Kevin's North Area Transmissions & Automotive II

Overview

Overall Rating 4.65/5Overall Rating 4.65/5Overall Rating 4.65/5Overall Rating 4.65/5rating 4.65

485 Reviews

ReScore Reviews™ (1)

ReScore
Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5rating 4.0
Original
Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5rating 3.0rating 3.0
95% Would Recommend
Latest Review 3 days ago

Reviews


DB
DUANE B.
North Charleston, SC
Toyota Camry
Verified
Overall Rating 1/5rating 1rating 1rating 1rating 1
06/06/2018
Unneeded service
My wife said they were very rude when they told her she needed an alignment and my wife told them that it had just been aligned not to long ago. I will be looking for someone else to do our oil changes from now on.
Shelton M. from Kevin's North Area Transmissions & Automotive II responded on 06/11/2018

Thank you for choosing Kevin's North Area Transmissions II for your oil change. We disappointed to hear that your experience did not go well. We take pride in ensuring all our customers have a positive experience with us. Please note that offering recommendations of repairs is part of our standard in making sure customers get optimal performance out of their vehicles. Per your invoice, it is stated that we "RECOMMEND 2 FRONT TIRES AND ALIGNMENT, AIR FILTER AND WIPER BLADES". It is often recommended that after getting new tires, that you have an alignment. We apologize that you did not receive that perception when the recommendations were made. Again, thank you for choosing Kevin's North Area Transmissions II.


DB
Destray B.
Summerville, SC
Honda Civic Sdn
Verified
Overall Rating 1/5rating 1rating 1rating 1rating 1
03/01/2018 Category: Service
Destray said she was called to pickup her vehicle and when she tried to leave with it, all of the lights came on the dash. She said she should not have been called until the vehicle was truly ready. She also said, she left the vehicle again until all the lights were off. She added she will not return to the business.
This review was collected via phone interview by Customer Research Inc.

JS
Joe S.
Charleston, SC
Ford F-150
Verified
Overall Rating 1/5rating 1rating 1rating 1rating 1
09/28/2017 Category: Service
Joe said he did not like the employee's attitude when he said he was upset that he was overcharged for a part. The part was $40 more than what the dealership was going to charge him. The employee explained he had to make a profit. He will not be going back.
This review was collected via phone interview by Customer Research Inc.

AJ
Albertha J.
North Charleston, SC
Overall Rating 1/5rating 1rating 1rating 1rating 1
08/13/2017
Bad customer service.
The staff was very rude charged me 75 dollars and still could not tell me what was wrong with my car. Will not do business with them again.
Shelton M. from Kevin's North Area Transmissions & Automotive II responded on 08/15/2017

In reference to your statement regarding your vehicle, as you are aware, you brought us your 2001 Honda CR-V for diagnostic due to the fact your vehicle overheated and after over heating the vehicle was parked for more than 2 weeks and your vehicle would not start nor jump start.  We advised you your vehicle has extensive performance damage and has no spark due to bad spark plugs and distributor, which would need to be replaced first to allow your vehicle to be started, once the engine is engaged and running, only then can a diagnostic of the over heating issue be detected. Technician preformed Compression Test, Fuel Pressure Test, and Computerized Diagnostic. However, you declined the repairs and was charged diagnostic only for the work we preformed.  Please reference the repair order INV#25405 you signed and were given a copy of in which all this is clearly stated to you, verbally and in writing.


LS
LOUIS S.
North Charleston, SC
Ford Five Hundred
Verified
Overall Rating 1/5rating 1rating 1rating 1rating 1
07/25/2017
no comment
no comment
Shelton M. from Kevin's North Area Transmissions & Automotive II responded on 07/27/2017

Thank you for taking the time to complete the survey


V
Valued Customer
North Charleston, SC
Ford Econoline
Verified
Overall Rating 1/5rating 1rating 1rating 1rating 1
06/12/2017
customer service
I spent over thirty nine hundred dollars and did not receive the agreed upon 10% discount for Fleet maintenance. it was also agreed upon that the 10% wold be shown on the repair bill in the pricing structure. I brought this to there attention and I did not receive any comments from them. They maybe have lost a customer.

