Carson Valley Import Auto


Overall Rating 4.87/5Overall Rating 4.87/5Overall Rating 4.87/5Overall Rating 4.87/5rating 4.87

67 Reviews

97% Would Recommend
Latest Review 3 days ago
David H. on 11/20/2017
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
David said the staff were competent and they did what they said they would do. He was happy with the service.
Vehicle: Mercedes-Benz 300D
Category: Service
Service Date: 11/10/2017
Review Created: 11/20/2017
This review was collected via phone interview by Customer Research Inc.
Diane D. on 11/16/2017
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
"Accomodating"
Came in for an oil change and tie rotation. Was going to wait since I had no ride. They seem to drop everything and get my car or ASAP.. Thank you
Vehicle: Audi Q5
Service Date: 11/16/2017
Review Created: 11/16/2017 09:10 PM
Paul G. on 11/13/2017
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
Paul said the service was good.
Vehicle: Porsche 911
Category: Service
Service Date: 11/06/2017
Review Created: 11/13/2017
This review was collected via phone interview by Customer Research Inc.
Greg Z., President at Carson Valley Import Auto responded on 11/16/2017

Hi Paul,

Thanks for bringing your Porsche in to us for your recent steering repairs. 
It was a pleasure doing business with you and we look forward to seeing you again in the future.

Greg Zink

Owner
775 392 3311
Maria G. on 11/04/2017
Recommended badge inactive Recommended
Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5rating 3rating 3
Maria said the business advised her that the work on her vehicle would take 1 day, but it took them 4 days to diagnose the problem. In addition, they were not able to finish the work., and the prices kept changing.
Vehicle: Mercedes-Benz ML430
Category: Service
Service Date: 11/02/2017
Review Created: 11/04/2017
This review was collected via phone interview by Customer Research Inc.
Greg Z., President at Carson Valley Import Auto responded on 11/16/2017

Maria,
You bought your 18 year old Mercedes into us with a very intermittent transmission shifting symptom that is only present for the first few miles of driving from a cold start in the mornings. There were too many trouble codes stored in your car's computers to begin with and therefore we had to clear all codes and let sit overnight and start from a clean beginning. The immediate returning code was for a faulty electrical component internal to the transmission and we accurately diagnosed this part as being faulty. We gave you an estimate to replace the part and you authorized the replacement knowing that the part was the root cause of the problem and may not necessarily cure the shifting problem, but was the first step to take before further diagnosis could take place. We ordered the part overnight and installed it on day two. The transmission fill procedure requires the trans to be at a hot running temperature and therefore we couldn't drive from cold to verify if symptoms had gone on the same day. Day three we ran it from cold and found the shifting issue to momentarily reappear but disappeared as soon as we could read test data on our computer. Day four we were able to extract data from the transmission computer and determine that while we fixed the root cause of your transmission shifting problem by replacing the faulty electrical component, there was long term damage caused by you driving the car this way for so long.  You had this car at another shop that couldn't figure out the issue. It would have been nice for you to come clean about the history of this car. Investigation by our shop revealed that you bought the car from somebody that abused the car by not performing the necessary services and repairs and now you are bitter at us. Not cool. We gave you discounted diagnosis time and a recommendation to a local business that rebuilds transmissions.
You agreed to one hour diagnosis time, then after diagnosis was performed you agreed to to the cost of repairs. The prices did not keep changing. I'm sorry that having your car for four days was unacceptable in your view.

Greg Zink

Owner
775 392 3311
Eric J. on 10/24/2017
Recommended badge inactive Recommended
Overall Rating 2/5Overall Rating 2/5rating 2rating 2rating 2
Eric said this business did not fix the initial problem he brought his vehicle in for and they did not express any interest in looking for the reason behind his problem. They were throwing parts at it and they did not fix the problem. They charged him $1500 and they did not do anything.
Vehicle: Audi A3
Category: Service
Service Date: 09/26/2017
Review Created: 10/24/2017
This review was collected via phone interview by Customer Research Inc.
Greg Z., President at Carson Valley Import Auto responded on 11/16/2017

False and misleading information from Eric.   Eric booked his Audi A3 in for scheduled maintenance that he requested over the phone.  Eric was given an estimate over the phone at least a week ahead of time for an amount of $490.01   When Eric dropped his car off he added that the car had a vibration at a particular road speed and RPM and was adamant that the aftermarket wheels fitted to the car was not the cause of the described vibration. Eric asked us to diagnose and report back to him with what we found if anything. We drove his car and confirmed the vibration was there (we thought it was wheel and tire combo causing the vibration contrary to customers comments), we inspected the suspension and steering finding nothing worn out that could contribute to the the vibration. Our very experienced Eurocar technician found excessive engine movement when put in gear and engine accelerated, and upon investigation found a collapsed right side engine mount and a torn rubber bushing for the engine torque mount. I myself called Eric and explained what we found and specifically told him that while the mounts were in poor condition, they might not be the cause of the vibration. Eric decided that he wanted the three engine mounts replaced regardless, and after being given the estimate of $748.34 and approving it we proceeded with the replacement of the mounts.  The revised total for the requested service and engine mount replacement totaled out at $1,238.35  Eric also received a 10% discount ($62.00) off labor. My math shows he paid $1,170.35  NOT  $1,500.00 as claimed.
Apparently Eric still had a vibration when he called me a week or two later and when I tried to set an appointment with him to look at his car again at no cost decided to take his car elsewhere. I was more than obliging to look at his car.
Eric's comment of "throwing parts at the car" is insulting to me and my business.  We do not throw parts at any cars. We are a reputable business that specializes in servicing European cars. We attend Audi, BMW and other factory schooling and have certificates to prove it.  Please stay in Reno and enjoy shop hopping up there. You are not welcome here anymore. 

