2012
Hyundai
Elantra

Overall Rating 4.56/5Overall Rating 4.56/5Overall Rating 4.56/5Overall Rating 4.56/5rating 4.56
4.6
(857 Reviews)
Latest review 3 days ago
Category Summary (Avg. out of 10)
  • Value
  • Features
  • Build Quality
  • Fun
  • Reliability
  • Performance
  • Exterior
  • Comfort
  • Interior
  • Styling

TF
Thomas F.
2012 Hyundai Elantra
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
09/17/2019
great gas milage and sporty
Paint is very durable and minimal rock chips. Holds a good shine even for a 2012 model. Trunk is pretty spacious for a smaller car. I do not like the lighter colored seats because they show dirt easy. I do my own oil changes and is easy to assess the filter and oil drain. 108K and expect to hit 200k with the normal maintenance.
Very peppy engine for 1.8 liter. 30MPG city driving and close to 40 on a trip.

Pros
good value for money

Cons
lighter colored seats show dirt easy

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

KP
Kevin P.
2012 Hyundai Elantra
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
09/16/2019
Great car
Love my Elantra. I have the Limited with the tech package. Great vehicle. Good on gas. Not fast but plenty peppy. Had an accident with a deer and hardly any damage. Lots of bells and whistles for not a lot of money. Very reliable and comfortable.

Pros
Could use a little more power.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

NR
Neal R.
2012 Hyundai Elantra
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
09/13/2019
2012 Elantra LTD
It is a good vehicle and gets excellent gas mileage. I have 162500 miles on it now and the only big problem I had was resolved when I installed an aftermarket brake light switch. This problem was covered online and it was a 15.00 repair. It has been in over 1k miles without any repeat problems.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

EK
Edith K.
2012 Hyundai Elantra
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
09/07/2019
great car
Have not had any major problems with my car. I am very satisfied.
So far only oil changes and new tires and filters and bulb were needed.
Only problem the visor broke - first on passenger side (I can see this since I use this visor) - but now also on passenger side (this one is never used).

Pros
runs well and low gas milage.

Cons
none

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JE
John E.
2012 Hyundai Elantra
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
08/25/2019
Mostly positive
The car runs fine, comfortable on long drives, has held up well under mostly city driving. Do the maintenance on schedule, it runs like a clock.

There are two issues I have with the design, I consider severe drawbacks in cold/snowy climates, which covers at least 1/3 of the US.
1) LED lights never get warm enough to let the the light housing shed snow or ice. Pair that with the design of this car's headlight housing (long, very horizontal) and you have lights that earn their well known reputation for being poor at best. This is a safety issue for sure, for 1/3 of the country.
2) The horizontal flare from the side windows to the door handles. This flair catches snow. This snow piles up and sits on the handle, filling the opening between the handle and the door panel, and sits over the lock. Seems like a bad Idea, design wise.

My third issue with the vehicle design is the window height. The bottom of the front windows are too high to comfortably rest my arm on when the windows are open (my preferred setting, weather permitting). Further, because the bottom of the window opening is so high, the height of the window opening doesn't allow me to rest my elbow on the window with my arm raised up holding on to the top of the window opening. I have short forearms, I can't rest my arm in this position at all.

My fourth issue with the vehicle design is that unless you clear all the snow off the roof and no more snow lands on the roof, any flake of snow that blows off the roof during driving, sits on the trunk lid and creeps up the rear window, obscuring view and causing a safety hazard. Only driving at highway speed will blow light snow off the trunk lid, but heavy snow will still accumulate and pile up on the back window. I believe this is due to the upturn at the rear of the trunk lid. Is Hyunday drying to create down force on an Elantra, at the cost of safety? Hahaha.

Pros
Reliability
Value
Build Quality
Warranty

Cons
Styling
Exterior design
Headlight design
Trunk lid design
Window design

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

SB
Steven B.
2012 Hyundai Elantra
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
08/21/2019
NICE CAR FOR COMMUTE.
Acquired 2012 in 2015. My wife is primary driver to and from work. Good mileage and comfortable ride. Would likely buy again or move up to Sonata and upgrade options.
Good to fit a couple of grandchildren in the rear. No maintenance problems. Options would be sunroof, leather seats, and external cameras.

Pros
Good mileage. Good commuter car for my better half.

Cons
Little light for best traction in snow so we also got a Tucson a little later for when AWD is needed.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

EW
Eric W.
2012 Hyundai Elantra
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
08/20/2019
Dependable car. Never left me walking.131,000 on it now.
Dependable car. Never left me walking.131,000 miles on it now. Has road noise and not a solid sound when you shut the doors. Had bad shocks installed at the factory. Only found out the clunking in the back end was not normal after changing them out after the warranty period. I'll be keeping this car till it goes to the junk yard.

Pros
Dependable car. Never left me walking.131,000 on it now.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

AM
Anthony M.
2012 Hyundai Elantra
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 1/5rating 1rating 1rating 1rating 1
08/20/2019
Very bumpy ride and gas mileage is not what they said it was.
The ride is too bumpy . Also, I bought the car because of the 40 mpg gas mileage on the Hwy. I have never gotten even close to that. I don't like how easily stained the seats are. I like the leg room.

