Business Solutions

2008 Subaru Outback (Natl)

Average Score

Overall Rating 4.1/5Overall Rating 4.1/5Overall Rating 4.1/5Overall Rating 4.1/5Overall Rating 4.1/5
4.1
(25 Reviews)
Category Summary
(Avg. out of 10)
    Value
  • Features
  • Build Quality
  • Fun
  • Reliability
  • Performance
  • Exterior
  • Comfort
  • Interior
  • Styling

Reviews

Overall Rating 4.1/5Overall Rating 4.1/5Overall Rating 4.1/5Overall Rating 4.1/5Overall Rating 4.1/5
4.1
(25 Reviews)

GW
gravatar
GRETCHEN W.
2008 Subaru Outback (Natl)
verified customer Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
03/25/2020
Verified Review

This is my 3rd Subaru wagon and I've been delighted with all of them. I drove to the mountains for my job for almost 20 years and always felt comfortable and safe.

I have been more than satisfied with the overall performance and handling and feel that Subaru has been a worthwhile investment over the years. I have lived in Colorado for over 50 years and my last 2 cars have been Outbacks. My current one is a 2008 and I wouldn't part with it!
    Value
  • Build Quality
  • Reliability
  • Exterior
  • Interior
  • Features
  • Fun
  • Performance
  • Comfort
  • Styling

MS
gravatar
MICHAEL S.
2008 Subaru Outback (Natl)
verified customer Verified Owner
Overall Rating 1.0/5Overall Rating 1.0/5Overall Rating 1.0/5Overall Rating 1.0/5Overall Rating 1.0/5
02/21/2020
Verified Review

2nd Miserable Subaru with head gasket and engine head problems

This is my second Subaru and last. They are supposedly known for quality. The first Subaru I had kept overheating and finally I had to get the head gasket replaced as well as a cracked head to the engine. The second Subaru only has 67k miles on it and I just had to replace the head gasket. Luckily I caught it ASAP because I was on guard after the last one, so only minor consequential damages were encurred. Never ever again.
    Value
  • Build Quality
  • Reliability
  • Exterior
  • Interior
  • Features
  • Fun
  • Performance
  • Comfort
  • Styling

CH
gravatar
CARL H.
2008 Subaru Outback (Natl)
verified customer Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
09/05/2019
Verified Review

Subaru Outback

This car is the best one I have ever owned and I have had a lot of cars in the past 50 years! Not too big but not too small. Seats are comfortable. It’s a bit noisy. Great traction with all wheel drive and great handling.
    Value
  • Build Quality
  • Reliability
  • Exterior
  • Interior
  • Features
  • Fun
  • Performance
  • Comfort
  • Styling

GG
gravatar
GINNY G.
2008 Subaru Outback (Natl)
verified customer Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
08/03/2019
Verified Review

The Trusty Outback!

I love my Suburu Outback. It is safe and reliable, and behaves so well in snow , getting me up my tricky driveway through wibter! Great car! If I could afford the latest model I would, as the camera is an excellent addition .
    Value
  • Build Quality
  • Reliability
  • Exterior
  • Interior
  • Features
  • Fun
  • Performance
  • Comfort
  • Styling

RS
gravatar
RITA S.
2008 Subaru Outback (Natl)
verified customer Verified Owner
Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5
03/29/2019
Verified Review

Outbacks used to be better

I've owned a number of Subarus. With exception of the 1st, they've all been manual transmission. And I've had them each over 7-8 years at a min. And some 10+. My current car started sucking up money 3-4 years in. I've never previously gone through a clutch, or had any significant transmission issues [other than my only automatic Subaru] or costs-- until this car. I thought hey, sometimes you buy peaches and sometimes you get a lemon. Recently I spoke with a very knowledgeable car mechanic and he says he's seen transmission issues and odd ongoing problems such as leaky gaskets. I like the scale of the car, that I can slide my road bike inside, and that it corners well. But I don't think my next car will be a Subaru.
    Value
  • Build Quality
  • Reliability
  • Exterior
  • Interior
  • Features
  • Fun
  • Performance
  • Comfort
  • Styling

DG
gravatar
Darren G.
2008 Subaru Outback (Natl)
verified customer Verified Owner
Overall Rating 2.0/5Overall Rating 2.0/5Overall Rating 2.0/5Overall Rating 2.0/5Overall Rating 2.0/5
03/17/2019
Verified Review

Don’t go to the Subaru dealership ever

Subaru builds cars that have design flaws . They’re not incredibly helpful and neither is the dealership. I took my car to the dealership it came from and I got a huge bill and a broken shock too . I don’t think they have qualified technical staff. If you want your vehicle fixed go to Tilton automotive. They are honest and if it’s not broken they won’t fix it . They are also rated highly by the emissions agency who you will have to deal with if you don’t pass inspection In Massachusetts.
    Value
  • Build Quality
  • Reliability
  • Exterior
  • Interior
  • Features
  • Fun
  • Performance
  • Comfort
  • Styling

PF
gravatar
Paul F.
2008 Subaru Outback (Natl)
verified customer Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
01/27/2019
Verified Review

Great cars!

