Overview

Overall Rating 4.76/5Overall Rating 4.76/5Overall Rating 4.76/5Overall Rating 4.76/5rating 4.76

268 Reviews

99% Would Recommend
Latest Review 5 days ago

Reviews


GM
GRETA M.
Bayside, CA
Volkswagen Vanagon
Verified
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
10/15/2018
Great customer support
Stephan's Auto Haus defies the dominant social norms of mysogeny. Identifying as female, I am accustomed to receiving poor treatment at male-dominated auto repair shops. I have been belittled, ignored and overcharged too many times to count over the many years of various vehicle ownership. Work promised by other shops has not been done and parts have been swapped for lesser ones without my knowledge. I was pleasantly surprised to find that both my vehicle and myself were treated very well at Stephan's Auto Haus! They gained my trust as I handed over the keys to my vintage vehicle for a total rebuild. I was able to hang out in their customer waiting area and keep on top of various decisions that needed to be made. I felt included and it made a huge difference in the overall experience.

ML
MARK L.
Oakland, CA
Volkswagen Vanagon
Verified
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
10/02/2018
Stephan’s goes above and beyond for VW Vanagons
I had bought a 1990 VW Vanagon from a previous owner in SF who had gotten the 1.9t engine swap and quite a few upgrades from Stephan’s in Sacramento. Though it’s a bit of a trek out I’m so glad to continue to get my van work done here.

They were able to make some repairs for me under warranty for the engine work despite the transfer of ownership. It seems no task is too big or small, as I’ve gotten quite a bit done: pop top replaced, proper heater install, rear heater delete kit and subwoofer install, install front power remote locks and alarm from GoWesty, futon mattress upgrade, various small fixes like the glove box map light, the list goes on! And that was just on one visit.They are accommodating and happy to install gear you’ve purchased online.

Scotty at the front of the house is always very responsive via email and phone. Thanks guys!

PD
Peter D.
Sacramento, CA
Toyota Prius
Verified
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
09/29/2018 Category: Service
Peter said the staff was friendly and the service was great.
This review was collected via phone interview by Customer Research Inc.

DL
DAVID L.
Poway, CA
Volkswagen Vanagon
Verified
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
09/17/2018
Competence Above All
I bought an '89 Syncro with Stephans' 1.8T conversion in 2011, which included all the bells and whistles available at the time. I'm an amateur mechanic, owned lots of Jaguars starting with a '55 XK140 purchased in 1986, so not unfamiliar with car maintenance. The Syncro is something more than I can handle these days, though, so I get the work done by pros. In the San Diego area there are several good options for getting this done, but some of my results have been unsatisfactory and left the vehicle with long-standing problems that began to interfere with enjoyment of the thing. So, I went to the source, SAH, with a long list of issues of deferred maintenance and poor quality repairs. When I got it back, after a week of work, it was a different vehicle! All the issues I'd identified had been dealt with, and some serious deficiencies in the drivetrain that the shop identified (I had requested a thorough inspection so I'd be ready for some 4-wheeling in the Escalante territory) had been dealt with.

Thanks guys, you are real pros, and it was a pleasure to deal with Scotty the service manager. He's a great communicator with a unique style!

PK
Peter K.
Sacramento, CA
Audi TT
Verified
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
09/12/2018 Category: Service
Peter said that he is completely satisfied.
This review was collected via phone interview by Customer Research Inc.

JW
John W.
Sacramento, CA
Volkswagen Passat
Verified
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
08/25/2018 Category: Service
John said he had a good experience, and he was pleased with the work done.
This review was collected via phone interview by Customer Research Inc.

DF
Doreen F.
Sacramento, CA
Audi A3
Verified
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
08/24/2018 Category: Service
Doreen said the staff did a good job, and were pleasant. The service took 2 days but that was ok for her.
This review was collected via phone interview by Customer Research Inc.

ES
Emily S.
California
Volkswagen EuroVan
Verified
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
08/07/2018 Category: Service
Emily said the business did a good job. Although it took a while to get the part in that her vehicle needed, they kept good communication with her so that she knew what to expect.
This review was collected via phone interview by Customer Research Inc.

