2019
Hyundai
Kona EV

Overall Rating 4.7/5Overall Rating 4.7/5Overall Rating 4.7/5Overall Rating 4.7/5Overall Rating 4.7/5
4.7
(109 Reviews)
Latest review about 9 hours ago
Category Summary (Avg. out of 10)
  • Value
  • Features
  • Build Quality
  • Fun
  • Reliability
  • Performance
  • Exterior
  • Comfort
  • Interior
  • Styling

WG
WILSON G.
2019 Hyundai Kona EV
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
08/08/2020
It's a good car
It's a very good electric car it drives fantastic it handles well.But there's no storage and it's little small inside.They should make a electric SUV large enough that you could take a decent amount of people in the car. The only disappointment ,I have is not comfortable to handle a person that's over 6 feet.

Pros
It's fun to drive.

Cons
Not enough room or storage.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

FS
FRANK S.
2019 Hyundai Kona EV
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
07/23/2020
Leased Kona EV
Was looking to replace our leased MB electric; however, they delayed that model to following year and would not renew lease. Shopped around and was pleasantly surprised with Kona and all its safety features.

Pros
Nice car and dealer.

Cons
Needs forward looking camera

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

AP
AMISH P.
2019 Hyundai Kona EV
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
07/21/2020
Kona electric
Great car we will own this for a long time. Hoping in the future they offer all models in a full electric model and in all wheel drive with power lift gate. And the pricing for electric vehicle comes down. If not for the incentive this would be out of my price range.

Pros
No more gas

Cons
Not all wheel drive.
No power lift gate on a 46000 dollar car.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

OM
OLIVIER M.
2019 Hyundai Kona EV
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
07/01/2020
Best Car I've ever owned
I was looking to buy an EV and the first car I looked at was the Tesla Model 3 long range. I was ready to buy when I found out that Hyundai had a new long range EV. I have owned a new Elantra before which has been trouble free for the 100k miles that I've owned it, so my view of the brand was very favorable. I read some reviews on the Kona EV and found out about the 2019 Livetime EV battery warranty. This is what stood out for me compared to the Model 3 which has a 120k mile warranty. In my first year of ownership, I drove 31k miles with my Kona EV with ZERO issues. I'm getting 4.7 miles/kwh on average which translates to an AVERAGE range of 300 miles per charge, well above the EPA rating of 258 miles per charge. Absolutely fantastic car.. The only issue is that the car is front wheel drive and front motor, The power of the engine easily overpowers the front tires. Very hard to get traction in sports mode... Love the power but I'd love it if I could get more of the power to the ground..

Pros
Lifetime Battery Warranty
Extremely efficient
great power
Great infotainment and ANDROID AUTO integration

Cons
AUTO HOLD is not sticky
Limited traction upon heavy accelaration due to FWD
No AWD available

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

RB
ROBERT B.
2019 Hyundai Kona EV
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
06/24/2020
Best EV
I wanted a full electric vehicle. I researched all my options. Hyundai had the best warranty and the best range of miles for the price. The styling was better than all the other electric vehicles I looked at. The Kona looks like a regular gasoline vehicle but has the electric drive train. All I wanted was an EV that didn’t look like a space ship!! The Hyundai Kona did that perfectly. I can drive from San Diego to Las Vegas using rapid changing once each way. For a total of $20 round trip.

Pros
Great long range ev. Very fun to drive good styling nice safety features

Cons
Poor handling, the app is terrible and not even worth using. The drive buttons are directly next to the cup holder and I’m worried I’m going to spill a drink on them and not be able to push the buttons or drive the vehicle

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

MV
MATTHEW V.
2019 Hyundai Kona EV
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
06/14/2020
The quickest most fun vehicle I have ever owned or driven!!
I have had my Kona for one year now and have put exactly 10K miles on it. I love it more now than ever!! It is the fastest, funnest car I have ever driven. ZERO maintenance - well I have to rotate my tires at 10K... It costs me about $4.00 in electric to get 200 miles of charge which lasts me one week (used to cost me $35-40 in gas per week). I will probably never buy another gas powered vehicle. Once you feel instant torque - without having to wait for a vehicle to downshift or the engine to get the RPM's up - and you just pull away... It is addictive. My previous vehicle was a 2008 Dodge Charger (retired state patrol vehicle with Hemi 5.7) - so I thought I knew what a fast car was. Try it - you'll like it!!

