2019
Hyundai
Ioniq Electric

Overall Rating 4.8/5Overall Rating 4.8/5Overall Rating 4.8/5Overall Rating 4.8/5Overall Rating 4.8/5
4.8
(15 Reviews)
Latest review 12 days ago
Category Summary (Avg. out of 10)
  • Value
  • Features
  • Build Quality
  • Fun
  • Reliability
  • Performance
  • Exterior
  • Comfort
  • Interior
  • Styling

NB
Norman B.
2019 Hyundai Ioniq Electric
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
11/17/2020
Awesome economy and perfect reliability.
The best was 183 MPGe. Great car. 1 year and averaged 153 wh/km, 246 wh/mi. simply great efficiency. 100% reliability zero warranty or quality items. Great in the snow. Summer range is 160 miles, winter 110 miles. Competent handling, no squeaks or rattles, even tire wear. Great online Ap, blue link, with remote functions. Room for 5 adults when needed and comfortable rear seating. In 10,000 miles all we have needed are tire rotations. We love our Ioniq Electric and will own it for a long time.

Pros
Economy, quality, reliability, green, little maintenance needed.

Cons
Retail price is high but there are incentives to make it justifiable.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

TB
TONI B.
2019 Hyundai Ioniq Electric
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
10/22/2020
Hyundai Ioniq Electric - An excellent electric car for daily commute
Hyundai knows how to build electric cars. Their cars warranty is excellent and their commitment to build good electric cars is outstanding. The efficiency of my Ioniq 28kW is one of the best in industry, probably on the same page with Tesla Model 3. Good job Hyundai!
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

AG
ANTHONY G.
2019 Hyundai Ioniq Electric
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
10/16/2020
Great Around Town Daily Driver
Great Daily Driver. Very Efficient "Fuel" economy. Super Safe.
Pros: Highly Efficient EV perfect for daily driving around town.
Con: Rear passengers might feel road bumps due to limited rear suspension

Pros
Highly Efficient EV perfect for daily driving around town.

Cons
Rear passengers might feel road bumps due to limited rear suspension

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

NB
Norman B.
2019 Hyundai Ioniq Electric
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
10/15/2020
Absolutely Astounding Vehicle
Awesome vehicle. Very efficient, smooth, quiet, comfortable, meets all performance/efficiency specifications, great in snow, no issues in 10,000 miles and 1 year. No squeaks and rattles, durable, great sound system, comfortable seats. I have zero complaints and plan on having this car for a very long time.

Pros
The most efficient car on the road. Great EV. Very reliable with zero issues in 12 months. Great winter traction with front wheel drive.

Cons
Range is limited to 100 miles Winter and 150 miles Summer. With proper planning, this is not a con if managed correctly.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

LS
LINDA S.
2019 Hyundai Ioniq Electric
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
09/04/2020
Very happy.
I love my electric vehicle. The ONLY complaint I have is I wish the battery had more capacity. The vanity mirrors should have lights. The Drive Mode button placement is awkward. It’s difficult to locate while driving. It requires your eyes to leave the road searching for a button,

Pros
Everything. This is a great car. Love the EV!

Cons
Vanity lights.
Placement of Drive Mode on center console.
Battery capacity.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

LG
Lei G.
2019 Hyundai Ioniq Electric
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
08/19/2020
Clean
Decent simple vehicle iiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiIiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiii

Pros
Simple

Cons
Range

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

MC
MICHAEL C.
2019 Hyundai Ioniq Electric
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5
07/23/2020
2019 Ioniq EV
I like this vehicle, but the battery range needs to be improved to justify the price. The cold weather kills the range. Overall the car is reliable and easy to drive. Braking during wet weather also seems to be sketchy at times.

Pros
Low cost of owning.

Cons
Poor battery range

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

HP
HAROLD P.
2019 Hyundai Ioniq Electric
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
03/30/2020
Ionic Electric
Excellent vehicle. Steering pull occurs infrequently. At first it was a bit scary because it felt like a flat tire or brakes engaging when we were not applying the brakes. Poor visability through rear window.

