2020
Hyundai
Kona EV

Overall Rating 4.6/5Overall Rating 4.6/5Overall Rating 4.6/5Overall Rating 4.6/5Overall Rating 4.6/5
4.6
(72 Reviews)
Latest review about 10 hours ago
Category Summary (Avg. out of 10)
  • Value
  • Features
  • Build Quality
  • Fun
  • Reliability
  • Performance
  • Exterior
  • Comfort
  • Interior
  • Styling

IM
IAN M.
2020 Hyundai Kona EV
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
06/15/2021
Great EV
The Kona EV has exceeded my expectations on range and comfort. I get somewhere around 300 miles of range without using climate control. I still get 250 miles of range with climate control on constantly throughout the summer or winter. Opt for the Ultimate trim if you can. The head unit upgrade is almost necessary. The leather seats with fantastic hearing and cooling really help mitigate the climate control heft on the battery and range. Even after 3 months of driving it almost daily, it is still fun to hop in and drive. I prefer the Kona to the other car for most outings that don't require suit cases. Groceries, even hardware store runs seem doable with the Kona.

Pros
Range
Leather seats (heating and cooling)
Performance for the category/segment

Cons
Rear leg room (behind a taller/bigger driver)
LED headlights blind oncoming traffic

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JD
JULIAN D.
2020 Hyundai Kona EV
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
06/07/2021
Kona EV
Great car. Excellent range. Have recommended to several friends. Three have leased the Kona EV and one a Kia Niro. Would suggest that the dealerships or someone share information about charging stations and which ones are available in the area.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JR
JOHN R.
2020 Hyundai Kona EV
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5
05/29/2021
Kona EV
Great vehicle though troubling is the lack of support from Hyundai on when the recall on the battery pack will be performed. I park and charge my brand new car outside. Please address and communicate
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

SD
SUNIL D.
2020 Hyundai Kona EV
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
05/26/2021
Excellent car
Excellent choice value for money easy to operate will recommend to all my friend's
I leased the vehicle because i did not know how will it Ride but after 1000 miles i felt good and will buy same vehicle again.

Pros
Mileage per charge

Cons
Missing phone key
Car run once start without key present

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

DM
DEV M.
2020 Hyundai Kona EV
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
05/18/2021
Kona EV 2020 Limited
Love the Kona EV styling, battery range and handling. After the Tesla Model 3 SR, the Kona EV is the best bang for the buck. It beats the Tesla because it provides a real dashboard in front of the driver and there's a sunroof.

Cons
No seat memory recall function
No premium audio in Limited Edition

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

SK
SUSANNE K.
2020 Hyundai Kona EV
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
05/04/2021
Meet George Jetson's Car.
Drives like a dream. Powered like a rocket. Hard to compare it to anything I have ever driven before. I love driving by all the gas stations. I would recommend the car to anyone looking for an EV.

Pros
Many features. Lots of data. Incredible power. Great range.

Cons
Styling could be streamlined.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

BH
BRIAN H.
2020 Hyundai Kona EV
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
04/30/2021
2020 Kona EV
Great overall vehicle considering this is my first EV. Only issue mentioned in the survey is the brake system with the noise and reaction of brakes coming to a full stop. Feels like I abruptly step on the brake when coming to a full stop.

Pros
great overall

Cons
brake noise
brake reaction

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

AC
ALAN C.
2020 Hyundai Kona EV
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5
04/29/2021
Kona EV after 1 year and 16k miles
One of the best EV values, good efficiency and range with a practical interior that can accommodate bikes easily with the rear seat folded . It has some firmware deficiencies, quirks and bugs, but one can adapt and enjoy the positive attributes and a generally pleasant driving experience.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

SV
Samuel V.
2020 Hyundai Kona EV
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
04/28/2021
Kona electric black
Kona electric black es un carro que ayuda a nuestro planeta para no contaminar nuestro planeta de gas : los humanos necesitamos más carros electricos! Señores ya es hora de usar carro eléctrico hay que salvar nuestro planeta de gas porque estamos contaminando. Nuestro hijos y nietos ellos son los futuros.

Pros
Nice

Cons
No tan mal

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

SD
SUSAN D.
2020 Hyundai Kona EV
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
04/28/2021
AMAZING Electric car!!
I am a committed EV driver and have been looking for an affordable EV with longer range. The Kona is amazing! Long range, excellent regenerative braking, comfortable. Hyundai had a great cash incentive for leased vehicles that made it especially affordable, although the list price for the basic model was comparable to other EVs and less than the long range ones. My Kona really is as convenient as a gas-powered car for all the driving I do, including trips from my western Mass home to the Cape and to NYC on a single charge! SO GLAD I bought it!!!

