2019
Hyundai
Ioniq Plug-In Hybrid

Overall Rating 4.64/5Overall Rating 4.64/5Overall Rating 4.64/5Overall Rating 4.64/5rating 4.64
4.6
(13 Reviews)
Latest review 12 months ago
Category Summary (Avg. out of 10)
  • Value
  • Features
  • Build Quality
  • Fun
  • Reliability
  • Performance
  • Exterior
  • Comfort
  • Interior
  • Styling

Reviews


TL
Tracy L.
2019 Hyundai Ioniq Plug-In Hybrid
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 1/5rating 1rating 1rating 1rating 1
12/26/2018
Looks Like I Have A Lemon
I had my brand new 2019 ionic plug-in for a total of 4 days before the check engine light came on. It went to the dealership for repair, 7 days later it was given back claiming it was fixed. Two days later the check hybrid system warning came on. I again took it to the dealership for repair, 51 days later I have my vehicle back. I’ve been working with Hyundai Corporation since November 1 on a resolution to this problem. I have yet to receive a final response.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

TH
Thomas H.
2019 Hyundai Ioniq Plug-In Hybrid
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
12/03/2019
PHEV Ioniq
Car is okay. Realize you're not getting a quick car. Other than that is is excellent. Doesn't use much gas, easy to charge, and easy to drive. Technology is great, and prospective buyers should upgrade.

Pros
Mileage and size.

Cons
Slow to pick up speed.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

KW
Kurt W.
2019 Hyundai Ioniq Plug-In Hybrid
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
05/29/2019
Great, smaller car
7500 miles and 2 scheduled services on the car so far.

Highlights: the safety features (lane keep assist and urgent braking) are actually really good and useful. Adaptive cruise control is also pretty nifty, but I find I have to be picky about the driver in front of me. Some people really drive spastically, and the radar control just ties your speed to their speed. Whatever, still neat. Fuel economy is fantastic, and thanks to the plugin, my first 25-28 miles are gas-free. There are plenty of days where i just make short trips around and don't use any gas. On longer trips, the hybrid fuel economy is really good. I think I'm getting above 60 MPG even on hybrid, but the car is supposed to get 52 MPG. I don't know what's going on, I just know it really, really savors its fuel. Also, the hatchback has a ton of room: luggage AND golf clubs can fit in the back , yet still have room for 3 passengers & driver. Cargo cover provides some privacy and makes the back look less appealing for breakins.

Lowlights: It's actually a small car on the inside. If I have 4 adult passengers, it's cramped. Long-legged people will not enjoy the ride so much, and plenty of people bump their noggin getting in / out of the car. No spare tire, just a tire inflation kit. Some day, that's going to really annoy me. Minimal vents for A/C to the rear seats, and only 1 USB in the center console for the use of people in the back. Also, there's a weird little ledge on the top of the rear bumper whose only purpose in life is to accumulate dirt and water, then slather it on my legs when I put stuff in the back.

Overall, highlights far, far outweigh the negatives. There are a bunch more things I could have listed on highlights, it's a great car and I'm very happy I bought it.

Pros
Easy to drive
Great fuel economy
Great safety features
Ample cargo space

Cons
No room to spare in passenger compartment
Minimal airflow to back seat
Minimal power/chargers for back seat
Driver seat comfort is meh

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

AA
Antar A.
2019 Hyundai Ioniq Plug-In Hybrid
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
06/19/2019
Great car!!!
Great car!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Pros
Great car

Cons
None

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

CA
Carlos A.
2019 Hyundai Ioniq Plug-In Hybrid
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
07/30/2019
A awesome car
This car is what the advertisers say is.

The mpg is amazing, works wonders in the mountains in Colorado. 12k feet high passes

Bery Good traction, amazing acceleration, takes the curves very good.

Nice computer on board.

Pros
All

Cons
The headrest is not comfortable at all.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

NR
Nancy R.
2019 Hyundai Ioniq Plug-In Hybrid
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
08/02/2019
review
Overall, a fun ride. My greatest complaint is that there were so few vehicles to choose from. I had to go to a dealership 185 miles from my home to even get a choice of two cars and they were essentially identical without several options I would have liked.

Pros
great handling, fuel efficient, comfortable

Cons
seat heating control inconveniently placed - often push it on in error
audio volume control should be a larger knob than the temperature control knob - one tends to change the temperature less frequently

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

MC
Maricel C.
2019 Hyundai Ioniq Plug-In Hybrid
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
08/20/2019
Great car
The range on this car is incredible, and because it's a plug-in, I have the permits for the HOV lane which cuts my commute time in half.
The ride is quiet, and the interior is comfortable, especially compared to the Nissan Leaf and Chevy Bolt.

