Rockys Miatomotive


Overall Rating 4.75/5Overall Rating 4.75/5Overall Rating 4.75/5Overall Rating 4.75/5rating 4.75

16 Reviews

100% Would Recommend
Latest Review over 3 years ago

Philip D. on 12/02/2014
Verified badge inactive Verified
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
"The Best Repair shop for Mazda's and Miatas"
I found Rocky's Miatamotive through the San Diego Miata Club. My Mazda had a problem passing smog and I wanted someone who is familiar with Mazdas to work on it. Although I didn't own a Miata, he was more than happy to work on my 2003 Protege5 Sport wagon. We set a date to drop off the car the week of Thanksgiving. He gave me an initial quote and would advise me on the phone once the diagnostics had been done. He phone that afternoon, told me the problem and was quoted a figure that I agreed upon. He had to order a part and being the holiday, I didn't expect to get my car back until the following week. To my surprise he phoned me on that Saturday to inform me my car was ready to pick up and the amount was exactly as he had quoted. He referred me to another shop to run my smog test again and it passed with flying colors. Thanks to him, I was able to register my car. He was a life saver.
The shop was wonderful to work with. They always kept in touch with me every step of the way and he stayed on budget without gouging me with unnecessary repairs like some shops I have dealt with in the past. Very honest and trustworthy.

Rocky's Miatamotive will be the only place I will take my car to. I highly recommend this shop to anyone and will refer other Mazda owners her as well.
Service Date: 11/24/2014
Review Created: 12/02/2014 12:32 AM
Rose A. on 10/19/2011
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
"60,000 mile check up"
As always, the work was done and thoroughly explained. We always feel confident in the repairs and Rocky's honesty.
Service Date: 10/18/2011
Review Created: 10/19/2011 09:11 PM
Robert K. on 10/01/2011
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
"Great Work"
I appreciated Rocky going over the car from bumper to bumper. Fair price and good work. What more could one ask for.
Service Date: 09/27/2011
Review Created: 10/01/2011 11:12 AM
Perry W. on 09/21/2011
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
"New Shocks"
Great service! Rocky bent over backwards to take care of me and my '94 Miata. His price was the best. Super quality. His knowledge of my car was incredible. HIGHLY RECOMMENDED.
Service Date: 09/20/2011
Review Created: 09/21/2011 07:58 PM
Michael B. on 09/21/2011
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
"Thanks Rocky"
After purchasing a 10 yr old Miata, Rocky took the time to get my car back ship shape Lickitty Split.
He fit me in the schedule right away and performed excellent work on my car.
He took the time to explain the idiosyncrasies about my car and it's special servicing needs.
His labor rate is right in line with all the other shops around AND you get the benefit of a Miata "specialist" !
His website is an excellent example of Rocky taking the leading edge in the customers needs to the next level.
Do you own a Miata?
Rocky is "THE" place for local service !
Service Date: 08/03/2011
Review Created: 09/21/2011 12:57 PM
Chris M. on 09/16/2011
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
"Rocky Rocks!"
Rocky is a very honest, forthright, and competent mechanic. I have been going to him for years, and his work has never let me down. His knowledge, wisdom, and insight have saved me money on several occasions. Furthermore, on at least two occasions, he's done what I though was impossible. I was in the auto repair and restoration business for over 20 years, so I know of what I speak. Rocky is the only guy I'd trust with my cars.
Service Date: 09/15/2011
Review Created: 09/16/2011 09:50 PM
Nessim T. on 09/07/2011
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
"Rocky is the best."
Not only is he the best Miata mechanic... he's also honest! Highly recommendable!
Service Date: 08/19/2011
Review Created: 09/07/2011 04:08 PM
Danny L. on 09/03/2011
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
"Awesome"
Rocky is truly a Miata specialist. He is professional and treats his clients with dignity. I've been going to Rocky for years and will continue to do so.
Vehicle: Mazda MX-5 Miata
Service Date: 09/01/2011
Review Created: 09/03/2011 08:51 AM
Tod D. on 08/29/2011
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
"battery test and replace"
Highly professional, competent work
Service Date: 08/09/2011
Review Created: 08/29/2011 12:56 PM
David Z. on 08/27/2011
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
"This is the place."
When I need to have my vehicle serviced for any reason, this is the place I've been bringing it to for years. 'Nuff said? DZ.
Service Date: 08/02/2011
Review Created: 08/27/2011 09:58 PM
John C. on 08/27/2011
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
"Great work as usual"
I come from wa to have you work on my cars I tried to due five stars but system would not do it
Service Date: 07/29/2011
Review Created: 08/27/2011 06:07 PM
Verified Customer on 08/27/2011
Verified badge inactive Verified
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
"Great work as usual"
I come from wa to have you work on my cars I tried to due five stars but system would not do it
Review Created: 08/27/2011 06:04 PM
Larry D. on 08/27/2011
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
"Failed smog test - Rocky fixed me up"
Title says it all. My 95 failed smog this year (sneaky DMV raised standards this year, last years numbers would have failed also) and it wasn't good news. New cat, fuel system clean, tune up, leaking valve cover. Rocky pointed me to Goodwin for a good deal on the cat and a referral to Budget muffler when he found the existing cat was welded. He worked to make sure everything was completed and my car passed the test. Bring your car to Rocky, you won't be disappointed.
Service Date: 07/29/2011
Review Created: 08/27/2011 05:59 PM
Matthew L. on 07/13/2011
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
"Rocky and Justin do excellent work"
Rocky's been working on my car for years. He's taken over the shop from Dennstedt and Justin's full time. They do excellent work on Miata's, Mazda's, and many other vehicles. From routine maintenance to the Miata they're prepping for Sliverstate Rocky's your guy.
Service Date: 07/12/2011
Review Created: 07/13/2011 07:34 PM
Kurt S. on 07/12/2011
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
"Awesome Service"
This is the Best Shop in Southern CA, so it is said. In my humble opinion, it's the BEST shop on the Planet...
Service Date: 07/11/2011
Review Created: 07/12/2011 07:45 PM
Lyndsay S. on 07/09/2011
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
"Friendly and full of info!"
Like their enthusiasm and the effieciancy.
Good find.
Thanks
Service Date: 07/01/2011
Review Created: 07/09/2011 08:47 AM
Displaying all 16 Review