JG
Johnnie G.
North Charleston, SC
Honda Accord
Verified
Overall Rating 1/5rating 1rating 1rating 1rating 1
06/08/2017 Category: Service
Johnnie said he was very dissatisfied. He delivers food in this vehicle and it had roaches in it. They told him, he has to get the roaches out before they could perform the service. They put him at the rear of the line. The price went up from the original quote. However, they dropped the price once the service was finished. When he reaches 45 to 55 miles per hour the vehicle wobbles.
This review was collected via phone interview by Customer Research Inc.
Shelton M. from Kevin's North Area Transmissions & Automotive II responded on 06/20/2017

Thank you for taking the time to complete our survey regarding your most recent visit to our repair facility, we value you as a customer and we understand this is a sensitive subject regardless of what the vehicle might be used to transport , we cannot however take in a vehicle with pest infestation of any kind into our premises.  We apologize for any inconvenience. 

As you mentioned your vehicle wobbles at 45 to 55 miles per hour, which is due to your right front tire needing to be replaced immediately, as we advised you when you arrived the steel radial is showing, at which time you did stated you were already made aware you have a bad tire. 

Pricing is standard at our facility and if you choose to repair additional items/parts the price will modify to accommodate the additional work you are having done.  All approved by the customer of course!!  If we can be of further assistance please contact 843-552-2666.


KR
Kiera R.
Charleston, SC
Ford Taurus
Verified
Overall Rating 1/5rating 1rating 1rating 1rating 1
01/09/2017 Category: Service
Kiera said she took her vehicle to get her heater fixed. They did not fix it properly so she took it back today. They charged her an extra labor fee for the heater this time. The heater is working now and she hopes it will last. She will not be going back there again.
This review was collected via phone interview by Customer Research Inc.
Shelton M. from Kevin's North Area Transmissions & Automotive II responded on 01/10/2017

We at Kevin's North Area Transmissions & Automotive II value each and everyone of our customers and your TRUST is our Business, however the customer comments stated above are misleading and False. 

On January 9, 2016 the above customer came into our repair facility stating she had just purchased used vehicle from used car lot and the heater was in non working condition.  The customer requested Kevin's North Area Transmission II to diagnose and repair the vehicles heater system.  After a full diagnostic was done by our certified technicians the customer was advised the heater core and thermostat needed to be replaced, all coolant hoses needed to be removed and cleaned, and the entire coolant system needs to be flushed to remove rust deposits from the lines due to a severe lack of maintenance and corrosion to the vehicle.  Extreme amounts of rust  has corroded the coolant system and the customer was given an estimated cost for repairs. 

The Customer stated she could not afford to properly the fix vehicle at this time and asked if there was any alternative method to have some type of working heat in her recently purchased vehicle.  We advised the customer we could flush the entire coolant system, replace the thermostat, and back flush the coolant hoses in a attempt to remove as much rust deposits to allow water to flow back threw the coolant system.  We advised her she could wait on replacing the heater core with hopes this cheaper repair would allow for some heat to come threw vent lines. 

The customer approved the repair at the extreme discounted price we offered and the customer was then advised this would help but not fix the vehicles heater issues as the heater core needs to be removed and replaced.  The Customer was aware and heat was blowing when she took possession of vehicle.  She did however return a few days later and advised it was not getting extremely hot, We advised her we would go ahead and give the system another flush to again remove rust deposits and corrosion threw out the coolant system to help her out.  Customer stated she was charged another hour fee for labor which is completely FALSE and slanderous to our company and the extreme generosity our service writer showed her due to her financial circumstances.


