Overview

Overall Rating 4.25/5Overall Rating 4.25/5Overall Rating 4.25/5Overall Rating 4.25/5rating 4.25

16 Reviews

81% Would Recommend
Latest Review 30 days ago

Reviews


HP
HENRY P.
Panama City Beach, FL
Overall Rating 1/5rating 1rating 1rating 1rating 1
09/19/2018
Gears Transmissions---- Horrific treatment and much worse repairs (2615 Canal St Panama City Fla.)
"Gears Transmissions of 2615 Canal St, Panama City Fl. 32405" ruined my pristine 2006 Honda van and charged me $6400.00 cash up front for the destruction they caused!
They prey on elderly people with the ability to pay.
They do not take credit cards to avoid taxes and credit card company intervention.
They "rebuilt" rebuilt the transmission twice and broke the motor mounts and heat shield on re installation.
Gears did not know how to adjust shift lever, it takes several times moving the lever back and forth to get the key out of the ignition. My wife cannot drive this unsafe van, We can't take the van out of town for fear of not making it back.
I wrote them a letter demanding my money back. They have not responded. Their "Lifetime warranty" is a worthless piece of paper. It has been a year and a half for me nursing this "Pristine" van around in the local area. Gears Transmissions, for $6400 has made my pristine Honda van worthless.

Maybe this will help someone else avoid being taken to "the cleaners" by Gears Transmissions.


Another scammed victims horror story:

March 28, 2013 | Stephanie | Visited, over a year
November 14 2012 I took my car to AAMCO (GEARS) for transmission work. My first impression upon meeting Jay, the owner, was that he was very honest and trustworthy. Jay spoke very often about GOD and how he aims to please his customers, he rents vehicles for his customers for the inconvenience of not having their vehicles during the repair time and that he stands behind his work... and so on. Hearing him speak this way made it easy for me to leave my vehicle here for the repair so the next day I returned. First off Jay wanted me to pay him upfront for the repairs which I felt was a little bit unusual but feeling confident about my decision to hire him as my mechanic I did. AAMCO (GEARS) was completely finished with my vehicle the same day that I left it with them. I drove the vehicle for a little over 3 months and it started giving me problems again. I called Jay to make him aware of the problem and to ask him to find out what was going on but all of a sudden his shop is so busy and we had to schedule a time that was good for his mechanics although initially when he was trying to get my business we never had to schedule anything I never heard the word "appointment". when I asked him about him renting a vehicle for the rework his response was he doesn't do that anymore, how convenient jAY after several failed attempts to have the rework scheduled, I finally got in contact with another person in the shop named Tim. We scheduled a time and I had my vehicle there as agreed upon. He assured me that his mechanic would look at it first thing the next morning which didn't happen because the next morning he told me that he had several people ahead of me and that he would get to it whenever he could get to it and wouldn't specify a time and in the meantime I would have to be stranded. I attempted to get in contact with Jay because he had given my fiance his cell number. He ignored my calls and contacted the shop to have Tim to call me and tell me not to call him again... WOW!

HP
Hank P.
Panama City Beach, FL
Overall Rating 1/5rating 1rating 1rating 1rating 1
09/03/2018
Rip off Artists- terrible work-always delays
Won't take credit cards to avoid credit card intervention of complaints, takes cash to avoid IRS. Takes advantage of the elderly with the ability to pay.
Tear transmissions and rear end assys apart then give ridiculous estimates.,putting you at their mercy!

S
Shannon .
Chipley, FL
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
05/02/2018
Great service
I would just like to say how great these guys are. We bought a Range Rover. Less than 3 weeks it tour up. 7 burnt intake valves and transmission. To make a long story short. We had a warranty. Issues with the warranty company. And the guys at gears worked with us to make our payments. They fixed it so it is like a brand new vehicle. They treated me like I was family from the start. They answered any and all questions and calls I made. And got it fixed in a timely manner. I would recommend them to anyone I know. Thanks guys. Y’all are great!!!!

