2013
Hyundai
Elantra

Overall Rating 4.6/5Overall Rating 4.6/5Overall Rating 4.6/5Overall Rating 4.6/5rating 4.6
4.6
(2243 Reviews)
Latest review about 2 months ago
Category Summary (Avg. out of 10)
  • Value
  • Features
  • Build Quality
  • Fun
  • Reliability
  • Performance
  • Exterior
  • Comfort
  • Interior
  • Styling

RR
Raymona R.
2013 Hyundai Elantra
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
09/24/2019
Excellent vehicle
We were first interested in the Hyundai brand due to the excellent vehicle warranty. We felt that any company that had that much confidence in their product was worth considering. We purchased our 2013 Elantra in June of 2012. We also purchased the extended service contract to make it bumper to bumper for 10 years and have never regretted it. The few problems we have had recently as the car is getting older, have been taken care of promptly and at no expense to us. We would love to experience the Genesis, but more realistically will step up from the Elantra to the Sonata on our next purchase. Keep up the good work and thanks!

Pros
Overall excellent vehicle for the money.

Cons
The car has a little more road noise than I would like and hopefully when we move up to the Sonata it will be better.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

GJ
Gormany J.
2013 Hyundai Elantra
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
09/24/2019
Vechicle Quality is Unsurpassed
I bought my Elantra brand new in 2013. This car has been through it all (except an accident Thankfully). It's been out west 4 times, down to South FL 3 times, and up North to Ohio 4 times and it hasn't given me any problems. It still runs smooth and has been the most reliable car I've ever owned. I fully plan on keeping this car till the wheels fall off. The Elantra is the best mid-size sedan for the price. PERIOD!!!

Pros
Too many to list!

Cons
The 2013 Elantra doesn't have HID headlight

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

KC
Kylie C.
2013 Hyundai Elantra
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5rating 3rating 3
09/20/2019
Brakes suck!
My brakes scrape floor on some certain surfaces, this is scary! I have been having a recurring problem with brake lights where they are dim. I brought it in for service several times and it still had the same issue, they changed the harness and I had to pay, this should have been covered under warranty. So unfair!

Pros
Nice and light

Cons
Brakes and brake lights suck

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

CF
Carol F.
2013 Hyundai Elantra
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
09/19/2019
Good medium to small size car.
Reliable car with space for five. Fair riding comfort. Good gas mileage on long highway trips. Good value for the money. I have had 4 Hyundai cars previously, sonata, Santa fe, 2 accents
We actually bought one the first year the brand came on the market.

Pros
Good gas mileage

Cons
Riding comfort is bumpy

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JW
Jeffrey W.
2013 Hyundai Elantra
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
09/18/2019
Our Elantra
We continue to be pleased with our Elantra that we purchased about 4 years ago. We maintain the car with regular oil changes and maintenance items. The Elantra is mainly used by my wife as reliable transportation to and from work. She has been pleased with how well it handles in all weather conditions and also likes it still looks really nice! I usually drive it on longer road trips and am impressed with the 40 miles per gallon we obtain with our Elantra! The car overall handles really well, but we do feel every bump in the road. We just went over 30,000 miles so we are going to change factory installed tires ahead of schedule to see if this will resolve "every bump in the road" issue. We are very pleased with our Elantra and despite continued attempts by both Hyundai dealerships to trade this one in we have plans to keep this car for a very long time!!!

Pros
We love the looks, great gas mileage, the reliability and how fun it is to drive!

Cons
The only con we have is it tends to feel every bump in the road

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

RF
Richard F.
2013 Hyundai Elantra
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
09/14/2019
Owner for 6 years now.
I am a retired commercial aviation mechanic and I can definitely pickup on the bad points of the vehicle.I am truly satisfied with my Elantra LTD..But there are two points that annoy me . The ride suspension is too stiff as I can feel every bump in the road along with noise. I have changed the tires to Goodyear Assurance Comfort Touring size P215/50R17 and they have softened and quieted the ride to a satisfactory level. My 2nd point is the angle of the computer screen. Daylight driving in full sun you cannot see the screen while using the GPS.In my opinion,the screen needs to be tilted to a greater angle towards the driver or extend the dash board so it has a hood over the screen as some other vehicles have

Pros
style, workmanship, and value.

