Business Solutions

2017 Subaru Impreza

Average Score

Overall Rating 4.6/5Overall Rating 4.6/5Overall Rating 4.6/5Overall Rating 4.6/5Overall Rating 4.6/5
4.6
(31 Reviews)
Category Summary
(Avg. out of 10)
    Value
  • Features
  • Build Quality
  • Fun
  • Reliability
  • Performance
  • Exterior
  • Comfort
  • Interior
  • Styling

Reviews

Overall Rating 4.6/5Overall Rating 4.6/5Overall Rating 4.6/5Overall Rating 4.6/5Overall Rating 4.6/5
4.6
(31 Reviews)

HR
gravatar
HEATHER R.
2017 Subaru Impreza
verified customer Verified Owner
Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5
01/06/2022
Verified Review

Hoped I Would Love It

After hearing many of my friends and colleagues rave about Subarus for most of my adult life, I decided to splurge and buy a new (and newly redesigned) 2017 Impreza. I test drove a sport in another color, and it was okay- I wanted the AWD for the winter since I didn't want to install chains, and I wanted the sport because I wanted a car I wouldn't hate as a daily driver. It really seems to be underpowered, and the interior noise is a bit loud. I think a 2.5L engine option would be a huge improvement. My decision was a compromise, which is often not a good choice. I ordered the sport version in red, and waited for several months for it to arrive. First impression was not too good. I didn't like the red color, and then, within 4 days of ownership, the windshield cracked for no good reason. That took another several months to replace, and lasted a few months before cracking again, in the same location- just right of the rear view mirror- and I was driving only on dry and rain covered, paved roads. I have used the car several times in the PNW in snow, and it is good if the snow depth is no more than an inch or two. I attempted to drive in deeper snow this winter and it was easily high-centered and I had to dig it out. Again, compromises have repercussions. The car reviews identified the entertainment system as the biggest owner complaint, but I assumed this was a silly complaint by folks with too much tech time on their hands. Who cares if the fancy entertainment system doesn't interface well withyour phone? Well, turns out I do.I have owned this car for almost 5 years now and use my Android phone in it every day. I have to connect my phone via cable to the car to get the system to control the phone and even then, if my husband walks by the garage when the ignition is on, my car immediately connects wirelessly to HIS iPhone. In the brief periods when my phone is connected to the car's entertainment system, none of my contacts are accessible through the car interface and I have to manually dial every time I want to call home. I have rented other car makes that acknowledge my phone, copy my contacts, connect wirelessly, and operate hands free much better than my own car. Then, the coup d'grace happened while driving over the mountain pass a few days ago in a January snow storm- all dashboard warning lights illuminated all of a sudden- Check Engine, Eye Sight, Hill Holder, Lane Keep, Auto Brake, Cruise Control. The car was driving fine and continued to drive fine (thankfully) but I darn near drove off the road when every warning light on the car came on at the same time. After doing internet research after I limped home, turns out this is a known design of the car alerting system- it's called the Christmas tree effect- and Subaru designed it to "get your attention". What a ridiculous design, and I know a thing or two about flight deck/pilot/driver interface design. Look, if you want a good daily driver (if uninspired) on paved, generally plowed roads, you want all the safety bells and whistles, you aren't afraid of a bunch of dashboard warning lights and you can keep the car within about 100 miles of a dealership/repair shop, then this may be a good car for you. If you want a good performing car, with some gitty-up, real 4WD capability, and a phone connection that you can actually use, then look at buying another car.
    Value
  • Build Quality
  • Reliability
  • Exterior
  • Interior
  • Features
  • Fun
  • Performance
  • Comfort
  • Styling

MN
MARIE N.
2017 Subaru Impreza
verified customer Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
08/11/2021
Verified Review

Love my Subaru. Won't drive anything else!!

I love my stick shift Imprezza. I only drive Subarus!! They are fun to drive and safe. With all-wheel drive they can get you through any kind of snowstorm. I never get stuck. I can always get to work!
    Value
  • Build Quality
  • Reliability
  • Exterior
  • Interior
  • Features
  • Fun
  • Performance
  • Comfort
  • Styling

RD
gravatar
RICHARD D.
2017 Subaru Impreza
verified customer Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
05/28/2021
Verified Review

Buy a Subaru

My only real complaint is that I wish it was a manual. The sport is a ton of fun to drive, the car is super clean and I'm looking forward to spending the next 5-10 years with it. Buy a Subaru! This last sentence is to get my character count up.
    Value
  • Build Quality
  • Reliability
  • Exterior
  • Interior
  • Features
  • Fun
  • Performance
  • Comfort
  • Styling

