2019
Hyundai
Kona EV

Overall Rating 4.7/5Overall Rating 4.7/5Overall Rating 4.7/5Overall Rating 4.7/5Overall Rating 4.7/5
4.7
(79 Reviews)
Latest review 2 days ago
Category Summary (Avg. out of 10)
  • Value
  • Features
  • Build Quality
  • Fun
  • Reliability
  • Performance
  • Exterior
  • Comfort
  • Interior
  • Styling

PT
PETER T.
2019 Hyundai Kona EV
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
01/25/2020
Great choice for anyone looking for an electric vehicle
I've had numerous electric vehicles -- 3 Chevy Volts, 3 Teslas, and 2 BMW i3. The Kona is a great EV. It's much better equipped and handles better on the highway than the BMW i3. The EV range is competitive with more expensive vehicles. Performance is not as quick as a Tesla, but it's still plenty of fun to drive. I'm very happy with the purchase of this vehicle.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JB
JOHN B.
2019 Hyundai Kona EV
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
01/09/2020
Don't go hybrid
With a range of over 240 miles, this vehicle will serve you well. Our compliments to Hyundai. It is time to go electric. It has the most comfortable seats we have ever had in a vehicle. Drive with confidence.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

EY
ERIC Y.
2019 Hyundai Kona EV
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
01/07/2020
Very nice EV
I was in the market for an EV, and there aren't that many to choose from. The Kona struck me in that the reviews were excellent, the test drive showed that the car was good to drive, and most importantly my wife liked it.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

DG
DAVID G.
2019 Hyundai Kona EV
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
01/03/2020
A different type of car
I wanted to buy an EV. I want to make a difference to the environment and wanted to make a statement in the process, while buying a car that's fun to drive. I believe I have done so..
I live in a state where the Kona EV is not available and had to go out-of-state to buy it. All the extra work and time involved was worth it. It's neat having a car that is unique to this area. And it's a great conversation piece. Hyundai has designed a great car.

Pros
Fun to drive
Economical
The wave of the future

Cons
None of any significance.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

MO
MARY O.
2019 Hyundai Kona EV
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
01/03/2020
Comfortable, efficient and stylish
After much research, we chose the Kona EV. The range is impressive and the feature set fulfilled all our expectations. The other cars we considered were fine, but the immediate reaction we had upon test driving the car sealed the deal. One month in, our admiration has only increased. Having had two previous electric vehicles, we're confident that the Kona will be a solid performer and a money-saver. Highly recommended.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

MY
MICHAEL Y.
2019 Hyundai Kona EV
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
12/19/2019
Very Satisfied
We bought a 2019 Hyundai Kona EV a month ago and love the car. Quick off the mark, adequate room, and we like being 'up" in this small crossover SUV. Excellent car, and the $7,500 federal rebate and the California $2,500 rebate were huge.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

RT
RYAN T.
2019 Hyundai Kona EV
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
12/17/2019
Great Electric SUV
This is a great little electric SUV with a lot of features. Both exterior and interior styling are bold and appealing. The performance and range are exceptional as well. It's a car that will turn heads and is fun to drive.

Pros
Impressive performance
Fun to drive
Great styling
Lots of features

Cons
Not AWD
Missing a couple features that would be nice to have.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

EP
ELISSA P.
2019 Hyundai Kona EV
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
12/14/2019
love the little potato
My first electric vehicle. I have only had this Kona EV for 3 months. So far so good! Range is great and the car is comfortable and fun to drive. I am particularly impressed that it is handling the mountain roads I drive daily. Seems to stick to the road very well when compared to my old all wheel drive Subaru. I enjoy the Kona EV's acceleration capability more often than I should. I hope to be driving the little Kartoffel well into the future. Keep making those electric vehicles!
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

MY
MARCIA Y.
2019 Hyundai Kona EV
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 1.0/5Overall Rating 1.0/5Overall Rating 1.0/5Overall Rating 1.0/5Overall Rating 1.0/5
12/09/2019
Disappointment that the car I truly enjoyed turned into a lemon
I purchased the 2019 Kona EV with great enthusiasm. My initial experience was very positive. I enjoyed excellent performance and handling, with ample acceleration even in the ECO setting. Unfortunately, when fall weather got cool, I discovered that the heater did not work. Even worse, the service department was unable to diagnose and confirm the defect without leaving the car overnight to assistance from regional service engineers. Ultimately, it was determined that a defective part could NOT be replaced, as the part is not available. Hyundai has indicated they will be buying the car back from me. While I am glad that they have committed to refunding my purchase, the time I have lost dealing with this situation has been very disappointing. I hope they can address this new model/production quality issue and that future purchasers can enjoy the pluses of the Kona EV without the problems I have experienced.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling
NationalCA - List from Hyundai Motor America responded on 12/10/2019
Allow us to reopen the case we had with you and review your concern once more. Please expect a call shortly from our specialist. Thank you. ^cc

