2019
Hyundai
Kona

Overall Rating 4.73/5Overall Rating 4.73/5Overall Rating 4.73/5Overall Rating 4.73/5rating 4.73
4.7
(35 Reviews)
Latest review 3 days ago
Category Summary (Avg. out of 10)
  • Value
  • Features
  • Build Quality
  • Fun
  • Reliability
  • Performance
  • Exterior
  • Comfort
  • Interior
  • Styling

VF
VINZINA F.
2019 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
05/18/2019
Love my Kona. Nice looking vehicle, roomy, well priced and sporty looking.
All these surveys we have taken, Hyundai should send the customers a certificate for either free oil changes or percent off on first service.or do something to the customer for taking their time. and helping you to improve. .

Pros
Nice vehicle

Cons
None

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

RD
Rodney D.
2019 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
05/16/2019
Comfort With ZIP
We were looking for a small, all-wheel drive car that would be comfortable, provide safety in all kinds of weather, and perform well. We have definitely found that in our 2019 Hyundai Kona. It handled well this winter in many different driving conditions. It is very comfortable for four passengers, including a 90 year old with mobility challenges. It also is fun to drive and has the zip of a sports car. It looks great too. We have been stopped by several people who ask us what kind of car it is and what is the color (Lime Twist).

Pros
Comfort
Handling
Style
Safety features

Cons
Storage space

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

FV
Frank V.
2019 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
05/14/2019
Mid life Crisis Car !!
Went from a 2008 5 speed manual no power anything Toyota Tacoma 4x4 to my mid life crisis purchase of a 2019 Hyundai Kona AWD 1.6T. Point is mid life is a good time now with this ride. Never owned a turbo (just a little turbo lag), but it was coupled to an AWD system and suspension that makes it a fun to drive vehicle. Don't brake much into turns now that the handling is in place, and found myself able to accelerate into that turn and the car hugs the road as it should. Great 2 adult w/plenty of gear storage with the seats down. Not really meant for 2 full size adults in the rear but it's easy to get into and out of the back doors anyway. All you have to do is press the pedal down and man,,,it goes. Every safety feature you could hope for in a sub compact SUV means just that,,,,it's safe. Good pick for this 55 year old and would be a great pick for a new driver with all this safety built in. Extended the bumper to bumper 5 more years (up to 10) so for 6 years after it's paid for, I'll still have it covered nose to tail. Rated best in its class and costs far less that the competition with similar features and has the BEST warranty in the business. How could I go wrong? Go find Spencer Wedge at Meriden Hyundai and he can sell you one too.

Pros
All the safety and all the fun from a small turbo in a fun to drive sub compact SUV.
Dare I say "Handles like a go cart" in a good way.

Cons
Back door access is fine but the rear seat room is really sized for smaller adults or children. Don't leave the Lane departure warning on if you're not on the highway.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

TM
Tomas M.
2019 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
05/14/2019
Hyundai Kona
This is by far the best vehicle I have purchased. It has all that I need in it and the ride is phenomenal. Just went on a trip to South Padre Island and by the time we got there we wanted to keep driving. Very smooth on the road. Very comfortable for 4 people with room to spare and not to mention it gas mileage is amazing. My next vehicle to my daughter will definitely be a Kona as well. It just feels so safe and easy to maneuver I know she will love it just as much as I do. You could not get a better practical SUV. Definitely best in its class.

Pros
Love it all the way

Cons
none that i can mention.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

CW
Christine W.
2019 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
05/13/2019
Loving it so far!
I picked the car because it had gotten really good reviews. Then it was deciding the color. I loved the Lime Twist and decided to buy that one, even though it meant going up to the Limited level. I'm glad I did - got the peppier engine and the color is awesome! And so is the rest of the car. I'm still being surprised at what I find. I'm loving the tech features - the car I replaced was an 07, so didn't have many of those.