Cons
Steering problem previously mentioned.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

KS
KENNETH S.
2019 Hyundai Ioniq Electric
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
03/23/2020
Great starter ev for short commuters.
This is great vehicle if you found the amazing lease deal. Its range is about 120 miles and 85 miles during winter, but it is more than enough for daily commuters. Level 2 charger charges full in 4hrs

Pros
Not expensive for an ev and has all the basic features as standard. Easy to drive.

Cons
Range is little short. Ev specific tires are super super slippery. With high torque characteristics of an ev, I do not recommend driving this vehicle in rainy, icy, or snowy conditions.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

FD
Fintan D.
2019 Hyundai Ioniq Electric
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
02/13/2020
Very good commuter
I live close to work and do short shopping/errand trips most of the time. The limited range is not an issue for me and is actually an advantage as I am not lugging around unneeded battery weight. The car is nippy and fun to drive. It's fun to drop big trucks at traffic lights.

Pros
Fun to drive.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

CT
CHRISTOPHER T.
2019 Hyundai Ioniq Electric
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5
01/15/2020
Great city vehicle
I compared a bunch of full electric vehicles and decided that the Ioniq was the best range to value while also being a more spacious vehicle. Hybrids get better range, but they're mechanically complicated and you still need oil changes and smog checks. The range of around 132 miles per charge is perfect for city driving, but not ideal for longer trips or commutes unless there is a fast charge where you work. If you're in a place that gets quite hot or cold, the climate control system will eat 30%-40% of your range. Take that into account if you commute uphill from Albuquerque to Santa Fe in the summer or winter. That being said, both of those cities now have several level 3 chargers available in the Walmart parking lots.

Pros
Price to range ratio good for a normal sized car. Most cars under the Tesla have trouble achieving over 100 miles for a similar price to the Ioniq.

Cons
Range significantly diminished while using climate controls. (normal for an electric car).

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

LS
Linda S.
2019 Hyundai Ioniq Electric
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
01/10/2020
So far so good.
I LOVE this vehicle. It’s got a sport drive I haven’t used yet because I’m afraid it could get me in trouble with CHP. I can’t tell you how great it is to drive past the gas stations. I wish it offered a little longer distance between charges, but I’m learning to work with 125 miles.

Pros
Everything is at your fingertips.

Cons
Drive selection and seat heaters are found in the middle console. It’s inconvenient and requires taking eyes off the road to find these buttons. Also, 125 miles between charges really needs to be increased.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JM
JOHN M.
2019 Hyundai Ioniq Electric
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
01/03/2020
Hyundai Ioniq Electric 2019
This is a great car, extremely quiet ride, very smooth. Interior is comfortable, good controls, lots of tech. Does everything I need in a car. Wish it had better range or charged faster on 120v. The car has far exceeded my expectations, and I can definitely see the advantages of electric.

Pros
Super quiet, high tech fun car.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

NB
Norman B.
2019 Hyundai Ioniq Electric
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
11/15/2019
This applied to the EV! Fantastic economy, nicely equipped and great build quality
We have driven 1700 miles. Our economy average has been 130 MPGe in cold conditions. The handling is very good, ride is compliant and features work well. The Audio system sounds great and has all of my connectivity options as well as a back up camera. Lots of programmable options for morning warm up and charging times. You can tailor your economy settings as well. The drive train is smooth and the electric motor is very responsive. The Regenerative brakes stop well and allow me to maximize economy. The interior materials are durable and body is sound and rigid.

Pros
Economy, build quality, performance.

Cons
Ride is firm but controlled. Distance to empty indicator needs to be better at predicting range.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JR
Jacob R.
2019 Hyundai Ioniq Electric
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
09/25/2019
Pretty cool
For a cheap car. This is great! Love my ioniq EV. Charges fast, reliable, spacious, futuristic. Good buy for EV. This isn’t my primary vehicle I also have a gas vehicle. It’s a fun toy!! Buy this vehicle if you want something fun. Nice commuter.

Pros
Electric

Cons
Electric

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling
Displaying all 15 reviews