Business Solutions

2002 Volkswagen New Beetle

Average Score

Overall Rating 4.3/5Overall Rating 4.3/5Overall Rating 4.3/5Overall Rating 4.3/5Overall Rating 4.3/5
4.3
(11 Reviews)
Category Summary
(Avg. out of 10)
    Value
  • Features
  • Build Quality
  • Fun
  • Reliability
  • Performance
  • Exterior
  • Comfort
  • Interior
  • Styling

Reviews

Overall Rating 4.3/5Overall Rating 4.3/5Overall Rating 4.3/5Overall Rating 4.3/5Overall Rating 4.3/5
4.3
(11 Reviews)

KG
gravatar
KEITH G.
2002 Volkswagen New Beetle
verified customer Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
06/04/2021
Verified Review

The turbo VW Beetle

This is a really nice ride. Comfortable even for a couple of large adults. Power everything, leather interior, and quality craftsmanship throughout. Our car is manual shift, which makes it more fun to drive. Obviously, the Germans have made a great car for over a half of century and it shows.
    Value
  • Build Quality
  • Reliability
  • Exterior
  • Interior
  • Features
  • Fun
  • Performance
  • Comfort
  • Styling

TS
gravatar
THOMAS S.
2002 Volkswagen New Beetle
verified customer Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5
02/13/2020
Verified Review

Great vehicle - lots of interior room, just minimal modern amenities.

The visibility and interior space is wonderful. Non of this modern wind tunnel crazy angle rake windscreen, having to LIMBO to get into the car nonsense. You can easily get in and out of the car. It feel spacious, not cramped like all modern cars seem to be. And its rock solid. Just really 2 major issues: 1) The catalytic converter they came with had a massive fail rate, but as my car was very low mileage it didn't fail until 14 years of age and 80k miles.. so I got stuck with the cost of replacing a faulty catalytic converter. And that resulted in a persistant rattle under the car as the replacement work at the VW dealer didn't re-seat everything correctly. 2) The rear 3rd brake light in the hatch is a bad design, it allows water to very slowly leak into the car. This causes the tools in spare tire well to rust, as well as occasionally interfere with the rear hatch electric latch mechanism. And no fix for this - they just replace the lamp assembly, which is just held in with spring tension. Bad design.
    Value
  • Build Quality
  • Reliability
  • Exterior
  • Interior
  • Features
  • Fun
  • Performance
  • Comfort
  • Styling

CV
gravatar
CHERYL V.
2002 Volkswagen New Beetle
verified customer Verified Owner
Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5
01/22/2020
Verified Review

Love her

I love the color, a pretty blue, and the power of the the Turbo! She goes fastttt!! The comfort of the seat adjustment is important to me since I am a petite woman. She is cute and comfy! I love her but She dont love back :( garaged yet again. Engine!
    Value
  • Build Quality
  • Reliability
  • Exterior
  • Interior
  • Features
  • Fun
  • Performance
  • Comfort
  • Styling

ML
gravatar
MARVIN L.
2002 Volkswagen New Beetle
verified customer Verified Owner
Overall Rating 1.0/5Overall Rating 1.0/5Overall Rating 1.0/5Overall Rating 1.0/5Overall Rating 1.0/5
01/16/2018
Verified Review

Cheaply made

I love the look and everything of the car i just hate the quality of the plastic soo cheaply made its terrible! Like seriously? This is not a middle school project its a car that needs to be built tough to last.
    Value
  • Build Quality
  • Reliability
  • Exterior
  • Interior
  • Features
  • Fun
  • Performance
  • Comfort
  • Styling

BG
gravatar
Bernard G.
2002 Volkswagen New Beetle
verified customer Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
09/29/2017
Verified Review

More than expected

I've owned a beetle in the past but wasn't expecting the economy and driving pleasure of this 2002 model. I will probably keep this vehicle for several years.
    Value
  • Build Quality
  • Reliability
  • Exterior
  • Interior
  • Features
  • Fun
  • Performance
  • Comfort
  • Styling

CW
gravatar
CRAIG W.
2002 Volkswagen New Beetle
verified customer Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
08/01/2017
Verified Review

Love from Germany

Solid vehicle with consistent reliability. Fun to drive and fuel efficient.
    Value
  • Build Quality
  • Reliability
  • Exterior
  • Interior
  • Features
  • Fun
  • Performance
  • Comfort
  • Styling

MP
gravatar
MATTHEW P.
2002 Volkswagen New Beetle
Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5
03/20/2017

Power Window...

