Business Solutions

2022 Hyundai IONIQ 5

Average Score

Overall Rating 4.7/5Overall Rating 4.7/5Overall Rating 4.7/5Overall Rating 4.7/5Overall Rating 4.7/5
4.7
(518 Reviews)
Category Summary
(Avg. out of 10)
    Value
  • Features
  • Build Quality
  • Fun
  • Reliability
  • Performance
  • Exterior
  • Comfort
  • Interior
  • Styling

Reviews

Overall Rating 4.7/5Overall Rating 4.7/5Overall Rating 4.7/5Overall Rating 4.7/5Overall Rating 4.7/5
4.7
(518 Reviews)

Reviews


RF
gravatar
Rachel F.
2022 Hyundai IONIQ 5
Overall Rating 1.0/5Overall Rating 1.0/5Overall Rating 1.0/5Overall Rating 1.0/5Overall Rating 1.0/5
03/16/2022

Buyer beware of Ioniq 5 false advertising

Car is great, everything I wanted, but Hyundai advertising 6.5hrs at home charge but unable to find/provide cable for such. Limited trim comes with 110V charger that takes 54hrs to charge 10% - 100% at home. Completely useless for everyday driving, and false advertising from Hyundai company!
    Value
  • Build Quality
  • Reliability
  • Exterior
  • Interior
  • Features
  • Fun
  • Performance
  • Comfort
  • Styling

EK
gravatar
ELLEN K.
2022 Hyundai IONIQ 5
verified customer Verified Owner
Overall Rating 1.0/5Overall Rating 1.0/5Overall Rating 1.0/5Overall Rating 1.0/5Overall Rating 1.0/5
03/25/2022
Verified Review

Range was a Lie

I purchased this vehicle largely for the range of the EV Battery. I’ve never been able to drive the car further than 250 miles despite the advertised range of 300+. Buy the Mustang Mach E. Customer service response has been insulting this far. I am so disappointed.
    Value
  • Build Quality
  • Reliability
  • Exterior
  • Interior
  • Features
  • Fun
  • Performance
  • Comfort
  • Styling
NationalCA - List responded on 03/25/2022 10:25 AM
Hello, Ellen. Thank you for providing your feedback. We've contacted your case manager, India, as well as their supervisor, and they will be in touch shortly. Thank you again. ^cc

DB
gravatar
DANIEL B.
2022 Hyundai IONIQ 5
verified customer Verified Owner
Overall Rating 1.0/5Overall Rating 1.0/5Overall Rating 1.0/5Overall Rating 1.0/5Overall Rating 1.0/5
04/08/2022
Verified Review

Vehicle was delivered with a defective AC system

The vehicle has been decent so far. Unfortunately it was delivered with a defective AC system which impacts a significant amount of different items in terms of both safety and comfort. If I was scoring the vehicle just based upon the drive system and efficiency of the electric systems it would easily be a 5/5 as so far I have been very impressed with the vehicle in terms of driving functionality. But unfortunately having windows that do not defog efficiently and almost getting heatstroke driving through a very hot area significantly deter me from in good conscious giving this vehicle a good rating. This seems to additionally be a significantly COMMON PROBLEM with the vehicle as I have found roughly 30+ other Ioniq 5 owners with similar AC issues which leads me to believe that there is a significant defect in the design of the systems.
    Value
  • Build Quality
  • Reliability
  • Exterior
  • Interior
  • Features
  • Fun
  • Performance
  • Comfort
  • Styling
NationalCA - List responded on 04/08/2022 08:15 AM
We're very sorry to hear of your experience, Daniel. We've created a case and assigned it to one of our corporate colleagues, Evan, who will be in touch with you shortly to further discuss your concerns. Thank you for providing your feedback. ^cc

MD
gravatar
Michael D.
2022 Hyundai IONIQ 5
verified customer Verified Owner
Overall Rating 1.0/5Overall Rating 1.0/5Overall Rating 1.0/5Overall Rating 1.0/5Overall Rating 1.0/5
04/09/2022
Verified Review

300 mile charge rating.

