave up my 2011 Santa Fe for this.

Pros
Nice exterior Look

Cons
To Small...Need to be able to purchase contrast with power seats, sunroof, and more power (6 cylinder).

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

AG
Andrew G.
2019 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
02/22/2019
Andy G
The 1.6 Turbo has excellent power and gas mileage. It can accelerate in a heartbeat. It can turn on a dime. Excellent for turning in tight spaces. It does take bumps a little hard. I wonder if it is because of the 18 inch wheels. The ride is very comfortable other than that. The technology is excellent. It is a beautiful looking vehicle. The interior is very nice, but a height adjustment on the passenger seat would benefit a shorter person.

Pros
Acceleration capability. Absolutely amazing. Great gas mileage. Uses regular gas.

Cons
Hard on bumps. Passenger seat is low for a shorter person.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

CP
Charlie P.
2019 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
02/21/2019
highly impressed with kona
the kona is the top the line.it has speed ,good braking ,an acelation.the front warning works, the sides work.backing out works great it warns you oars. i drove it for 650 in one day. the car was not bad on my body.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

EE
Elaine E.
2019 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
02/16/2019
Love it
Had it only one day but so far I love it. Seems like it will be good on gas. Comfortable to drive. Love the safety features. Lower to the ground than most SUVs that I’ve driven which is great for me since I’m short.

Pros
Design inside and out. Safety features and comfort

Cons
None so far

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

RS
Roxana S.
2019 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
01/17/2019
awesome
very sporty, comfortable, to drive, love the looks of it, I like tat it is all wheel and four wheel drive, love the features on the Kona, especially the mph, coming up on the dash board. That is a very cool feature

Pros
4 wheel, all wheel drive

Cons
none

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JS
John S.
2019 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
01/10/2019
Really enjoy this car
for being the least trim level there is quite a bit of tech, sorry I didn't go for a higher trim lever like the SEL, I didn't know about the EV that should be on peoples shopping list for that type of Vehicle
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JL
James L.
2019 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
12/29/2018
Hyundai kona 2019 sel 2.0 engine
Put my first 1000 miles on. Solid, comfortable vehicle. For me knowing AWD when needed is all the difference in the world. Travel a lot in mountains to San Jose area, winter time it’s a big plus. Getting a solid 32 to 34 mpg, not even broke in yet. That’s traveling 71mph generally. Happy with car.

Pros
So far great.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling
Displaying all 13 reviews