Greg Zink
Owner
775 392 3311
Lee J. on 09/30/2017
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
Lee said Larry was outstanding, she said she liked how courteous and professional he was.
Vehicle: Mercedes-Benz E350
Category: Service
Service Date: 09/27/2017
Review Created: 09/30/2017
This review was collected via phone interview by Customer Research Inc.
Rene H. on 09/29/2017
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
"Oil change"
Skilled mechanics. They know their german cars.
Vehicle: Volkswagen GTI
Service Date: 09/27/2017
Review Created: 09/29/2017 08:42 PM
Gary W. on 08/31/2017
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
Gary said this business provided good service at a fair price. It was great service. They were accommodating and they got them in and out the door quickly.
Vehicle: BMW 5 Series
Category: Service
Service Date: 08/28/2017
Review Created: 08/31/2017
This review was collected via phone interview by Customer Research Inc.
Ron R. on 08/25/2017
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
Ron said they were excellent and they worked on diesel vehicles. They were very nice and he thanked them for their work.
Vehicle: Mercedes-Benz 300SD
Category: Service
Service Date: 08/17/2017
Review Created: 08/25/2017
This review was collected via phone interview by Customer Research Inc.
Todd M. on 08/23/2017
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
Todd said they have good service, good customer service, and a good response.
Vehicle: Audi Q5
Category: Service
Service Date: 08/17/2017
Review Created: 08/23/2017
This review was collected via phone interview by Customer Research Inc.
Ray T. on 08/08/2017
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
"VW Service"
Excellent service. Has done a great job on all of my VWs. Very fair pricing.
Vehicle: Volkswagen Passat
Service Date: 08/07/2017
Review Created: 08/08/2017 08:44 PM
Don S. on 08/08/2017
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
Don said they always do a good job here. He was talking about getting a brake job done. Larry called him back and told him they had already done that brake job for him. Most facilities wouldn't have told him and would have charged him again. He thanked them for a job well done.
Vehicle: Audi A6
Category: Service
Service Date: 08/02/2017
Review Created: 08/08/2017
This review was collected via phone interview by Customer Research Inc.
Steve K. on 07/25/2017
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
"Dealer couldn't get it done. Local shop works it's Magic "
Took our 2014 S6 into the dealer for some recall work. It also had a Check Engine light on so we figured we'd have the dealer check it out while it was there. $600 and a week later, the problem was not fixed and their next exploratory strategy was going to cost us $2700 with no guarantee of the problem being fixed. We decided $600 was enough exploring for us. We took it to our favorite local shop, Carson Valley Import Auto.

2 days and $1700 later the problem was solved. Larry's a Wizard!
Vehicle: Audi S6
Service Date: 07/13/2017
Review Created: 07/25/2017 11:56 AM
John F. on 07/25/2017
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
John said this business provided good service.
Vehicle: Audi Q5
Category: Service
Service Date: 07/21/2017
Review Created: 07/25/2017
This review was collected via phone interview by Customer Research Inc.
Kathleen L. on 07/23/2017
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
Kathleen said this business is great. They are responsible, timely, reasonably priced, and do good work.
Vehicle: Volkswagen Beetle
Category: Service
Service Date: 07/13/2017
Review Created: 07/23/2017
This review was collected via phone interview by Customer Research Inc.
ROLAND W. on 07/22/2017
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
"close by"
friendly people, and I feel they are competent.
Vehicle: BMW X5
Service Date: 06/29/2017
Review Created: 07/22/2017 09:19 PM
Jane Z. on 07/22/2017
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
Spoke with Muriel. She said the business is very efficient and thorough. They explained everything and they had a good price.
Vehicle: Mercedes-Benz C280
Category: Service
Service Date: 07/21/2017
Review Created: 07/22/2017
This review was collected via phone interview by Customer Research Inc.
Cindy J. on 07/21/2017
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
Cindy said this business is excellent.
Vehicle: BMW X3
Category: Service
Service Date: 06/29/2017
Review Created: 07/21/2017
This review was collected via phone interview by Customer Research Inc.
Rene H. on 07/16/2017
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
"Awesome service. Quick and accurate diagnosing of my oil leak of 2008 VW GTI"
This was my 3rd mechanic for my oil leak and they were able to fix it quickly and correctly. Should have taken my car here first. They gained a new customer for my other Audi.
Vehicle: Volkswagen GTI
Service Date: 07/14/2017
Review Created: 07/16/2017 12:21 PM
Dawn E. on 07/10/2017
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
"Summer oil change for Rover"
As always, Larry and Greg accommodated me for my Range Rover Sport needs. I drive aggressively and I'm pretty tough on the Rover including frequent jaunts to Tahoe and So Cal so the mountain roads or Hwy 395 exceeding the speed limit, the guys really give the SUV what it needs to continually perform.
Vehicle: Land Rover Range Rover Sport
Service Date: 07/07/2017
Review Created: 07/10/2017 08:38 PM
Displaying Review 1 - 20 of 67 in total