Business Solutions

2019 Hyundai Kona EV

Average Score

Overall Rating 4.6/5Overall Rating 4.6/5Overall Rating 4.6/5Overall Rating 4.6/5Overall Rating 4.6/5
4.6
(161 Reviews)
Category Summary
(Avg. out of 10)
    Value
  • Features
  • Build Quality
  • Fun
  • Reliability
  • Performance
  • Exterior
  • Comfort
  • Interior
  • Styling

Reviews

Overall Rating 4.6/5Overall Rating 4.6/5Overall Rating 4.6/5Overall Rating 4.6/5Overall Rating 4.6/5
4.6
(161 Reviews)

JK
gravatar
JOSEPH K.
2019 Hyundai Kona EV
verified customer Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5
04/30/2022
Verified Review

EV

Great car, good lease deal, it is a bit over-powered. I’ve been very happy driving the car. The battery recall has been disappointing because the dealer has still not provided a replacement, and I can only charge to 80% capacity.
    Value
  • Build Quality
  • Reliability
  • Exterior
  • Interior
  • Features
  • Fun
  • Performance
  • Comfort
  • Styling

AA
gravatar
Andrew A.
2019 Hyundai Kona EV
verified customer Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
03/22/2022
Verified Review

Great vehicle

I just recently purchased this car preowned. What can I say I absolutely love it as far as the distance I can travel and the handling and breaking. I have the ultimate package which has everything in it it really is a great vehicle and highly recommend it.
    Value
  • Build Quality
  • Reliability
  • Exterior
  • Interior
  • Features
  • Fun
  • Performance
  • Comfort
  • Styling

JS
gravatar
JENNIFER S.
2019 Hyundai Kona EV
verified customer Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
01/06/2022
Verified Review

Great little EV

This is my second EV, my first being a Chevy Volt. I wanted a little SUV and found this Kona Electric when I was ready to buy a new vehicle. If you enjoy spending lots of money on gas, don’t get this car. But, if you’d like to just plug your car in at your house instead of ever going to a gas station again, then consider the Kona EV. It’s super peppy, comfortable, and good looking. It’s a well made vehicle and has an excellent warranty. It’s got good leg and headroom and has a nice ride.
    Value
  • Build Quality
  • Reliability
  • Exterior
  • Interior
  • Features
  • Fun
  • Performance
  • Comfort
  • Styling

EP
gravatar
EDWARD P.
2019 Hyundai Kona EV
verified customer Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5
01/01/2022
Verified Review

Love this car

Great car. An b affordable ev with great range. Fun to drive. Took a little getting used to. Quick acceleration. Easy to charge. Lots of options but easy to access them while driving. Love it’s a hatchback.
    Value
  • Build Quality
  • Reliability
  • Exterior
  • Interior
  • Features
  • Fun
  • Performance
  • Comfort
  • Styling

EN
gravatar
Ellen N.
2019 Hyundai Kona EV
verified customer Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5
10/04/2021
Verified Review

Love the car but EV battery recall has been a worrisome pain.

We are happy with the car, but the battery recall has been a hassle to deal with, requiring numerous visits and is still without final resolution. I would not recommend the car until current and future battery fire problems are completely eliminated.
    Value
  • Build Quality
  • Reliability
  • Exterior
  • Interior
  • Features
  • Fun
  • Performance
  • Comfort
  • Styling

AF
gravatar
Alfred F.
2019 Hyundai Kona EV
verified customer Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
09/28/2021
Verified Review

Good Car

Bought this vehicle as the specs were better than many of the competing vehicles. My experience with Hyundai reliability was exceptional. Easy to drive and acceleration is very good. Range is great especially if driving without a "heavy foot".
    Value
  • Build Quality
  • Reliability
  • Exterior
  • Interior
  • Features
  • Fun
  • Performance
  • Comfort
  • Styling

SH
gravatar
Suzanne H.
2019 Hyundai Kona EV
Overall Rating 1.0/5Overall Rating 1.0/5Overall Rating 1.0/5Overall Rating 1.0/5Overall Rating 1.0/5
09/27/2021

Horrible!

Hyundai has had a safety recall on the battery for SEVERAL months. My car is still not fixed and I was told it should stay at the dealership until the new battery could be installed...but no loaner was available. That was over a month ago. Seriously??? Terrible customer services and unreliable car.
    Value
  • Build Quality
  • Reliability
  • Exterior
  • Interior
  • Features
  • Fun
  • Performance
  • Comfort
  • Styling

JM
gravatar
JEFFREY M.
2019 Hyundai Kona EV
verified customer Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
09/21/2021
Verified Review

Excitement and safety together. The future is here.

