ReScore Reviews™ (1)
Rockville, MD 20852
When the front desk representative came back he informed me they’re no longer accepting purchased Groupons for their business because “they’re just not making enough money off them.” Furthermore, they “really just use Groupon to advertise.”
Where do I begin with everything that’s wrong with this? I asked the representative “so your sales tactic is to lure people into your auto shop by offering them a deal on Groupon without having any real intention of actually honoring it?”
I received an irrelevant response and the the representative repeated what his manager instructed him to say behind closed doors.
Let me offer some small business advice. If you want to experiment with an online platform like Groupon to grow your business but it doesn’t workout because you priced the product wrong then fine, you write that off as a failed attempt to grow your business BUT you honor your contract with Groupon and the clients who already purchased the deal until they have all been claimed or expire.
This manager didn’t even have the guts to come and provide an explanation to my face. Instead he hid out of view and forced a kid working the front desk to do his so his dirty work because he probably knew this was a totally unacceptable and extremely poor business practice.
I am extremely sympathetic towards the real and current struggle COVID-19 is having on small businesses, but this bait and switch business tactic needs to be warned to every patron considering giving this auto shop business.
I Took my car (I am the original owner and had the car for FOUR years and have performed all services in accordance to the manufactures recommendation) to this shop for semi-syntactic oil change I had purchased through Groupon. I had made an appointment, in detail had explained to the shop manager Jim Clark, what kind of car it was and that I needed semi-syntactic oil Chang which he did object to. My drive there and back is short of 40 miles and one hour drive !!!!
About 10 minutes after I left the shop, Jim Clark called me to say that my car can ONLY use full-syntactic oil. I told him that I had changed oil for the past four years and the its in accordance with the Honda dealership. He said NO- the owner had said No and that only full-synthetic must be used. I called Honda dealership service dept and I got the name of the service consultant (Orlando- Rockville) and then went to the shop. I told jim Clark that I can sign a waiver so they do semi-s oil change for me- He said owner will not do that. Told Jim to call the owner and let me talk to him on the phone. He said NO, I make the decisions. I started to dial the Honda dealership service dep. again and told Jim Clark that we are going to do a conference call or I will put the Honda service manager on the speaker and we can ask him if my car qualifies for semi-syntactic oil change or not. Jim said NO and that he will not talk to them because it is not necessary !! He said, call Groupon and get your money back!
I told him, that I had come a long way and needed to complete the task so how much would it be to get full synthetic oil change and to get me out of here. He said pay $90 (I had paid $20 for semi-syntactic).
Now, I had no doubt that this was "absolutely a scam and a bait and switch" work to rip off a customer who has already taken the time to be there!!
Next, We calmly asked Jim if the 0-20 type oil they use states on the bottle any recommendation. Jim began to raise his voice very loudly , started to yell and scream at us in a threatening way for us to get the hell out of the shop because he will not do the oil change no matter what !! The fact that the shop was almost empty of customers with previous unfavorable feedback's should have set an alarm.
If Groupon continues to allow bad clients like Charles Automotive and Tire in Rockville MD for sake of a few bucks continue to do business through Gropon, that they are no better than this scammers.
RUN...........................RUN anywhere you see name of this shop, the shop manager Jim Clark and or the owner Garry Mandelson if he does not fire Jim immediately.
Charles Automotive shop refused to accept Group on oil change that was pre paid claiming that was oil change is not for our car oil type.
We contacted The car dealer to tell them they car use the type of oil for our car & Jim Clark refused to talk to dealership or providing service with group on coupon that we already paid for.
Jim Clark in addition threatened the customers and refused to show the oil type that this mechanic shop is using .
This oil change shop will not honor their own coupons sold with group on and the group on is just a front for stirring people into the shop then get more money in top of Groupon coupons that they have sold which is usually is invalidated by their standards .
Thank you for the review. I'm sorry we could not honor the Groupon offer you presented us today. We offered two oil change options on Groupon. One offer was for a semi-synthetic oil change and the other for a synthetic oil change. You purchased a semi-synthetic oil change package from Groupon. Your 2016 Honda HR-V uses synthetic 0W-20 engine oil. We can not install an correct engine oil in any vehicle due to the liability that would create. We would be happy to perform the oil change with the correct oil for an additional fee. Please let me know if this is something you would like us to do.
Thank you again for your input,
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent visit to Charles Automotive & Tire. I appologize for us not being as up front about the additonal charges for your 2013 Toyota Seinna. In the fine print of the offer; additional fees for premium or specialty filters and up to 5 quarts of oil. Your vehicle requires 6 quarts of oil and a specialty, cartridge engine oil filter.
We trust you will consider us the next time your van nees service.