Kevin's North Area Transmissions & Automotive II

Overview

Overall Rating 4.66/5Overall Rating 4.66/5Overall Rating 4.66/5Overall Rating 4.66/5rating 4.66

496 Reviews

ReScore Reviews™ (1)

ReScore
Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5rating 4.0
Original
Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5rating 3.0rating 3.0
95% Would Recommend
Latest Review 11 days ago

Reviews


KM
Kinderick M.
North Charleston, SC
Nissan Xterra
Verified
Overall Rating 2/5Overall Rating 2/5rating 2rating 2rating 2
11/04/2016 Category: Service
Kinderick said he went to the business to have his new distributor removed but the supervisor told someone to reinstall the distributor and they charged his son to remove it.
This review was collected via phone interview by Customer Research Inc.
Shelton M. from Kevin's North Area Transmissions & Automotive II responded on 11/08/2016

We are sorry to hear you have a complaint regarding the services you received here at our shop.  In your particular case, the cost you paid was only for towing to our shop $65.00 and $65.00 towing vehicle back to you and $112.50 diagnostic time, the total you paid including tax $242.50.  You contacted our shop and advised us at that time you believed, you had run out of gas and was told you should install a new distributor which you had done this work yourself already prior to contacting us and you were still having issues with your vehicle not running.  You requested Kevin's North Area Transmission & Automotive to have your vehicle towed in and diagnose your vehicle for not running, our certified technician the internal computer of your vehicle, completed a full hour inspection of parts and confirmed you had the distributor properly installed and was not faulty. At that time our technician determined that in fact your vehicle had a major timing issue in which your vehicle jumped time while running and was not a lack of gasoline.  After giving you the diagnosis of the timing issue we advised you due to the vehicles condition after the timing belt/gear assembly broke while running you have serious interference issues in your engine which is due to possible bent valves in your engine and  the most cost effective method of repair at this point is to replace the engine entirely (new or used).  You declined engine replacement and had us tow the vehicle back to you.  The old distributor was reinstalled back on the vehicle and we handed you your new distributor back as a courtesy to you, intentions were that at least, you would be able to take it back to the store in which you bought the part for a full refund as the distributor was never your issue.  We never like giving a customer the sad news that their vehicle's engine needs to be replaced, however we are always available to help our valued customers in anyway we can including going above and beyond to save you time and money.  Your trust is our business.  Please contact us at the shop if you need any further explanation of the issues with your vehicle 843-552-2666.


KM
Kevin M.
North Charleston, SC
Buick LeSabre
Verified
Overall Rating 2/5Overall Rating 2/5rating 2rating 2rating 2
02/18/2016 Category: Service
Kevin said this business got it wrong with his vehicle. He was informed this was not the issue. He did not go into details explaining the situation.
This review was collected via phone interview by Customer Research Inc.
Shelton M. from Kevin's North Area Transmissions & Automotive II responded on 03/03/2016

MR.MAXWELL CAME INTO OUR SHOP 2/13/16 1ST TIME CUSTOMER. HE STATED HE HAS JUST PURCHASED HIS 2003 LESABRE AND REQUESTED AN OIL CHANGE AND COMPLETE NEW PURCHASE INSPECTION. WE INSPECTED HIS VEHICLE, PERFORMED OIL CHANGE SERVICE & RECOMMENDED HE REPLACE THE LEFT & RIGHT FRONT LOWER CONTROL CONTROL ARMS AS ALL THE BUSHINGS ARE GONE. WE ONLY CHARGED MR MAXWELL $29.21 FOR COMPLETE INSPECTION & OIL CHANGE. HE DID NOT SAY HE WAS UNSATISFIED WITH OUR SERVICE WHEN HE WAS HERE AND WE HAVE NO IDEA WHY HE WOULD BE UNSATISFIED WITH THE EXCELLENT SERVICE WE PROVIDED. THANK YOU    KEVIN


BM
Bethany M.
North Charleston, SC
Ford Taurus
Verified
Overall Rating 2/5Overall Rating 2/5rating 2rating 2rating 2
09/14/2015 Category: Service
Bethany said the experience at the business was good, but now there is power steering fluid coming out of it. She is going to bring it back to the business over this.
This review was collected via phone interview by Customer Research Inc.

RB
Rashaunah B.
North Charleston, SC
BMW 525i
Verified
Overall Rating 2/5Overall Rating 2/5rating 2rating 2rating 2
03/07/2015 Category: Service
Rashaunah said at first when she dropped her vehicle of for service at this business it was running fine. When she picked it up on Saturday it was running terribly. She had to bring it back on Monday morning. They made her pay $75 for a diagnostic and told her the warranty she had would not cover the service work. They told her she would have to pay $550 out of pocket. She went to the dealership, they made a call to this business, and then it was covered by the warranty. Her warranty required a $100 deductible, so she asked Kevin if the $75 she paid for the diagnostic would go towards it and he told her it would. They called her to pick up the vehicle and said it would be $100. She was lead to believe that she was only going to have to pay $25 because of what Kevin told her. He said to her this was not the case now and this left a bad taste in her mouth. This made her really upset and very frustrated. When she got there to pick up her vehicle they did not tell her anything about what was done, so she does not know what they did. They gave her the keys and told her not to worry about the $100 because they were going to take it up with the dealership. She would recommend them but tell people to speak to Shelton because he was very professional. Some of their employees need to be retrained in handling customers and mistakes because they could handle these things more professionally.
This review was collected via phone interview by Customer Research Inc.
Shelton M. from Kevin's North Area Transmissions & Automotive II responded on 03/19/2015

The vehicle arrived to our repair facility for the first time, the customer requested an oil change. Our technician discovered that the oil pan was damaged and it was urgent that it was replaced in order to not result in engine damage from the vehicle being ran low on engine oil. The drain plug on the oil pan was severely stripped. The vehicle was purchased from a used car lot who in which sold the vehicle with a limited warranty. Oil pans was not a covered item. We did explain that the vehicle had engine misfire issues as well, which were covered by the warranty company. The vehicle left our repair facility well with a new oil pan all engine misfire issued resolved installed as well with a courtesy car wash.