After 3 weeks I was down to 220 on a charge. I did as the Service Manager requested but it still did not help. I returned to Service and was told there is nothing wrong with the car, so why can't I get 300 miles on a charge? Now I am left with no car to get to and from work.
    Value
  • Build Quality
  • Reliability
  • Exterior
  • Interior
  • Features
  • Fun
  • Performance
  • Comfort
  • Styling
NationalCA - List responded on 04/11/2022 07:46 AM
We're sorry to hear this, Michael. Please feel free to contact our consumer affairs team at (844) 462-5557, and they would be happy to look into your experience further. Thank you. ^cc 

BA
gravatar
BRYAN A.
2022 Hyundai IONIQ 5
verified customer Verified Owner
Overall Rating 1.0/5Overall Rating 1.0/5Overall Rating 1.0/5Overall Rating 1.0/5Overall Rating 1.0/5
04/23/2022
Verified Review

Cheap parts used to build the car

The car is good other than the fact the the air compressor is faulty and the replacement is also faulty. Waiting for a part for over a month on a brand new car is very unsatisfactory. Hyundai is not any help in fixing the problem.
    Value
  • Build Quality
  • Reliability
  • Exterior
  • Interior
  • Features
  • Fun
  • Performance
  • Comfort
  • Styling
NationalCA - List responded on 04/25/2022 08:41 AM
We're very sorry to hear of your experience, Bryan. Please feel free to contact our customer care team at (800) 633-5151, and they would be happy to look into any concerns you may have further. Thank you. ^cc

BB
gravatar
BRIAN B.
2022 Hyundai IONIQ 5
verified customer Verified Owner
Overall Rating 1.0/5Overall Rating 1.0/5Overall Rating 1.0/5Overall Rating 1.0/5Overall Rating 1.0/5
04/27/2022
Verified Review

Ioniq5 problem

I was sold a defective car. Brought it back right away and after it was in the shop for over 4 weeks I fought and got my money back. I waited months for the limited ioniq 5 and I got nothing but a lemon
    Value
  • Build Quality
  • Reliability
  • Exterior
  • Interior
  • Features
  • Fun
  • Performance
  • Comfort
  • Styling
NationalCA - List responded on 04/28/2022 06:23 AM
We're very sorry to learn of your experience, Brian. We've passed this information along to your case manager, who will be in touch shortly. Thank you. ^cc

PH
gravatar
PAUL H.
2022 Hyundai IONIQ 5
verified customer Verified Owner
Overall Rating 1.0/5Overall Rating 1.0/5Overall Rating 1.0/5Overall Rating 1.0/5Overall Rating 1.0/5
05/13/2022
Verified Review

Actual mileage range on RWD long range edition is deceptively lower than stated by Hyundai, dealerships, sales reps...

Mileage range on RWD long range is deceptively stated as 303 miles by Hyundai, Hyundai US, its dealerships, ales reps, mechanics. Mine has settled on 258 miles in range on a 100% charge - about 15% below the stated range.
    Value
  • Build Quality
  • Reliability
  • Exterior
  • Interior
  • Features
  • Fun
  • Performance
  • Comfort
  • Styling

LN
gravatar
LEAH N.
2022 Hyundai IONIQ 5
verified customer Verified Owner
Overall Rating 1.0/5Overall Rating 1.0/5Overall Rating 1.0/5Overall Rating 1.0/5Overall Rating 1.0/5
06/03/2022
Verified Review

High expectations and sad reality

It barely gets 250 miles on the highway. Nothing is well thought out in terms of controls or performance. The paint chips off. You can't see out the back when it rains because there's no rear wiper. It's a cheap car masquerading as a higher end vehicle. Look elsewhere for the range.
    Value
  • Build Quality
  • Reliability
  • Exterior
  • Interior
  • Features
  • Fun
  • Performance
  • Comfort
  • Styling
Dakota H. responded on 06/03/2022 12:12 PM
We're sorry to learn of your experience, Leah. Please feel free to contact our consumer affairs team at (844) 462-5557, and they would be happy to address any concerns you may have. Thank you. ^cc