This is the best and most exciting car I have ever owned. I feel as if I am driving "the car of the future". I have never enjoyed driving this much in my life. Electric cars are awesome. Tesla was just a bit too much of a statement I didn't want to make. I feel more individual. The safety controls may well save my life, or more likely prevent an accident, and have most certainly already prevented close calls. The acceleration is amazing. It is exciting to know it is there if I need it.
    Value
  • Build Quality
  • Reliability
  • Exterior
  • Interior
  • Features
  • Fun
  • Performance
  • Comfort
  • Styling

HB
gravatar
Helen B.
2019 Hyundai Kona EV
verified customer Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
09/17/2021
Verified Review

Kona EV 2019

I love this car! It's comfortable, has lots of bells and whistles, a media screen that is a perfect size so as not to be a distraction, BlueTooth, and no engine or gas tank. Pick up is terrific and a full charge gives me about 275 miles, just enough for this ole 79 year old who doesn't go many places any more. My electrician installed a Charge Point charger n my garage which is very convenient.
    Value
  • Build Quality
  • Reliability
  • Exterior
  • Interior
  • Features
  • Fun
  • Performance
  • Comfort
  • Styling

SD
gravatar
SUHAS D.
2019 Hyundai Kona EV
verified customer Verified Owner
Overall Rating 1.0/5Overall Rating 1.0/5Overall Rating 1.0/5Overall Rating 1.0/5Overall Rating 1.0/5
08/29/2021
Verified Review

A major let down from a car family I trusted

I had great experience with my 2007 Hyundai Tucson so after driving Infinity SUV for 3 years, I decided it was time to go for an EV, when my lease was over in 2019. Being a loyal Hyundai customer I chose Kona over a Tesla as I have always believed in giving a chance to new entrants, and there were great reviews out there. The test drive was great as well. For the first 8 months since we drove < 15 miles/ day experience was okay. Many of the shortcomings became obvious, when we drove from Fresno, California to Vancouver, Canada over 4 days in APril,2020. The battery was draining way faster even with two passengers and acceptable load. Had tough time to safely change lanes and had to be very cautious. Above 60 MPH similar challenges during maneuvering with or without load. And finally I started reading reports of fire due to battery issues, but there was no formal recall yet. A software upgrade was proposed, but till getting that I had many sleepless nights as the car was parked inside the garage, which is part of the house.
    Value
  • Build Quality
  • Reliability
  • Exterior
  • Interior
  • Features
  • Fun
  • Performance
  • Comfort
  • Styling

BF
gravatar
Bruce F.
2019 Hyundai Kona EV
verified customer Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5
08/05/2021
Verified Review

Love the car

We love the Kona and the fact that we save the environment by using no gasoline. But, the battery issue would make me reconsider purchasing the car again. So to provide 200 characters. . . xxxxxxx xxxxxxxx xxxxxxx xxxxxxx xxxxxxx xxxxxx xxxxxx xxxxx
    Value
  • Build Quality
  • Reliability
  • Exterior
  • Interior
  • Features
  • Fun
  • Performance
  • Comfort
  • Styling

KC
gravatar
Kevin C.
2019 Hyundai Kona EV
verified customer Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
07/19/2021
Verified Review

Hyundai Kona ELECTRIC !!!!

I have not bought Gasoline for two Years ! My Hyundai Kona ELECTRIC came with a 300 mile range on a full Charge ! You can go for days without having to charge if you are just driving around town ! You can also drive a great distance if you need to travel ! I have driven from Columbus to Cincinnati- then to Dayton and back to Columbus without having to stop and charge the Battery ! Great Acceleration if needed ! Smooth Ride ! I have made numerous new car payments on strictly the savings that I would have spent on gasoline for my previous car ! DRIVE ELECTRIC !!!!
    Value
  • Build Quality
  • Reliability
  • Exterior
  • Interior
  • Features
  • Fun
  • Performance
  • Comfort
  • Styling

DG
gravatar
David G.
2019 Hyundai Kona EV
verified customer Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
07/16/2021
Verified Review

An outstanding car

The Hyundai Kona EV is an outstanding car. A lot of that is because it's an EV. I love the way it accelerates, turns, brakes, and rides. I've never had another car (all ICE vehicles) that can compare to it. I also like all of the extras (such as blind-spot avoidance, lane assist, and more. The infotainment system is easy to use, even for a techno-klutz like me. The car is very nicely designed, especially the color we got (ceramic blue--everyone comments about that), the interior lighting when we first get into the car, and the dimple style in the front, with no grill. My only quibbles are: it is a little too noisy on the road and it's a little smaller than I would've liked, especially since we squeeze a lot of things into the car twice a year when we move to and from Florida. I wish Hyundai sold this car in Florida; I've never seen another one on the road.
    Value
  • Build Quality
  • Reliability
  • Exterior
  • Interior
  • Features
  • Fun
  • Performance
  • Comfort
  • Styling