SH
Steven H.
West Sacramento, CA
Toyota Camry Solara
Verified
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
07/28/2018 Category: Service
Steven said he would recommend this business.
This review was collected via phone interview by Customer Research Inc.

DB
DAVID B.
Sacramento, CA
Volkswagen Vanagon
Verified
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
07/16/2018
On the Road Again!
I'm thankful to be on the road, again, thanks to Stephan's! My Westy had developed a fuel leak issue, and they did a great job, helping to fix this. All staff are friendly, and I really appreciate the effort they put into the repairs and safety upgrades. (A Blazecut fire suppression system has now been installed by Stephan's, so this safety upgrade is greatly appreciated!) The fog lights now work, again, too, and the engine is running great...what more could you ask for? Great shop and people!

EW
ERIC W.
Sacramento, CA
Volkswagen Vanagon
Verified
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
07/11/2018
Professional Vanagon repair
Finally, people who know how to keep older VW vehicles in top running condition. My 1987 VW Vanagon with 245,000 miles needed many major parts replaced and Stephan's did a great job. These people know how to repair and restore.

CS
Charles S.
Ojai, CA
Volkswagen Vanagon
Verified
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
07/11/2018 Category: Service
Charles said the work took longer than expected but was very good.
This review was collected via phone interview by Customer Research Inc.

BT
Bruce T.
Delta, BC
Volkswagen Vanagon
Verified
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
06/20/2018 Category: Service
Bruce said he had trouble with the vehicle and they fixed it. When the same problem re-occurred, they dealt with it to his satisfaction.
This review was collected via phone interview by Customer Research Inc.

ML
Mary L.
Davis, CA
Volkswagen EuroVan
Verified
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
06/16/2018 Category: Service
Mary said the service was a little bit expensive, but everything else was great.
This review was collected via phone interview by Customer Research Inc.

PH
PAUL H.
Greenbrae, CA
Volkswagen Vanagon
Verified
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
06/14/2018
Fast response to support issue
I had a potentially critical issue arise with a new engine supplied by Stephan. We were on the road far from home and there was an indication of a recent overheating condition and engine damage was a real possibility if we continued our trip. Stephan responded in about an hour with information that explained what I was observing, and addressed my email point-by-point. This info and a closer inspection of the affected part demonstrated that the engine was operating normally and we could continue without worry or interruption. This was exemplary service!

VW
Vince W.
Sacramento, CA
Volkswagen Vanagon
Verified
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
05/26/2018 Category: Service
Vince said he would recommend this business for service.
This review was collected via phone interview by Customer Research Inc.

JH
Jeremy H.
Sacramento, CA
Volkswagen Passat
Verified
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
05/18/2018 Category: Service
Jeremy said the staff was friendly. The man that worked on his vehicle knew exactly what he was talking about.
This review was collected via phone interview by Customer Research Inc.

TC
THOM C.
Sacramento, CA
Volkswagen Passat Sedan
Verified
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
04/30/2018
Not the cheapest, just the best
Been taking my vehicles to SAH since 2003--and that means 15 years now!

For those who know, SAH is simply the best place to take your Audi/Volkswagen for straight-up service and repair by certified technicians in a timely manner. One of the best things about SAH is the transparency and communication they offer--they stick by their estimate, and if anything *might* change, they make sure to get clearance well in advance--and they stand behind their work and parts. Taking your car to the mechanic is rarely fun, but SAH's service and professionalism takes the sting out and sends me home with confidence.

RT
RASHAWN T.
Sacramento, CA
Mercedes-Benz CLK-Class
Verified
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
04/28/2018
Friendly service
Friendly service, they work on my bfs 08 Benz clk550. Labor is way cheaper than the dealership, and they kept us updated on the issues and solutions. Great service.

AL
Ami L.
Sacramento, CA
Volkswagen Rabbit
Verified
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
04/28/2018 Category: Service
Ami said the business was honest, the price point was good, and everything was great.
This review was collected via phone interview by Customer Research Inc.

Displaying Review 1 - 20 of 268 in total