ML
gravatar
MACKENZIE L.
2022 Hyundai IONIQ 5
verified customer Verified Owner
Overall Rating 1.0/5Overall Rating 1.0/5Overall Rating 1.0/5Overall Rating 1.0/5Overall Rating 1.0/5
06/30/2022
Verified Review

Fun if your A/C doesn't brake within a week

Very pretty looking and fun to drive but the A/C broke within 6 days. It's has been extremely painful to get it fixed at the dealership. Also Hyundai corporate's case manager didn't help either. I can't recommend this car and company to anyone!
    Value
  • Build Quality
  • Reliability
  • Exterior
  • Interior
  • Features
  • Fun
  • Performance
  • Comfort
  • Styling

KK
gravatar
KRISTOPHER K.
2022 Hyundai IONIQ 5
verified customer Verified Owner
Overall Rating 1.0/5Overall Rating 1.0/5Overall Rating 1.0/5Overall Rating 1.0/5Overall Rating 1.0/5
09/14/2022
Verified Review

Quality low, bumper to bumper warranty lacking

Quality of materials is under par, bumper to bumper warranty does not cover much. Poor workmanship/damage not viewed at delivery is not covered later on. Door panel coverings are thin as paper. Hyundai corporate does not help at all either to resolve the issue.
    Value
  • Build Quality
  • Reliability
  • Exterior
  • Interior
  • Features
  • Fun
  • Performance
  • Comfort
  • Styling

SK
gravatar
SHAWN K.
2022 Hyundai IONIQ 5
verified customer Verified Owner
Overall Rating 2.0/5Overall Rating 2.0/5Overall Rating 2.0/5Overall Rating 2.0/5Overall Rating 2.0/5
04/09/2022
Verified Review

Water pump failed after 3 weeks

I purchased the car brand new and was excited to drive it and experience what an EV had to offer. After about 3 weeks and 1300 miles I got an EV light on the dash. Brought the car to the dealer and found out the water pump failed. The part is on back order and they don’t have a ETA on when it will be in to fix. It a disappointment I spent alot of money on the car and it has an issue after 1300 miles. I really enjoyed the car. But now it has me worrying about the reliability of the vehicle.
    Value
  • Build Quality
  • Reliability
  • Exterior
  • Interior
  • Features
  • Fun
  • Performance
  • Comfort
  • Styling
NationalCA - List responded on 04/11/2022 07:44 AM
We're very sorry to hear of your situation, Shawn. We have notified one of our corporate colleagues, Jordan, and they will be in touch with you shortly to further discuss your concerns. Thank you. ^cc

AP
gravatar
ANTHONY P.
2022 Hyundai IONIQ 5
verified customer Verified Owner
Overall Rating 2.0/5Overall Rating 2.0/5Overall Rating 2.0/5Overall Rating 2.0/5Overall Rating 2.0/5
06/14/2022
Verified Review

Nice car but my climate control doesn't work and can't be fixed for months.

The car looks great and for the most part I like it. However after just 5 days, the climate stopped working and I was told that it could not be fixed because the parts are on months long backorder. With temperatures averaging in the mid to high 90s, I cannot drive the car during the day. It's just not safe as internal temperatures are sometimes over 100 degrees (!).
    Value
  • Build Quality
  • Reliability
  • Exterior
  • Interior
  • Features
  • Fun
  • Performance
  • Comfort
  • Styling
Dakota H. responded on 06/15/2022 06:45 AM
We're very sorry to learn of your experience, Anthony. We have passed along your concerns to your case manager, Shawnita, who will be in touch shortly to further discuss your situation. Thank you. ^cc

JB
gravatar
JOSEPH B.
2022 Hyundai IONIQ 5
verified customer Verified Owner
Overall Rating 2.0/5Overall Rating 2.0/5Overall Rating 2.0/5Overall Rating 2.0/5Overall Rating 2.0/5
06/30/2022
Verified Review

I wish it didn't break immediately, but otherwise awesome.