HY
HOWARD Y.
2019 Hyundai Kona EV
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
12/08/2019
Fun to Drive and No More Range Anxiety
I spent a lot of time researching options and waited patiently for more vehicles to be available. Once I was able to test drive the Kona EV, I was absolutely certain it was the right way to go. Compared to the Tesla Model 3, the Kona isn't as fancy or tech forward, but between the price difference and the available tax credit, it is hard to justify the $10K+ difference in price of the Tesla. My coworker has the Model 3, which is excellent by the way, and I've driven that car many times (he likes letting others drive it).

The stated range is 258 miles on 100% charge, which is only realistic if you don't use the climate system. That said, because the electric motor doesn't generate heat as a byproduct, I actually find lots of times where I have no need for A/C or heat. And the heated/ventilated seats are an amazing ally for not using the other climate systems. My daily commute is about 75 miles to/from work (about 25K miles/year), so I charge it every other night so I don't run into a situation where errands or other short trips put me at risk of running out of power. Previously, I was spending about $225/month on gasoline for my car; now I spend under $40/month in electric power for the car. (I don't have solar, yet!)

This car drives like a "Hot Hatch" with super nimble handling and rocket fast acceleration. (The acceleration is similar to other electric vehicles because of the torque.) In fact, the Kona is so much fun to drive that I've had to seriously temper my inner 18-year-old from doing stupid things on the road. After a couple of weeks, I set the regenerative braking to the max, which helps add to the battery range, but also allows for the 1-pedal driving along with the steering wheel paddles, where the only use of the brake pedal is in emergency situations. It takes a bit to get used to, but once you get the hang of it, you are able to smooth out the drive and conserve power.

The Kona doesn't scream out "ELECTRIC" when you see it, since it looks identical to the gas version. The downside of this is that there probably could have been more storage, perhaps even in the front (like the Tesla "frunk") where the traditional gas motor would go. Instead, there is a lot of wasted space in the front and the rear has smaller useful storage area. Also, even at the top trim level, you don't get a spare tire, rather a "fix-a-flat" kit. It seems like they choose this route to give you some extra storage space, but the fix kit could easily fit in the wasted space in the front engine area. Folding down the rear seats makes the storage capacity excellent, although it isn't long enough for really long IKEA boxes. The back seats are a little cramped for people 6'+ tall, but average sized adults are okay.

I am super happy with this car and by simply keeping track of the charge level, I haven't run into any situation where I felt limited by the range.

Pros
200+ mile range
Great handling & acceleration
Comfortable seats

Cons
Inefficient use of front engine compartment for space
Fix-a-Flat kit instead of spare tire
Eco-tires feel under spec'd

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

GH
GIFFORD H.
2019 Hyundai Kona EV
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
12/06/2019
Zippy car
A nice driving car with plenty of power even in Eco mode. Live in rural mountainous area need the 250 range to make round trips to town and back. Have class II charger at home. Charging away from home is available. Driver's seat adjustable and comfortable.

Pros
Electric, driver's seat comfort, acceleration, range

Cons
Range, interior rm, passenger rm,

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

RK
RONNIE K.
2019 Hyundai Kona EV
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 2.0/5Overall Rating 2.0/5Overall Rating 2.0/5Overall Rating 2.0/5Overall Rating 2.0/5
12/06/2019
Needs improvement
Good entry level ev but still needs lots of improvement mileage low when using heater and low when using AC they also say will charge faster than what it really does. Also front collision detection camera keeps acting up in the snow
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

RW
ROBERT W.
2019 Hyundai Kona EV
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
11/24/2019
Very Satisfied
I was looking for an electric vehicle with reasonable range and lacked confidence in the financial stability of Tesla. While I considered the Chevy Bolt, it was, in my opinion, too ugly. I liked the character of the Kona and consider the appearance very acceptable. I also liked all of the features available in the Ultimate grade. So far, I absolutely love the car. While it is far from the luxury cars I have driven most of my life, it is perfect for this point in my life when I do minimal driving. Highly recommend.s
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