Pros
Fuel efficient with great range.
Eligible for HOV permit.

Cons
No sun roof standard.
Sight lines could be improved.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JM
Jane M.
2019 Hyundai Ioniq Plug-In Hybrid
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
08/25/2019
Love My Ioniq
I seriously love everything about my Ioniq Plug-In Hybrid. The overall look is very classy, I like the gray, it drives really smooth (the sport mode is great and fun, too), it alerts you of blind spots and if i'm getting too close to the car in front of me (some of my friends think this is too much, but you can easily turn it off), the controls inside are well-placed. I own a house with solar panels which actually product more power than the house needs. So I get to charge my car at my house for free. When it's driving on electricity, it is so quiet. The only thing I had to get used to is the hatchback. Since it's a hatchback, there isn't a button on my key to release the trunk when I'm walking towards it. It's not a big deal but that's the only thing (and really, nothing else) that I easily got used to. I have another friend who owns an Ioniq and we always rave about it.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JS
Joel S.
2019 Hyundai Ioniq Plug-In Hybrid
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
08/28/2019
My new Hyundai Ioniq Plug-in
I love the car. It has a very attractive interior and exterior, is extremely comfortable, drives wonderfully, and I am getting 220 mpg going to and from work every week. I highly recommend it to whomever I speak with
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

RS
Robert S.
2019 Hyundai Ioniq Plug-In Hybrid
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
10/02/2019
I love this car !
I went from a Prius to this Ioniq Plug In . I am very happy with the upgrade. I compared with the Prius Prime. Not a fan of the Toyota's Alien look ! I'm pleased with the Ioniq's looks. The fuel economy is outstanding ! So far I'm amazed with my new Ioniq!

Pros
Looks, Fuel economy,Apple car play and Android Auto

Cons
None

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

MH
Mark H.
2019 Hyundai Ioniq Plug-In Hybrid
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
10/07/2019
Love my Plugin
1500 mile road trip, San Diego to Lake Tahoe to Sonoma and back to San Diego. Was always able to find a place to plug in, even at hotels with just a 110 outlet. Fewer than 2 tanks of gas for the whole trip.

Pros
Great milage, even when not using electric. Use all electric for around town.

Cons
None so far.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JI
Joseph I.
2019 Hyundai Ioniq Plug-In Hybrid
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
10/30/2019
Super money saver.
We are able to get about 270 miles per gallon with this car. Twenty nine miles on all electric before gas is used allows us to save money big time. We have solar on the house and my wife can also charge free at work! Throw in the car pool lane sticker and this car is a winner for us.

Pros
All Good

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

WA
William A.
2019 Hyundai Ioniq Plug-In Hybrid
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
11/21/2019
Hyundai Ioniq Plug In Hybrid
I am very positively impressed with the Ioniq. This is the base model that does not have many of the extra features but this is the way I wanted it. The car is very quiet whether in the electric or gas engine mode. Visibility is very good although it does take a little getting used to for the split rear window. In rain, the top window of the two rear windows has all the rain taken off by the air flow. It is very aerodynamic. There is no rear window wiper option. The mirrors are heated and have a split mirror to see cars coming too close beside you. The interior room is very spacious. Both front seats are heated with 3 selections and are very comfortable. The A/C is split for both left and right. The front pockets in the doors and beside the seats are roomy. The 6 speed transmission makes for a very smooth ride. The car has a very solid feel to it from dropping the front hood to dropping the trunk lid. The rear camera gives a clear picture day and night but frequently gets dirty since I live on a dirt road. Just a swipe of a finger cleans it. The front screen is simple and not too difficult to understand. The controls on the steering are well placed and obvious. The wipers cover most of the windshield very well. The radio is good but not exceptional. There are USB ports to accept external content and the system pairs with either Android or Apple smartphones. Going uphill is easy with electric or gas engine power. Brakes are powerful and are quick to react. I like the cruise control on the highway; very flexible and rock steady. The rear bench seats are a 60/40 split with a pull down arm rest/cup holder. The 120 VAC charging cord is included and takes a little over 8 hours. I installed a ChargePoint 240 VAC wall mounted charging station which takes 2 hours and 15 minutes. Once it is connected and charging, the cord is locked in and cannot be unlocked unless you have a smartphone or you remove the supplying power. The handling is very adept in summer sun or rain. It is responsive in snow with snow tires and front wheel drive.

Pros
Amazing gas mileage!

Cons
No rear window wiper, how will it handle heavy snow?

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling
Displaying all 13 reviews