Things I love: the car is smooth. the car is quiet. the acceleration is amazing. it looks very cool. its large, like surprisingly large. The tech features seem awesome, but I can’t fully say until I've been able to use it as much of it doesn't work. the cup holders are far superior to Mercedes-Benz. the magnet spot, I thought that was super stupid at first, but I love it. not functional not needed, but a nice touch. another nice touch is the metal endcaps on the stalks. the pixel motif is very cool, though perhaps even a bit too subdued. I like the steering wheel shape/design including the quality of the buttons. those are frequent touch points and they aren’t at risk of fade. well done. though I really do wish I could change the button so that moving up a track meant pushing the button up. its counter intuitive. Things I'd like to see in the future: static display brightness. auto dimming is not something I like, but I can not disable it. the tune and channel select button I would love to be able to invert the controls. right now down is up and up is down. the star button....I’d love to see the options open up more on that. they are a bit restrictive. please stop using USB-A ports. I assume you had a ton of them laying around but it makes no sense otherwise to use USB-A when everything is now USB-C especially in a 'future' car. more customization of the display would be great, perhaps wallpaper uploads of .jpeg or something over the USB data port. Things that are not so positive: the rear seatbelts bang against the doors all the time. I know you know about this because there is an extra bit of fabric to help this, and it does help. but, the guide for the seatbelt is not sufficiently to keep the belt from twisting when exiting the rear. I have kids, this is 100% of the time they are in the car the belt twists upon retraction as a result of the force of the retraction and the weight of the buckle. I can already tell the front grill vent is going to be a challenge in the winter. I can see that being a problem and I’m able to avoid snow travel for the most part, time will tell. ergonomics: I am 69" tall and 170lbs. absolutely everything is a nightmare to reach. the infotainment, the center glove box (the concealed box in the arm rest) the seat controls, basically everything. I understand that ergos are very subjective to the individual, just do with that what you will. the lumbar support does not maintain position. I haven’t told the dealer yet because I’d really like them to focus on my AVN. my sales rep was amazing his name is Don Fischer. He was amazing. he went above and beyond. the service manager and I, are off to a rough start. I hope that he does right by me. if he doesn’t, I’ll let you know. the AVN issue is of the utmost concern. my GPS doesn’t function. HDA errors out. GPS is a very important feature to me. it’s a long story, I told the service manager, he should understand my frustration about this. its literally essential to me. the HDA function not working is very very sad. this is one of the key features I was excited about. I do a lot of highway driving and now I don’t have it after having it just a short while. there is a bit of creaking from the driver side a-pillar. seems to be related to body roll. do I really really need the little cap on the DC ports? can I just put a bit of no-ox in there and remove that annoying dangly junk? that was clearly an after-thought. Right now, I'm still generally undecided about my decision. this host of issues so very early in one of the most expensive offerings from the company, a flagship vehicle that when asked by peers I have to give an almost embarrassing disclaimer. it is what it is.
    Value
  • Build Quality
  • Reliability
  • Exterior
  • Interior
  • Features
  • Fun
  • Performance
  • Comfort
  • Styling

KE
gravatar
KENNETH E.
2022 Hyundai IONIQ 5
verified customer Verified Owner
Overall Rating 2.0/5Overall Rating 2.0/5Overall Rating 2.0/5Overall Rating 2.0/5Overall Rating 2.0/5
08/09/2022
Verified Review

Way over priced

The new 2022 ioniq 5 I purchased from Danbury Hyundai in CT was a total nightmare and I will tell you that from experience that this vehicle is way over priced. So I can not give you a honest review of my purchase. It has been over a month of waiting for Hyundai to call me back regarding my vehicle purchase.
    Value
  • Build Quality
  • Reliability
  • Exterior
  • Interior
  • Features
  • Fun
  • Performance
  • Comfort
  • Styling
Dakota H. responded on 08/09/2022 02:21 PM
We're sorry to learn of your experience, Kenneth. Please feel free to contact our customer care team at (800) 633-5151, and they would be happy to address any concerns you may have. Thank you. ^cc