Cons
poor ride suspension, and on board computer screen position, receives too much glare in the sunlight making invisible.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

KB
Keith B.
2013 Hyundai Elantra
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
09/14/2019
Escape Pod
It feels like a comfy refuge from the world. Comfy seats, nice interior and great sound system. You can just sit in it and decompress. Wonderful for when you have had a hard day. Whether driving or just parked it feels like home.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

DM
DORIS M.
2013 Hyundai Elantra
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
09/13/2019
I love my Elantra
I have driven an Elantra for 20 years now. Traded my old one in for a new one...best car I have ever driven. Santa Fe is my dream SUV, it will be my next vehicle to experience. I'm certain that I will enjoy the experience!
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

LF
Larry F.
2013 Hyundai Elantra
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
09/13/2019
Elantra
Love the car Lehman dealers suck!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!’!!!! !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Pros
Love the car

Cons
DEALERS SUCK

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

VC
Violet C.
2013 Hyundai Elantra
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5rating 3rating 3
09/12/2019
2013 Hyundai Elantra
I love my car. I have a few issues. The car is so low in the front and back that I cannot see how close I am to the curb or parking concrete stops. It scratches the front end and I am afraid of hitting them. I have trouble in the winter on snow and ice. It should have more add-on features for safety on the car, side view is hard to see.

Pros
comfort, interior design, reliability,

Cons
features, value for the money, can't see behind me, safety,

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

SS
Sheila S.
2013 Hyundai Elantra
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 2/5Overall Rating 2/5rating 2rating 2rating 2
09/11/2019
Too many issues at 67-76 k miles
My first 07 was great this Elantra nothing but factory recalls extended warranty and parts failing early ... all the engine coils went at 68k , air bag recall , brake recall , faulty steering wheel cupler now a letter for a suspension issue if you suspect bring it in ... $135.00 for diagnostic if not factory warranty issue ! Yet says bring it in if noting certain symptoms. Headache ... think I’m done with Hyundai sad they were up there in value and quality
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

PD
Paul D.
2013 Hyundai Elantra
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5rating 3rating 3
09/04/2019
These rims are the bane of my existence.
For some reason we bought an Elantra that apparently had nothing more than rubber bands around the ridiculous rims that came with the car. It's a 2013 with 40,000 miles (pretty low) and we've gone through 2 sets of tires so far in Seattle. Granted, we've learned now to only drive an SUV or something with more substantial tires, but this car forms bubbles in the sidewalls after going over a speed-bump. I notice every other Hyundai going forward has had much more reasonable tires as a default and I wish ours did too. Oh well.

Pros
Seems like it will last a while (fingers crossed).

Cons
Those rubber band tires that explode if you drive over a rock.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

RD
Rebecca D.
2013 Hyundai Elantra
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
09/04/2019
Hyundais are awesome.
I have not been disappointed with my 2013 Hyundai Elantra. The car does everything I was told that it would do, and all the while I love the looks of the car. We were shopping for a larger vehicle at that time, but the interior of the Elantra is deceiving and does have a lot of room.

Pros
The car has done everything that I was told it would do. The main reason that we bought the Hyundai was that it had the backup camera and other features that only the top of the line vehicles had. I have not been disappointed!

Cons
I would not buy a car with low profile tires again. New England winter weather and subsequent road potholes are not very good on the wheels.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

WS
William S.
2013 Hyundai Elantra
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
09/04/2019
Elantra
I've liked my Elantra from day 1. I am short and it is just the right size for me. I've had it 6 years in October and have had no major problems to date. It gets great gas mileage on our many road trips and usually average around 40 mpg and about 24 in town. I have regular service and I feel the car is still in great condition. Carlos and Daniel have always been very helpful and prompt with answers to any questions I've had about serviced needs. I've been alerted to any future service needs and any or all recalls have been completed when taken in for service. Great value and economical.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

BS
Bruce S.
2013 Hyundai Elantra
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
09/03/2019
Awesome service and the mechanics actually know what they are doing.
I purchased my 2013 Elantra "Limited" brand new but I purchased it in 2014. I was impressed with it then and I am still impressed with it now. It's fast, agile, economical and although I am a large person (6' fall and 245 lbs), I fit in the car nicely and it is comfortable to drive. Prior to owning this Hyundai I owned a Kia Optima and I was just as impressed with it. Kia and Hyundai are sister manufacturers.

