Overview

Overall Rating 4.77/5Overall Rating 4.77/5Overall Rating 4.77/5Overall Rating 4.77/5rating 4.77

294 Reviews

99% Would Recommend
Latest Review 10 days ago

Reviews


LH
LIAM H.
Marina, CA
Volkswagen Vanagon
Verified Customer
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
06/15/2019
VW 1.8T for a Vanagon Syncro: Problem Solvers
We are thrilled with the results of the work performed on our '90 Syncro Westy to ensure our vehicle met California's stringent Smog Check Program!

My first meeting with owner Stephan White was for a consultation on whether Stephan's Auto Haus (SAH) could refactor my VW 1.8T build to conform to the SAH Executive Order D-712. Stephan was friendly, thoughtful, informative and encouraging.

Next, the staff at SAH worked out a plan that kept cost to a minimum, preserving as much of the original build as practical without compromising the conformance to their EO and the satisfaction of the BAR-Referee.

Once the project was underway, regular updates by service advisor Scotty, and the final product effected by Vanagon technician Tyler, were professional, communicated clearly, and respectful of the base build. They were attentive to detail, thorough in their execution, and friendly throughout the project.

We can enthusiastically recommend Stephan's Auto Haus!

JS
JIM S.
Shingle Springs, CA
Volkswagen Vanagon
Verified Customer
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
06/13/2019
great attention to detail !!
Brought 91 Wesrphalia in for A/C service. Working like (or bettter) than new now.

MT
MIKE T.
Walnut Creek, CA
Volkswagen Vanagon
Verified Customer
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
05/11/2019
First post-warranty service visit was a pleasure.
I drive over an hour to Stephan's. So, I find that if we communicate in advance via email and plan service visits in advance, all goes smoothly. This time, I didn't need to leave "Phyllis" overnight, so I took my brother-in-law, who lives in Sacramento, out for brunch.

TT
Thomas T.
Walnut Grove, CA
Volkswagen EuroVan
Verified Customer
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
05/08/2019 Category: Service
Thomas said he was very pleased with the business. They were timely and they did exactly what said they would at the price they promised.
This review was collected via phone interview by Customer Research Inc.

TT
Travis T.
Sacramento, CA
Volkswagen Vanagon
Verified Customer
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
04/23/2019 Category: Service
Travis said they did everything he needed and he is pleased.
This review was collected via phone interview by Customer Research Inc.

BS
BRUCE S.
San Francisco, CA
Volkswagen Vanagon
Verified Customer
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
04/16/2019
1.8t Conversion
First of all, the 1.8t conversion is a great choice for California where the options are more limited. The conversion Stephan designed is very well thought out and the quality of the kit is excellent. The installation and workmanship (I had it done at SAH) was very good. As in any project of this size, there were a few glitches, but Stephan and his crew put everything right, and I am very pleased with the end result.
Secondly, driving the Westy is now a totally different experience. It is not going to do "burnouts", but there is ample power for navigating San Francisco hills and maintaining freeway speeds on grades. It is a real pleasure to drive. I have driven the 1000 mile "break-in", and am eager to see how it now handles the Sierras, and higher elevations.
All in all, I am very pleased to have chosen this conversion, and have full confidence in Stephan's Auto Haus.

DM
DAN M.
Santa Cruz, CA
Volkswagen Vanagon
Verified Customer
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
03/26/2019
Stand behind their work and designs/systems.
Thanks for giving me the upgraded pedal/throttle system.

RC
Russ C.
West Sacramento, CA
BMW Z3
Verified Customer
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
03/16/2019 Category: Service
Russ said the business always takes care of him.
This review was collected via phone interview by Customer Research Inc.

MF
MARK F.
Bayside, CA
Volkswagen Vanagon
Verified Customer
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
03/08/2019
Integrity, thoroughness, communication
Exceeded my expectations... again. Thank you Stephan and crew for not only helping to keep Vanagons alive and well, but making them better than when they left the factory!

