Business Solutions

2016 Volkswagen Golf GTI

Average Score

Overall Rating 4.9/5Overall Rating 4.9/5Overall Rating 4.9/5Overall Rating 4.9/5Overall Rating 4.9/5
4.9
(11 Reviews)
Category Summary
(Avg. out of 10)
    Value
  • Features
  • Build Quality
  • Fun
  • Reliability
  • Performance
  • Exterior
  • Comfort
  • Interior
  • Styling

Reviews

Overall Rating 4.9/5Overall Rating 4.9/5Overall Rating 4.9/5Overall Rating 4.9/5Overall Rating 4.9/5
4.9
(11 Reviews)

DR
gravatar
Dylan R.
2016 Volkswagen Golf GTI
verified customer Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
03/31/2020
Verified Review

The car that’s 9/10 in every category

This is the best car I’ve ever owned, hands down. It’s also one of my favorite. Thanks to being a hatchback, it’s surprisingly practical, and can carry pretty significant loads with the seats folded down. It’s also very sporty. Not quite as sporty as a real sports car, and not rwd like a true sports car, but with lsd it pulls great around corners, handles great, and has plenty of grunt in the engine. A stage 1 off the shelf tune can take a stock mkvii gti from quick to fast for cheap. Also the front buckets are the best seats in any car, ever for any price
    Value
  • Build Quality
  • Reliability
  • Exterior
  • Interior
  • Features
  • Fun
  • Performance
  • Comfort
  • Styling

MP
gravatar
Michael P.
2016 Volkswagen Golf GTI
verified customer Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
01/19/2020
Verified Review

Excellent car!

Recently I crossed over 100K miles ( I drive a lot), and have had no issues. Only very recently I had to put it in the shop for a carbon clean service on the direct injection engine, replace 4 spark plugs, and 2 ignition coils (had all 4 replaced at once just in case). This car is super solid, fun to drive, and reliable...Let's not forget good looking.
    Value
  • Build Quality
  • Reliability
  • Exterior
  • Interior
  • Features
  • Fun
  • Performance
  • Comfort
  • Styling

SO
gravatar
STEVE O.
2016 Volkswagen Golf GTI
verified customer Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5
09/19/2019
Verified Review

Fun fun fun but gotta watch that GDI carbon buildup.

Great car. The MK7 GTI is ultimate sleeper with a beast of an engine. It's amazing how Volkswagen sandbagged the potential power this engine produces. For example, I brought my car with 220hp. Now with one simple ECU tune, I'm getting 280hp at the wheels. Once I go to stage, I'll be at 320hp.
    Value
  • Build Quality
  • Reliability
  • Exterior
  • Interior
  • Features
  • Fun
  • Performance
  • Comfort
  • Styling

JS
gravatar
Jeffrey S.
2016 Volkswagen Golf GTI
verified customer Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
09/04/2019
Verified Review

I love the car!

I got the car new. It’s a two door, manual SE. It’s as gorgeous outside as it is inside. Shifts smooth, drives smooth and even the stock exhaust sounds nice (for being stock). The seats are very comfortable and the steering wheel controls are awesome. I’ve had it almost 4 years now and the only complaint I really have is the sun visor is too small when being used from the drivers door. Which is a petty complaint. Wonderful car. Highly recommend. Always take it to a licensed, reputable VW mechanic.
    Value
  • Build Quality
  • Reliability
  • Exterior
  • Interior
  • Features
  • Fun
  • Performance
  • Comfort
  • Styling

EC
gravatar
ERIC C.
2016 Volkswagen Golf GTI
verified customer Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
05/21/2019
Verified Review

Fun, practical hatchback for everyday driving and weekend roadtrips

The Volkswagen Golf GTI is really the only vehicle in it's class that successfully blends comfort, practicality, performance and economy. Most car manufacturers have hatchbacks these days, but they're usually all boring econoboxes that are underpowered and aren't any fun to drive. Those that are fun are rough and unrefined and aren't comfortable or practical to drive in traffic since they're limited to manual transmissions. This car puts it all together in an awesome little package that's compact and easy to drive, but maximizes what space it does have with the hatchback design so you can still carry the occasional large, bulky item if needed. Despite being a performance model, fuel economy is surprisingly good at around 35 mpg average for me. Overall price is very reasonable for what this car offers. Biggest downside is that being a German car, it's not easy to work on and service will be expensive. Long-term reliability could be problematic as well.
    Value
  • Build Quality
  • Reliability
  • Exterior
  • Interior
  • Features
  • Fun
  • Performance
  • Comfort
  • Styling

JS
gravatar
Jeffrey S.
2016 Volkswagen Golf GTI
verified customer Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
10/06/2018
Verified Review

I love this car.