The power window broke, the window fell into the door and busted some very expensive part... had to drive around in freezing weather for a few days. Expensive to fix.
    Value
  • Build Quality
  • Reliability
  • Exterior
  • Interior
  • Features
  • Fun
  • Performance
  • Comfort
  • Styling

HM
gravatar
HORST M.
2002 Volkswagen New Beetle
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
05/23/2016

15 years of awesome.

No problems for almost 15 years. Love the size and space!
    Value
  • Build Quality
  • Reliability
  • Exterior
  • Interior
  • Features
  • Fun
  • Performance
  • Comfort
  • Styling

LM
gravatar
Lynn M.
2002 Volkswagen New Beetle
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
08/11/2015

2001 Volkswagen New Beetle

Excellent dependability!!!!!! As you can tell, I've had this car for 14 years and other than a new alternator two years ago, all other work has been strictly maintenance.
    Value
  • Build Quality
  • Reliability
  • Exterior
  • Interior
  • Features
  • Fun
  • Performance
  • Comfort
  • Styling

DW
gravatar
Delores (Dee) W.
2002 Volkswagen New Beetle
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
06/13/2015

Cute, dependable , and great car.

Driving this car makes me happy. Always starts even in the winter. Handles interstate driving easily. Always owned VW's. Can't imagine driving any other car. Brings smiles to others. I've had many offers to buy the car from me when I'm ready to sell. Not ready yet and cant imagine owning any other car.
    Value
  • Build Quality
  • Reliability
  • Exterior
  • Interior
  • Features
  • Fun
  • Performance
  • Comfort
  • Styling

HP
gravatar
HENRY P.
2002 Volkswagen New Beetle
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
04/28/2015

Joe Pecheles has a great service department.

I have thoroughly enjoyed the 2002 VW New Beetle. I have caught a lot of ribbing for having it since I am a big guy. The truth is, I actually bought in on 09-08-01, because me two children, ages 7 and 9 at that time, really wanted it. Of course they liked the cyber green color. I feel like I have gotten good service out of it, especially the diesel engine. I'm still not ready to part with it. I will say, however, I have found repairs to this vehicle to be rather expensive, but thanks to the service department there for trying to cut customer costs.
    Value
  • Build Quality
  • Reliability
  • Exterior
  • Interior
  • Features
  • Fun
  • Performance
  • Comfort
  • Styling

Displaying all 11 reviews

Businesses Near You


  • Auto Repair
  • Audi Dealer
  • VW Dealer
Migeli's Foreign Car Service
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
5.0
(200 Reviews)

  • European Auto Repair
  • VW Dealer
  • Audi Dealer
Volks Auto Repair
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
5.0
(215 Reviews)

  • VW Dealer
  • New Car Dealer
Towne Volkswagen
Overall Rating 4.9/5Overall Rating 4.9/5Overall Rating 4.9/5Overall Rating 4.9/5Overall Rating 4.9/5
4.9
(787 Reviews)

  • VW Dealer
  • New Car Dealer
  • Auto Maintenance
Auburn Volkswagen
Overall Rating 4.6/5Overall Rating 4.6/5Overall Rating 4.6/5Overall Rating 4.6/5Overall Rating 4.6/5
4.6
(3485 Reviews)

  • VW Dealer
  • New Car Dealer
  • Auto Maintenance
Auburn Volkswagen
Overall Rating 4.4/5Overall Rating 4.4/5Overall Rating 4.4/5Overall Rating 4.4/5Overall Rating 4.4/5
4.4
(376 Reviews)
Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5
4.0
(1) ReScores