Advantage Wholesale Transmission 2

Overview

Overall Rating 2.42/5Overall Rating 2.42/5rating 2.42rating 2.42rating 2.42

31 Reviews

39% Would Recommend
Latest Review 4 months ago

Reviews


RB
Rosa B.
East Spencer, NC
Overall Rating 1/5rating 1rating 1rating 1rating 1
08/23/2018
Van Transmission
I am writing requesting assistance with getting my 2000 Mazda MPV van and $500.00 deposit back from Advantage Transmission , located at 625 N. Main Street in Salisbury, NC 28144. 704 -603-8053 is their phone number and their fax number is 704-636-3661. On June 5, 2018, we inquired about getting a used transmission installed and was instructed to bring the van with a $500.00 deposit and when the transmission was installed, we will pay the remaining balance of $570.00. It has now been over 2 months and each time we check to see if the van is ready, we are continuously being told it will be ready the next day. We have asked just to return our van and our monies so we can take it somewhere else, but the van has not been released to us yet. I really wanted to have the transmission installed in the van since I wanted to keep it as a memorial of my 19 year old grand daughter that was murdered over 2 years ago.

TT
Tiki T.
Salisbury, NC
Overall Rating 1/5rating 1rating 1rating 1rating 1
07/26/2018
Beware!!!
Sadly, he has recently had very good employees but fired all due to "an emotional rage" ... how dare they expect to be paid, how dare they expect the tools they need to do the job, how dare they not accept the lies he tells customers, how dare they not look the other way when he removes parts off vehicles left in his care and sells them, how dare they not agree with him personally driving vehicles for his personal gain, actually wrecking them... how dare they demand the correct fluids be used in particularly sensitive vehicles... oh the list goes on... he has no respect for his business, his employees or his customers... sadly, yes I was an employee but it was very short loved because I don't do business this way.. he now has new employees that are lying with him, posting fake "great reviews". It's really sad and I don't understand why he is still open...

SD
Stephanie D.
Salisbury, NC
Overall Rating 1/5rating 1rating 1rating 1rating 1
07/18/2018
Horrible shop and owner
We took my daughters car into Advantage Wholesale Transmission Service shop May 29 paid 1/2 upfront and were initially told 1 1/2 wks immediately that changed to 3 wks. For the next 4 weeks every time we called we were given another excuse as to why it was not finished. Ultimately, Charlie Price threw his employees under the bus and blamed it completely on them. After weeks of getting the run around he asked if we wanted the good news or the bad and I was like just give me the news. He said the bad news was that once again, he wouldn't have the car finished when he said but the good news was he would not charge us another dime for the repairs. I was extremely frustrated, but at this point I was just wanting to get the vehicle back and be done with him. When we went to pick up the car last Friday CORY (YES THAT CORY from one of the only positive google reviews) took it for a test drive and said it was not running right. He called Charlie and we were told to come in on Saturday at 9 am. When we went into the shop on Saturday Charlie was extremely rude, as he had been on multiple occasions over the phone. He basically said he had done us a favor by working on this car at all and we should be grateful to him. Since I was not bowing down to him, he said he would not work on the car any longer and would refund me my deposit on Monday, to come back then. Remember, when we dropped off the car it only had a loose bearing in the trans but was running fine and had no other issues and now on Saturday when we went to pick it up it was barely able to move. I told him he was going to fix it and do it right or I was taking him to court. He then said to come back later that day. When we returned it seemed to be running smoother but he said he wanted to add some fluids which wouldn't be in until Monday. Fast forward to today - MONDAY. When we went to pick up the car from the Salisbury shop of course Charlie was not there. We told the employee who was there that we were going to go ahead and take it and add the fluids ourselves. When my husband started the car it was CLEAR there was something severely wrong. It was making a noise in the engine which was not there before we took it to Charlie in May and was not there on Saturday when he took my husband and daughter on a test drive. When I called the Lexington shop to speak to Charlie about this, APRIL yes that APRIL (another positive google review...imagine that) said he was not available. My daughters car which had a loose bearing the end of May now barely runs and has a major engine issue and still has a shutter in the trans when taking off. Mind you this is a teenage girls car which he was fully aware of, but he has no concern for her safety or wellbeing and felt perfectly fine about putting her in a car that is obviously not safe. DO YOURSELF A FAVOR AND AVOID THIS SHOP AT ALL COST!!!!

