2019
Hyundai
Kona EV

Overall Rating 4.7/5Overall Rating 4.7/5Overall Rating 4.7/5Overall Rating 4.7/5Overall Rating 4.7/5
4.7
(112 Reviews)
Latest review 14 days ago
Category Summary (Avg. out of 10)
  • Value
  • Features
  • Build Quality
  • Fun
  • Reliability
  • Performance
  • Exterior
  • Comfort
  • Interior
  • Styling

JV
JUSTIN V.
2019 Hyundai Kona EV
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
09/04/2020
First EV, tall person problems
The car is amazing, the range is great and the feedback on "driving style" and average kWh/mile is turning me into a perfectionist when it comes to acceleration and coasting and regen breaking. It's very fun to drive, nimble, small on the outside but surprisingly spacious inside. The only real issue I have with the car is that the drivers seat needs to drop a little further down to the floor of the cabin. I am 6'6" and in order to not rub my head on the top of the car I have to put the seat all the way down and recline it far enough that adults can barely sit behind me (and only if they're small!). The "grill" of the EV Kona took some getting used to but i like it now, I wish the gas grill could be on the EV but I understand the impact to aerodynamics by doing that. Overall I love the car, got it for a reasonable price, and really enjoy all the EV wizardry!

Pros
Fun, zippy, nimble, modern electrical gizmos, amazing range, reasonable price, does not roll much during turns

Cons
Head height, somewhat harsh ride

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

WG
WILLIAM G.
2019 Hyundai Kona EV
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5
09/03/2020
Fun to drive
Great car, love the pep from an EV car. Lots of great features and good handling. The backseats are way too small. The heated and cooled seats work good. I didn’t think I would like the The heads up display but I love it couldn’t do without it.

Pros
Good range with battery.

Cons
Backseats too small.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

KW
KATHLEEN W.
2019 Hyundai Kona EV
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5
08/23/2020
Great driving
Enjoy car. Some learning curve for charge changes due to weather. Use to commute 160 might round trip daily with no charge station at work. Enjoyable ride.dislike flat tire solution. Will be looking at alternatives.

Pros
Electric

Cons
While good range would like more.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

WB
WILL B.
2019 Hyundai Kona EV
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
08/15/2020
going green
Best green vehicle for the price. I would buy it again. The car is great for in-state trips, especially day to day short trips. There is virtually no maintenance cost. When I charge the vehicle it does not make a blip on my electric bill.

Pros
green

Cons
road noise over 35mph

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

DS
DAVID S.
2019 Hyundai Kona EV
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
08/13/2020
Love this car!
From its zippy EV handling, to the spacious cabin, it’s a fun and comfortable car to drive. And it’s so much fun to keep driving by gas stations. Highly recommended, especially as more charging stations come online.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

WG
WILSON G.
2019 Hyundai Kona EV
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
08/08/2020
It's a good car
It's a very good electric car it drives fantastic it handles well.But there's no storage and it's little small inside.They should make a electric SUV large enough that you could take a decent amount of people in the car. The only disappointment ,I have is not comfortable to handle a person that's over 6 feet.

Pros
It's fun to drive.

Cons
Not enough room or storage.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

FS
FRANK S.
2019 Hyundai Kona EV
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
07/23/2020
Leased Kona EV
Was looking to replace our leased MB electric; however, they delayed that model to following year and would not renew lease. Shopped around and was pleasantly surprised with Kona and all its safety features.

Pros
Nice car and dealer.

Cons
Needs forward looking camera

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

AP
AMISH P.
2019 Hyundai Kona EV
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
07/21/2020
Kona electric
Great car we will own this for a long time. Hoping in the future they offer all models in a full electric model and in all wheel drive with power lift gate. And the pricing for electric vehicle comes down. If not for the incentive this would be out of my price range.