MC
gravatar
Michael C.
2017 Subaru Impreza
verified customer Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
05/05/2021
Verified Review

Great car

This car has it all and is super safe. .......................fun to drive .................great on gas. ..................,,,,,,....................very reliable ..................................:..
    Value
  • Build Quality
  • Reliability
  • Exterior
  • Interior
  • Features
  • Fun
  • Performance
  • Comfort
  • Styling

SP
SHARON P.
2017 Subaru Impreza
verified customer Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
04/28/2021
Verified Review

Great Car

I owned a Subaru many years ago. I hoped my prior car (2005 Kia Amanti-may she rest in peace) would be my last, but this Impreza is the best alternative ever. Comfortable ride, good performance. Good sound system.
    Value
  • Build Quality
  • Reliability
  • Exterior
  • Interior
  • Features
  • Fun
  • Performance
  • Comfort
  • Styling

BT
gravatar
BRENDA T.
2017 Subaru Impreza
verified customer Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
10/28/2020
Verified Review

Adorable

Everything I wanted and some things I hadn't known were available in cars. (Yeah, it's been that long since I had one) [Also, I put 9 on reliability because I don't yet know but the car hasn't disappointed me yet.]
    Value
  • Build Quality
  • Reliability
  • Exterior
  • Interior
  • Features
  • Fun
  • Performance
  • Comfort
  • Styling

MS
gravatar
Marie S.
2017 Subaru Impreza
verified customer Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
10/01/2020
Verified Review

Subaru Impreza and Subaru WRX

Me and my husband own Subaru ‘s nice reliable cars would buy again .Very pleased with performance style comfort ,nice looking interior and exterior .Fast and Sporty very good and gas fun to drive accommodate all young and old
    Value
  • Build Quality
  • Reliability
  • Exterior
  • Interior
  • Features
  • Fun
  • Performance
  • Comfort
  • Styling

JH
gravatar
JOYCE H.
2017 Subaru Impreza
verified customer Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
02/14/2020
Verified Review

2017 Subaru Impreza

My Impreza has been the best yet.
    Value
  • Build Quality
  • Reliability
  • Exterior
  • Interior
  • Features
  • Fun
  • Performance
  • Comfort
  • Styling

DN
gravatar
DEBRA N.
2017 Subaru Impreza
verified customer Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5
12/22/2019
Verified Review

Could be better

I loved my 2002 out back. I decided it was time to go smaller. As technology changes I’m not so sure that’s a great idea.
    Value
  • Build Quality
  • Reliability
  • Exterior
  • Interior
  • Features
  • Fun
  • Performance
  • Comfort
  • Styling

BG
gravatar
BRUCE G.
2017 Subaru Impreza
verified customer Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
12/18/2019
Verified Review

Impreza

Love it!!
    Value
  • Build Quality
  • Reliability
  • Exterior
  • Interior
  • Features
  • Fun
  • Performance
  • Comfort
  • Styling

DJ
gravatar
DAVID J.
2017 Subaru Impreza
verified customer Verified Owner
Overall Rating 2.0/5Overall Rating 2.0/5Overall Rating 2.0/5Overall Rating 2.0/5Overall Rating 2.0/5
11/02/2019
Verified Review

2017 Impreza has become a problem with all the recalls and various issues / frequent service visits

2017 Subaru Impreza initially well rated in CR has since dropped for a reason. Several several recalls and other issues has amounted to many trips back to Subaru service, chewing up loads of my time. I've grown quite concerned about my ending warranty coming in < 1 year with such a car, and I cannot afford to change to buying another car in another year. Not good situation.
    Value
  • Build Quality
  • Reliability
  • Exterior
  • Interior
  • Features
  • Fun
  • Performance
  • Comfort
  • Styling

CH
gravatar
CAROLE H.
2017 Subaru Impreza
verified customer Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
07/09/2019
Verified Review

2017 Subaru Impreza hatchback

Reviewed after first day of ownership driving less than 50 miles.
    Value
  • Build Quality
  • Reliability
  • Exterior
  • Interior
  • Features
  • Fun
  • Performance
  • Comfort
  • Styling

BG
gravatar
BRUCE G.
2017 Subaru Impreza
verified customer Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
06/06/2019
Verified Review

Imprezza is impressive

Fun to drive, great gas mileage. My dogs love it as they have their own windows!
    Value
  • Build Quality
  • Reliability
  • Exterior
  • Interior
  • Features
  • Fun
  • Performance
  • Comfort
  • Styling

