Business Solutions

2004 Volkswagen Golf

Average Score

Overall Rating 4.5/5Overall Rating 4.5/5Overall Rating 4.5/5Overall Rating 4.5/5Overall Rating 4.5/5
4.5
(11 Reviews)
Category Summary
(Avg. out of 10)
    Value
  • Features
  • Build Quality
  • Fun
  • Reliability
  • Performance
  • Exterior
  • Comfort
  • Interior
  • Styling

Reviews

Overall Rating 4.5/5Overall Rating 4.5/5Overall Rating 4.5/5Overall Rating 4.5/5Overall Rating 4.5/5
4.5
(11 Reviews)

BG
BILL G.
2004 Volkswagen Golf
verified customer Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
10/05/2021
Verified Review

2004 VW Golf

Excellent value for the price… Classic small wagon… Reliable overall with minimal upkeep. Recommend to all that will listen……………………………….. …………………..,,,,…….,,,,,,,,,.,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,, Thanks
    Value
  • Build Quality
  • Reliability
  • Exterior
  • Interior
  • Features
  • Fun
  • Performance
  • Comfort
  • Styling

FK
gravatar
FRANK K.
2004 Volkswagen Golf
verified customer Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5
02/01/2021
Verified Review

2004 Golf Diesel

My 2004 golf is a stick shift. I have always enjoyed driving it. I like the way it handles and steers. Requires minimal maintenance. I love the sun roof. It has more room than one would expect under the hatch. If I need more hauling room I can fold one or both seats down. The Monsoon Stereo has been reliable. I had to replace it owever after 14 years.
    Value
  • Build Quality
  • Reliability
  • Exterior
  • Interior
  • Features
  • Fun
  • Performance
  • Comfort
  • Styling

JS
gravatar
Jon S.
2004 Volkswagen Golf
verified customer Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5
11/12/2020
Verified Review

Spendy

Wonderful design, good control layout, quick, responsive handling and therefore very safe, stopping performance is off the chart. Semi automatic transmission works very well, not paddles, but about as close as you can get But maintaining it costs easily 5 times what it cost to maintain my 80’s rabbit, too many plastic or pot metal parts, and VW is not very helpful RE certain proprietary parts, seems it’s more money than customer service with the dealers now
    Value
  • Build Quality
  • Reliability
  • Exterior
  • Interior
  • Features
  • Fun
  • Performance
  • Comfort
  • Styling

BM
gravatar
BRIAN M.
2004 Volkswagen Golf
verified customer Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
08/26/2020
Verified Review

16 year old TDI

Still gets 40 mpg, super fun to drive and great in the snow. Reliable, safe and sturdy. More cargo capacity than you would think. Durable interior, get torque, super durable diesel motor. Great for city driving and not bad on the open road for a small hatchback.
    Value
  • Build Quality
  • Reliability
  • Exterior
  • Interior
  • Features
  • Fun
  • Performance
  • Comfort
  • Styling

JS
gravatar
Jon S.
2004 Volkswagen Golf
verified customer Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5
05/02/2020
Verified Review

Pros with cons

I love this cars driving experience, it’s combination of performance and economy. Nice design features aplenty. Now the bad news, I’m a one car kinda guy, fix it and keep it, I still have my ‘81 rabbit as a backup, I could drive THAT car to NY tomorrow! It has over a 1/4 million miles on it On the 81’ I can replace all the coolant hoses, labor included for $220. To do the same job on the golf it’s $1400. It is more complicated, granted, but 7 Times more it’s definitely not. Volkswagen wants $1200 just for the parts, propriety part. So love the car, but buyer beware, a used one will average $2000 grand a year at least in repairs after it hits 80,000 miles. $600 for 2 20” moulded rubber fuel lines, just the part.....,
    Value
  • Build Quality
  • Reliability
  • Exterior
  • Interior
  • Features
  • Fun
  • Performance
  • Comfort
  • Styling

JS
gravatar
Jon S.
2004 Volkswagen Golf
verified customer Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5
02/12/2020
Verified Review

