2020
Hyundai
Veloster N

Overall Rating 4.9/5Overall Rating 4.9/5Overall Rating 4.9/5Overall Rating 4.9/5Overall Rating 4.9/5
4.9
(84 Reviews)
Latest review 13 days ago
Category Summary (Avg. out of 10)
  • Value
  • Features
  • Build Quality
  • Fun
  • Reliability
  • Performance
  • Exterior
  • Comfort
  • Interior
  • Styling

MH
MARCUS H.
2020 Hyundai Veloster N
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
01/12/2021
Na
Performance is great; interior hard plastic leaves a lot to be desired. Need to bring Korean parts to North America and allow for more aftermarket parts to be added without voiding warranty. Factory warranty is great. Price point is great.

Pros
Na

Cons
Na

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

BH
Brandon H.
2020 Hyundai Veloster N
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
12/31/2020
One year of ownership
Still love this car, I smile every time I drive. The styling is spot on and the performance is excellent. It’s fast enough off the line, but I really shines when things get twisty. 1 year and 10k miles I have no complaints!

Pros
It’s fast, not straight line fast, but fast. It love the track, the mountains and corners in general.

Cons
Interior is functional, not exciting. Very comfortable. I feel safe and love that everything has a physical control.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

CM
CLINTON M.
2020 Hyundai Veloster N
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
12/22/2020
One of the best driving cars I have owned
Tight, fast, fun, dynamic, and can't stop wanting to drive it. I have owned some great cars over the past 15 years and this one combines all the fun factors of all my favorite cars. My wife and I can take turns driving it on cruises, and it handles track day duties with ease.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

DS
DARYL S.
2020 Hyundai Veloster N
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
12/19/2020
Fun
I had my eyes on the i30N a couple years before they came to the states. Then I saw one (Veloster N) and heard one in person. Took one for a test drive and was hooked. It’s super fun to drive and looks awesome.

Pros
Fun as hell to drive

Cons
Nothing so far

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

SS
SAMUEL S.
2020 Hyundai Veloster N
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
12/16/2020
Most fun to drive car I've ever owned!
I wanted a fun to drive car with a manual transmission. I did a lot of research looking at video reviews. The video that made up my mind was the Straight Pipes video comparing the Veloster N to the Civic Type R (which I seriously considered buying).The overall styling, and the specific details on the N, is super. I love the way the N Custom drive mode allows you to choose different settings for the engine response, lsd, esc, rev matching, steering feel, suspension and exhaust sound! I had to have the Performance Blue exterior color, and I get lots of positive comments on it! Driving it is a blast!

Pros
Great sound system. Great styling. Infotainment ease of use. Interior and storage room .Performance. Exhaust sound! FUN TO DRIVE!

Cons
No option for moon roof, leather, heated seats, heated steering wheel or power seats, but the extra weight would have hurt the performance and fun to drive factor.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

KP
KEEGAN P.
2020 Hyundai Veloster N
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
12/15/2020
Pure Fun car to drive
I bought this car because it came only as a manual car. This car is so fun to drive, especially with the different mods you can select from Eco mode, to N mode or you can just cruise in normal mode. It also has more room than you would think.

Cons
No text notifications

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

AR
Adrian R.
2020 Hyundai Veloster N
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
12/06/2020
My hyundai
I really like it as I got a 2013 veloster and I just got a new 2020 veloster n its a fun drive but I would not say it's a good family vehicle... but I have to dogs and it enough room for them and me so is a great car for a single person or a couple but if they have kids it wouldn't be a good fit for them

Pros
It pretty quick super sleak but im sure there faster hyundai on the lot over all I like hyundai it my second one

Cons
Love how the screen ... but the interior is kind of boring I think it could use some color or some led lights but would have really enjoyed seeing some fog light love the look of the car but would have been 10 times better with fog lights would have gave it a aggressive look too it

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

SM
Sean M.
2020 Hyundai Veloster N
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
11/25/2020
Veloster N
This car delivers on everything it is supposed to. Amazing value for a performance car. 200 characters dhejansjdhdhdhshdhshshsajjahshddksbdhdhdjdjzbdhdhdjdufudjdjfiridjxicjcjdkdjfhfjdjsjddjdjrofo

Pros
Super fun to drive

Cons
Too much fun

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

LD
LORENZO D.
2020 Hyundai Veloster N
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
11/24/2020
My time so far
First let me start by saying that the Veloster N was not top of my list of cars to check out this year when looking for something new to drive. I originally had my heart set on a Subaru WRX. After spending some time looking through the features of the Veloster N, I decided to make a trip over to the dealership to check it out. All it took was one test drive and I was sold. I completely ignored the sales people at the dealer trying to get me in on features, specs, blah blah blah. All it really came down to was how the vehicle actually drove, and could I see myself driving this car every day.

If you are reading this wondering if this car is right for you, answer these few short questions for yourself. Do you like sporty hatchbacks? Do you like to occasionally track your car or attend car related events? Do you care more about how the car drives than the fancy features it offers? Do you want your car to drive sporty when you feel like it but also be able to tone it down and get good gas mileage on a longer drive? If most if not all of those were yes answers, then this is the car for you.

Take the time to go drive one if a dealership near you has one. I promise that if you enjoy performance on a budget, this is the car for you.

Pros
-Fun to drive
-Comfortable seats
-No frills interior
-Great exterior styling
-Actually usable storage

Cons
-Does not have options as far as interior or exterior packages (aside from performance package)
-Does not come equipped with LED interior or license plate lights from the factory.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

KE
Kevin E.
2020 Hyundai Veloster N
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5
11/12/2020
2020 Hyundai Veloster N - Almost Great
The 2020 Hyundai Veloster N (with the Performance Package) is an excellent value for a sports car. EXCELLENT handling, very good acceleration, and the best infotainment system on the market make it a solid purchase option. What holds this car back is the tight backseat, odd three door design, and some needed acceleration/power after 2nd gear.