SD
Stephanie D.
Salisbury, NC
Overall Rating 1/5rating 1rating 1rating 1rating 1
07/18/2018
Horrible shop and owner
We took my daughters car into Advantage Wholesale Transmission Service shop May 29 paid 1/2 upfront and were initially told 1 1/2 wks immediately that changed to 3 wks. For the next 4 weeks every time we called we were given another excuse as to why it was not finished. Ultimately, Charlie Price threw his employees under the bus and blamed it completely on them. After weeks of getting the run around he asked if we wanted the good news or the bad and I was like just give me the news. He said the bad news was that once again, he wouldn't have the car finished when he said but the good news was he would not charge us another dime for the repairs. I was extremely frustrated, but at this point I was just wanting to get the vehicle back and be done with him. When we went to pick up the car last Friday CORY (YES THAT CORY from one of the only positive google reviews) took it for a test drive and said it was not running right. He called Charlie and we were told to come in on Saturday at 9 am. When we went into the shop on Saturday Charlie was extremely rude, as he had been on multiple occasions over the phone. He basically said he had done us a favor by working on this car at all and we should be grateful to him. Since I was not bowing down to him, he said he would not work on the car any longer and would refund me my deposit on Monday, to come back then. Remember, when we dropped off the car it only had a loose bearing in the trans but was running fine and had no other issues and now on Saturday when we went to pick it up it was barely able to move. I told him he was going to fix it and do it right or I was taking him to court. He then said to come back later that day. When we returned it seemed to be running smoother but he said he wanted to add some fluids which wouldn't be in until Monday. Fast forward to today - MONDAY. When we went to pick up the car from the Salisbury shop of course Charlie was not there. We told the employee who was there that we were going to go ahead and take it and add the fluids ourselves. When my husband started the car it was CLEAR there was something severely wrong. It was making a noise in the engine which was not there before we took it to Charlie in May and was not there on Saturday when he took my husband and daughter on a test drive. When I called the Lexington shop to speak to Charlie about this, APRIL yes that APRIL (another positive google review...imagine that) said he was not available. My daughters car which had a loose bearing the end of May now barely runs and has a major engine issue and still has a shutter in the trans when taking off. Mind you this is a teenage girls car which he was fully aware of, but he has no concern for her safety or wellbeing and felt perfectly fine about putting her in a car that is obviously not safe. DO YOURSELF A FAVOR AND AVOID THIS SHOP AT ALL COST!!!!

AD
Ally D.
Salisbury, NC
Overall Rating 1/5rating 1rating 1rating 1rating 1
07/16/2018
Advantage Wholesale Transmissions?? More like TAKE ADVANTAGE
I bought a Saturn Vue from a lady who took the car to Advantage to get a new transmission about 3 years ago. We were apprehensive to use this shop due to poor reviews, but after calling other shops & having them turn down the car because "Charlie had worked on it before”, we decided to give it a shot. I took my car here at the end of May for them to fix a bearing that he said would take 1.5 weeks. When we dropped it off, he changed the time to 2-3 weeks. We waited 3 weeks before checking in, only to have him say he hasn't STARTED yet. Said it would be done in another week, & it wasn't. He asked for another week PROMISING it would be done & that he was taking off $200. We waited only to have him say "it'll be ready tomorrow" & he wouldn't charge us anymore. Next day, we stopped into the shop. Charlie wasn't there, & his employees couldn't work on ANY car because Charlie was working on ALL their transmissions. The employees had every lift being used, & had told us they had taken my car apart, & were just waiting on Charlie for the bearing to be fixed because "he only lets himself work on the transmissions". The employees offered to show us my car for proof that it had been taken apart. Next day we called Charlie & he threw his employees under the bus saying the car wasn't taken apart. From now on he kept saying one more day, two more days, Thursday, etc. Every time IT WASN’T READY. Every time we had called Charlie, we had been VERY polite & understanding. Quite a few times, either visiting the shop or calling Charlie, we had heard customers coming in & giving him an earful for taking so long with their car, not repairing it properly, lying, etc. We now KNEW that he had been giving multiple people the run around. 3 weeks ago, we had called Charlie to check on my car, & he said he would no longer work on my car, & that he should've never taken on a Saturn because "they're the hardest cars to work on & make mechanics look stupid" while at the same time saying we should be grateful he even did this for us, & that he was doing a favor for us by working on an impossible car like this. He eventually stuck with the "I can no longer work on your car, & I have other customers to deal with" then hung up on us. I was extremely devastated because we knew no one else around would work on my car, due to the fact that Charlie got his dirty, grimy paws on the transmission already. Luckily (?), he was just being a jerk & bluffing, & continued to "work" on my car. Finally, after 7 weeks of going around & around with this punk, he was finally "done" with my car. We went to pick it up & it still wasn't ready! Charlie wasn't at the shop & wanted to test drive it because his employees had told him that it was shuddering weirdly. He asked for us to come back the next day (a Saturday) at 9 AM. We went at 11:30 AM, & he still hadn't test drove it, but we were ready to be done with his nonsense. We went to take my car. 30 seconds down the road, & my car is BARELY MOVING. We had no choice but to take it back. We gave him until the end of the day. When we came back, it was running more smoothly, but he wanted to keep it until Monday when he could put some shuddering fluid & a few other fluids/lubes inside it to help it run smoother. Monday came, & we went to pick my car up. He wasn't there & hadn't worked on my car yet, so we just took the car back, as we could just put the fluids in ourselves & that's all that he said needed to be done to fix the shuddering. My car is now making a TON of noise that it was not making before I dropped it off & the shuddering was not fixed after adding the fluids he said to use. My car is in worse condition than it was in when I had dropped it off. Overall, Charlie lied to us MULTIPLE times, talks to his customers in horrible ways, disrespects his employees who CLEARLY know more than him, has no idea WHAT he is doing, & sucks as an overall human being. My advice: DO NOT TRUST THIS MAN. HE WILL RUIN YOUR CAR.