PW
Paul W.
Auburn, CA
FIAT 500
Verified Customer
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
02/27/2019 Category: Service
Paul said the staff went out of their way to accommodate him. They are awesome and he loves this business.
This review was collected via phone interview by Customer Research Inc.

EW
ERIC W.
Sacramento, CA
Volkswagen Vanagon
Verified Customer
Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5rating 3rating 3
02/13/2019
OVERHEAT LIGHT FLASHING WHILE TEMP NEEDLE IS AT MIDPOINT OF GAUGE: 1987 Volkswagen Vanagon, Lic. 2JHS301
Temp warning light not fixed: still flashes when temp is normal.

As I drove back home I noticed that the Heater Slide level was full on: the van cabin was getting hot. I turned it off. Could this have interfered with testing?

The red flashing Temp overheat light started flashing before I got to Florin road.
I pulled into my drive way, turned off engine, and has a quick bowl of left overs.

Re-Started engine and it took time to warm back up to mid gauge per needle. No red light flashing.

Drove down I-5 to Lguna and red light starts flashing after only 3 miles. Needled still mid gauge on the LED.

Drove back home and red light flashing entire way; needle is mid gauge on the LED.

Pulled onto driveway, turned off engine and restarted immediately. RED LIGHT DOES NOT FLASH AND temp needled is mid gauge on the LED.

Summary: It seems that the red flashing light comes on when driven more than 4 mores on freeway.
Red light goes out when engine is shut OFF and then restarted.

Seems like an electric situation somewhere.

Please advise.

I would like the warning light to be an accurate dash indicator so I do not have to constantly watch the needle.

Thank you for your attention.

Please advise the next step.

Sincerely, Eric WIndheim.

TG
TODD G.
Santa Cruz, CA
Volkswagen Vanagon
Verified Customer
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
02/10/2019
Customer Service and quality work
Stephan continues to impress me with his customer service and quality work. Can not recommend his shop highly enough.

JW
JAN W.
Sacramento, CA
Lexus ES 300 Luxury Sport Sdn
Verified Customer
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
02/10/2019
Like taking your car to your favorite brother-in-law
Have been going to Stephan's for over 10 years. Never disappointed. Friendly people, They work hard to make it a good experience for both your and your car. I trust them. Their work holds up well and have never gotten the mechanic's sneer from anyone there. I have recommended them to many friends.

TL
Taylor L.
Severna Park, MD
Volkswagen Vanagon
Verified Customer
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
01/23/2019 Category: Service
Taylor said that the place was thorough, saved them a lot of money and heartache and were nice and welcoming.
This review was collected via phone interview by Customer Research Inc.

JW
JOE W.
Sacramento, CA
Volkswagen Vanagon
Verified Customer
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
01/15/2019
Great job on maintaining 1.8 turbo
After a year with the new 1.8 turbo engine an oil leak appeared from the valve cover. Stephans did a great job of fixing it and steam cleaning the engine and all under warranty. Great service as always.

Verified Customer
Sacramento, CA
Volkswagen Jetta Sedan
Verified Customer
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
01/13/2019
Very professional
They completed the work in the time frame estimated.

TH
Tanisha H.
Sacramento, CA
Volkswagen New Beetle Coupe
Verified Customer
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
12/28/2018 Category: Service
Tanisha said that the place provided her with great customer service and the staff was nice.
This review was collected via phone interview by Customer Research Inc.

BH
BRUCE H.
Sacramento, CA
Volkswagen Vanagon
Verified Customer
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
12/16/2018
Good Running Westy
My westy has never run so good. Thanks guys.

JC
JOEL C.
Sacramento, CA
Volkswagen Vanagon
Verified Customer
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
12/07/2018
Great work
Very communicative and clear with what work was recommended and what the cost would be. Fast efficient service.

AC
ANTHONY C.
Sacramento, CA
Volkswagen New Beetle
Verified Customer
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
12/03/2018
Awesome service and staff!
Listened and exercised patience, communicated honestly throughout the process, and didn’t try to bs me or sell me... Not to mention excellent work!