Business Solutions

2017 Volkswagen Golf GTI

Average Score

Overall Rating 4.9/5Overall Rating 4.9/5Overall Rating 4.9/5Overall Rating 4.9/5Overall Rating 4.9/5
4.9
(12 Reviews)
Category Summary
(Avg. out of 10)
    Value
  • Features
  • Build Quality
  • Fun
  • Reliability
  • Performance
  • Exterior
  • Comfort
  • Interior
  • Styling

Reviews

Overall Rating 4.9/5Overall Rating 4.9/5Overall Rating 4.9/5Overall Rating 4.9/5Overall Rating 4.9/5
4.9
(12 Reviews)

TB
TOM B.
2017 Volkswagen Golf GTI
verified customer Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
10/02/2021
Verified Review

Tom's 2017 VW GTI with 58,000 miles

h I bought my 2017 smoke gray GTI back in October of 2016. I have put about $58,000 on since then, and I do have a 7-year 100,000 mi warranty. Hi I look forward to driving everyday beginning the day and at the end of the day and in the middle. it handles extremely well with six speed manual transmission is fantastic, it feels great has good pep and it has plenty of room. car is extremely practical I put 25 bags of mulch in there without putting on the car top carrier. I love the feature of having three different suspension comfort normal and sport modes it makes it like having three different cars. core handles extremely well and the engine has a good sound. it does not sound like one of the Japanese engines like a blender. I look forward to getting a new Mark 8 20 23 GTI or type r. I will get the type bar probably because of the all-wheel drive. I recommend this for highly. All right I have been comparing all the hot hatch cars and for me this has a combination of only features to make it most practical and the most fun to own and to drive. I will be getting another one down the road about a year. I plan on selling mine at the point when it still has 10,000 mi on the extended warranty left. I have taken very good care of it and it will be a great car for someone to purchase from me as a used car. it will have the bumper to bumper warranty left on it that I purchased back in 2017. 100,000 miles 7-year warranty bumper to bumper with only $100 deductible. at this point where it is 5 years old and only have 58,000 mi on it, I have not used the extended warranty yet in which I have paid just about $4,000 for. I feel that the money that I have paid for this $100,000 7-year warranty is a good investment for me, and for the person that buys this particular vehicle after me. let me know if you want to purchase it from me in about a year or so. in one year from now I estimate that it will have approximately 25,000 mi left on this 100,000 mi 7-year extended warranty. if it was me looking for a good deal on an excellent car I would definitely purchase this car.
    Value
  • Build Quality
  • Reliability
  • Exterior
  • Interior
  • Features
  • Fun
  • Performance
  • Comfort
  • Styling

BM
gravatar
Brian M.
2017 Volkswagen Golf GTI
verified customer Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
07/10/2021
Verified Review

Vehicle Review

I had always grown up with Toyota, Honda, Mazda all had been great cars. Even though I had these other manufacturers I had always herd that the Germans can make a performance car so I gave them a shot. I chose a great one in the 2017 GTI some would say may be the best GTI built. This car drives like a dream and the handling is way better than mt previous cars. Not sure I will buy another one as the looks of the new one really do nothing for me, but this 2017 model I will cherish a while longer. I am sure the newer ones will drive as good its just the fog light looks steering me away from another purchase. My GTI is the base model and if I bought a newer one the mid model may be a better option, but I love my plaid seats that come in a base model.
    Value
  • Build Quality
  • Reliability
  • Exterior
  • Interior
  • Features
  • Fun
  • Performance
  • Comfort
  • Styling

JS
gravatar
James S.
2017 Volkswagen Golf GTI
verified customer Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
01/13/2021
Verified Review

2017 MK7 6sp at 70,000 miles

What a value! I drive the car bone stock for the first 40,000 miles. The only thing that broke was the sunglasses holder above the center console up front. Great build quality, and then I went ahead and modified it. I’ve driven this car like it was stolen from day 1. Even on the test drive! It’s a car you can drive at 100% and love every second. Minimal understeer considering FWD, but the clutch is garbage. A stage 1 high torque APR tune, and the clutch slipper at anything more than moderate throttle. Installed the DKM Stage 2 clutch, and although it chatters like an old farm tractor, the clutch paired with the 034 dog bone mount, and the clutch bleeder delete completely changed the feel of my GTI. The tune and clutch turned the car from a car I like to a car I love, and I will continue to enjoy my 122 mile a day commute in it.
    Value
  • Build Quality
  • Reliability
  • Exterior
  • Interior
  • Features
  • Fun
  • Performance
  • Comfort
  • Styling

JS
gravatar
James S.
2017 Volkswagen Golf GTI
verified customer Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
05/28/2020
Verified Review

Great Value Smile

Great handling, superior hot hatch. Nice to have a manual version though once tuned, I did have to upgrade the clutch.. hit styling with tried and tested reliability underneath. Chassis is very good, seats are comfortable, car is lightweight
    Value
  • Build Quality
  • Reliability
  • Exterior
  • Interior
  • Features
  • Fun
  • Performance
  • Comfort
  • Styling

RR
gravatar
REGAN R.
2017 Volkswagen Golf GTI
verified customer Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
01/29/2019
Verified Review