KH
KAREN H.
2019 Hyundai Kona EV
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
11/23/2019
A super fun ride
I've been very happy with my Ultimate Kona EV. I've had it about 2 months now. It's peppy, easy to drive, has great features, easy to charge. I have not even installed a 220v charger in my home because I haven't needed it. Plugging in a 110v over night has been sufficient given the great mileage on a single charge. I had to go from VA to NJ to purchase my car because I couldn't get the color car I wanted in MD. I was able to drive home on a single charge which was great. The car is comfortable, has most all the features I want and I love the heads-up display, especially when using navigation. The only features lacking that I wish it had are preset driver seat/mirror adjustments for switching seat and mirror positioning between when I drive the car and my husband drives it. And I wish there was an auto close hatch button for closing the hatch when my arms are full with unloading groceries or other items from the back. Extra cup holders in the back would be nice too. I love the car, it's features, the look and how it drives. The battery warranty for the life of the car is also a huge plus. The charger port locks while charging so people can't uplug or take charger Highly recommend for the price, comfort, long-distance charge of 258 miles, safety features, and ease of driving.

Pros
Most everything - easy to drive, distance of 258 miles on a single charge, locking charger port, ports to fit different chargers, comfort features, navigation system and hads-up navigation, blue link, pep, overall look and style.

Cons
No preset driver seat buttons
Hatch not auto-close
Rear seat door cup holders awkward when using middle seat

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

SE
STEPHEN E.
2019 Hyundai Kona EV
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5
11/22/2019
Kona Electric over Tesla (This time)
Fast, nimble, real cheap to drive, great features. Has everything I'd need and then some.
I was signed up to get a model Y and decided on the Kona Electric for three basic reasons.
1. Tesla tax credits dropped below the threshold of making it the cheaper car. I got a $12,500 in tax incentives opposed to zero (next year) for the Model Y.
2. The life time warranty for the battery. This is better than Tesla.
3. If I need to get it fixed, Hyundai has an established support system.
4. My old car was costing me too much money in service and gas.

Pros
A blast to drive with quick acceleration, on the rails cornering, very comfortable, lots of tech. ...LOVE the vented seats.

Cons
Traction control has difficulty on powered cornering. (Inside front tire losses traction and spins)

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

AF
ANNE F.
2019 Hyundai Kona EV
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
11/22/2019
Love my Kona EV!
Great, zippy, spacious small crossover with awesome range. I replaced a Fiat 500e, and the Kona EV wins hands-down. The only issue I have had so far is the rear liftgate doesn't always completely latch, but overall a great EV.

Pros
Great range
Fun to drive
Good space for a small crossover

Cons
Rear liftgate can be tricky to latch

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

AP
ANDREA P.
2019 Hyundai Kona EV
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
11/12/2019
KONA EV 2019
Amazing car. Unlike most EV cars, the KONA EV is stylish and has an amazing battery range. I love how the car drives and all the driving options that are available.
I do not see enough of these cars on the road. Interested buyers in an EV should seriously consider test-driving the KONA EV. You will not be disappointed.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

PS
PETER S.
2019 Hyundai Kona EV
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5
11/02/2019
Bert and Ernie
Bert and Ernie, thats what Road and Track said about the comparison between the Bolt and the Kona. It seems like the styling look was attempting for an SUV look but it tastes like an econocar to me. I would vote for lower overall body with a lower coefficient of drag, and 60 series tires instead of 55 series for pothole protection. I am guessing that the tech features are required to sell cars but they make me nervous. The batteries are warranteed for life but the car is a travelling computer and will it still work in 15 years?

Pros
EV with 250 mile range. Available with level 2 and 3 charge capability. Good reliability prediction

Cons
Boxy shape that is not too efficient at highway speeds. Too much electronic fun going on that I don't believe will work in 15 years. the tires seem too low for back roads in Vermont.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

AF
ANTHONY F.
2019 Hyundai Kona EV
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
11/02/2019
Kona EV
This is a very well appointed small SUV with an excellent electric drive system. The fit and finish is top of the line, it is easy to get in and out of. and the form factor is well thought out with the length-width-height ratios in an appealing proportion.

Pros
Perfect sized Ev with 250 mile range.

Cons
Rear view visibility by rear seat head rests and corner pillars is limited

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

KH
KRISTL H.
2019 Hyundai Kona EV
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5
10/30/2019
Kona Electric
It appears to be a well made utility vehicle, but is neither charming to look at, nor to drive. It handles like a very heavy vehicle. The view through the rear window is poor, especially in the vertical direction. It was delivered with a privacy rear window, which was a safety hazard. Vehicles coming from behind could not be seen on a sunny day if the driver was wearing sunglasses, and at night, only if the approaching vehicle from the rear was using its high beams. The window was replaced by the purchaser at a cost to him of $621.

Pros
The electric drive is very nice.

Cons
The vehicle feels heavy to drive.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling
Displaying reviews 1 - 20 of 79 in total