Business Solutions

2000 GMC Safari Passenger

Average Score

Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5
4.0
(9 Reviews)
Category Summary
(Avg. out of 10)
    Value
  • Features
  • Build Quality
  • Fun
  • Reliability
  • Performance
  • Exterior
  • Comfort
  • Interior
  • Styling

Reviews

Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5
4.0
(9 Reviews)

RG
gravatar
Robin G.
2000 GMC Safari Passenger
verified customer Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5
01/16/2021
Verified Review

Compared to the 1997 I had, it is not nearly as good.

GMC went cheap on a lot of things that cost plenty to have repaired. I would not buy another one. bla bla bla bla blan bla bla bla bla bla bla bla bla bla bla bla bla bla bla bla bla bla bla bla bla bla
    Value
  • Build Quality
  • Reliability
  • Exterior
  • Interior
  • Features
  • Fun
  • Performance
  • Comfort
  • Styling

RG
gravatar
Robin G.
2000 GMC Safari Passenger
verified customer Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
07/29/2020
Verified Review

Already gave this review once

Wish they still made them. Does everything I need it to. Passengers say it is very comfortable, especially on long trips. Remove bench seats and it is a cargo van or camping wagon. Had to rebuild transmission at 55,000 miles. Fuel pump at 175,000 miles, that was expensive!!!!!!! $600 for just a fuel pump!!!
    Value
  • Build Quality
  • Reliability
  • Exterior
  • Interior
  • Features
  • Fun
  • Performance
  • Comfort
  • Styling

JA
gravatar
JOE A.
2000 GMC Safari Passenger
verified customer Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
11/26/2019
Verified Review

Outstanding vehicle

The GMC Safari is absolutely one of the most reliable, comfortable, strong running vehicles I have ever owned . I have now owned two of the gmc’s and two Chevy Astro’s . I have put over 250,000 miles on my first Astro with only minor repairs. I have put 220,000on my first Safari van and have 149,000 on my current Safari. Both have required only minimal repairs and normal maintenance. My opinion they are two of the best vehicles ever built. I know many people who have also owned Safaris or Astro’s and all would agree that they are great vehicles.
    Value
  • Build Quality
  • Reliability
  • Exterior
  • Interior
  • Features
  • Fun
  • Performance
  • Comfort
  • Styling

RG
gravatar
Robin G.
2000 GMC Safari Passenger
verified customer Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5
06/18/2019
Verified Review

Good all around ride.

HAs been a very reliable vehicle. All purpose. Bench seats come out and becomes cargo van. I have camped in it. Hauled with it. And taken groups of friends to events in it. Get better than recommended mileage. All hoses should be replace at about 150,000 miles. regular maintenance will keep this buggy running for a long time. All things eventually break down, it just costs a little more to repair because of the difficulty to access the parts and extra work involved. This is my second Safari. I have a friend who owns five!!!!!
    Value
  • Build Quality
  • Reliability
  • Exterior
  • Interior
  • Features
  • Fun
  • Performance
  • Comfort
  • Styling

RG
gravatar
Robin G.
2000 GMC Safari Passenger
verified customer Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5
04/06/2019
Verified Review

Great vehicle

All whell drive is great. The Vortec engine is powerful, seating is very comfortable. My guests have complimented the fact how smooth the ride is. Working on it is a different animal. I has been a very reliable vehicle BUT changing the fuel pump costs $600, it's in the gas tank, the engine is halfway under the dashboard. And other designs problems like that.
    Value
  • Build Quality
  • Reliability
  • Exterior
  • Interior
  • Features
  • Fun
  • Performance
  • Comfort
  • Styling

RG
gravatar
Robin G.
2000 GMC Safari Passenger
verified customer Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5
03/07/2019
Verified Review

If they still made them I would buy another one. This is my second one.

the older Safari's are better. The all wheel drive is easier to work on. The electronics on the newer ones don't work as well as the older models. Engine replacement is very expensive. The front chassis has to be dropped out For engine replacement.
    Value
  • Build Quality
  • Reliability
  • Exterior
  • Interior
  • Features
  • Fun
  • Performance
  • Comfort
  • Styling

FM
gravatar
FRANK M.
2000 GMC Safari Passenger
verified customer Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5
09/10/2018
Verified Review

What a Great Van 224,000 miles and running Great ?