Pros
Easy to park.
Leg room

Cons
Gas mileage
Seat fabric stains easily even with protection
Bumpy ride
Shocks in back
Too hard to replace bulbs
Headroom is lacking

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

WW
William W.
2012 Hyundai Elantra
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
08/16/2019
Remarkably Reliable
This 2012 Elantra has been the most reliable, tough, and economical vehicle I have ever owned! I have owned it since it was brand new, and in that time only one headlight, and a transmission temperature sensor have had to be replaced. The fuel mileage is great, even though the car is no slouch in traffic.It goes through snow, with the stock tires, so well there is no need for snow tires at all. The air conditioner still works as new eight years after purchase! In fact all the features of the car still are functioning as well as the day we bought it. There isn't a trace of rust and the car looks like new, even thought it is driven year round. Easy to get in and out of, with a convenient layout of controls and features. It has been a superb vehicle for us, simply superb!

Pros
Extremely good reliability
Very good mileage
Nice for daily driving and long trips
Easy to handle and park
Handles very well in the snow
Excellent value for people like us who aren't wealthy
Service on the vehicle is very reasonable and fast
The "fit and finish" is top notch. No rattles or squeaks.

Cons
None

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

AL
Alicia L.
2012 Hyundai Elantra
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5rating 3rating 3
08/13/2019
I didnt like it
I bought this car because of the look and bells and now i realize it was very bumpy and felt every hole in the road , i enjoed having it because of all the extras heated seats, navigation,remote starter
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JH
Joseph H.
2012 Hyundai Elantra
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
08/06/2019
2012 Hyundai Elantra
In my lifetime, I have purchased two Elantra's. My latest purchase was the 2012 Hyundai Elantra, Car-of-the-Year!! The car has excellent lines;
great handling; rapid acceleration; and it is FUN to drive. I recommend it!!

Pros
See above....

Cons
None!!

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

MR
Mary R.
2012 Hyundai Elantra
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
08/02/2019
My car
I have loved my Elantra since day one! The colors offered are great. I felt there was more room in the backseat in the Elantra than in the Sonata. I carry grandchildren and they have plenty of room.

Pros
Small size car but big enough.

Cons
Gas mileage was not stated correctly. Compensation was made though.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

DP
DON P.
2012 Hyundai Elantra
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 2/5Overall Rating 2/5rating 2rating 2rating 2
08/01/2019
Cheaply made
The vehicle is cheaply made. The gas mileage isn’t what was advertised when it was bought new. At least the paint isn’t peeling off like my Santa Fe is. I just spent a ton of money having the peeling paint areas repainted. Never will buy another Hyundai & neither will my four kids.

Pros
Handles well in city traffic

Cons
Bad gas mileage
Body is cheaply made
Not a comfortable car for long trips
Road noise is horrible

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

RM
Renee M.
2012 Hyundai Elantra
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
07/30/2019
Luv my car
They stand behind their word on fixing what's wrong. They stood behind the mileage issues and any warranty issues with no problem. The service employees have always been great. When I get money to buy again, I will go with Hyundai again.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

DC
Dale C.
2012 Hyundai Elantra
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
07/26/2019
Hyundai Elantra
After 105,000 miles the car still drives as well as when I bought it new. I never had a car like this and I had many. Only issue. Car is a bit low and may have a less than substantial rear axil. I had one issue regarding a slightly bent rear axil. This was not covered by the warrantee and I had to fork up the total cost. I felt this expense occurred due to a failure of the part rather then driving. But this was the only negative after a many years of exceptional service.

Pros
Smooth driving, handles well. Great mileage, radio, air, feel, general comfort for a small car.

Cons
A bit too low to the road.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

AS
Arlene Fae S.
2012 Hyundai Elantra
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
07/24/2019
Very nice car
The Hyundai Elantra is an outstanding car, very smooth ride and unbelievably fast. After driving it for five years I have spent zero dollars on repair.s. The warranty coverage provided by Hyundai corporation is a budget insurance very very reliable with no hassles about qualifying for a covered expenses.

Pros
Comfort and quality

Cons
No spare tire in this model

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

TG
Teri G.
2012 Hyundai Elantra
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5rating 3rating 3
07/20/2019
Elantra
I bought this car from a friend. It really hasn't given us any problems. We are just not happy with how it rides. Looking to upgrade soon. Ours have very few miles. its been driven by two grandmas so not mistreated.

Pros
I love the heated seats and sun roof

Cons
It doesn't drive or ride nicely

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

CS
Carole S.
2012 Hyundai Elantra
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
07/20/2019
Love my 2012 Elantra Ltd!
I love my 2012 ELANTRA LTD! It has all the extras I wanted; sunroof, Bluetooth, heated seats and I love the silver-blue color, which I requested as a make it-or break it selling point. I got it all and I'd buy one again!

Pros
Handsfree Bluetooth
Sunroof
Heated seats
Good pick up speed
Great air conditioning
Comfortable seating
Device-charging plugs front and back
Cup Holders front and back

Cons
Gas milage could be better
and the defrost in the winter should work faster and hotter.
The leather on the steering wheel wears off and looks bad.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

GB
Gary B.
2012 Hyundai Elantra
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
07/17/2019
great car
I have had my 2012 elantra for for 7+ years - I am the second owner- I have not had any serious issues with the car at all. this was the first time I bought a non american car- the maintenance is minimal and the car continues on and looks great- if I had the money, I would love to buy a brand new elantra!

Pros
all of the above items

Cons
the A/C vents are poorly located - your either getting cold air on you knee caps or your left wrist

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

RR
Ramon R.
2012 Hyundai Elantra
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
07/17/2019
Happy 😊 Car
Have been very happy 😊 with our 🚘 now for “8” years I would recommend the the Elantra, Hyundai, it’s been a good car to drive we get good mileage and the car still looks Good and don’t have to drive so far to the Dealer.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling
Displaying reviews 1 - 20 of 857 in total