Brothers Collision & Mechanical


Overall Rating 4.83/5Overall Rating 4.83/5Overall Rating 4.83/5Overall Rating 4.83/5rating 4.83

587 Reviews

ReScore Reviews™ (1)

ReScore
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
Original
Overall Rating 1.0/5rating 1.0rating 1.0rating 1.0rating 1.0
97% Would Recommend
Latest Review about 16 hours ago
TIM O. on 10/21/2016
Recommended badge inactive Recommended
Overall Rating 1/5rating 1rating 1rating 1rating 1
"Small repair - Big Price"
We had one experience with Brothers a few months ago and we were very pleased. We were former customers of Frank's Auto Care for decades from Stone Road to Lake & Denise and Frank sent us brochures about Brothers. We have lived in Charlotte for 41 years (my husband for all of his life) and we like working with local businesses. But this last time was crazy. My husband's 2009 Kia Sportage clearly needed a starter which is the info we gave when we had it towed in. The cost for a starter and a battery, which we understood the connection, was astronomical. Almost $850 for parts and labor. A starter costs less than $200, a batter perhaps $120 so $500 for labor. Insane. Turns out we got stuck with a "diagnostic charge of $100. I called 3 other places. 2 garages and our Kia dealership. All of them said we were grossly overcharged. And all of them said that if they needed to diagnose the problem (which was truly unnecessary since we told them what was wrong), they would have deducted that cost from the overall job. Sorry Frank, we cannot go back to these guys. Way too much money for a simple fix.
Vehicle: Kia Sportage
Service Date: 10/20/2016
Review Created: 10/21/2016 09:55 PM
Tim M. at Brothers Collision & Mechanical responded on 10/22/2016

THANK YOU MRS. OBRIEN FOR YOUR FEEDBACK AND I APOLOGIZE THAT YOU WERENT COMPLETELY SATISFIED. HOWEVER, YOUR VEHICLE DID NEED DIAGNOSIS.  WE NEEDED TO TEST THE STRENGTH OF THE STARTER, THE BATTERY, THE CHARGING ABILITIES OF THE ALTERNATOR, AND INSPECT WIRING FOR DAMAGE AND CORROSION. SOMETIMES STARTERS DON'T ENGAGE IF THEY ARENT SUPPLIED WITH SUFFICIENT POWER. WE HAVE ALL STATE OF THE ART EQUIPMENT TO PROPERLY DIAGNOSE YOUR ISSUE, LEADING US TO A WEAK BATTERY AS WELL AS THE INITIAL CONCERN WITH THE STARTER. WE FEEL YOU WOULD'VE BEEN MORE UPSET IF WE REPLACED YOUR STARTER AND HAVE THE SAME ISSUE RE-OCCUR. IN ADDITION TO THE STARTER REPLACEMENT, WE INSPECTED YOUR ENTIRE STARTING AND CHARGING SYSTEM, WHICH GIVES YOU PIECE OF MIND FOR THE UPCOMING SEASON CHANGE. IN OUR DIAGNOSTIC CHARGE, THAT ALSO INCLUDES TWO OF OUR STAFF HAVING TO TOW THE CAR IN AND OUT OF THE SHOP DUE TO ITS NO RUNNING CONDITION. WE FEEL THAT WE QUICKLY REPAIRED YOUR CAR, REPAIRED IT CORRECTLY, AND EVEN MADE RECOMMENDATIONS OF FUTURE REPAIRS THAT SHOULD BE DONE (TIMING BELT), TO AVOID FUTURE TOW INS. PLEASE KNOW,  I SPOKE WITH TIM THROUGHOUT THE WHOLE PROCESS, IN WHICH HE GAVE ME APPROVAL ON EVERY STEP OF THIS REPAIR. I FEEL CONFIDENT THAT YOU WILL NO LONGER HAVE THIS STARTING/CHARGING ISSUE AND THAT YOUR VEHICLE IS READY FOR WINTER. AS ALWAYS, WE STAND BEHIND OUR WORK AND YOUR WORK IS WARRANTIED UP TO 1 YEAR AND 12,000 MILES. PLEASE CALL WITH ANY FUTURE CONCERNS. IT WAS A PLEASURE SERVING YOU