GH
Gloria H.
North Charleston, SC
Toyota Camry Solara
Verified
Overall Rating 1/5rating 1rating 1rating 1rating 1
11/26/2016 Category: Service
Gloria said she received the worst service. The staff is not kind or friendly. She should have signed something that there would be a charge. They were acting like they lost her keys. Eventually, she got her keys back.
This review was collected via phone interview by Customer Research Inc.
Shelton M. from Kevin's North Area Transmissions & Automotive II responded on 11/29/2016

We are sorry to hear you had a complaint regarding the service you received at Kevin’s North Area Transmission & Automotive II.  Thank you for taking the time to complete our on-line survey regarding your recent visit experience.  As noted on November 22, 2016 you came to our automotive shop as a walk-in customer with a 2006 Toyota Solara SE 3.6L, V6 at which time you requested a diagnostic of the front end vibration and excessive wear on both your front tires.   Our technician diagnosed your vehicle as required recommending complete Strut Assemblies, left/right Outer Tie-Rode Ends, as well a Front End Alignment recommended after the front suspension work is completed.  You were advised of the vehicles front suspension issues and given a quote for the recommended work to be done to your vehicle if you choose to have this work completed at our automotive shop.  You paid the $45.00 diagnostic fee and your vehicle was brought out of the shop and driven up to the front door for you.


GM
Garry M.
Ladson, SC
Overall Rating 1/5rating 1rating 1rating 1rating 1
11/22/2016
Poor customer service and workmanship
My friend Catherine went to get a oil change and the battery tested/terminals cleaned. She was charged $45.00 for the battery test and terminal cleaning. 4 hours later she went to leave my house and the battery was dead. I popped the hood to see what was wrong to discover that the terminals has never been cleaned and actually needed to be replaced due to the extent of the corrosion. So I went to Advance Auto Parts to get new terminals and have the battery tested. The battery was not good and would only produce 67 cold cranking amps of the 700 that the battery was rated for. The battery testing is a service that the part store offers for free by the way. When we called to report what had happened we were told there was nothing they could do until the next day and Kevin would call her in the morning. Kevin never called her. We had to go back up there. They did give her a refund but Kevin never talked to her to apologize. The counter staff was very polite though. However I will never recommend their service to anyone due to the fact that the technician either lied or did not perform this simple task correctly. Niether situation would make me put confidence in their work plus the owner not even talking to his customer after poor workmanship left her stranded
Shelton M. from Kevin's North Area Transmissions & Automotive II responded on 11/23/2016

Thank you for taking the time to complete our on-line survey regarding your recent visit.  Kevin's North Area Transmissions has been made aware there was an issue with the battery in your vehicle the same day after you left our shop for an oil change, and we sincerely apologize for any inconvenience this may have caused you.  At the time of your visit, your battery was tested at our shop, and according to battery voltage standards your battery tested good at this time.  Corrosion is a common issue with battery terminals and cables, which was the major factor related to your specific case.  You did contact us and advised later the same day you replaced your battery at auto zone.  We fully refunded the $45.00 cost to check and clean the cables.  The owner was not at the shop the day you were here, however they have been notified of the circumstances and the refund given back to you.  Please expect a personal call from the owners of our shop today 11/23/16 as we would like to personally speak with you our valued customer.  Your TRUST is our business and we are always willing to go above and beyond to satisfy our customers.


TM
Tiffany M.
Ladson, SC
Honda Civic
Verified
Overall Rating 1/5rating 1rating 1rating 1rating 1
07/13/2016 Category: Service
Tiffany said they were very unprofessional and she chose not to elaborate any further.
This review was collected via phone interview by Customer Research Inc.
Shelton M. from Kevin's North Area Transmissions & Automotive II responded on 07/18/2016