JB
gravatar
JOHN B.
2022 Hyundai IONIQ 5
verified customer Verified Owner
Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5
01/07/2022
Verified Review

Fantastic mpg. Car blends in well in traffic

Can get 60-75 mpg in common driving conditions. This car is nearly invisible in public. No one ever notices it, which is great for us. Bluetooth and apple CarPlay are always confused. Have to reset entire stereo every few hundred miles
    Value
  • Build Quality
  • Reliability
  • Exterior
  • Interior
  • Features
  • Fun
  • Performance
  • Comfort
  • Styling

AB
gravatar
ALEXANDER B.
2022 Hyundai IONIQ 5
verified customer Verified Owner
Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5
03/15/2022
Verified Review

Great car but Misleading mileage

Mileage estimate is quite concerning. Vehicle doesn't appear to get anywhere close to above 300 miles. This doesn't change with mode either unfortunately. Otherwise everything about the car is great, love the style.
    Value
  • Build Quality
  • Reliability
  • Exterior
  • Interior
  • Features
  • Fun
  • Performance
  • Comfort
  • Styling

MS
gravatar
MASTANBABU S.
2022 Hyundai IONIQ 5
verified customer Verified Owner
Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5
04/01/2022
Verified Review

Poor delivery service and high APR

I was charged with morethan market APR and dealership was not helpful with my review and delivery and communicated with dealership sales person but no luck and i hope next time car will come with usb c ports
    Value
  • Build Quality
  • Reliability
  • Exterior
  • Interior
  • Features
  • Fun
  • Performance
  • Comfort
  • Styling

SB
gravatar
STEVEN B.
2022 Hyundai IONIQ 5
verified customer Verified Owner
Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5
04/01/2022
Verified Review

Doesn’t charge to 300+

Like just about everything with vehicle except it only charged to 257 miles when it should be over 300 miles. Package protection tape whil shipping has left the paint with smudge marks on the bumpers.
    Value
  • Build Quality
  • Reliability
  • Exterior
  • Interior
  • Features
  • Fun
  • Performance
  • Comfort
  • Styling

WW
gravatar
WINSON W.
2022 Hyundai IONIQ 5
verified customer Verified Owner
Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5
05/13/2022
Verified Review

Great styling, poor rear window design

The vehicle is large for an EV, the design is bold and appealing. The rear window design is horrible and makes it impossible to see out of during rain or snow (there is no wiper in the back). The lane assist tech. is great as well as the cruise control with adaptive assistance. Because of the large size and visibility issues, I do not entirely regret buying the car, I do wish I would have chosen the EV Kona instead. I believe the car will improve with future model years.
    Value
  • Build Quality
  • Reliability
  • Exterior
  • Interior
  • Features
  • Fun
  • Performance
  • Comfort
  • Styling

GM
gravatar
GARFIELD M.
2022 Hyundai IONIQ 5
verified customer Verified Owner
Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5
05/13/2022
Verified Review

very good but not great

Ioniq5 Limited very good not great, the issues that i have with Ioniq5 are all software related Nav travel with EV charging is # one issue on route battery preconditioning other than that rear window.
    Value
  • Build Quality
  • Reliability
  • Exterior
  • Interior
  • Features
  • Fun
  • Performance
  • Comfort
  • Styling

Displaying reviews 1 - 20 of 509 in total

Sponsored Dealer


  • Hyundai Dealer
  • Auto Repair
  • Auto Maintenance
Haddad Hyundai
Overall Rating 4.7/5Overall Rating 4.7/5Overall Rating 4.7/5Overall Rating 4.7/5Overall Rating 4.7/5
4.7
(1421 Reviews)
Overall Rating 4.6/5Overall Rating 4.6/5Overall Rating 4.6/5Overall Rating 4.6/5Overall Rating 4.6/5
4.6
(54) ReScores