LEONARD L. on 01/20/2016
Recommended badge inactive Recommended
Overall Rating 1/5rating 1rating 1rating 1rating 1
"Dan, you have to be kidding.."
Your e-mail said "We appreciate your business, and hope you were completely satisfied with your recent visit. We value our customers, and understand you have many choices when it comes to servicing your 2007 Ford Focus. "
How can you possibly ask if I am satisfied with your service?
Vehicle: Ford Focus
Service Date: 12/22/2015
Review Created: 01/20/2016 02:18 PM
Victoria H. on 12/24/2015
Recommended badge inactive Recommended
Overall Rating 1/5rating 1rating 1rating 1rating 1
Victoria said the business did not tell her she was going to be charged for a diagnostic. They all had an argument about the issue and they decided she did not have to pay. She has been trying to get her emergency brake fixed there for a year and they recently did her calipers. The calipers turned out to be faulty and she has to return to get it repaired.
Vehicle: Jaguar X-Type
Category: Service
Service Date: 12/17/2015
Review Created: 12/24/2015
This review was collected via phone interview by Customer Research Inc.
Chris J. on 12/14/2015
Recommended badge inactive Recommended
Overall Rating 1/5rating 1rating 1rating 1rating 1
Chris said he does not think it should have taken 4 days to diagnose the problem. He also does not think the ignition module was changed. Either there is a wire with foil on it or a piece of plastic on the passenger floor. He is going to take it to another mechanic to find out what all was done and what was not done.
Vehicle: Chevrolet Silverado
Category: Service
Service Date: 12/08/2015
Review Created: 12/14/2015
This review was collected via phone interview by Customer Research Inc.
Marian B. on 03/24/2015
Recommended badge inactive Recommended
Overall Rating 1/5rating 1rating 1rating 1rating 1
Marian said she had a horrible experience with the business. She said the customer service is terrible and she is not satisfied with the services rendered. She called for a quote for parts and labor. She chose this business because of the good ratings, but then found out that they only did half of the work quoted, but still charged full price. The owner had the business finish the repair and she was not charged anymore money. She also said when she got the vehicle back things on the vehicle were broken. Due to this experience she would not recommend them.
Vehicle: Hyundai Elantra
Category: Service
Service Date: 03/18/2015
Review Created: 03/24/2015
This review was collected via phone interview by Customer Research Inc.
Albert K. ReScore Review on 07/31/2014
ReScore
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
Original
Overall Rating 1/5rating 1rating 1rating 1rating 1
Recommended? Yes
Surecritic checkman logo Verified
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
Albert said this business straightened everything out for him.
Vehicle: Dodge Caliber
Category: Service
Service Date: 06/26/2014
Review Created: 07/22/2014
This review was collected via phone interview by Customer Research Inc.

Recommended badge inactive Recommended
Overall Rating 1/5rating 1rating 1rating 1rating 1
Albert said he went in for an oil change. Instead of getting regular oil, the business put in synthetic and charged him that price. He said he thinks the business should have apologized and charged him the price for the regular oil. He would not recommend them to others for the reasons mentioned.
Vehicle: Dodge Caliber
Category: Service
Service Date: 06/26/2014
Review Created: 07/22/2014
This review was collected via phone interview by Customer Research Inc.
Dan & Bill B. at Brothers Collision & Mechanical responded on 07/30/2014

Albert,  Thanks for taking the time to speak with me the other day.  I sincerely apologize for the miscommunication.  Per our discussion please expect a credit and discount the next time you are in for service.  Thanks again for your understanding.  

          Regards, 
                 Daniel Brothers

MARY ELLEN F. on 11/30/2013
Recommended badge inactive Recommended
Overall Rating 1/5rating 1rating 1rating 1rating 1
"2004 Honda Ciivic"
I was very disappointed with the last visit of my grandson's car which you had serviced for many years. My daughter, Cindy Latiuk, was charged $70 for the gas cap which your service manager quoted $30. When Cindy received the bill, which she had already paid, she was charged $70. She had called and talked to the service manager and he said that it was $70, plus it was $150 more than Dick Ide to correct the problem. Dick Ide said it was $30 for the gas cap and we went on line and it was 30. That's a lot o money for a gas cap, plus it wasn't the problem for the engine light going on.
Vehicle: Honda Civic
Service Date: 10/28/2013
Review Created: 11/30/2013 07:13 AM
JIM G. on 08/04/2013
Recommended badge inactive Recommended
Overall Rating 1/5rating 1rating 1rating 1rating 1
"I won't be back"
I wasn't called when I was told I would be. Car wasn't ready when I was told it would be. Front pads and rotors installed before price was quoted to me.Engine light came on as I left the parking lot. Opened the hood and found air box wasn't screwed down, wrench left in the engine compartment. Chris said I needed front pads and rotors and a couple tires, but couldn't get pricing because it was after 5pm when he called me he said he would call me in the morning but didn't, when I called him the next afternoon the pads and rotors were on the vehicle.
Vehicle: Buick LeSabre
Service Date: 07/24/2013
Review Created: 08/04/2013 08:53 AM
Ma Z. on 07/20/2013
Recommended badge inactive Recommended
Overall Rating 1/5rating 1rating 1rating 1rating 1
Spoke with Melody. She said she called them because she wanted to replace her radiator. The guy she spoke with on the phone told her it was going to cost $89 for a diagnostic. She was not happy with what they charged her. They had her vehicle for 5 days trying to figure out what to do with it and she was not pleased. When she picked up her vehicle, they billed her $98 for the diagnostic. They had a printed out list of things they recommended for her to have done which cost $803. She decided to take her vehicle out the business and take it else where because it was a scam. She would not recommend them because of the reasons mentioned above.
Vehicle: Dodge Stratus
Category: Service
Service Date: 07/09/2013
Review Created: 07/20/2013
This review was collected via phone interview by Customer Research Inc.
Dorthy C. on 06/10/2013
Recommended badge inactive Recommended
Overall Rating 1/5rating 1rating 1rating 1rating 1
Dorthy said she was disappointed and taken advantage of. They were supposed to wash her vehicle, but they did not. The business gave her an estimate for over $1,000 of work. She said she felt like her vehicle did not need all the repairs they quoted. She was not pleased with the business and she will not be returning to the business in the future.
Vehicle: Ford Focus
Category: Service
Service Date: 06/05/2013
Review Created: 06/10/2013
This review was collected via phone interview by Customer Research Inc.
Displaying all 10 Review