Kevin's North Area Transmissions & Automotive II

Overview

Overall Rating 4.65/5Overall Rating 4.65/5Overall Rating 4.65/5Overall Rating 4.65/5rating 4.65

485 Reviews

ReScore Reviews™ (1)

ReScore
Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5rating 4.0
Original
Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5rating 3.0rating 3.0
95% Would Recommend
Latest Review 3 days ago

Reviews


SJ
Sandra J.
North Charleston, SC
Cadillac DeVille
Verified
Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5rating 3rating 3
10/27/2017 Category: Service
Sandra said she lives near this business. Kevin gave her a quote of $85 to tow her vehicle to the business. She was given a quote of $160 for the tow and the diagnostic test. When she arrived the price had increased to $227. They charged $65 for them to tow the vehicle back to her apartment. They dropped her vehicle off, and they took up 3 spaces. She had to call them back and Kevin sent the drivers out to park her vehicle correctly. A window was left down.
This review was collected via phone interview by Customer Research Inc.
Shelton M. from Kevin's North Area Transmissions & Automotive II responded on 11/08/2017

Our invoice records reflect that Mr. Kevin the service advisor did quote the customer $160 for a one way tow and diagnostic charge of $85.00. However  once the vehicle arrived to our repair facility the technician discovered that the vehicle had major engine and transmission issues which prevented the vehicle from being driven. At the customer's request she asked that the vehicle was towed to her residence and she declined repairs after being provided with a detailed estimate regarding the necessary repairs. Therefore the service advisor was forced to charge for an additional tow of $65 which equals the $227 charge. Which included two separate tows, diagnostic, and shop supplies. The vehicle was placed in front of the apartment number provided initially the customer was not present by the tow truck driver. Two employees at Kevin's  II after-the fact  went back and physically pushed the vehicle in the EXACT location that the customer requested. 


MC
Matt C.
South Carolina
Acura RL
Verified
Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5rating 3rating 3
08/17/2017 Category: Service
Matt said the service was very good. The employees did a good job, but his vehicle came back dirty.
This review was collected via phone interview by Customer Research Inc.
Shelton M. from Kevin's North Area Transmissions & Automotive II responded on 08/25/2017

We do apologize for the small grease smudge on the fender, as you did bring this to our attention and gave us the opportunity to wash your vehicle before you left.  The survey give us the opportunity to remedy any questions or concerns our customers have, thank you for taking the time to complete the survey.


V
Valued Customer
North Charleston, SC
Lincoln Town Car
Verified
Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5rating 3rating 3
05/31/2017
water intake car overheating
The reason I keep going is due to their integrety and the extra quality they add to there work
Shelton M. from Kevin's North Area Transmissions & Automotive II responded on 06/16/2017

Thank you for your kind review. We appreciate your feedback.


TC
TERRANCE C.
Charleston, SC
Pontiac Grand Am
Verified
Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5rating 3rating 3
04/09/2017
Unwarranted pricing.
I always come here because of Ms.Gloria and her knowledge and customer friendly personality. But as of lately the prices have skyrocketed. My last bill there's $250 for something I don't know what it's about. I believe the prices were always fair, but now, it's getting ridiculously too high.
Shelton M. from Kevin's North Area Transmissions & Automotive II responded on 04/13/2017

Thank you for taking the time to complete our on-line survey, after speaking with Ms. Gloria please take the time to re-evaluate your most recent response regarding your visit to our repair facility.  Thank you again, From the Team here at Kevin's North Area Transmissions II.


MJ
Michael J.
Charleston, SC
Audi Q7
Verified
Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5rating 3rating 3
02/24/2017 Category: Service
Michael said he had a diagnostic done a this business and he thought all the problems with his vehicle would have been fixed. The next day, he had to go back with another issue. He would recommend them for service.
This review was collected via phone interview by Customer Research Inc.
Shelton M. from Kevin's North Area Transmissions & Automotive II responded on 02/28/2017

Thank you for taking the time to complete our on-line survey regarding your recent visit.  At Kevin's North Area Transmissions-II your TRUST is our business.  We apologize you had to return the next day to ensure job completion and success.  Following up with our customers is the best way to ensure complete satisfaction each and every time.  Please take a moment to re-score your experience with us.  Also, we would love any referrals you send to our shop, ask them to mention your name and your next major job with us will include a discount for recommending us.  Thank you, THE TEAM AT KEVIN"S NORTH AREA TRANSMISSIONS II.


MT
Marquis T.
South Carolina
Dodge Charger
Verified
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
10/17/2016 Category: Service
Marquis said he was given a call but nothing else has been done.
This review was collected via phone interview by Customer Research Inc.

Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5rating 3rating 3
10/17/2016 Category: Service
Marquis said the business did a diagnostic for $75 and they would not tell him what needed to be repaired, only a quote on how much it would cost to fix. He would not recommend the business for the reasons already stated.
This review was collected via phone interview by Customer Research Inc.
Shelton M. from Kevin's North Area Transmissions & Automotive II responded on 10/24/2016

Please allow us the opportunity to satisfy you as a valued customer. Gloria or Shelton can assist you with the diagnostic information pertaining to your vehicle's specific needs.  On 10/11/16 you brought your 2007 Dodge Charger to our shop to diagnose your check engine light and engine performance issues, citing the accelerator jerks and shutters when letting off the gas pedal.  We performed an engine diagnostic code scan which generated the following results:  P0016-engine cam/crank timing mis alignment bank 1, C121C torque request signal denied, C121C - EGR tube seal/throttle body/intake manifold/map sensor. Our Technician spoke with you on this day and it was determined you would need to come back and be able to drop off the vehicle which would give us an opportunity to further diagnose your issue. You were not able to stay at this time, and requested to reschedule at a later date. The codes shown on the scanner identify this could be an issue caused by several possible issues which include: timing belt/chain misalignment (timing gear), damaged crankshaft or camshaft tone wheel or pulse ring which we advised additional time was needed to inspect the timing components after the timing cover is removed, please contact us to reschedule your appointment at a time which is convenient for you. Further diagnostics are needed and you have already paid the fee.  Please Contact Gloria or Shelton at 843-552-2666


JJ
Jordan J.
Charleston, SC
Jeep Grand Cherokee
Verified
Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5rating 3rating 3
06/20/2016 Category: Service
Jordan said when he first went to this business, they told him it would be completed by Tuesday or Wednesday at the latest but they did not get it done by Tuesday nor Wed because he was not able to pick it up until Thursday afternoon. Kevin, the employee, had a discussion with him about the price that it will be $2,250 but when he went back Monday, he told him it would be $2,600. They talked about it and it came down to $2,499. He was able to negotiate with him but still it was not what he recalls being told the original price.
This review was collected via phone interview by Customer Research Inc.
Shelton M. from Kevin's North Area Transmissions & Automotive II responded on 06/30/2016

THANK YOU FOR YOUR RECOMMENDATION. WE APPRECIATE YOUR BUSINESS. WE APOLOGIZE FOR THE EXTRA DAY IT TOOK TO COMPLETE THE REPAIR. REST ASSURED THAT OUR STAFF IS VERY THOROUGH AND YOU REPAIR WAS COMPLETED WITH THE UTMOST CARE AND ATTENTION TO DETAIL. PLEASE COME BY AGAIN IF YOU NEED ANY MAINTENENCE OR REPAIRS. THANKS, KEVIN


BT
BILL T.
Ladson, SC
Chevrolet Colorado
Verified
Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5rating 3rating 3
03/19/2016
5 minutes or 5 miles
Normally Kevins Transmissions is a great place. I'm assuming I got them in a busy day. Why? Well the hood was up when I arrived to pick it up. I joking said to the mechanic..."five minutes or five miles warranty"? Well that proves to be about right. Check engine light came on about 5 miles later. So that will be a trip back next week. One the plus side, my AC is blowing cold once again.
Shelton M. from Kevin's North Area Transmissions & Automotive II responded on 04/08/2016

WE THANK YOU FOR YOUR RECOMMENDATION AND FOR RETURNING TO OUR SHOP TO LET US DIAGNOSE THE PROBLEM WITH THE CHECK ENGINE LIGHT COMING BACK ON. LET US KNOW IF WE CAN HELP IN THE FUTURE. THANKS AGIAN. 


CS
Curtis S.
Goose Creek, SC
Chevrolet Pickup
Verified
Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5rating 3rating 3
03/18/2016 Category: Service
Curtis said the Freon leaked out of the system and is going back this Saturday.
This review was collected via phone interview by Customer Research Inc.

MM
Marcus M.
Charleston, SC
Chevrolet Impala
Verified
Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5rating 3rating 3
01/20/2016 Category: Service
Marcus said they put in a transmission back in November and it was not shifting right and had to go back for them to redo it. They had his vehicle for a whole two weeks for this. He is not recommending them because he had to go back.
This review was collected via phone interview by Customer Research Inc.
Shelton M. from Kevin's North Area Transmissions & Automotive II responded on 01/22/2016

Our invoice records indicate that the vehicle originally arrived to our repair facility on Friday afternoon October 30, 2015. The customer was called on November 4, 2015 and was informed of the internal failure on the transmission in his vehicle. The customer was given the opportunity to make payments towards the repairs the initial payment was made on November 6th; the final payment was made on November 28th. Management was very cooperative with our first time customer and allowed the individual to make payments on his repairs over the duration of three weeks. Typically no such service is offered and customers are expected to pay for all repairs in full within 72 hours after the time of completion. The customer approved our repair facility to replace the transmission with a refurbished unit with a 90 day warranty. We were not authorized to rebuild the transmission. Unfortunately the customer was forced to bring the vehicle back in January and yes it did take us nearly two weeks to repair the customer’s transmission due to parts availability from our vendor. Despite the time that it took us to conduct the repairs while honoring the warranty with no questions asked, we stood behind our work as expected.

NJ
Norman J.
North Charleston, SC
Kia Spectra
Verified
Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5rating 3rating 3
04/18/2015 Category: Service
Norman said this business did not complete the service in the time frame they promised.
This review was collected via phone interview by Customer Research Inc.
Shelton M. from Kevin's North Area Transmissions & Automotive II responded on 05/02/2015


We sincerely apologize for the inconvenience. However in the event a delay is caused due to the parts supplier it is out of our control. Overall we hope that your were satisfied with the services received. We ask that you keep us in mind for any future repairs we promise you will not be disappointed.


DH
Dale H.
South Carolina
Ford Ranger
Verified
Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5rating 3rating 3
03/10/2015 Category: Service
Dale said he was told it would take a half hour but it took two hours. He would go back to see if this situation was a fluke.
This review was collected via phone interview by Customer Research Inc.