Pros
All is good. Can't find a negative.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

PM
Paul M.
2019 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
05/11/2019
Love..love
Perfect car for me . Room I need but not too large for my mostly solitary trips and runs. Love the features. Noisy brakes only problem and Hyundai blamed the government for banning asbestos. Seems I can choose between cancer or noisy brakes

Pros
Quick pickup. Mine is top of the line and loaded..love the features.

Cons
Squeaky brakes..really noisy.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

ML
Marion L.
2019 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
05/10/2019
I LOVE my 2019 Kona Ultimate!
I LOVE my car! This car is spacious for a smaller car, it's dependable, economical to drive, the turbo is totally awesome, and it's as cute as a bug! We traded in our Santa Fe for our Kona and we are very happy!

Pros
I listed the Pros with the ratings all 10's except for one and I explained that in the Cons. I love everything else about my car!!

Cons
The front wheel drive feels unstable at times. I notice more pulling and wandering with front wheel drive. I prefer real wheel drive

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

CB
Christopher B.
2019 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
05/09/2019
Really hugs a kona
I have around 5000 miles so far in my 2019 Kona. I got it with the tech package. It takes a second to get used to it keeping you centered in the lane but it is a nice option on the interstate. It is a compact SUV but still handles like a car. It is a joy to drive.

Pros
Great looking comfortable car. Decent leg room in back.

Cons
With cloth seats the used a light color and checks cloth on center of seats. Would prefer dark all over. They look good just have to be careful not to get them dirty.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

DP
David P.
2019 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
05/08/2019
Incredible vehicle
This car is AWESOME while it is kind of small it is feature packed, fun to drive, and feels very safe, and high tech. Myself, my wife, and a baby seat fit perfectly fine in this vehicle. Sport mode is really fun too.

Pros
You get your money out of this thing

Cons
Smaller compared to a standard SUV

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

TJ
Tricia J.
2019 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
04/29/2019
A little powerhouse
I wanted to just do a test drive for a Kona. I tried out the base line and asked if I could drive one of the higher trim lines. I was so blown away with all the safety features and awesome sound system. I love the app so that I can start my car when it's cold outside. I was so blown away with the turbo. I've never owned a car with so much power! I still have much more to learn about my car. There are like 6 books to this car. But I appreciate all the safety that was thought out for this car. Only downside I have found is that I don't have a power lift gate. Even cars with similar trim lines by other manufactures offer power lift gates.

Cons
No power lift gate

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

AV
Adriana V.
2019 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
04/25/2019
Hyundai Kona is the most amazing vehicle I have ever driven
Hyundai Kona is safety, gorgeous and very comfortable to drive ❤️❤️❤️❤️ , I bought it new from Hyundai World Virginia Beach and is been 3 months, every time that I drive it I fall in love more and more
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

DH
Daniel H.
2019 Hyundai Kona
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
04/19/2019
2018 Hyundai Kona
My 2018 Kona is absolutely great. I'm a 72 year old grandpa raising my 17 year old grandson now for 12 years. I use My Kona for driving Uber/Lyft. So far the car has done great. Very impressive during the winter on snowy and icy roads especially when in the mountains and in the Tahoe area during snow storms. Before the snow hit I did put Bridgestone Blizzack studless snow tires on. I've put 33,000 miles on it in just about 9 months. The Kona's been perfect. So far averaging 28-30 mpg in the city. My only complaint like others have mentioned is no cd player. My grandson is now driving my 2013 Elantra GT which is also a very nice, safe, vehicle, just not an AWD like the Kona. I'm very pleased with the Kona and with the Hyundai service department here in Reno helping me to keep this car perfectly maintained and running great. I wish Hyundai had a way to install a cd player but I've asked and they can't do it.

Pros
Great car, handles real nice and easy to maneuver. So far perfectly reliable and very comfortable.

Cons
No cd player !!

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

DF
Deborah F.
2019 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
04/18/2019
Best vehicle I’ve ever owned
I love my Hyundai Kona, it’s the best vehicle I’ve ever owned and I highly recommend it. I just wish there was more trunk room. It is quick, quiet and fairly good on gas. I also like the safety features. I wish I could turn off the lane beeping sound.

