Overview

Overall Rating 4.9/5Overall Rating 4.9/5Overall Rating 4.9/5Overall Rating 4.9/5Overall Rating 4.9/5
4.9

(387 Reviews)

ReScore Reviews™ (1)

ReScore
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
Original
Overall Rating 1.0/5Overall Rating 1.0/5Overall Rating 1.0/5Overall Rating 1.0/5Overall Rating 1.0/5
99% Would Recommend
Latest Review about 1 year ago

Reviews


KC
Kate C.
Tyler, TX
Overall Rating 1.0/5Overall Rating 1.0/5Overall Rating 1.0/5Overall Rating 1.0/5Overall Rating 1.0/5
05/02/2020
SHADY AND UNPROFESSIONAL
We had a HORRIBLE experience! I had issues with my mazda overheating along with some electrical issues so we took it here, based on the reviews. We get a call saying the thermostat needed to be replaced and that it would be $300 for them to fix it. Fortunately we knew how to replace the thermostat ourselves so we told them not to touch the thermostat and just work on diagnosing the electrical issues. We got a call about an hour later telling us the car was ready and our total was $300. We were shocked since we told them not to touch anything and just diagnose the other issues. When we got there the owner was VERY disrespectful and rude, claiming we TOLD him to fix it. There's no way we would have asked him to replace that part with us knowing how to fix it ourselves! They didn't even look at the electric, to top it off! The only way he "tried" to make it right was to take the part off, put our broken one back on and charge us for diagnostic. Wrong! The right thing to do would have been to charge us for diagnostic and parts only! We will NEVER go back! We were treated like scum. They way overcharge for parts too. We bought the exact same thermostat for $40 at autozone. They charged us $120. Dishonesty at its finest. We learned the hard way. DO NOT TRUST THESE GUYS!

DC
Dakota C.
Tyler, TX
Honda Civic Si
Verified Customer
Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5
12/04/2018 Category: Service
Dakota said that he didn't look at the charges and the diagnostics were not what it was supposed to be.
Billy H. from Hughes Automotive responded on 12/06/2018

Thank you for the time to review. The diagnostic charge was a minimum one hour charge for the diagnosis of a blown head gasket on the Honda. That is standard charge when no repairs other than diagnostics are performed. Thank you for your business and let us know if we can help you with your repair!

Billy


JT
Joshua T.
Tyler, TX
Dodge Pickup
Verified Customer
Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5
11/15/2018 Category: Service
Joshua said it was pretty good and he didn'ty really have an problems, but it took a little while. He said when he broke down at the parts store he called this business to ask if he could purchase the part there and have this business install it. They told him no, that they would sell him the part themselves and then warranty the work. It took 45 minutes for the part to show up and it was from the same parts store that this business refused to let him purchase the part from himself. It was a $130 part but this business charged him $330, which means they charged him for 2 hours of labor when it only took them 30 minutes to install.
Billy H. from Hughes Automotive responded on 11/19/2018

Our mistake for getting you done quickly while you waited. I will not happen again. 


JD
Joe D.
Tyler, TX
Chevrolet Cruze
Verified Customer
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
03/28/2018
Coolant leak
Thank you for contacting us regarding the review I submitted. Your quickness and eagerness to resolve the issue was amazing. Sorry we did not give you another chance to resolve the issue. We will continue to use Hughes Automotive for our auto repairs. Look forward to do business with you in the future.
I know my husband has used you for years but this was my first time. Did not mean to be so harsh, just was upset it was not fixed. In the future will contact you first if there is a problem since I now feel certain it will be addressed and resolved.
Thank you so very much.

Overall Rating 1.0/5Overall Rating 1.0/5Overall Rating 1.0/5Overall Rating 1.0/5Overall Rating 1.0/5
03/28/2018
Coolant leak
A week to 10 after having the coolant leak repaired it began leaking again. Just took vehicle to the dealer. Would be nice if there were a 30 day guarantee on the work and it could be taken back and fixed at no charge for labor if the additional work had not actually repaired the problem.
Thank you.
Billy H. from Hughes Automotive responded on 03/28/2018

Hi Joe,
There is a one year warranty on the work that is performed. A hose was found leaking and replaced. I will be glad to warranty the hose if needed! 
Thank you for your business.

Billy


NA
Nell A.
Texas
Buick Reatta
Verified Customer
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
04/04/2020 Category: Service
Nell said that the place was perfect, they did a fantastic job and fixed all the electrical. It came out really nice and she liked the way he ran the business.

JF
Joe F.
Texas
Acura RDX
Verified Customer
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
03/19/2020 Category: Service
Joe said the staff always take care of him.

JL
Jeff L.
Texas
Volkswagen Jetta Sedan
Verified Customer
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
03/12/2020 Category: Service
Jeff said the staff did a good job.

JW
Justyn W.
Tyler, TX
Dodge Durango
Verified Customer
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
03/11/2020 Category: Service
Justyn said this business did everything he asked of them.

ER
Eric R.
Tyler, TX
GMC Pickup
Verified Customer
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
03/10/2020
Top-Tier Quality Service
Billy Hughes and his team provide top-tier quality mechanical service and always endeavor to fix the root issues of the problems, and not just irresponsibly waste customer's time and money by misdiagnosing problems, and frivolously throwing expensive parts a vehicle until they "stumble" over solution. They take the time to get to the root, and ALWAYS fix it correctly. My 1987 GMC 454 squarebody dually truck runs like a BEAST!!! VERY, VERY SATISFIED!

RS
Ron S.
Texas
Ford Taurus
Verified Customer
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
03/10/2020 Category: Service
Ron said this business has good service and good prices. They have courteous staff and he got really good service from the owner, himself. He has used them before and he has always been extremely satisfied with the quality of service.

PB
Patricia B.
Tyler, TX
Buick Verano
Verified Customer
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
03/03/2020
The accuracy
Overall experience is great as always. Very fast thanks for helping me with all my needs. You guys rock

HM
Harry M.
Tyler, TX
GMC Sierra 1500
Verified Customer
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
02/26/2020
February 25 Service
Was treated like a special customer as they usually do. Recommend them if anyone asks.

JS
Jimmy S.
Tyler, TX
Ford Pickup
Verified Customer
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
02/25/2020
Service on 2/24/2020 - FD F150 2/24/2020
Personal service, very helpful and does not talk down to you because you're not a mechanic. Jim has had serious health issues for the last 2 years and everyone at Hughes were polite and helpful to him. Loved the cat!

CH
Chris H.
Tyler, TX
Jeep Wrangler
Verified Customer
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
02/22/2020
Fast and Friendly Service..
Mr Hughes and his team are what great neighborhood business is all about.
We’ll be back!

Verified Customer
Tyler, TX
Honda CR-V
Verified Customer
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
02/22/2020
Great people and service!
The staff at Hughes are always friendly, helpful, and professional. They do great work and take time to explain everything. I definitely recommend them.

Displaying Review 1 - 15 of 387 in total