Steve Os Automotive


Overall Rating 4.11/5Overall Rating 4.11/5Overall Rating 4.11/5Overall Rating 4.11/5rating 4.11

9 Reviews

78% Would Recommend
Latest Review almost 6 years ago

Donald B. on 10/18/2011
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
"My Chevy Blazere"
This place is great, They always keep my Blazer running perfectly!!!
Service Date: 10/17/2011
Review Created: 10/18/2011 09:11 AM
Brian L. on 09/16/2011
Recommended badge inactive Recommended
Overall Rating 1/5rating 1rating 1rating 1rating 1
"not getting my recommendation "
Been to the shop a few times but wont be back.
Had to get some work redone, it was under the 1 year warranty. I called at 1:30 next day to see if the car was done. I was told it was. I went and picked up my spouse early from work so we could scoop up the car, went to the shop and was told the car needed some more serious work. Donald the owner put a scare in to my spouse that she could die if we didn't get it done. When I asked how much this would run, an estimate appeared within 60 seconds. It was already printed out before hand but when I spoke to Donald a few hours later the car was supposed to already have been done so i never received a call back telling me the car actually wasn't done and could use some more work. So now my spouse loses work time, we have to pay extra for the rental car and I'm faced with a choice of spending another $1050 on repairs to a car worth about $1500. I mull it over for a day, price out the parts and they are $150 cheaper if I pick them up from autozone myself.
I go back and ask Donald if he can give me a break on the $500 in labor he's charging since his labor rate has gone up from $50 last year to $68 10 months later. He gets offended and asks me "if I want to pay his rent" and "if I "expect my mechanic to work for free?" I was taken aback by that. No I don't expect someone to work for free but I'm 100% sure there is some wiggle room on $500 in labor, especially to a repeat customer. So since he is unwavering on the $500 in labor, and is rude to me I pay the current bill of $50 for some diagnostic charge and go to start my car.
The car wont start, the battery is 2 months old. I jump it myself (as the owner Donald says to me in a snottily tone " good luck with that" and then when i start it he says "your tire is shaking") and i plan on coming back with my significant other later and want to make sure it runs. So we come back later in the day and its dead again.

I jump the car again and we leave.

I would never usually fill out a review like this but since this link was sent to me by this shop, here is my review.