Pros
Don't have time to list them all!!

Cons
I think a smooth front would be easier to wash.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

G.
2019 Hyundai Kona EV
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
06/10/2020
Fun, smart, practical
Great torque and fun to drive. Climate, entertainment system easy to operate. Great phone integration with iPhone. Love the wireless phone charging option and ventilated seats. Viability is very good and headlights systems excellent. Vehicle range is excellent and charging easy to manage/ monitor with app. Rear legroom is a bit tight, so not ideal vehicle for hauling kids and bikes, etc.

Cons
Rear leg room

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

MC
MICHELLE C.
2019 Hyundai Kona EV
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
06/07/2020
Owner
We wanted an electric car with Over 250 miles of range. The Leaf only had 84. My first choice was a Tesla model 3, but the big touch screen control center intimidated my wife as she’s not computer literate . The kona EV fit our needs but if my wife ever learns how to use a touch screen, I will trade for a Tesla, with OTA upgrades, the car never gets old!!!

Pros
Great overall

Cons
Cabin noise

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

TH
THOMAS H.
2019 Hyundai Kona EV
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5
06/06/2020
A good car
I like the car, but it is too noisy at speed. Bla bla bla bla bla bla bla bla bla bla bla bla bla bla bla bla bla bla bla bla bla bla bla bla bla Bla bla bla bla bla bla bla bla bla bla bla bla bla bla bla bla bla bla bla bla bla bla bla bla bla.

Pros
It's electric.

Cons
The navigation package is over priced. If not for the insistence of my wife, I would have not paid for the navigation system.
The cabin is too noisy at speed to enjoy the sound system.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

TM
THOMAS M.
2019 Hyundai Kona EV
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
06/05/2020
EV Rocks
I chose the Hyundai Kona EV after extensive online research. Unfortunately it was only being sold in 3 states of which none were where I lived. I watched numerous YouTube videos from professionals comparing models to every day people who had a Kona or other electric vehicle. These videos convinced me that I could go total electric instead of hybrid and still do long trips with just a little extra planning. I have been very pleased with my Kona EV. I get great mileage. I can get around 300 miles/full charge in warmer weather. Cooler weather runs about 240. I have not taken any long trips but using it to go back and forth to work (about 12 miles one way) and some additional errand running, it has been costing me about $25-$30/month to operate. With the virus and less travelling it has been a maximum of $10/month. I did have a 240v Chargepoint charger installed at home. I can completely recharge overnight in about 6-8 hours when needed. Normal usage I normally charge once a week. This is my 6th Hyundai and I buy them because they have all been great cars and my Kona EV has not disappointed.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

EP
ERIC P.
2019 Hyundai Kona EV
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
06/04/2020
I LOVE my Kona EV
Great performance, No gas, nimble handling with the weight of the battery down low, just point it and go. I get 250+ miles on a charge. I charge the car in my garage and usually only have to charge once a week to 10 days for local driving. In a year the only maintenance is tire rotation. No oil changes ever, no transmission, few moving parts to go wrong. Interior is well laid-out, styling is nice. Everybody wants a ride.

Pros
Instant acceleration. Quiet ride. No gas.

Cons
Back seat is small. Not much storage, but it is a mini SUV

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

TH
TIMOTHY H.
2019 Hyundai Kona EV
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5
06/03/2020
Best range and quality EV on the market
Driving any EV is fun. That includes the Kona EV. Not using petroleum is the best. No big problems with this car. Only small problems are too much electronic gadgetry— overdone. For example, stopping the car, putting it in park, getting out, you can’t open the back door (to get your backpack, say) because it stays automatically locked.. multiple other quirky things like that. Other issue is range anxiety which comes with any EV and needs getting adjusted to.

Pros
EV with max range— 250 miles. Spacious, comfy, fun to drive.

Cons
EVs come with range anxiety built in; something to get used to

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JM
JOANNE M.
2019 Hyundai Kona EV
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5
05/07/2020
Kona EV
We love the instant acceleration and brilliant range on a single charge. We usually charge it to 90% and we have around 270 mile range. We love not having to stop and get gas. The factory navigation works so well with the voice recognition. It is way better than our Toyota RAV4 hybrid. It is a fun car to drive and we use it when ever we go around town.