Who should buy this car? Someone without children and without the need to put adults in the backseat. Someone who prioritizes handling and wants to daily drive a go-cart.

For reference, I considered a
VW GTI SE (slower/not as fun)
Honda Civic Type R (10k more expensive than the VN I found)
Kia K5 GT (lacks an LSD or else I would have bought it)
The new AWD Mazda (lacks an LSD)
Genesis G70 (much more expensive)
Mini Countryman JCW (much more expensive)
Subaru WRX STI (10k ish more expensive and the exhaust drone was annoying)

Since I found a 2020 Veloster N with the Performance Package for under $28,000 it would have been hard to justify any of the other choices.

Pros
Handling
Price

Cons
Not kid friendly
Tight backseat
Needs about 30hp more

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

KF
Kyle F.
2020 Hyundai Veloster N
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
11/10/2020
Incredible Machine
The Hyundai Veloster N is the most fun and highest performing vehicle you can get for its price. I have absolutely zero regrets after owning this vehicle for a year. It still amazes me to this day and makes me smile every time i start it up and get behind the wheel. Bravo and hats off to Hyundai and Albert Bierman as well as the N Performance team!

Pros
Amazing performance.
Mind blowing handling.
Good gas mileage for how fast it is.
Manual transmission but auto is optional.
Incredible Value.

Cons
A little small if you are tall or wide.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

SD
STEPHEN D.
2020 Hyundai Veloster N
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
11/08/2020
Quality, Comfort and FUN!
Great car with lots of energy and features! Changeable drive modes to suit your mood any day of the week! Quality audio system to listen to your favorite music, podcast, comedy etc. Really like the “pages” in dashboard

Pros
Drive modes and “rev”options
Able to view engine stats in N mode

Cons
None

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

RM
Robert M.
2020 Hyundai Veloster N
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
10/27/2020
Beast
My Veloster N is a beast. It has so many options for different performance levels it’s impressive. Handles better than any other vehicle I’ve owned before and the power is perfectly tuned to pass almost any car in its path. Also the fuel tank is only like 10 gallons but will last for almost 400 miles! Stereo is excellent too. It’s a bad ass car really.

Pros
Smooth, easy to drive, serious power, good gas mileage, and a great stereo system.

Cons
No spare tire

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

HR
HOLLY R.
2020 Hyundai Veloster N
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
10/20/2020
A fun to drive hot hatch
I wanted a fun vehicle with a manual transmission. We had two Hyundai vehicles and we loved both of them. I did not even trade. We have found these to be reliable and inexpensive to own. When the "N" came out this became probably my most desired vehicle. Some research and a test drive along with Hyundai circle pricing sealed the deal. This car is a ball to drive and I have started some light modding. About the only hit from the magazines seems to be that its interior falls short of a Mercedes S class. Win!

Pros
Reliable
Excellent price / value
Fun to drive

Cons
None. I even like the interior.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JP
JORDAN P.
2020 Hyundai Veloster N
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5
10/20/2020
Awesome Styling. Great Performance for the Price
This is one of the most powerful cars you can buy for just under $30k (if you know how to negotiate)!
Also, manual transmission only! Driver focused features (last year without nannies). Such a fantastic car.
Only knocks are rearward visibility is limited and paint quality is suspect (get paint protection on front facing panels!)

Pros
Performance features found on cars 5-10k more in price

Cons
Visibility; paint.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

RC
Robin C.
2020 Hyundai Veloster N
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
10/17/2020
Wow! Love my new Veloster N
This car is so much fun! I'm so glad I made this purchase! It's fast sporty beautiful everything I was looking for! No regrets! Actually brought my older Veloster in for service the day I bought my new one wasn't expecting to make a purchase but after test drive that was the final decision to purchase!

Pros
Fast exciting comfortable reliable fantastic style gets a lot of compliments

Cons
None I can think of

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

AH
ANTOINE H.
2020 Hyundai Veloster N
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
10/13/2020
Perfect car but
I have had the car for a while now and every day that I drive it I am happy it’s a tiny things that I nitpick but it’s just the luxury of having a new car sounds coming from the door my exhaust shield is falling off, my clearcoat for my rims falling apart and my headlight separating from the frame
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

KE
KYLE E.
2020 Hyundai Veloster N
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
10/10/2020
What a surprise
The Veloster N is an amazing car in so many ways. For the price, it is as good as everything else near the same cost, but goes a step further with drive modes. Quiet and soft on the highway when you just want to get somewhere, stiff and loud when you get to the track, or anywhere in between when you just want to have fun on a drive. Nothing compares to the fun this car can offer right now in this price range.

Pros
Performance, driving experience, sounds- all around great car. Driving modes make it comfortable when you want it, almost like having two cars in one.

Cons
The interior could be nicer, but it's still good enough- the trade off for the performance at this price is worth it.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

CM
CARLOS M.
2020 Hyundai Veloster N
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
10/07/2020
The best FWD
I love everything in the N.it's the best car i ever drove. The exhaust sound super good and nice. I really love the Veloster N.

I only wish if you can bring the Performance Part from N

The brakes, Alcantara Wheels ect.

Let me know.

Pros
Love The N

Cons
Alcantara

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

BK
Bradley K.
2020 Hyundai Veloster N
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
10/06/2020
Fun to drive!!!
The N is a blast to drive! You can feel the difference in each drive mode setting. Want a quite ride to work just leave it in normal mode. You want to hit some side roads use the custom N mode or go full N and have a track day. A ton of fun for under 30,000.00.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling
Displaying reviews 1 - 20 of 84 in total