PV
gravatar
PHILLIP V.
2019 Hyundai Kona EV
verified customer Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
07/09/2021
Verified Review

2019 Hyundai Mona EV

Love the car except for all the recalls. Seems like a slow response to the LG battery issue. Only able to charge to 80% which drops the range from 258 miles to 206--not the car we bought. Hopefully replacing the battery pack will correct this issue.
    Value
  • Build Quality
  • Reliability
  • Exterior
  • Interior
  • Features
  • Fun
  • Performance
  • Comfort
  • Styling

LM
gravatar
LISA M.
2019 Hyundai Kona EV
verified customer Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
06/30/2021
Verified Review

Overall Great EV

Had a great experience for our first EV and first Hyundai. The Kona performs well, it’s a very smooth and comfortable ride. Often received compliments from others for the look of the car. The dealership experience was professional: purchased at Hyundai Escondido and serviced at Allen Hyundai.
    Value
  • Build Quality
  • Reliability
  • Exterior
  • Interior
  • Features
  • Fun
  • Performance
  • Comfort
  • Styling

RF
gravatar
Robert F.
2019 Hyundai Kona EV
verified customer Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5
05/28/2021
Verified Review

EV Good

Overall the car is a delight to drive and is well-built. I have been happy with how well charge miles indicated are accurately represented by how many miles are driven. Plenty of power and quick acceleration make it fun to drive.
    Value
  • Build Quality
  • Reliability
  • Exterior
  • Interior
  • Features
  • Fun
  • Performance
  • Comfort
  • Styling

DR
gravatar
Donald R.
2019 Hyundai Kona EV
verified customer Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
05/21/2021
Verified Review

Ahead of it’s class

This is the first Hyundai I’ve owned and my third electric vehicle. The engineering on the Kona electric is very good. It rides and handles well, the electronics are exceptional and the styling is top notch. I will very likely buy my next EV from Hyundai.
    Value
  • Build Quality
  • Reliability
  • Exterior
  • Interior
  • Features
  • Fun
  • Performance
  • Comfort
  • Styling

RC
gravatar
Rossana C.
2019 Hyundai Kona EV
verified customer Verified Owner
Overall Rating 1.0/5Overall Rating 1.0/5Overall Rating 1.0/5Overall Rating 1.0/5Overall Rating 1.0/5
05/17/2021
Verified Review

Kona EV

Kona EV too many recalls, no remedy. Hyundai needs to replace battery or buy back defective product. Not buying another Hyundai. Car has safety issues ( battery possibly catching on fire) that are not being addressed in a timely manner. I bought the car as a commuter car because of the range. Now the range is less because Hyundai has limited charging to 80%. It doesn’t lessen what I have to pay. It’s not worth the money. Really regret buying this car. Now if I replace it I will still be inconvenienced because I’ll have to apply for a decal with DMV before being allowed to drive in the carpool lane. I commute almost 80 miles one way.
    Value
  • Build Quality
  • Reliability
  • Exterior
  • Interior
  • Features
  • Fun
  • Performance
  • Comfort
  • Styling

RZ
gravatar
Ricardo Z.
2019 Hyundai Kona EV
verified customer Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
05/17/2021
Verified Review

Ric Zamora's Kona EV

..this is an excellent EV..can't complain re its performance..it compares well with the other competing brands like Tesla, Kia Niro, VW ID4 and i am highly recommending the car to potential EV enthusiasts..
    Value
  • Build Quality
  • Reliability
  • Exterior
  • Interior
  • Features
  • Fun
  • Performance
  • Comfort
  • Styling

KC
gravatar
Kevin C.
2019 Hyundai Kona EV
verified customer Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
05/08/2021
Verified Review

Hyundai ELECTRIC Kona

I have been driving my Hyundai ELECTRIC Kona for almost two years now. I purchased it new in 2019. On the initial 300 mile Electric charge, I drove on the freeway for 280 miles before stopping to charge ! It has been a Great vehicle and there are - believe it or not - many FREE charging places ALL over Ohio and across the United States. There are Thousands of places to charge, not all free, but reasonable. If you do a little planning you can use the free ones or hook up a 220 Volt Home charger also. The 2019 Consumer Reports rated the Hyundai ELECTRIC Kona Very Highly !
    Value
  • Build Quality
  • Reliability
  • Exterior
  • Interior
  • Features
  • Fun
  • Performance
  • Comfort
  • Styling