Vw # 2

Performance with this car is off the charts, suspension and brakes are especially good, mileage is consistently between 35-45MPG Technology and traction assist, controls and layout, seating, all excellent. Bad news? Repairs and parts are outrageously expensive, I have an 80’s Rabbit as well. Golf is 5 times the car, but as much as 10 times the price to maintain. Example: $250 to replace all coolant hoses, flush and fill on the Rabbit, $800 on the Golf only buys the parts!
    Value
  • Build Quality
  • Reliability
  • Exterior
  • Interior
  • Features
  • Fun
  • Performance
  • Comfort
  • Styling

QA
gravatar
Quintin A.
2004 Volkswagen Golf
verified customer Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5
09/17/2019
Verified Review

Vw golf mk4

I love my car. I put so much money into it. And it paid off. When I got, it needed alot of work done. Such as mechanical issues to rotors, brake pads, radio etc. But, honestly I love this car, I've been through ups and downs with this car. Its gonna be hard selling it one day.
    Value
  • Build Quality
  • Reliability
  • Exterior
  • Interior
  • Features
  • Fun
  • Performance
  • Comfort
  • Styling

CP
gravatar
Cole P.
2004 Volkswagen Golf
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
02/22/2017

TDI love it!

bought this one owner car 1 year ago with 102k miles.Today 127kmiles with no problems except minor stalling problem . repaired by east coast WW' now back to 100%
    Value
  • Build Quality
  • Reliability
  • Exterior
  • Interior
  • Features
  • Fun
  • Performance
  • Comfort
  • Styling

BM
gravatar
Brian M.
2004 Volkswagen Golf
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
05/18/2016

Great Car.

I purchased the Golf for the gas mileage (I drive 70 miles round trip for work daily) and the Golf has been reliable and fun to drive. It is stick-shift but most of my commute is highway driving. I enjoy the VW.
    Value
  • Build Quality
  • Reliability
  • Exterior
  • Interior
  • Features
  • Fun
  • Performance
  • Comfort
  • Styling

BM
gravatar
Brian M.
2004 Volkswagen Golf
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
02/03/2016

Great Car and fun to drive!

I bought this vehicle to ease my 2001 Ford Escape with almost 300K into retirement (Bad snow use only for the Escape). The Golf is basic with manual shifting. When I purchased it in February 2015 it had over 114K and now has 136K. Buying it used I had to replace tires and just replaced the front brakes. The Golf is like I said basic but still a fun vehicle to drive. I get about 35 miles per gallon and I drive 70 round trip daily for work. This is the second Volkswagen I have dealt with (GF has a 2001 Jetta) and that influenced me to purchase the Golf.
    Value
  • Build Quality
  • Reliability
  • Exterior
  • Interior
  • Features
  • Fun
  • Performance
  • Comfort
  • Styling

BM
gravatar
Brian M.
2004 Volkswagen Golf
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
12/23/2015

Nice little Vehicle.

I purchased a 2004 Golf in February of 2015. I looked around and found it at Boucher VW. I like the vehicle and VWs are well made in my opinion. It was nice and clean get great gas mileage, I drive 70 miles around trip daily so I wanted one with great mileage. I had to buy new tires for it in October and new front brakes in December.
    Value
  • Build Quality
  • Reliability
  • Exterior
  • Interior
  • Features
  • Fun
  • Performance
  • Comfort
  • Styling

Displaying all 11 reviews

Businesses Near You


  • Auto Repair
  • Audi Dealer
  • VW Dealer
Migeli's Foreign Car Service
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
5.0
(200 Reviews)

  • European Auto Repair
  • VW Dealer
  • Audi Dealer
Volks Auto Repair
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
5.0
(215 Reviews)

  • VW Dealer
  • New Car Dealer
Towne Volkswagen
Overall Rating 4.9/5Overall Rating 4.9/5Overall Rating 4.9/5Overall Rating 4.9/5Overall Rating 4.9/5
4.9
(787 Reviews)

  • VW Dealer
  • New Car Dealer
  • Auto Maintenance
Auburn Volkswagen
Overall Rating 4.6/5Overall Rating 4.6/5Overall Rating 4.6/5Overall Rating 4.6/5Overall Rating 4.6/5
4.6
(3485 Reviews)

  • VW Dealer
  • New Car Dealer
  • Auto Maintenance
Auburn Volkswagen
Overall Rating 4.4/5Overall Rating 4.4/5Overall Rating 4.4/5Overall Rating 4.4/5Overall Rating 4.4/5
4.4
(376 Reviews)
Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5
4.0
(1) ReScores