Pros
Love the look inside and out. It’s comfortable, quiet and fun to drive.

Cons
I wish there was more trunk room.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

KR
Kimberly R.
2019 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
04/13/2019
Kona
The Kona is very sporty looking it drives nice and has just enough room for my family the lane assist is a pretty cool feature and I like the slap shift option the price is affordable and I would definitely recommended it

Pros
Affordable, lane assist, efficiency

Cons
No heated seat option

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

DS
David S.
2019 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
04/12/2019
Kona
Went in looking for a compact SUV, test drove several, chose the Kona. Very pleased with what we received for the price, excellent value for the money. The Kona come with all the bells and whistles you can hope for. Lots of tech and safety in one nice package. Fun to drive and has a look that sets is apart. Love the Kona.

Pros
Lost of standard features that are up-grades on other manufacturers. It has all of the safety features that you may want also. It’s fun to drive and it’s styling sets it apart from the rest of the cars on the road, I find it very sharp looking. It’s comfortable to ride in and also has plenty of zip when needed.

Cons
Wish it were just a bit larger, but if extra space is needed a person can add roof racks to carry more gear.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

ML
Mary L.
2019 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
04/09/2019
Perfection
Perfect car for me. Small but plenty of room for outdoor gear. Cute exterior. Good on mileage. I added a rack on top for my kayak. Only problem was cover on inside back, the chord broke second day, could be sturdier.

Pros
All

Cons
I broke the chord on the inside back cover, just by closing the back. Could be sturdier

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

NA
Norma A.
2019 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
04/08/2019
Kona Hyundai pros & cons leased
I love the look of my Hyundai. I’m very comfortable seated in this car. I like that I can open the car door by pushing the button on the handle of the door. I love that the rear view camera display screen is big and clear enough to view what I need to see.
There are two things I don’t like. The ride is not as smooth as other cars I’ve ridden in. We feel the bumps in the road.
I’m very upset this car has no CD player. I was told that new cars don’t come with them anymore. Then how come my daughter just bought a new Subaru and it HAS A CD PLAYER !!!!! Can you fix this in my New Kona PLEASE?? That would make me extreamly happy.

Pros
Nice looking.
Comfortable to sit in.

Cons
Ride could be smoother. Slow pick up.
NO CD PLAYER !!!

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

SP
Shawn P.
2019 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
04/03/2019
LOVE MY KONA
We worked with Thaddeus Hoffman who was my sales representative was great. He answered all questions, was great to work with and has followed up many times on how much I like my Kona. This is an amazing vehicle, very smooth on the road and gets great mileage. Lots of space throughout the vehicle all seats are very comfortable for adults and the cargo space holds everything I need.

Pros
BlueLink, Center Touchscreen, Infotainment, the Safety Technology, LED headlamps, Cargo Space

Cons
Sirus XM free trial should be longer than 3-months.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

AL
Andrea L.
2019 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
04/02/2019
I love my Kona!
My 2019 Hyundai Kona 1.6 Turbo is by far one of the best cars I have ever purchased! The gas mileage is great, right now I am averaging about 36 mpg. The car is fun, peppy, and has great safety features. There is only one thing that I would change, there is not a light in the trunk/cargo area. For most people this probably wouldn’t be a problem but I go to work at 4 am and getting my work gear together in the back is kind of difficult. Other than that, I love my Kona!!

Pros
Fun
Fast
Built Well
Stylish
Great Warranty

Cons
No Light In The Cargo Area

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

BH
Beth H.
2019 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
04/01/2019
Love My Kona
Have received many compliments on the car. Roomy for passengers. Rides well. Easy handling. Love the styling. Had remote start put in and works well. My only complaint is that they no longer put CD players in 2019 vehicles.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling
Displaying reviews 1 - 20 of 35 in total