Best car for the money

I’ve never driven a car that’s more fun. It’s responsive, intuitive, and all around incredible vehicle. I can’t believe it took me so long to drive/own a vw.
    Value
  • Build Quality
  • Reliability
  • Exterior
  • Interior
  • Features
  • Fun
  • Performance
  • Comfort
  • Styling

ML
gravatar
MIKE L.
2017 Volkswagen Golf GTI
verified customer Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5
09/04/2018
Verified Review

Daily driver with performance and handling

For the money the vw gti delivers great handling and spirited performance. Maybe the best daily driver in its category. In addition, the vehicle has expanded cargo space due to the fold down back seats and hatchback design.
    Value
  • Build Quality
  • Reliability
  • Exterior
  • Interior
  • Features
  • Fun
  • Performance
  • Comfort
  • Styling

PW
gravatar
PETER W.
2017 Volkswagen Golf GTI
verified customer Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
09/03/2018
Verified Review

Love it

Fun hot rod"
    Value
  • Build Quality
  • Reliability
  • Exterior
  • Interior
  • Features
  • Fun
  • Performance
  • Comfort
  • Styling

TW
gravatar
TOD W.
2017 Volkswagen Golf GTI
verified customer Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
07/26/2018
Verified Review

The GTI is a well rounded performance hatchback

During our first seven months of ownership the GTI has been a great car! I enjoy driving it more than my previous Audi A3. The VW has superior performance to the Audi and more of what I would call "character". The GTI offers a light and nimble feeling while still managing to feel solid on the road. As a 50+ year old person that still enjoys a car with a performance sensibility while offering good value, the GTI works for me. It's perhaps the only car in this category I wouldn't feel silly driving, as many "hot hatches" seem too exuberant and immature for someone my age. The car also has the quality of being extremely space efficient considering the small footprint.
    Value
  • Build Quality
  • Reliability
  • Exterior
  • Interior
  • Features
  • Fun
  • Performance
  • Comfort
  • Styling

TW
gravatar
TOD W.
2017 Volkswagen Golf GTI
verified customer Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
03/03/2018
Verified Review

The GTI is a fantastic performance car!

The balance of the GTI is amazing! The quality of materials, engine performance, features and practicality make it a standout in the marketplace at the present time. Features like the adjustable suspension (on our Autobahn package) are difficult to find on a car in this price range. Everything looks and feels a class above.
    Value
  • Build Quality
  • Reliability
  • Exterior
  • Interior
  • Features
  • Fun
  • Performance
  • Comfort
  • Styling

JH
gravatar
JIMMY H.
2017 Volkswagen Golf GTI
verified customer Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
10/04/2017
Verified Review

Great "little" Hot Hatch

I just bought my second GTI, this time the sport model with the DSG and Performance Pack. WOW.... My first GTI, a 2015 SE without PP, I raced autocross and paved hillclimbs. That GTI won many trophies and took many class records on the hills. Daily driving is a dream. The car is comfortable, mature, and a dirtly little beast when you want it. I recommend the Performance Pack with the DSG. I also recommend a tune on both the ECU and TCU. You will have a very big smile on your face if you do.
    Value
  • Build Quality
  • Reliability
  • Exterior
  • Interior
  • Features
  • Fun
  • Performance
  • Comfort
  • Styling

gravatar
2017 Volkswagen Golf GTI
verified customer Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
08/06/2017
Verified Review

Awesome!!

By far the best car I have ever owned. Fun, stylish quick. A lot of features for the SE model I purchased.
    Value
  • Build Quality
  • Reliability
  • Exterior
  • Interior
  • Features
  • Fun
  • Performance
  • Comfort
  • Styling

MK
gravatar
MICHAEL K.
2017 Volkswagen Golf GTI
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
05/02/2017

Fun car......but order it with a 6-spd manual!!!

I bought the same car last year, but couldn't find a manual transmission in a color that was acceptable; and it being the end of model year, we "settled" for an automatic. Fine, if it's in sport mode......but the car is soooo much more fun to drive with a manual transmission!!! This will eventually be my 15 year old daughters's car(she's excited to learn to drive a manual); and......you can't text if you have to shift gears!
    Value
  • Build Quality
  • Reliability
  • Exterior
  • Interior
  • Features
  • Fun
  • Performance
  • Comfort
  • Styling

Displaying all 12 reviews

Businesses Near You


  • Auto Repair
  • Audi Dealer
  • VW Dealer
Migeli's Foreign Car Service
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
5.0
(200 Reviews)

  • European Auto Repair
  • VW Dealer
  • Audi Dealer
Volks Auto Repair
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
5.0
(215 Reviews)

  • VW Dealer
  • New Car Dealer
Towne Volkswagen
Overall Rating 4.9/5Overall Rating 4.9/5Overall Rating 4.9/5Overall Rating 4.9/5Overall Rating 4.9/5
4.9
(787 Reviews)

  • VW Dealer
  • New Car Dealer
  • Auto Maintenance
Auburn Volkswagen
Overall Rating 4.6/5Overall Rating 4.6/5Overall Rating 4.6/5Overall Rating 4.6/5Overall Rating 4.6/5
4.6
(3485 Reviews)

  • VW Dealer
  • New Car Dealer
  • Auto Maintenance
Auburn Volkswagen
Overall Rating 4.4/5Overall Rating 4.4/5Overall Rating 4.4/5Overall Rating 4.4/5Overall Rating 4.4/5
4.4
(373 Reviews)
Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5
4.0
(1) ReScores