Displaying reviews 1 - 20 of 138 in total

Businesses Near You


  • Hyundai Dealer
  • Genesis Dealer
  • Auto Maintenance
Lee Johnson Hyundai of Everett
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
5.0
(111 Reviews)
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
5.0
(43) ReScores

  • Hyundai Dealer
  • Car Dealer
  • Car Maintenance
Hiley Hyundai Of Burleson
Overall Rating 4.9/5Overall Rating 4.9/5Overall Rating 4.9/5Overall Rating 4.9/5Overall Rating 4.9/5
4.9
(85 Reviews)
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
5.0
(23) ReScores

  • Hyundai Dealer
  • Used Car Dealer
  • Auto Maintenance
Towne Hyundai Orchard Park
Overall Rating 4.9/5Overall Rating 4.9/5Overall Rating 4.9/5Overall Rating 4.9/5Overall Rating 4.9/5
4.9
(3847 Reviews)
Overall Rating 4.8/5Overall Rating 4.8/5Overall Rating 4.8/5Overall Rating 4.8/5Overall Rating 4.8/5
4.8
(56) ReScores

  • Hyundai Dealer
  • Auto Repair
  • Auto Maintenance
James Wood Hyundai
Overall Rating 4.9/5Overall Rating 4.9/5Overall Rating 4.9/5Overall Rating 4.9/5Overall Rating 4.9/5
4.9
(1154 Reviews)
Overall Rating 4.7/5Overall Rating 4.7/5Overall Rating 4.7/5Overall Rating 4.7/5Overall Rating 4.7/5
4.7
(16) ReScores

  • Hyundai Dealer
  • Auto Repair
  • Auto Maintenance
Flow Hyundai Of Statesville
Overall Rating 4.9/5Overall Rating 4.9/5Overall Rating 4.9/5Overall Rating 4.9/5Overall Rating 4.9/5
4.9
(139 Reviews)
Overall Rating 4.9/5Overall Rating 4.9/5Overall Rating 4.9/5Overall Rating 4.9/5Overall Rating 4.9/5
4.9
(33) ReScores

  • Hyundai Dealer
  • Genesis Dealer
  • Used Car Dealer
Greenway Hyundai Orlando
Overall Rating 4.9/5Overall Rating 4.9/5Overall Rating 4.9/5Overall Rating 4.9/5Overall Rating 4.9/5
4.9
(130 Reviews)
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
5.0
(47) ReScores

  • Hyundai Dealer
  • Auto Repair
  • Auto Maintenance
Hamilton Hyundai Chambersburg
Overall Rating 4.9/5Overall Rating 4.9/5Overall Rating 4.9/5Overall Rating 4.9/5Overall Rating 4.9/5
4.9
(3818 Reviews)
Overall Rating 4.8/5Overall Rating 4.8/5Overall Rating 4.8/5Overall Rating 4.8/5Overall Rating 4.8/5
4.8
(74) ReScores

  • Hyundai Dealer
  • Auto Repair
  • Auto Maintenance
Steele Hyundai New Braunfels
Overall Rating 4.9/5Overall Rating 4.9/5Overall Rating 4.9/5Overall Rating 4.9/5Overall Rating 4.9/5
4.9
(30 Reviews)
Overall Rating 4.9/5Overall Rating 4.9/5Overall Rating 4.9/5Overall Rating 4.9/5Overall Rating 4.9/5
4.9
(9) ReScores

  • Hyundai Dealer
  • Auto Maintenance
  • Auto Repair
Hyundai Of Venice
Overall Rating 4.8/5Overall Rating 4.8/5Overall Rating 4.8/5Overall Rating 4.8/5Overall Rating 4.8/5
4.8
(203 Reviews)
Overall Rating 4.8/5Overall Rating 4.8/5Overall Rating 4.8/5Overall Rating 4.8/5Overall Rating 4.8/5
4.8
(27) ReScores

  • Hyundai Dealer
  • Auto Repair
  • Auto Maintenance
Price Hyundai
Overall Rating 4.8/5Overall Rating 4.8/5Overall Rating 4.8/5Overall Rating 4.8/5Overall Rating 4.8/5
4.8
(2664 Reviews)
Overall Rating 4.6/5Overall Rating 4.6/5Overall Rating 4.6/5Overall Rating 4.6/5Overall Rating 4.6/5
4.6
(100) ReScores