German Autowerks


Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5rating 4.0

4 Reviews

75% Would Recommend
Latest Review 6 days ago

J L. on 11/11/2017
Verified badge inactive Verified
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
"I have an old Benz and every time I take it to them for repairs, they do a great job. "
I had nothing but great experience with Brandon and his team. Great job guys.
Service Date: 09/07/2017
Review Created: 11/11/2017 01:49 PM
James M. on 09/01/2017
Recommended badge inactive Recommended
Verified badge inactive Verified
Overall Rating 1/5rating 1rating 1rating 1rating 1
"Bad service and poor excuses"
Had a recommendation to take my just bought VW Jetta to this place. It had a definite lack of power and some bad lights. Later found out the person doing the recommendation was telling us lies. Looks like she didn't like us. Her husband's sister told us the truth. Bad service, a claim the car was stolen and was totaled. I wish we had known this before going down there and had seen a few of the bad results of other people as well. We took the car down and with out even seeing what color the car was, the owner told us it was the timing chain, but he would look at it. We were told, two days later, the car could not start for them at all. "Yes, it is a broken timing chain", the owner stated. We did see someone under the hood of the car in the parking lot when we drove back by there 30 minutes later.
TWO MONTHS later .... with us being told for two weeks of that time that they had the cover of the engine off we finally get the car back. During the waiting period we were told the machine shop had finally been sent the head and they would have to determine how many gaskets it would need. We were also told that with a broken timing chain the piston ( told to us the first time), the fuel injectors ( the second time), or the valves ( third choice of what an additional problem) might be bent. Well it seemed to take a week for the machine shop, they won't tell us which one they sent it to, to get the motor back. then the problems really started with the mechanics at German. On a couple of occasions, they kept breaking the gaskets when they tried to put the engine together. Then there was a major coolant leak they had to fix. Then finally, they bent some fuel injectors and had to fix those. Finally we got a call from them, which was the first time they actually called me. I had to call them to keep getting an update of the progress of the car. they said the car is ready, but they would not recommend me picking it up until I had the timing chain fixed. that would be an additional $2,000. Funny how it was the chain in the first place and the owner said between the chain and the bent pistons, fuel injectors/valves it would cost about $2,000. Which the estimate was changed twice when we tried to pick the car up. $2,800 was now the final estimate he claimed to give.
We took the car home and it drove so-so. Not great but it moved. The next day the check engine light came on. Also the passenger side lights would not cut off even when the car was cut off. I had to start disconnecting the battery each night. Then the coolant started leaking. I have to fill the system up every time I drive the car. We still have a lose of power, but at times it seems to come back. I'm going to let the mechanic Advance auto recommended to me to check the car over. At a glance they think the engine is now totally shot and it looks like I will have to get rid of the car. My girlfriend is disabled and is totally dependent of me to take her to doctor appointments. Because of German telling us so many times the car would be ready and it was not, she was dropped by one of her doctors and it cost me employment. As the guy at Advance Auto told me, he has heard of them and I was a fool to take it to them. I think what clinches it for me is that when we went to pick up the car, the owner tried to put the blame on everyone but them. First the guy for selling the car in the first place and then finally me for not having checked it out. I hate to tell him, but we did have it checked and for about a week it ran fine.
This guy diagnoses and repairs by crystal ball. Looking up a history of German Autowerks and their law suits, I would say just by that I would not take anything to them.
Service Date: 06/28/2017
Review Created: 09/01/2017 10:33 AM
Boris H. on 07/10/2017
Verified badge inactive Verified
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
"Happy Client"
I bought an 2005 Mercedes CLK 500 ... it needed work. I searched for a European car repair shop and liked the reviews on German Autowerks . They did a great job on my car and lived up to my expectations. Brandon & Daniel were great, they explained what had to been done and why and did it. I have complete confidence in them and will be back when needed. A great shop with and honest staff.
Service Date: 06/15/2017
Review Created: 07/10/2017 05:14 AM
Mitchell R. on 05/17/2017
Verified badge inactive Verified
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
"MERCEDES-BENZ "
Quality service at a fair price and took care of all my concerns timely.
Service Date: 05/08/2017
Review Created: 05/17/2017 05:28 PM
Displaying all 4 Review