JC
gravatar
JACQUELINE C.
2017 Subaru Impreza
verified customer Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
04/30/2019
Verified Review

my impreza

A quality car purchased from a quality business.
    Value
  • Build Quality
  • Reliability
  • Exterior
  • Interior
  • Features
  • Fun
  • Performance
  • Comfort
  • Styling

KR
gravatar
Kanwal R.
2017 Subaru Impreza
Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5
04/07/2019

My first subaru and 1st japanese car

I am a fan of European auto brands. My first was a 2001 saab, gave up after 14 years 110K miles, next was BMW CPO 2011 3 series and now my first, 2017 impreza. I wanted an economical car, but toyota, honda, mazda did not appeal to me at all. Never has. I overlooked the VW which I feel I should have at least test drove. My choice was no 1 the subaru impreza and my sister urged me to get one if i wanted to veer from an European car. It was just the right size and the right price and the right quality of build etc. CVT didn't bother me much but the slow acceleration does. Of course can't compare to either of my previous cars as one was a turbo and the other a larger engine with 6 cylinders/ But it drives very well, corners very well, quiet in the cabin,has nice interior, and has enough oomph for the needs of driving. All for half the price of my German car. Did not drive on the freeway but it is a great solid car with a lot of safety, although I don't have eyesight.. The car is growing on me.
    Value
  • Build Quality
  • Reliability
  • Exterior
  • Interior
  • Features
  • Fun
  • Performance
  • Comfort
  • Styling

AW
gravatar
ALAYNE W.
2017 Subaru Impreza
verified customer Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
03/23/2019
Verified Review

Great car

This is my first Subaru and I love it. It has a lot of goodies that I have not had in my other cars. My Subaru has a lot of get up and go and that is nice and I love that . It won't be my last Subaru that's for sure.
    Value
  • Build Quality
  • Reliability
  • Exterior
  • Interior
  • Features
  • Fun
  • Performance
  • Comfort
  • Styling

JQ
gravatar
JEAN Q.
2017 Subaru Impreza
verified customer Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
11/09/2018
Verified Review

My new favorite car forever.

I wasn't totally sure I was ready for the sedan but I actually love driving it.
    Value
  • Build Quality
  • Reliability
  • Exterior
  • Interior
  • Features
  • Fun
  • Performance
  • Comfort
  • Styling

DS
gravatar
Diane S.
2017 Subaru Impreza
verified customer Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
10/03/2018
Verified Review

Smooth ride

Quiet smooth ride! Highly recommend, and great in the winter! Interior, nice color, tiresgreat traction, safe travels, great visionofroad from windshield, love the extended lighted visers, comfortable, heated seats awesome!
    Value
  • Build Quality
  • Reliability
  • Exterior
  • Interior
  • Features
  • Fun
  • Performance
  • Comfort
  • Styling

AW
gravatar
ALAYNE W.
2017 Subaru Impreza
verified customer Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
09/16/2018
Verified Review

Love my Impreza and feel VERY safe when driving it.

We like to do a lot of road trips and it is VERY nice to know we are safe and have a VERY secure car to take us where ever we want to go. I have been asked a lot about my Impreza and am glad to be confident in my answers.
    Value
  • Build Quality
  • Reliability
  • Exterior
  • Interior
  • Features
  • Fun
  • Performance
  • Comfort
  • Styling

AS
gravatar
ANITA S.
2017 Subaru Impreza
verified customer Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
07/16/2018
Verified Review

Love my Impreza!

Just took an 8600 mile road trip. It drove very nice and the average MPG for the trip was 34.9! Very comfortable for those 18 hour days of driving too!
    Value
  • Build Quality
  • Reliability
  • Exterior
  • Interior
  • Features
  • Fun
  • Performance
  • Comfort
  • Styling

Displaying reviews 1 - 20 of 31 in total

Businesses Near You


  • BMW Dealer
  • Subaru Dealer
  • Auto Maintenance
Integrity Autowerks Inc
Overall Rating 4.9/5Overall Rating 4.9/5Overall Rating 4.9/5Overall Rating 4.9/5Overall Rating 4.9/5
4.9
(119 Reviews)

  • Subaru Dealer
  • Used Car Dealer
  • Auto Repair
Parker Subaru
Overall Rating 4.8/5Overall Rating 4.8/5Overall Rating 4.8/5Overall Rating 4.8/5Overall Rating 4.8/5
4.8
(19059 Reviews)
Overall Rating 4.5/5Overall Rating 4.5/5Overall Rating 4.5/5Overall Rating 4.5/5Overall Rating 4.5/5
4.5
(35) ReScores