Our son just bought one used. Perhaps he knew how much we like ours. Plenty of power, easy to drive, and no issues to deal with. His has lots of bells and whistles, so he can indulge himself. Ours has been trouble free. We do our maintenance and the costs are reasonable. Gas mileage is respectable for the punch the motor delivers.
    Value
  • Build Quality
  • Reliability
  • Exterior
  • Interior
  • Features
  • Fun
  • Performance
  • Comfort
  • Styling

DG
gravatar
Darren G.
2008 Subaru Outback (Natl)
verified customer Verified Owner
Overall Rating 1.0/5Overall Rating 1.0/5Overall Rating 1.0/5Overall Rating 1.0/5Overall Rating 1.0/5
01/03/2019
Verified Review

My car has a design flaw Subaru is aware of but Subaru really is indifferent

Well it would be a poor idea to buy anything Subaru, they released many models that the head gasket will fail at about 60k . If you need the work done don’t go to a dealership they will rob you blind. Go see Tilton Automotive in belchertown on route 9 or Jim Harvey in Monson .
    Value
  • Build Quality
  • Reliability
  • Exterior
  • Interior
  • Features
  • Fun
  • Performance
  • Comfort
  • Styling

MD
gravatar
MATTHEW D.
2008 Subaru Outback (Natl)
verified customer Verified Owner
Overall Rating 1.0/5Overall Rating 1.0/5Overall Rating 1.0/5Overall Rating 1.0/5Overall Rating 1.0/5
11/07/2018
Verified Review

Nothing but problems

We bought this car used for $8,000 and have paid almost as much in repairs in the two years we’ve owned it. Has needed a new engine, ball bearings, struts, even the windshield cracked. I talked to our mechanic about whether all this was just a consequence of putting on miles. He said nope, it didn’t have THAT many miles on it. Do not buy this car unless you love lemons.
    Value
  • Build Quality
  • Reliability
  • Exterior
  • Interior
  • Features
  • Fun
  • Performance
  • Comfort
  • Styling

JK
gravatar
JOE and CAROL K.
2008 Subaru Outback (Natl)
verified customer Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
09/07/2018
Verified Review

A reliable and safe vehicle

This is our second Outback. Mechanics love it. Good in downpours and snow. Do put 100 ? pounds of kitty litter in trunk over back axle. Great for loading up garden supplies and hauling recycling to our landfill. Do recommended service and you will get 200,000 miles
    Value
  • Build Quality
  • Reliability
  • Exterior
  • Interior
  • Features
  • Fun
  • Performance
  • Comfort
  • Styling

DG
gravatar
DANIEL G.
2008 Subaru Outback (Natl)
verified customer Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5
08/21/2018
Verified Review

A ride to remember.

The Subaru Outback is an excellent car for winter in the northwest. My 2008 Outback continues to provide a comfortable ride for our family of four.
    Value
  • Build Quality
  • Reliability
  • Exterior
  • Interior
  • Features
  • Fun
  • Performance
  • Comfort
  • Styling

SE
gravatar
SUSAN E.
2008 Subaru Outback (Natl)
verified customer Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
08/08/2018
Verified Review

great car

very reliable car, we like the car because it is fun to drive. The car has plenty of room and takes the car seats, we can put 3 children in the back. The radio is fun to listen to. We take it on long drives
    Value
  • Build Quality
  • Reliability
  • Exterior
  • Interior
  • Features
  • Fun
  • Performance
  • Comfort
  • Styling

JO
gravatar
JASON O.
2008 Subaru Outback (Natl)
verified customer Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
01/24/2018
Verified Review

Super safe, very dependable

I bought this car used when starting my family because of the unparalleled safety features in a car of this price. I was pleasantly surprised by not only the power of the all wheel drive, but the dependability in any weather or condition. You cannot beat an outback in New England snow. I will purchase a Subaru again, when i pass this one to my child.
    Value
  • Build Quality
  • Reliability
  • Exterior
  • Interior
  • Features
  • Fun
  • Performance
  • Comfort
  • Styling

