Overview

Overall Rating 4.77/5Overall Rating 4.77/5Overall Rating 4.77/5Overall Rating 4.77/5rating 4.77

289 Reviews

99% Would Recommend
Latest Review 3 days ago

Reviews


BS
BRUCE S.
San Francisco, CA
Volkswagen Vanagon
Verified Customer
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
04/16/2019
1.8t Conversion
First of all, the 1.8t conversion is a great choice for California where the options are more limited. The conversion Stephan designed is very well thought out and the quality of the kit is excellent. The installation and workmanship (I had it done at SAH) was very good. As in any project of this size, there were a few glitches, but Stephan and his crew put everything right, and I am very pleased with the end result.
Secondly, driving the Westy is now a totally different experience. It is not going to do "burnouts", but there is ample power for navigating San Francisco hills and maintaining freeway speeds on grades. It is a real pleasure to drive. I have driven the 1000 mile "break-in", and am eager to see how it now handles the Sierras, and higher elevations.
All in all, I am very pleased to have chosen this conversion, and have full confidence in Stephan's Auto Haus.

DM
DAN M.
Santa Cruz, CA
Volkswagen Vanagon
Verified Customer
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
03/26/2019
Stand behind their work and designs/systems.
Thanks for giving me the upgraded pedal/throttle system.

RC
Russ C.
West Sacramento, CA
BMW Z3
Verified Customer
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
03/16/2019 Category: Service
Russ said the business always takes care of him.
This review was collected via phone interview by Customer Research Inc.

MF
MARK F.
Bayside, CA
Volkswagen Vanagon
Verified Customer
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
03/08/2019
Integrity, thoroughness, communication
Exceeded my expectations... again. Thank you Stephan and crew for not only helping to keep Vanagons alive and well, but making them better than when they left the factory!

PW
Paul W.
Auburn, CA
FIAT 500
Verified Customer
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
02/27/2019 Category: Service
Paul said the staff went out of their way to accommodate him. They are awesome and he loves this business.
This review was collected via phone interview by Customer Research Inc.

EW
ERIC W.
Sacramento, CA
Volkswagen Vanagon
Verified Customer
Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5rating 3rating 3
02/13/2019
OVERHEAT LIGHT FLASHING WHILE TEMP NEEDLE IS AT MIDPOINT OF GAUGE: 1987 Volkswagen Vanagon, Lic. 2JHS301
Temp warning light not fixed: still flashes when temp is normal.

As I drove back home I noticed that the Heater Slide level was full on: the van cabin was getting hot. I turned it off. Could this have interfered with testing?

The red flashing Temp overheat light started flashing before I got to Florin road.
I pulled into my drive way, turned off engine, and has a quick bowl of left overs.

Re-Started engine and it took time to warm back up to mid gauge per needle. No red light flashing.

Drove down I-5 to Lguna and red light starts flashing after only 3 miles. Needled still mid gauge on the LED.

Drove back home and red light flashing entire way; needle is mid gauge on the LED.

Pulled onto driveway, turned off engine and restarted immediately. RED LIGHT DOES NOT FLASH AND temp needled is mid gauge on the LED.

Summary: It seems that the red flashing light comes on when driven more than 4 mores on freeway.
Red light goes out when engine is shut OFF and then restarted.

Seems like an electric situation somewhere.

Please advise.

I would like the warning light to be an accurate dash indicator so I do not have to constantly watch the needle.

Thank you for your attention.

Please advise the next step.

Sincerely, Eric WIndheim.

TG
TODD G.
Santa Cruz, CA
Volkswagen Vanagon
Verified Customer
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
02/10/2019
Customer Service and quality work
Stephan continues to impress me with his customer service and quality work. Can not recommend his shop highly enough.

JW
JAN W.
Sacramento, CA
Lexus ES 300 Luxury Sport Sdn
Verified Customer
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
02/10/2019
Like taking your car to your favorite brother-in-law
Have been going to Stephan's for over 10 years. Never disappointed. Friendly people, They work hard to make it a good experience for both your and your car. I trust them. Their work holds up well and have never gotten the mechanic's sneer from anyone there. I have recommended them to many friends.

TL
Taylor L.
Severna Park, MD
Volkswagen Vanagon
Verified Customer
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
01/23/2019 Category: Service
Taylor said that the place was thorough, saved them a lot of money and heartache and were nice and welcoming.
This review was collected via phone interview by Customer Research Inc.

JW
JOE W.
Sacramento, CA
Volkswagen Vanagon
Verified Customer
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
01/15/2019
Great job on maintaining 1.8 turbo
After a year with the new 1.8 turbo engine an oil leak appeared from the valve cover. Stephans did a great job of fixing it and steam cleaning the engine and all under warranty. Great service as always.

Verified Customer
Sacramento, CA
Volkswagen Jetta Sedan
Verified Customer
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
01/13/2019
Very professional
They completed the work in the time frame estimated.

TH
Tanisha H.
Sacramento, CA
Volkswagen New Beetle Coupe
Verified Customer
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
12/28/2018 Category: Service
Tanisha said that the place provided her with great customer service and the staff was nice.
This review was collected via phone interview by Customer Research Inc.

BH
BRUCE H.
Sacramento, CA
Volkswagen Vanagon
Verified Customer
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
12/16/2018
Good Running Westy
My westy has never run so good. Thanks guys.

JC
JOEL C.
Sacramento, CA
Volkswagen Vanagon
Verified Customer
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
12/07/2018
Great work
Very communicative and clear with what work was recommended and what the cost would be. Fast efficient service.

AC
ANTHONY C.
Sacramento, CA
Volkswagen New Beetle
Verified Customer
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
12/03/2018
Awesome service and staff!
Listened and exercised patience, communicated honestly throughout the process, and didn’t try to bs me or sell me... Not to mention excellent work!

TR
TOM R.
Sacramento, CA
Volkswagen EuroVan
Verified Customer
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
11/21/2018
Personable - Trustworthy - Extremely Considerate
Each employee I have encountered over many years has been kind, honest, and patient with me - never condescending or disingenuous. The service is excellent and accommodating. They do their work well, and they stand behind it.

TC
THOM C.
Sacramento, CA
Volkswagen Passat Sedan
Verified Customer
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
11/15/2018
Still the best shop in town
I have heard other people talking about other Volkswagen shops in town, and it's never all good. "OH ******** is good if you have [insert specific situation] but I've been disappointed by [insert situation]," or "I like ******** and they're great, but hard to get an appointment/they take a couple days," and so on.

Stephan's Auto Haus never fails to deliver service, both promised and estimated, and follow-up. His technicians and office staff know their work and the cars and know how to get it done right the first time.

Hard not to be loyal to a shop like this.

JP
Jason P.
Sacramento, CA
Audi A4
Verified Customer
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
11/14/2018 Category: Service
Jason said the business got the job done thoroughly.
This review was collected via phone interview by Customer Research Inc.

DP
DAVE P.
Sacramento, CA
Volkswagen
Verified Customer
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
11/12/2018
Customer service is fantastic
I have had several of my vehicles over here for repairs in the last five years. Every time i get great service and my cars turn out amazing. I just had an engine worked on and I cannot believe how beautiful and smooth it runs. Thank you to all of the hard working staff. Dave

KS
Kevin S.
Sacramento, CA
Volkswagen Jetta Sedan
Verified Customer
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
10/31/2018 Category: Service
Kevin said the service was really good. The work was done fast. The service was easy.
This review was collected via phone interview by Customer Research Inc.

Displaying Review 1 - 20 of 289 in total