I got my 2016 GTI SE manual two door new in January 2016. I have about 29k as of October 2018. Absolutely no issues with anything. Awesome car. Good power, awesome comfort and extremely good handling. Beautiful car inside and out.
    Value
  • Build Quality
  • Reliability
  • Exterior
  • Interior
  • Features
  • Fun
  • Performance
  • Comfort
  • Styling

SR
gravatar
SCOT R.
2016 Volkswagen Golf GTI
verified customer Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
01/22/2018
Verified Review

Love my GTI!!!

I absolutely love my GTI and love driving it! Solid, stable, and Sporty!
    Value
  • Build Quality
  • Reliability
  • Exterior
  • Interior
  • Features
  • Fun
  • Performance
  • Comfort
  • Styling

DC
gravatar
DERMOT C.
2016 Volkswagen Golf GTI
verified customer Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
01/16/2018
Verified Review

Fun car

The VW GTI is one of the most fun cars you can drive. It has terrific handling, lots of power, easy to drive in traffic, on the open highway but especially fun on twisting roads.
    Value
  • Build Quality
  • Reliability
  • Exterior
  • Interior
  • Features
  • Fun
  • Performance
  • Comfort
  • Styling

GJ
gravatar
GLADIES J.
2016 Volkswagen Golf GTI
verified customer Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
07/28/2017
Verified Review

I Love This Car

This is probably one of the best vehicles I have ever owned or leased. Driving it is extremely fun and easy. The steering wheel is smooth and fluid -- as compared to Toyota's Prius or Chevrolet's SUVs (all of which I have driven of course). The engine is amazing, except of course the MPG. Heated seats and is extremely customizable too.
    Value
  • Build Quality
  • Reliability
  • Exterior
  • Interior
  • Features
  • Fun
  • Performance
  • Comfort
  • Styling

MD
gravatar
MICHAEL D.
2016 Volkswagen Golf GTI
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
07/16/2016

Fun

Exactly what I wanted. Fun, quick, agile
    Value
  • Build Quality
  • Reliability
  • Exterior
  • Interior
  • Features
  • Fun
  • Performance
  • Comfort
  • Styling

PM
gravatar
PAUL M.
2016 Volkswagen Golf GTI
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
12/16/2015

It's a GTI!

So happy with this car, the title says it all :) Huge fun to drive, practical, nice looking, and great value for the money - what's not to love?
    Value
  • Build Quality
  • Reliability
  • Exterior
  • Interior
  • Features
  • Fun
  • Performance
  • Comfort
  • Styling

Displaying all 11 reviews

Businesses Near You


  • Auto Repair
  • Audi Dealer
  • VW Dealer
Migeli's Foreign Car Service
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
5.0
(200 Reviews)

  • European Auto Repair
  • VW Dealer
  • Audi Dealer
Volks Auto Repair
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
5.0
(215 Reviews)

  • VW Dealer
  • New Car Dealer
Towne Volkswagen
Overall Rating 4.9/5Overall Rating 4.9/5Overall Rating 4.9/5Overall Rating 4.9/5Overall Rating 4.9/5
4.9
(787 Reviews)

  • VW Dealer
  • New Car Dealer
  • Auto Maintenance
Auburn Volkswagen
Overall Rating 4.6/5Overall Rating 4.6/5Overall Rating 4.6/5Overall Rating 4.6/5Overall Rating 4.6/5
4.6
(3485 Reviews)

  • VW Dealer
  • New Car Dealer
  • Auto Maintenance
Auburn Volkswagen
Overall Rating 4.4/5Overall Rating 4.4/5Overall Rating 4.4/5Overall Rating 4.4/5Overall Rating 4.4/5
4.4
(376 Reviews)
Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5
4.0
(1) ReScores