I will not be recommending this shop to anymore of my friends and was completely insulted when asking for a break on the labor (which has gone up about 35% in 9 or 10 months, then having the owner asking me if I wanted to pay his rent, then throwing a scare in to my SO that she could die if she drives the car without getting the work done and the kicker was when the car now wont even start.
Service Date: 09/15/2011
Review Created: 09/16/2011 09:04 AM
Donald B. at Steve Os Automotive responded on 09/19/2011
Brian, as a return customer i was absolutely affording you the best price possible on automotive repair, and when you ask me honestly if the major repairs needed on the front steering and suspension parts for your car are critical for mainting control of your vehicle, i would state yes, yes, yes, a thousand times so again and again. As for the battery issue, I asked you if you would like for me to check that out for you and your response is that it is a brand new battery, and that you had this.... of course my response is going to be good luck with that, what would you rather me tell you? As for reducing my already low labor rate to accomodate the fact that you do not properly maintain your vehicle, I can only say to you that I have a definate cost of doing business, and I HAVE to charge that much for labor or I wont be able to keep my doors open, hence the reason for asking you if you would like to pay the rent? If I give away the labor to repair your car, how do I pay the rent? I do wish you good luck in the future with all your automotive repair needs. Donald Boyer
Donna S. on 09/07/2011
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
"Simply the best!"
Don and his crew have worked tiredlessly on my mom's Nissan Altima. They are friendly and very helpful. They will always go out of their way to help you understand what is wrong with the vehicle andgive the best price for it. I have watched the business grow and would recommend his services to anyone!
Service Date: 09/02/2011
Review Created: 09/07/2011 02:12 PM
Mark S. on 09/06/2011
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
"Oil Change Service"
Steve Os Automotive was thorough and fair in the service they provided.
Service Date: 08/18/2011
Review Created: 09/06/2011 09:06 AM
Mike D. on 08/29/2011
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
"Auto Repair"
I like Steve Os Automotive Team. Donald is great to talk to and takes the time to answer my questions and explain what needs to be done to fix the problem. I have four cars and will not let anyone but Stevo Os team to work on them.
Service Date: 08/02/2011
Review Created: 08/29/2011 07:39 AM
Valued Customer on 08/08/2011
Recommended badge inactive Recommended
Overall Rating 1/5rating 1rating 1rating 1rating 1
"Re-occurring problem"
The crew at Steve O's have no concept of communicating with their customer. I had my vehicle in ,for the same issue, on three separate occassion al within a period of month's time before the repair was done right. During the last visit the windshield of the vehicle was broken (and replaced at no cost to me), however no one at Steve O's felt it necessary to tell me that a mishap occurred. I only found out when I noticed remnants of glass on the glass and dash. When I called and asked what happened I was not to offered an apology for being told upfront, but instead Donald suggested that instead of assuming the cost of replacement for damage caused by a mechanic's carelessness, that he would charge for the repair of the damage.
Although this rating gives one star (there is no allowance for zero stars) Steve O's is not a place to go for your automotive repairs.
Service Date: 06/18/2011
Review Created: 08/08/2011 08:08 AM
Donald B. at Steve Os Automotive responded on 08/09/2011
In response to this review, I would like to respond to this review in sections, in the first address of the vehicle being in the shop three times for the same thing, I would remind you that when the original repair of the A/C was found to be the issue on the final test drive of the vehicle for a different repair, we asked you if you wanted us to address the A/C issue because it was under warranty with Steve O’s. The problem with the vehicle being in two more subsequent times for the same issue is not a fault of Steve O’s, but merely a manufacturing defect problem with our supplier. As I explained to you during the repair process, and after receiving this poor review, this vehicle was in our shop for poor manufacturing of NEW parts, not because we in some way did the service incorrectly. I would also address that as part of the process, you in turn received additional free parts, upgrading you’re A/C system further, at NO cost to you. To address the replacement of your windshield, the issue that had happened was a liability of something that we, at the shop, directly had control over, and had we pulled the van out of the way when we were servicing components overhead, we would have averted the mishap altogether, taking full responsibility for the direct actions of my employees and our subcontractors, we here at Steve O’s replaced the windshield with a brand new unit, not a used unit that could have been purchased through a wrecking yard to save money, but a NEW and INSTALLED at NO cost to you unit. Reflecting back on it now and after discussing it with you on the phone, I do see your point about the fact that we should have mentioned something about it, but at the time we felt we were doing the correct thing in the replacement of the piece, and never thought to bring the customer into the picture, heck the way we seen it at the time was, you (the customer) didn’t break it, why bother you with it. It was never our intentions to ever hide the fact from you; in fact when you did call we were forthright with our answers to you reflecting the events that led up to the windshield damage. In closing I say this with a heavy heart, I feel that we here at Steve O’s Automotive have went above and beyond in both our repair process by sticking up to the parts manufacturers and demanding them to better the situation, by making sure that your vehicle left our shop in same or better condition than when it was dropped off, lastly when I made the offhanded comment of wanting to charge you for the windshield, I was being comical in nature, as I did not want to offend you as it seems I have done now regardless, I was merely trying to lighten the mood as is my nature, but having been caught off guard with the conversation from the start, I now see that it was not taken as such. To you I offer apology for the feelings of being kept in the dark, but looking at it now I realize that it was embarrassment that I felt for things that I had very little control over, and since then we here at Steve O’s have rectified those situations that would breed the same kind of problem.
Gina T. on 08/06/2011
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
"Made me like my car again!"
Location location location! Just kidding, but I'd drive 500 miles to get there if I had to, it's never been easy for single women to deal with car repairs, they see us coming and see dollar signs. Steve O's saved me hundreds, and I will continue to be faithful to this shop forever. It's the least I can do to repay them for their integrity. Oh, and my car runs like new! I've never noticed a difference in the way it runs until Steve O's did their magic on it. Thanks Steve O's, keep up the good work, you are outstanding!
Service Date: 06/08/2011
Review Created: 08/06/2011 12:06 PM
Donald B. on 07/26/2011
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
"Great Service"
Thank You sooooo much for the wonderful service on my front brakes, they stop great!
Service Date: 07/25/2011
Review Created: 07/26/2011 12:02 PM
Arturo R. on 07/19/2011
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
"changed oil"
the owner Donald was very friendly and helpful.
Service Date: 07/18/2011
Review Created: 07/19/2011 11:56 PM
Donald B. at Steve Os Automotive responded on 07/25/2011
Hey Arturo, Thanks for the review, we appreciate it greatly!
Displaying all 9 Review