KL
gravatar
KITTY L.
2008 Subaru Outback (Natl)
verified customer Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5
01/17/2018
Verified Review

pre-certification

I love my Subaru Outback. It did give me some problems during my first year, which were covered by warranty (purchasesd car used-2 years old). It is getting on in years, but would buy another Outback when the time comes. But, I would ask more questions about the pre-certification first.
    Value
  • Build Quality
  • Reliability
  • Exterior
  • Interior
  • Features
  • Fun
  • Performance
  • Comfort
  • Styling

EB
gravatar
EVELYN B.
2008 Subaru Outback (Natl)
verified customer Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
10/20/2017
Verified Review

Dependable

My outback just turned 200,000 miles & is still going strong!
    Value
  • Build Quality
  • Reliability
  • Exterior
  • Interior
  • Features
  • Fun
  • Performance
  • Comfort
  • Styling

PN
gravatar
PAUL N.
2008 Subaru Outback (Natl)
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
04/30/2017

2008 Subaru Outback

Love my car! Takes me any where I want to go, carries whatever I need to and is always comfortable and easy to drive, Any repairs and service that have needed to be done are what I would consider normal wear and tear for a vehicle that is 9 years old and has 86,000 miles on it.
    Value
  • Build Quality
  • Reliability
  • Exterior
  • Interior
  • Features
  • Fun
  • Performance
  • Comfort
  • Styling

JA
gravatar
JO A.
2008 Subaru Outback (Natl)
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
07/16/2016

Reliable

This is my 2nd Outback; I only hope I can afford to continue buying them (pricey, but worth it). I feel safe & confident driving at all times, in all weather conditions.
    Value
  • Build Quality
  • Reliability
  • Exterior
  • Interior
  • Features
  • Fun
  • Performance
  • Comfort
  • Styling

HS
gravatar
H H S.
2008 Subaru Outback (Natl)
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
05/12/2016

Best model style

Wish they would have kept a couple features in the newer models love how this car performs and drives. Free glass on front windows is rare these days and a nice feature for getting in and out of the car. And the dash in this model is more sporty than newer models. Great family car too with higher clearance - only downside which is short lived is having rear facing baby seat as it limits leg room for front seat. Plan to drive this car 200k+ miles!
    Value
  • Build Quality
  • Reliability
  • Exterior
  • Interior
  • Features
  • Fun
  • Performance
  • Comfort
  • Styling

BS
gravatar
BARBARA S.
2008 Subaru Outback (Natl)
Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5
04/15/2016

It Does What I need it to!

I would recommend anyone to buy a 2008 Outback Wagon.
    Value
  • Build Quality
  • Reliability
  • Exterior
  • Interior
  • Features
  • Fun
  • Performance
  • Comfort
  • Styling

GM
gravatar
Gloria M.
2008 Subaru Outback (Natl)
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
04/14/2016

Love my Subaru!

I bought my car used, with about 9,000 miles on it. It has just over 60,000 miles now. I have had it for about 6 years and so far I have not had any major work done to it (knock wood). When I had the 60,000 mile service, the mechanic told me that there was leakage from a couple of the vales and that when they tries to remove the head, the bottom bolts were completely frozen and rusted. Eventually the engine will need to taken out so that they can reach the bolts to drill them out. This will be a major deal, but it is the most expensive work I have needed since I got the car. My car is a stick shift, which is getting harder to find. I really like driving a stick as it feels more like you are driving the car and not that the car is deciding which gear to use.Gas mileage is around 24.5 to 25 mpg. The best thing about having a Subaru is you don't need to shovel your driveway! This was actually a major factor in deciding to get an AWD vehicle. We had 2 feet of snow last winter. I only needed to remove a bit of snow at the end of the driveway that the snowplows had piled up, which took less than an hour. Once I got it down to about a foot of snow, my trusty Subaru zipped right out.
    Value
  • Build Quality
  • Reliability
  • Exterior
  • Interior
  • Features
  • Fun
  • Performance
  • Comfort
  • Styling

Displaying reviews 1 - 20 of 25 in total

Businesses Near You


  • BMW Dealer
  • Subaru Dealer
  • Auto Maintenance
Integrity Autowerks Inc
Overall Rating 4.9/5Overall Rating 4.9/5Overall Rating 4.9/5Overall Rating 4.9/5Overall Rating 4.9/5
4.9
(117 Reviews)

  • Subaru Dealer
  • Used Car Dealer
  • Auto Repair
Parker Subaru
Overall Rating 4.8/5Overall Rating 4.8/5Overall Rating 4.8/5Overall Rating 4.8/5Overall Rating 4.8/5
4.8
(18560 Reviews)
Overall Rating 4.5/5Overall Rating 4.5/5Overall Rating 4.5/5Overall Rating 4.5/5Overall Rating 4.5/5
4.5
(31) ReScores