Pros
No more gas

Cons
Not all wheel drive.
No power lift gate on a 46000 dollar car.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

OM
OLIVIER M.
2019 Hyundai Kona EV
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
07/01/2020
Best Car I've ever owned
I was looking to buy an EV and the first car I looked at was the Tesla Model 3 long range. I was ready to buy when I found out that Hyundai had a new long range EV. I have owned a new Elantra before which has been trouble free for the 100k miles that I've owned it, so my view of the brand was very favorable. I read some reviews on the Kona EV and found out about the 2019 Livetime EV battery warranty. This is what stood out for me compared to the Model 3 which has a 120k mile warranty. In my first year of ownership, I drove 31k miles with my Kona EV with ZERO issues. I'm getting 4.7 miles/kwh on average which translates to an AVERAGE range of 300 miles per charge, well above the EPA rating of 258 miles per charge. Absolutely fantastic car.. The only issue is that the car is front wheel drive and front motor, The power of the engine easily overpowers the front tires. Very hard to get traction in sports mode... Love the power but I'd love it if I could get more of the power to the ground..

Pros
Lifetime Battery Warranty
Extremely efficient
great power
Great infotainment and ANDROID AUTO integration

Cons
AUTO HOLD is not sticky
Limited traction upon heavy accelaration due to FWD
No AWD available

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

RB
ROBERT B.
2019 Hyundai Kona EV
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
06/24/2020
Best EV
I wanted a full electric vehicle. I researched all my options. Hyundai had the best warranty and the best range of miles for the price. The styling was better than all the other electric vehicles I looked at. The Kona looks like a regular gasoline vehicle but has the electric drive train. All I wanted was an EV that didn’t look like a space ship!! The Hyundai Kona did that perfectly. I can drive from San Diego to Las Vegas using rapid changing once each way. For a total of $20 round trip.

Pros
Great long range ev. Very fun to drive good styling nice safety features

Cons
Poor handling, the app is terrible and not even worth using. The drive buttons are directly next to the cup holder and I’m worried I’m going to spill a drink on them and not be able to push the buttons or drive the vehicle

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

MV
MATTHEW V.
2019 Hyundai Kona EV
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
06/14/2020
The quickest most fun vehicle I have ever owned or driven!!
I have had my Kona for one year now and have put exactly 10K miles on it. I love it more now than ever!! It is the fastest, funnest car I have ever driven. ZERO maintenance - well I have to rotate my tires at 10K... It costs me about $4.00 in electric to get 200 miles of charge which lasts me one week (used to cost me $35-40 in gas per week). I will probably never buy another gas powered vehicle. Once you feel instant torque - without having to wait for a vehicle to downshift or the engine to get the RPM's up - and you just pull away... It is addictive. My previous vehicle was a 2008 Dodge Charger (retired state patrol vehicle with Hemi 5.7) - so I thought I knew what a fast car was. Try it - you'll like it!!

Pros
Don't have time to list them all!!

Cons
I think a smooth front would be easier to wash.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

G.
2019 Hyundai Kona EV
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
06/10/2020
Fun, smart, practical
Great torque and fun to drive. Climate, entertainment system easy to operate. Great phone integration with iPhone. Love the wireless phone charging option and ventilated seats. Viability is very good and headlights systems excellent. Vehicle range is excellent and charging easy to manage/ monitor with app. Rear legroom is a bit tight, so not ideal vehicle for hauling kids and bikes, etc.

Cons
Rear leg room

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

MC
MICHELLE C.
2019 Hyundai Kona EV
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
06/07/2020
Owner
We wanted an electric car with Over 250 miles of range. The Leaf only had 84. My first choice was a Tesla model 3, but the big touch screen control center intimidated my wife as she’s not computer literate . The kona EV fit our needs but if my wife ever learns how to use a touch screen, I will trade for a Tesla, with OTA upgrades, the car never gets old!!!

Pros
Great overall

Cons
Cabin noise

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

TH
THOMAS H.
2019 Hyundai Kona EV
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5
06/06/2020
A good car
I like the car, but it is too noisy at speed. Bla bla bla bla bla bla bla bla bla bla bla bla bla bla bla bla bla bla bla bla bla bla bla bla bla Bla bla bla bla bla bla bla bla bla bla bla bla bla bla bla bla bla bla bla bla bla bla bla bla bla.

Pros
It's electric.