Pros
The range! It's also comfortable and quiet.

Cons
My only (very very minor) complaint is the locking system for the plug.
I wish there wasn't one. Not necessary.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

DM
David M.
2020 Hyundai Kona EV
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5
04/27/2021
Kona EV
I would say that the Kona is good for performance, but not so good with the reliability. Transaxle had to be replaced at 20,000 miles, and now the charging system, power system have been cut back to 80%. It remains to be seen how this car lasts in the long run.

Pros
Great performance

Cons
Recalls, and major work.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JW
John W.
2020 Hyundai Kona EV
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
04/24/2021
Love it.
Love not having to get gas, oil changes, etc. Takes a bit getting used to for electric charging, but there are actually many charging stations around and most are free although that might change in the future. Excellent acceleration. A bit louder than I expected. Blue Link allows me to monitor the status of the car (including charging). Can be charged at home but takes longer.

Pros
Not more gas.

Cons
Road noise, charging time.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JC
JAMES C.
2020 Hyundai Kona EV
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
04/22/2021
Fun. Clean. Quiet. Stylish.
Looks great, drives great (smooth acceleration), quiet, environmentally sound!!!........................................................................................................................

Pros
well built, fun, efficient

Cons
touchscreen, s.w. heater switch location, funny looking grille

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

LS
LOUIS S.
2020 Hyundai Kona EV
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
04/12/2021
My Viewpoint
I love my Kona EV. I think it's the best of the EV's for the money and I did a lot of research. The design and quality of the car is excellent. The only thing I would change is the terrible, tinny, cheap speakers that came with it. My Dealer experience was mixed; my salesman (Andy Pabon) was Superb, my experience with their Finance Department was very negative, and the service and customer relations people were very nice.

Pros
Very well designed and engineered vehicle

Cons
Cheap audio speakers

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

LC
Louis C.
2020 Hyundai Kona EV
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5
04/09/2021
Fun to drive
Very powerful fun to drive. Handling on turn not to good might slip. The auto center steering wheel work sometime . Always having problems to disconnect the Charing outlet. Due to lock issue not release easy. problems with the blue link all the time. The remote features 80% working. Wireless charging station design in the hard to reach area. The heat seat button put it in the wrong spot turn on by your elbow by accident.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

PM
Patrick M.
2020 Hyundai Kona EV
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 1.0/5Overall Rating 1.0/5Overall Rating 1.0/5Overall Rating 1.0/5Overall Rating 1.0/5
04/04/2021
Kona EV
Hyundai has done a poor service to their customers with this car. There is a serious danger of the car catching fire and killing people or causing extensive damage to property yet I only learned about the problem from the automotive press rather than from Hyundai. You need to buy-back all of these cars.

Cons
Hyundai has admitted there is a very serious problem with this car's battery pack such that the car may catch on fire and may cause death or harm to property. Take full responsibility and buy-back these cars - do the right thing.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling
N
NationalCA - List from Hyundai Motor America - Service responded on 04/05/2021
Allow us to look into your concern a little further, a specialist from our corporate office will be in touch with you to investigate further. ^cc

MC
MELISSA C.
2020 Hyundai Kona EV
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
03/28/2021
A great ride and fun drive!
We did not plan on purchasing a Kona EV. Then, we test drove this and several other EVs. The Kona, by far, had the smoothest ride, most comfort, quiet interior, and the best range for the price. Many people have asked me already if I would recommend the Kona EV - I DO!
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JD
JOHN D.
2020 Hyundai Kona EV
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
03/24/2021
Smart Car
This is a great looking and performing car.
.

Pros
Great acceleration . Easy handling and operation

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JB
Joan B.
2020 Hyundai Kona EV
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
03/14/2021
Kona
Very very happy love it! Good speed looks good no gas just love how it looks and runs and good performance and has all the bells and whistle That you need runs so smooth easy to connect just Lov it all happy happy that I got my Kona keeping it for ever!
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

LM
Linda M.
2020 Hyundai Kona EV
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
03/09/2021
Zippy little car!
I am happy with my zippy little car. The hardest part was getting used to finding class 3 charging stations and adjusting my travel schedule accordingly I liked my daughter’s car so well , I bought one and my friend liked mine so well, she bought one. My daughter has the silver one, I have a white one and my friend bought a black one!

Pros
Pass every gas station!!

Cons
Smaller than I would have liked.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling
Displaying reviews 1 - 20 of 72 in total