ML
Michael L.
Panama City, FL
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
01/27/2018
06 Mustang GT
Took my 06 Mustang to Gears. Talked to Jay, he was honest and personable. I already knew about the Ford 5 speed transmissions and there problems. When they told me what was wrong with it it was what I expected to hear. He answered all of my questions very well and he worked with my warranty company to get it fixed. The only thing was I wanted OEM transmission fluid put in it. He told me they used BG fluid. Recommended 30k change. I bought Amsoil AT fluid and put in it. It should last The 150k miles Mercon 5 recommend s till change.

The best thing is that they have me a life time warranty.

After 2yrs. No problems.

BT
bob t.
Panama City, FL
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
03/18/2017
Best in the area bar none
enjoyed my experience cant say it loud enough . I paid a little more but so worth it i cant believe how anyone could have had a bad experience .

KP
Karin P.
Panama City, FL
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
03/27/2016
Great service & very helpful!
My friend from out of town had a problem with her car and we didn't know if it would be safe for her to drive back home before having it fixed. We thought it was the radiator. We drove to Gears without calling them and asked them to look at her car. Although they were busy, they took the time to look at her car and told her it would be safe to drive back to her home over 4 hours away and have her mechanic take care of the problem. Thank you!!

TF
Todd F.
Panama City, FL
Lincoln Navigator
Verified
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
08/24/2013 Category: Service
Spoke with Shawn. He said the business did a great job as far as he is concerned, and he was pleased with the service.
This review was collected via phone interview by Customer Research Inc.

JB
J.E B.
Panama City, FL
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
08/18/2013
Great
Great place ....they drop us off and picked us up when the service was completed . First time ever ridding in a stretch limo and best of all it was free . enjoyed gears

LB
Lee B.
Panama City Beach, FL
Honda Civic
Verified
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
07/31/2013 Category: Service
Lee said they do honest work and they communicated well with no surprises.
This review was collected via phone interview by Customer Research Inc.

GB
Greg B.
Georgia
Chevrolet Suburban
Verified
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
07/31/2013 Category: Service
Greg said the personnel were kind and helpful. The price for the repairs, which was $2700, was high compared to $1500 at a facility closer to his home.
This review was collected via phone interview by Customer Research Inc.

AB
Alison B.
Panama City, FL
Dodge Sprinter
Verified
Overall Rating 2/5Overall Rating 2/5rating 2rating 2rating 2
07/30/2013 Category: Service
Alison said she is very upset that she had to file a complaint with Florida's consumer affairs. She had ask the owner 3 times for the receipt to the part she had purchased. He would tell her he would get right on it and he never did. She was also pressured into writing a check instead of using her credit card, which she did not want to do. Her vehicle at this time is not working. It may not have anything to do with this place of business. She will not recommend this place of business, nor will she come back in.
This review was collected via phone interview by Customer Research Inc.

LJ
Larry J.
Panama City, FL
Dodge Pickup
Verified
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
07/26/2013 Category: Service
Larry said he really appreciates how the person he worked with actually test drove his vehicle. He found out there was a leak in his timing gasket. He fixed it and he was on his way out.
This review was collected via phone interview by Customer Research Inc.

WB
William B.
Panama City, FL
Ford Pickup
Verified
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
07/26/2013 Category: Service
William said he got really fast service. It is a family oriented business.
This review was collected via phone interview by Customer Research Inc.

MM
Melissa M.
Panama City, FL
Chevrolet Uplander
Verified
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
07/22/2013 Category: Service
Melissa said the people were very professional and they did a great job.
This review was collected via phone interview by Customer Research Inc.

RA
Richard A.
Panama City, FL
Nissan Maxima
Verified
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
07/22/2013 Category: Service
Richard said they did a good job and fixed everything, but they were a little more expensive.
This review was collected via phone interview by Customer Research Inc.

FR
Frank R.
Mooresville, NC
Honda Odyssey
Verified
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
06/29/2013 Category: Service
Frank said this business is very courteous, kind, and is true to their word. It was a very good experience.
This review was collected via phone interview by Customer Research Inc.