Cons
The navigation package is over priced. If not for the insistence of my wife, I would have not paid for the navigation system.
The cabin is too noisy at speed to enjoy the sound system.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

TM
THOMAS M.
2019 Hyundai Kona EV
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
06/05/2020
EV Rocks
I chose the Hyundai Kona EV after extensive online research. Unfortunately it was only being sold in 3 states of which none were where I lived. I watched numerous YouTube videos from professionals comparing models to every day people who had a Kona or other electric vehicle. These videos convinced me that I could go total electric instead of hybrid and still do long trips with just a little extra planning. I have been very pleased with my Kona EV. I get great mileage. I can get around 300 miles/full charge in warmer weather. Cooler weather runs about 240. I have not taken any long trips but using it to go back and forth to work (about 12 miles one way) and some additional errand running, it has been costing me about $25-$30/month to operate. With the virus and less travelling it has been a maximum of $10/month. I did have a 240v Chargepoint charger installed at home. I can completely recharge overnight in about 6-8 hours when needed. Normal usage I normally charge once a week. This is my 6th Hyundai and I buy them because they have all been great cars and my Kona EV has not disappointed.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

EP
ERIC P.
2019 Hyundai Kona EV
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
06/04/2020
I LOVE my Kona EV
Great performance, No gas, nimble handling with the weight of the battery down low, just point it and go. I get 250+ miles on a charge. I charge the car in my garage and usually only have to charge once a week to 10 days for local driving. In a year the only maintenance is tire rotation. No oil changes ever, no transmission, few moving parts to go wrong. Interior is well laid-out, styling is nice. Everybody wants a ride.

Pros
Instant acceleration. Quiet ride. No gas.

Cons
Back seat is small. Not much storage, but it is a mini SUV

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

TH
TIMOTHY H.
2019 Hyundai Kona EV
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5
06/03/2020
Best range and quality EV on the market
Driving any EV is fun. That includes the Kona EV. Not using petroleum is the best. No big problems with this car. Only small problems are too much electronic gadgetry— overdone. For example, stopping the car, putting it in park, getting out, you can’t open the back door (to get your backpack, say) because it stays automatically locked.. multiple other quirky things like that. Other issue is range anxiety which comes with any EV and needs getting adjusted to.

Pros
EV with max range— 250 miles. Spacious, comfy, fun to drive.

Cons
EVs come with range anxiety built in; something to get used to

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JM
JOANNE M.
2019 Hyundai Kona EV
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5
05/07/2020
Kona EV
We love the instant acceleration and brilliant range on a single charge. We usually charge it to 90% and we have around 270 mile range. We love not having to stop and get gas. The factory navigation works so well with the voice recognition. It is way better than our Toyota RAV4 hybrid. It is a fun car to drive and we use it when ever we go around town.

Pros
Very zippy acceleration. Great navigation system that works well with voice recognition. Charging the Kona to 90% we usually get around 270 miles which is a great range. Seats are in a higher more upright position and it's not as hard to get in and out of compared to our Prius that was replace by our Kona EV

Cons
The same button on the door handle locks and unlocks the door. When we go to leave and lock the door if we both push the lock button at the same time the other person unlocks it when we want to lock the door. On my RAV 4 there is different places on the handle to lock and unlock the door. The defrost system doesn't work well at all. There needs to be parking sensors on the front bumper. You only have them on the back bumper. Paint quality is not so good. It easily chips on the front hood and grill. The front grill with all the little bumps is hard to clean and wax.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

LL
LORENA L.
2019 Hyundai Kona EV
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
05/06/2020
KONA Vehicle - love technology and mile coverage.
Love our car, specially my younger 18 year old daughter who just got her driving license. Good car to learn to good drive in. Easy to manage, looks good, and feels safe with the Kona's driving features. Thank you.

Pros
Love technology

Cons
Older people may have to get used to buttons options for selecting modes (e.g. drive , parking, break, etc.)

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JS
JUDITH S.
2019 Hyundai Kona EV
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
05/06/2020
Kona EV - really happy with this car!
A year later and we still love it! We've driven over 20,000 miles now including a long trip from NY to Florida. We found the car performed very well, and there was really no problem finding charging stations. Best plan, we discovered, is to stop overnight at Hotel/Motel with charging station so next day starts out with full charge. Then we stopped and charged to 80% when we needed a break for a stretch or lunch.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling
Displaying reviews 1 - 20 of 112 in total