SB
Steve B.
Raleigh, NC
Overall Rating 1/5rating 1rating 1rating 1rating 1
05/19/2018
Bad customer service lair at large
Doesn’t stick to what he states and work for

HA
Hjsaajs aajsj A.
Charlotte, NC
Overall Rating 1/5rating 1rating 1rating 1rating 1
02/28/2018
Worst place and Charlie is a Liar Bad work
Charlie said it will be good in 3 bussines day almos a month later finaly he finish my ford econoline and he did bad repair on my transmission such of liar my transmission is shifting geara like crack very bad I just waste my money with him. I will never do bussines again at that place they robe your money.

TY
Trisha Y.
Salisbury, NC
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
02/05/2018
Excellent work!
Charlie was very helpful and went out of his way for me! My transmission went out and I needed my car towed to his shop, he sent one right away and started working on my car. I have a 2007 Honda, he had it fixed by the next day! The woman working inside was very friendly! Great place and trustworthly people!!

DP
David P.
Greensboro, NC
Overall Rating 1/5rating 1rating 1rating 1rating 1
12/06/2017
Charley is on heroin/crack
He is a liar and he blames his workers for his screwups.He can answer the phone first time of service but any negative problems the secretary will lie for him like he is never in the office.I been up there too many times trying to get a problem resolved.Sit in his waiting room and you will hear complaints and lied all day. People around Salisbury and Lexington tells me he use to be good but now he is a dopehead.Hiring people off the street with no experience is not good.

NR
Nick R.
Huntersville, NC
Overall Rating 1/5rating 1rating 1rating 1rating 1
04/28/2017
Warning fraud!!!
It was the worst experience ever. It's just a nightmare. They promised to fix my truck for 1 day, eventually after a week of promises I got my truck back. On the way home the transmission broke. Charlie said that bring the truck back and he will look. Again, a week passed and the truck was given back. Forgot to say that this is my work truck on which I earn money for my family. For two weeks I have consumed more than paid for the repair of the transmission. A week later, the transmission broke again, I traveled 700 miles to give the truck for repairs. As a result, after a month of calls and promises, Charlie said that this is not a guarantee case. Can you believe it? I paid 1,700 for repairs and lost more than 10,000 while the truck was under repair. In the end, I stayed with the broken truck. Never for any money do not have business with this store.