Pros
Very zippy acceleration. Great navigation system that works well with voice recognition. Charging the Kona to 90% we usually get around 270 miles which is a great range. Seats are in a higher more upright position and it's not as hard to get in and out of compared to our Prius that was replace by our Kona EV

Cons
The same button on the door handle locks and unlocks the door. When we go to leave and lock the door if we both push the lock button at the same time the other person unlocks it when we want to lock the door. On my RAV 4 there is different places on the handle to lock and unlock the door. The defrost system doesn't work well at all. There needs to be parking sensors on the front bumper. You only have them on the back bumper. Paint quality is not so good. It easily chips on the front hood and grill. The front grill with all the little bumps is hard to clean and wax.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

LL
LORENA L.
2019 Hyundai Kona EV
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
05/06/2020
KONA Vehicle - love technology and mile coverage.
Love our car, specially my younger 18 year old daughter who just got her driving license. Good car to learn to good drive in. Easy to manage, looks good, and feels safe with the Kona's driving features. Thank you.

Pros
Love technology

Cons
Older people may have to get used to buttons options for selecting modes (e.g. drive , parking, break, etc.)

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JS
JUDITH S.
2019 Hyundai Kona EV
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
05/06/2020
Kona EV - really happy with this car!
A year later and we still love it! We've driven over 20,000 miles now including a long trip from NY to Florida. We found the car performed very well, and there was really no problem finding charging stations. Best plan, we discovered, is to stop overnight at Hotel/Motel with charging station so next day starts out with full charge. Then we stopped and charged to 80% when we needed a break for a stretch or lunch.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

LF
LISA F.
2019 Hyundai Kona EV
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
05/03/2020
I love my Kona EV
I wanted to buy an all electric vehicle, but not a Tesla. I read online reviews about all the electric vehicles I could find. Hyundai had gotten the highest overall reviews. I did test drive a BMWi3 but didn’t like the location of the gear shifter (nor the way I was treated at the dealership). I talked to my neighbor, who’s in the automotive industry & told me Hyundai was a great company (#2 in the world!?) who treated their employees well. That was also important to me. I test drove the Kona EV at a local dealership & instantly fell in love. It handled well, was easy to intuit, comfortable & can get over 300 miles to a charge! Sold!

Pros
It’s all good!

Cons
The vehicle is somewhat noisy on the highway due to the special tires that are used on EV’s. Also there doesn’t seem to be a lot of sound insulation. I wish the rear hatchback was easier to close. An automatic door would have been great. These are small items. Overall, I adore this car.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

LK
LORI K.
2019 Hyundai Kona EV
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
04/28/2020
One Year In -- I Still Love my Kona EV!
I've had my Kona EV Ultimate for a year. I still love driving this car every day. It's mostly a commuter car, but I've driven it long distances, having to charge multiple times a day -- really no problems. The charging network is decent enough on the east coast of the US to take long trips. Best car I've owned, hands down.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

AS
ANGELA S.
2019 Hyundai Kona EV
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
04/26/2020
Sold
LOVE this car. The battery performance exceeds all others in its class. The interior and exterior are stylish, and the vehicle is fully loaded with every amenity you can imagine, including a sunroof, which is VERY hard to find on an all electric vehicle. Above all, this car is a fun and comfortable ride that you can feel good about.

Pros
Fully loaded with every amenity a driver could want.
Long battery live (I have seen over 300 miles on a full charge).
Stylish interior and exterior.
No comfort or style sacrifices for an all electric vehicle.

Cons
Interior and storage space could use some expanding for a family of 5.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

MA
MARIO A.
2019 Hyundai Kona EV
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
04/24/2020
Great alternative to Tesla
Silo far more than 16000 mile and Love the car, mileage quotes are real world range. Great features, fun car to drive. Great for long commute. Very reliable only thing done for service is rotate tires and change cabin filter. They did try to sell me oil change at dealer, the service team can’t easily tell in system the car is electric.

Pros
Real world range accuracy
Fun to drive
Comfortable front seats
Love the heads up display (Ultimate model)

Cons
Rear seat space
Needs upgrade for premium interior materials and accents (wood, carbon fiber, Aluminum)

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

ES
ERIK S.
2019 Hyundai Kona EV
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
04/24/2020
great ev
an excellent EV. range is up to 350+ mles in good conditions. excellent performance. quiet & solid. great alternative to a model 3 or bolt. not sure why this requires 200 characters so here is the filler.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling
Displaying reviews 1 - 20 of 109 in total