CUSTOMER REQUESTED A/C SYSTEM DIAGNOSTIC AS A/C WAS NOT BLOWING COLD. I EXPLAINED OUR FEE FOR A/C SYSTEM DIAGNOSTIC & EVACUATE AND RECHARGE SERVICE PRIOR TO ANY WORK BEING DONE & CUSTOMER APPROVED. WE FOUND THE COMPRESSOR IS LEAKING FREON AND NOT WORKING. I CALLED CUSTOMER'S EXTENDED WARRANTY COMPANY TO SEE IF THEY WOULD PAY FOR THE REPAIR & WAS INFORMED THAT THE CURRENT MILEAGE ON THE VEHICLE HAS EXCEEDED THE COVERED WARRANTY PERIOD. I INFORMED THE CUSTOMER OF THIS AND CUSTOMER DID NOT WANT TO PAY THE DIAGNOSTIC FEE, EVEN THOUGH SHE HAD AGREED TO IT PRIOR TO THE DIAGNOSTIC SERVICE. OUR TECHNICIAN SPENT OVER AN HOUR CHECKING AND WORKING ON THE VEHICLE. I FEEL I AND ALL OF OUR EMPLOYEES WERE VERY POLITE AND PROFESSIONAL AT ALL TIMES WHEN DEALING WITH THIS CUSTOMER. THANKS KEVIN


CB
CAROL B.
North Charleston, SC
Jeep Compass
Verified
Overall Rating 1/5rating 1rating 1rating 1rating 1
02/12/2016
Bad attitude
My experience would have a been a 5 star if one of the employees(Kevin) had not been such an uncaring, unprofessional and all around ass. Sheldon the owner and on of the ladies that work are amazing and helpful though. Helped me out at bab time that I needed. Kevin however was a problem from the beginning. Threatening phone calls and harassment is not the way to approach anyone. Especially since I explained to him that my husband has quite tragically died right before Christmas. Given that I was told 1 thing was wrong with my car and they replaced it, turns out it was 2 other things that wound up costing me more money than anticipated. If Kevin leaves the place I'll gladly use this business in a heart beat, but until then I'll go elsewhere.
Shelton M. from Kevin's North Area Transmissions & Automotive II responded on 02/18/2016

MS. BRAZIL'S JEEP COMPASS WAS BROUGHT INTO OUR SHOP ON DECEMBER 1ST 2015. OUR TECHNICIAN DETERMINED THE VEHICLE NEEDED A NEW WATER PUMP & BOTH THERMOSTATS WHICH WE REPLACED AT HER REQUEST. WHEN SHE CAME IN TO PICK UP THE JEEP SHE STATED THAT SHE DID NOT HAVE THE $233 DOLLARS TO PAY FOR THE REPAIR BUT NEEDED THE VEHICLE BACK IMMEDIATELY. SHE STATED AT THAT TIME SHE WOULD COME IN TO PAY THE BILL ON DECEMBER THE 14TH. WE RELEASED THE VEHICLE WITHOUT PAYMENT WHICH IS AGAINST OUR POLICY BUT WE MADE A SPECIAL CONSIDERATION FOR HER. WHEN SHE DID NOT COME IN ON DEC 14TH & PAY AS SHE HAD PROMISED I CALLED TO ASK WHY. SHE STATED SHE WOULD BE IN DEC 21ST AND PAY FOR THE REPAIR THEN. NO SHOW AGAIN. EVERY TIME I CALLED AND POLITELY ASKED WHEN SHE WOULD COME IN & PAY THE $233 BILL SHE SAID I'LL BE IN TOMMORROW, PAYDAY, OR SOON. MS. BRAZIL FINALLY PAID THE $233 DOLLARS ON FEBRUARY 11 2016, ALMOST 2 MONTHS AFTER SHE PROMISED SHE WOULD AND AFTER NUMEROUS PHONE CALLS TO ASK FOR THE PAYMENT. I WAS ALWAYS POLITE TO HER WHEN CALLING. THANKS,  KEVIN.