Pros
Lots of Pros, fun to drive, economical, styling, comfort, etc.

Cons
closed system transmission so you don't have a dip stick to check your fluid level and no way to add fluid if it is low. You gotta take it to a place that has a special machine that sucks out the old and pressure pushes the new fluid in.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

TB
Terry B.
2013 Hyundai Elantra
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
09/03/2019
2013 Hyundai Elantra
The Hyundai Elantra is very comfortable! I have a great deal of interior room (can fit 3 car seats for grandkids in the back seat) and the trunk is also very spacious. The car rides very smoothly and quietly. It maneuvers easily such that I feel like a parallel parking pro!
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

ND
Nina D.
2013 Hyundai Elantra
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 2/5Overall Rating 2/5rating 2rating 2rating 2
09/03/2019
VERY POOR SERVICE.
THE CAR WOULD BE TOPS BUT NOT WITH THE GPS NEVER WORKING RIGHT AND EXTRA POOR SERVICE WHEN I BRING IT BACK. I NEED A BRAND NEW GPS PUT IN IT SO I CAN ENJOY MY CAR. THE CAR HAS HAD VERY NOISY WHEELS SINCE I HAD IT AND I HAVE TAKEN IT BACK SEVERAL TIMES. IT PROBABLY NEEDED NEW BRAKES,PADS AND ROTORS WHEN I GOT IT, SO 2 YEARS LATER ,I JUST PAID MUCH LESS YESTERDAY FOR THEM. FROM SOMEONE ELSE.ALSO I HAVE TAKEN THE GPS BACK ALSO MANY TIME ONLY TO HAVE SOME YOUNG GUY TO COME OUTSIDE AND PUSH BUTTONS. THEY WONDER WHY I HARDLY PUT MILES ON IT. wELL THE GPS GETS ME LOST AND I AM AFRAID OF KILLING MY 3 GRANDCHILDREN IN IT. DOES MR.FUCCILLO REALY KNOW WHAT GOES ON THERE? ...NINA DIOGUARDI

Pros
VERY DISAPPOINTED

Cons
VERY DISAPPOINTED

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

DH
Deidra H.
2013 Hyundai Elantra
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
09/01/2019
Sporty and roomy
I love my Elantra. I looked at many cars and this was it for me. It's roomy yet feels sporty. The Limited Edition has all the bells and whistles. Love the seat warmers both front and back. Back seats are comfortable for everyone but not roomy for taller individuals.

Cons
Sluggish going up hills unless on cruise control.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

MG
Maria G.
2013 Hyundai Elantra
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5rating 3rating 3
08/30/2019
Elantra 2013
It is a good car, no problems whatsoever with its running. I find it too low for getting in and out of the car, and I am not a tall person but I always or most of the time I should say I hit my head getting into the car. My next car is going to be like the Kona or similar. I drove for years a Ford Escape which I loved and felt safer driver a taller car.
There are a couple of blind spots in the Elantra that bothers me. Everything else is fine.

Pros
Reliable

Cons
Too short and blind spots

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JF
John F.
2013 Hyundai Elantra
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
08/30/2019
I love it!
I think this is one of the best cars I've ever owned, and at my age, 94, that was a lot of cars. Great mileage, very low maintenance, a comfortable drive, I've taken it on cross-country trips and it handles like a trooper at highway speeds. It's small size makes it ideal for my city driving, which is considerable. And its style is just as sharp today as it was when it was made. A great vehicle al around!
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling
Displaying reviews 21 - 40 of 2243 in total