Other than GMC’s design flaws such as leaking transmission oil cooler line, changing to a lower profile distributer which is oroblematic in wet rain or humidity which causes the can to bot start but fine when dry, I have no complaints and one of my best used auto purchases. Purchased with about 196,000 miles, now has 224,000 + and runs great. Been criss country 3 times fully loaded and actually gets about 28 mike per gallon on highway fully losded. The 4.3 vortec is one of the best motors GM ever made. I have done quite a bit of maintenance a little at a time and the results are a great running, reliable auto. Everything works, air/heat, great CD/stereo system, Been a real work horse !
    Value
  • Build Quality
  • Reliability
  • Exterior
  • Interior
  • Features
  • Fun
  • Performance
  • Comfort
  • Styling

MR
gravatar
MIKE R.
2000 GMC Safari Passenger
verified customer Verified Owner
Overall Rating 1.0/5Overall Rating 1.0/5Overall Rating 1.0/5Overall Rating 1.0/5Overall Rating 1.0/5
08/19/2017
Verified Review

2000 Safari SLE

Best vehicle I have ever owned as it now has 465,568 mi on the original engine without any problems. General maintenance, preventative maintenance and other factors TLC and using the proper synthetic oil like Amsoil the number one and the first one in the world to create synthetic lubricants. Used in the transmission and rear end have proven as it does in my lawn equipment in my motorcycles to be the the key factor in longevity in all of my products.
    Value
  • Build Quality
  • Reliability
  • Exterior
  • Interior
  • Features
  • Fun
  • Performance
  • Comfort
  • Styling

DD
gravatar
David H D.
2000 GMC Safari Passenger
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
01/10/2017

2000 GMC Safari Van

Chris keeps my van feeling young..He will probably retire knowing how my van thinks about him..Super Mechanic
    Value
  • Build Quality
  • Reliability
  • Exterior
  • Interior
  • Features
  • Fun
  • Performance
  • Comfort
  • Styling

Displaying all 9 reviews

Businesses Near You


  • Auto Repair
  • New Car Dealer
  • Used Car Dealer
Parkway Cadillac Buick GMC
Overall Rating 4.6/5Overall Rating 4.6/5Overall Rating 4.6/5Overall Rating 4.6/5Overall Rating 4.6/5
4.6
(867 Reviews)
Overall Rating 4.9/5Overall Rating 4.9/5Overall Rating 4.9/5Overall Rating 4.9/5Overall Rating 4.9/5
4.9
(7) ReScores

  • Auto Repair
  • New Car Dealer
  • Used Car Dealer
Test CRI
Overall Rating 0.0/5Overall Rating 0.0/5Overall Rating 0.0/5Overall Rating 0.0/5Overall Rating 0.0/5
(0 Reviews)

  • Domestic Auto Repair
  • Dodge Dealer
  • Auto Repair
Bogart Automotive & Jeep Independent Repair
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
5.0
(23 Reviews)

  • Diesel Services
  • Repair Shop
  • Domestic Auto Repair
Barrett Performance
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
5.0
(5 Reviews)

  • Auto Repair
  • Auto Maintenance
  • Tires
Next Level Automotive
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
5.0
(233 Reviews)

  • Car Maintenance
  • Auto Repair
  • Oil Change
HiTech Automotive
Overall Rating 4.9/5Overall Rating 4.9/5Overall Rating 4.9/5Overall Rating 4.9/5Overall Rating 4.9/5
4.9
(1273 Reviews)

  • Auto Maintenance
  • Oil Change
  • Repair Shop
Abee's Hi Tech Auto Service
Overall Rating 4.9/5Overall Rating 4.9/5Overall Rating 4.9/5Overall Rating 4.9/5Overall Rating 4.9/5
4.9
(119 Reviews)

  • Auto Maintenance
  • Auto Repair
  • Oil Change
Routhier Quick Lube & Auto Center
Overall Rating 4.9/5Overall Rating 4.9/5Overall Rating 4.9/5Overall Rating 4.9/5Overall Rating 4.9/5
4.9
(683 Reviews)

  • Auto Maintenance
  • Oil Change
  • Car Maintenance
All County Automotive Repair & Tire
Overall Rating 4.8/5Overall Rating 4.8/5Overall Rating 4.8/5Overall Rating 4.8/5Overall Rating 4.8/5
4.8
(1243 Reviews)
Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5
4.0
(2) ReScores