EY
EDWIN Y.
North Charleston, SC
Chevrolet Impala
Verified
Overall Rating 1/5rating 1rating 1rating 1rating 1
01/23/2016
Oil pan gasket repair
The price quoted for an oil pan gasket replacement was a complete rip off. $511! Wow! Competitor did it for $165.
Shelton M. from Kevin's North Area Transmissions & Automotive II responded on 01/27/2016

THIS CUSTOMER BROUGHT HIS 2007 CHEVY IMPALA 3.5 ENGINE IN AND REQUESTED THAT WE DIAGNOSE THE CAUSE OF HIS OIL LEAK. OUR TECH DETERMINED THAT THE VEHICLES ENGINE OIL PAN GASKET WAS LEAKING. WE PROVIDED HIM AN ESTIMATE TO REPLACE IT BASED ON OUR MITCHELL 1 LABOR GUIDE WHICH CALLS FOR 5.7 HOURS LABOR TO REPLACE. IT IS REQUIRED TO LOWER THE ENGINE SUBFRAME TO REPLACE THIS GASKET. ALSO INCLUDED NEW OIL FILTER AND OIL & A 10% BOEING EMPLOYEE DISCOUNT. ESTIMATE GIVEN OF $511.59 IS A VERY REASONABLE PRICE FOR THIS TIME CONSUMING REPAIR. ANY REPUTABLE REPAIR SHOP WOULD CERTAINLY HAVE QUOTED MORE. THANK YOU.


AB
Allise B.
Charleston, SC
Audi A3
Verified
Overall Rating 1/5rating 1rating 1rating 1rating 1
12/18/2015 Category: Service
Allise said as she left this business, her check engine light came on. She has not spoken to anyone at this business regarding this issue, but she will be going to another business to have this matter taken care of.
This review was collected via phone interview by Customer Research Inc.
Shelton M. from Kevin's North Area Transmissions & Automotive II responded on 01/06/2016

Our records indicate that the customer arrived to our repair facility on December 12, 2015 as a first time customer. Based on this fact we are unaware of the vehicles’ service history. We performed an oil change on the customer’s 2007 Audi A3 which required 4.90 quarts of SAE 5W-40 full synthetic engine oil. Our invoice records indicate the customer was charged for 5 quarts of full synthetic oil. Typically an oil change will not contribute to a vehicle’s check engine light. We are more than willing to code scan the customer’s vehicle as a courtesy to inform her of the diagnostic trouble code that is contributing to the check engine light being on.

RR
Rosa R.
South Carolina
Ford Expedition
Verified
Overall Rating 1/5rating 1rating 1rating 1rating 1
02/18/2015 Category: Service
Rosa said she felt distrust and dishonesty on this experience. She paid for something that was not needed and thought she was being had by the mechanics. She said she feels she was taken advantage of and she was not satisfied. Her concerned she was smelling fumes from her vehicle and the service engine light was on. Even though the sensor was replaced the light came back on. They wanted to charge her again for a diagnosis. She would not recommend this business because of the dishonesty and distrust she had towards them. She was charged $75 for a diagnostic, which took about 30 minutes. She called another business and was told she was charged too much. The 30 minute diagnostic charge should have been about $37.50.
This review was collected via phone interview by Customer Research Inc.
Shelton M. from Kevin's North Area Transmissions & Automotive II responded on 03/19/2015

Our repair facility spent well over an hour diagnosing this particular vehicle. The customer was unable to specify the vehicle's issue. It is difficult to diagnose an issue without being provided with specific symptoms and concerns regarding the vehicle's performance. The check engine light came on for a completely different diagnostic trouble code. There are hundreds of diagnostic trouble codes that will cause a check engine light to illuminate.


CA
Carlton A.
Ladson, SC
Ford LTD Crown Victoria
Verified
Overall Rating 1/5rating 1rating 1rating 1rating 1
02/11/2015 Category: Service
Carlton said he was not pleased with the service. They altered his vehicle which he did not ask for. They used the wrong oil for his vehicle and argued about the price of services. He stated he definitely would not recommend this business to anyone because of this experience.
This review was collected via phone interview by Customer Research Inc.
Shelton M. from Kevin's North Area Transmissions & Automotive II responded on 03/19/2015

We did not alter the vehicle. The customer brought the vehicle in for transmission issues. The technician began his diagnostic procedure rechecking all fluids (engine oil, coolant, transmission fluid. brake fluid, power steering fluid, etc.) The vehicle arrived to our repair facility severely overdue for an oil change as well. At the time the vehicle only had three quarts of engine oil while the full oil capacity for the engine was only five quarts. As a courtesy and at no charge to the customer we added two quarts of engine oil.