AS
Adonis S.
Salisbury, NC
Overall Rating 1/5rating 1rating 1rating 1rating 1
02/07/2017
I beg you to stay away Charlie lies!!!!!!!!!!
My car has been there 4 fucking months and only 1 damm thing was done. Charlie well speak in quick conversations to look super busy when he is not. He fires everyone in there that tells the truth but the Asian guy is the only original there I think that's his snitch. My car still has all the problems I came in with except a headlight which finally got put on a week ago. He kept telling me my car well be ready a bunch of times and was busy it well be ready in the mourning, lunch or afternoon while my car stays outside and never moves. Today he said I can't figure it out that he was going to take to a electrition and no time frame mind you I've been super fed up with the lies so I told him to give me my keys. To add to it there was another guy there that has also waited months and same stories I got. I was there a month ago and there we're two customers also complaint of service and lies and cars that are not right after having paid. This guy does not know how to run a business at all so I beg you please stay away if u read other complaints there very similar to mine so good luck.

SS
S S.
High Point, NC
Overall Rating 1/5rating 1rating 1rating 1rating 1
01/24/2017
RUN AWAY FROM THIS PLACE! THEY'RE CROOKS!
Purchased a transmission from Charlie for my truck last week. I drove 1.5 hrs to buy it to get to him, then had to drive back 1.5 hrs and take it to my mechanic to install it. Once installed my truck still was not shifting right. Had my mechanic to check it again and he said that something was messed up inside the transmission. I called Charlie and let him know, of course he tried to put it off in my mechanic. 3 days later the reverse went out, I couldn't back out of my driveway! I called Charlie again and he said to bring it to him again and this time drop it off and he'll fix it. Mind you this is my only transportation. The next day I drop it off (yesteray) and he says it'll be ready this morning. Once i leave he calls and says it'll be ready by lunch time. Well this morning i call to confirm an exact time i can come pick up my truck and he says after lunch! I tell him i cannot keep waiting. So i get a ride to him and he tells what's wrong and he'll have it fixed in 3 hrs (by 2pm). It's now after 4pm and he has done NO WORK at all on my truck other than drop the transmission last night. NOW he says it'll be ready by tomorrow at 10am! I wish i saw the reviews on this plave before buying from them because they are full of it. Yesterday when i dropped my truck off there were 2 customers there complaining about getting bad transmissions. Today there were also customers there complaining about the same exact thing; they install the transmission and 2-3 days later it just shuts down.

BC
banthao c.
Troy, NC
Overall Rating 1/5rating 1rating 1rating 1rating 1
11/19/2016
2007 chevy silverado transmission
never go to this place they will rip you off.transmission locked up and stuck in charlotte,got another on warranty and 9 month later transmission lost 3 and 4 gear.

MH
MELVIN H.
Roanoke Rapids, NC
Overall Rating 1/5rating 1rating 1rating 1rating 1
11/17/2016
They are not professional
I purchased transmission from them in September 2016. Had a problem with plugging up to my Dodge ram 1509 4x4. Caled them and they lie everytime I call saying it is on the way but is not. I have been waiting sense October for them to switch out.

BD
Bryant D.
Conover, NC
Overall Rating 1/5rating 1rating 1rating 1rating 1
04/21/2016
"Poor Service"
Terrible Service. Would not recommend to anyone. They lie and have lousy communication. Took over 2 months to get a rebuild job finished.

CP
Charlie P.
Norwood, NC
Overall Rating 1/5rating 1rating 1rating 1rating 1
01/14/2016
Shoty repairs can't pay there employees
Most transmission repairs are used transmissions . DO NOT WORK for they will not pay you .......

AM
Alex M.
Salisbury, NC
Overall Rating 1/5rating 1rating 1rating 1rating 1
08/10/2015
bad customer service and lack of knowledge
Poor service, no real mechanic there

AM
Alex M.
Salisbury, NC
Overall Rating 1/5rating 1rating 1rating 1rating 1
08/10/2015
bad customer service and lack of knowledge
Poor service, no real mechanic there

AM
Alex M.
Salisbury, NC
Overall Rating 1/5rating 1rating 1rating 1rating 1
08/10/2015
No master Tech,lack of knowledge, poor customer service
We'd will be two weeks now, my cars trans is doing exactly what I brought it to them for. I drove it to Honda to help understaffed, unprofessional crooks out,got car back from Honda for 105$ they said 135$original quote is way off, I will let you know how it goes. Called owner he said oh brought it to them for a trans problem which it still has, nobody there has a clue. I will to take to a real shop and them to court!

SA
Syad A.
Salisbury, NC
Dodge Ram Van
Verified Customer
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
04/27/2015 Category: Service
Syad said this business does a good job and they are very fair.
This review was collected via phone interview by Customer Research Inc.

Displaying Review 1 - 20 of 31 in total