SH
STEVE H.
North Charleston, SC
Isuzu Trooper
Verified
Overall Rating 1/5rating 1rating 1rating 1rating 1
09/14/2014
not close to good even, it took five visits to get an easy repair right
It cost me alot more in time and money in the away from my business, repeated auto rental and damage to my cars paint finish. I couldn't refer your shop to any of my friend's or family. It was a terrible experience.
Shelton M. from Kevin's North Area Transmissions & Automotive II responded on 10/22/2014

We apologize for the inconvenience. We provide complimentary service wash on vehicles after repairs. We use microfiber towels, therefore it is impossible that our facility contributed to pre-existing paint damage beyond the vehicle's clear coat. A microfiber towel will not penetrate a vehicle's paint surface.  


SL
SHERREL L.
Summerville, SC
Honda Civic
Verified
Overall Rating 1/5rating 1rating 1rating 1rating 1
08/23/2014
not satisfied
even though car was there all day..worker said I had to bring back to keep longer to see what was wrong with it, also shortly after visit my check engine light came on. What was my $75 for? not sure about recommending to friend. This was my daughter's car
Shelton M. from Kevin's North Area Transmissions & Automotive II responded on 08/30/2014

We requested more time to diagnose the vehicle's issue due to the fact that it was an intermittent problem that we could not duplicate while the vehicle was at our shop. We offered to continue diagnosing the vehicle's problem at no additional charge. However we were not authorized due to do so because the customer could not leave the vehicle at our repair facility without any other alternative sources of transportation.

MS
Muhammad S.
South Carolina
Ford Ranger
Verified
Overall Rating 1/5rating 1rating 1rating 1rating 1
07/23/2014 Category: Service
Muhammad said this facility does not do what they advertise. The advertisement states they will not charge for towing and he was charged $65. The prices are also very high. They charged him an hour and a half labor charge for something that would take him only 30 minutes. He is writing a review on his experience and will not go back and will not recommend them to anyone for the reason mentioned.
This review was collected via phone interview by Customer Research Inc.
Shelton M. from Kevin's North Area Transmissions & Automotive II responded on 07/29/2014

We sincerely apologize in regards to your recent visit at our repair facility. Our advertisement states that we offer free towing with major repairs. (Engine replacement, transmission overhauls, etc.) Based on our invoice history it states that you paid $306.68. (Which included the costs for the towing service charge, diagnostic charges, the labor required for replacing the starter that was recently replaced by another repair facility, as well as the labor that was necessary to detect and repair the damaged wires coming from the vehicle’s main fuse block). As a part of our company’s policy all customer’s are informed of all diagnostic and repair costs prior to any repair services being rendered by our staff of technicians.

JC
Johnny C.
North Charleston, SC
Mazda Tribute
Verified
Overall Rating 1/5rating 1rating 1rating 1rating 1
06/04/2014 Category: Service
Johnny said he took his vehicle in to have his air conditioner charged. Then he was told they had to change the water pump, so he told them to go ahead. It was only supposed to take two hours, but they wanted to keep it over the weekend. What he did not know was they had broken two of the vacuum lines and the transmission line. Now his vehicle does not go in reverse, so he will not recommend this facility.
This review was collected via phone interview by Customer Research Inc.
Shelton M. from Kevin's North Area Transmissions & Automotive II responded on 06/16/2014

The management staff at Kevin's North Area Transmissions & Automotive II sincerely apologizes in regards to your concern. A water pump was installed on your vehicle due to the fact that it was leaking coolant which would lead to the vehicle overheating. A transmission reverse engagement issue does not have direct correlation with coolant leaks nor air conditioning issues that your vehicle arrived with on the date of repairs.