2018
Hyundai
Kona

Overall Rating 4.7/5Overall Rating 4.7/5Overall Rating 4.7/5Overall Rating 4.7/5Overall Rating 4.7/5
4.7
(1124 Reviews)
Latest review 1 day ago
Category Summary (Avg. out of 10)
  • Value
  • Features
  • Build Quality
  • Fun
  • Reliability
  • Performance
  • Exterior
  • Comfort
  • Interior
  • Styling

RY
Russell Y.
2018 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
05/27/2020
Satisfied Customer
Plenty of space for hauling items from one place to another along with a smaller size for easier handling and maneuvering. Very happy with the blind spot detectors and rear view camera. Makes driving and backing up much safer and easier.

Pros
Plenty of space for hauling items from one place to another along with a smaller size for easier handling and maneuvering

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

BS
BONITA S.
2018 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
05/26/2020
Great vehicle price and quality
I researched many SUVs online before going to a dealership to make a final decision. I was looking for a reasonably priced used vehicle. My sales associate toured the lot showing me the used choices then he pointed out that a new vehicle was definitely in my price range. He showed me the Kona and I was impressed with all the features included. We test drove it and I made my decision. The price, the features, the great warranty, and the overall look and feel of my Kona are amazing. I get great mileage. It’s a comfortable ride and one of the things I love the most is all I can fit in it when I go to the home project stores!

Pros
Price
Quality
Features

Cons
Vehicle is a bit lightweight

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

BZ
BARRY Z.
2018 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
05/23/2020
I LOVE My Kona
After driving a used Santa Fe for 11 years it needed some repairs. Three weeks after the repairs it began making new strange noises and rather than spend yet more money I purchased the 2018 Kona. If had i been able to hold onto the Santa Fe for anther year I'd have given it to my granddaughter and would have purchased the 2019 Kona hybrid.

Cons
I would prefer a locking glove compartment Also the horn sounds tiinny and toy like. Sometimes the trunk closes - but the does not close completely causing a an alert sound to beep until it is addressed only problem is you have to turn the car off in order to allow the lock release to reset.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

GB
Grace B.
2018 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
05/22/2020
Wonderful Car!
If you are looking for a smaller SUV that gets great gas mileage, great hands free technology, and sporty looking car you have come to the right place. I absolutely love my Kona. It gets great gas milage and has a smooth ride through city streets, highway, and country roads. The hands free technology is also a huge plus and i have yet to be in a car with a better set up. 10 out of 10 would recommend this car. I will probably be staying with Kona's for a while. Truely a great value.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

DM
DENISE M.
2018 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
05/22/2020
I L.O.V.E my Kona
I love every aspect of my Kona. It’s cute (sorry guys), it’s not too big or too small. Great gas mileage and plenty of room to carry things. It’s my 4th Hyundai (Sonata, Elantra, Elantra) and absolutely my favorite.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

WT
William T.
2018 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
05/20/2020
My Kona
The Hyundai Kona is an excellent vehicle we have had absolutely no issues with the car. It is fun to drive and delivers a lot of value for the money. Provides excellent mileage and maintenance is fast and easy at the dealership. Would recommend this vehicle for anyone looking to have a pleasant driving experience.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

MG
Monica G.
2018 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
05/19/2020
Excellent vehicle
I love the Kona.
Solid car, rides great, looks fabulous.
Really glad I bought it, it’s really fun to drive.
Good gas mileage. My car has all the bells and whistles. I was not sure about trading for a certified car, but great dealership.

Pros
Everything

Cons
None

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

BL
BRIAN L.
2018 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5
05/19/2020
Hyundai Kona
It has been a good vehicle. It does not have any blind spots like my previous vehicle and I like driving the vehicle. The sound system is very good, I like the extras most notably the blind spot detection.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

SF
STEVEN F.
2018 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
05/16/2020
Hyundai Kona Ultimate Turbo
A very good reliable car. xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx cxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx. Xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx. Xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx

Pros
A very good reliable car with good engine performance.

Cons
Lack of heated steering wheel option in U.S. sold Kona cars; entry assist handles should be on both front windshield pillars; needs interior ambient lighting option.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

GR
Gilbert R.
2018 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
05/12/2020
Best vehicle for the money!
where do I start....great milage, lots of cargo room. Handles well, decent get up and go, overall a great vehicle. I had a starter replaced under warranty. Now have 25000 miles with 0 issues. Love this vehicle.

Pros
lots

Cons
very little

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

DM
Debra M.
2018 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
05/11/2020
KONA
I LOVE MY KONA ! IT IS THE PERFECT CAR FOR ME AND MY FAMILY I AM A "LYFT" DRIVER AND WHEN I PULL UP TO MY RIDER .EVERYONE OF THEM TELL ME HOW MUCH THEY LOVE MY CAR!!!! ALSO THE GAS MILEAGE IS INCREDIBLE !!!!! I HAVE THE BLACK ON BLACK COLOR.

Cons
THERE ARE NO CONS...LOL..

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

KM
KATHLEEN M.
2018 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
05/11/2020
2018 Kona
We are very pleased with our 2018 Kona and it's overall performace and style. It's the perfect size for us. We would recommend it to anyone looking for a small SUV type car. The one thing that would be nice is a type of lever on the drivers side to open the back lift gate door.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

AR
Antonio R.
2018 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
05/11/2020
Outstanding Small Suv
My 2018 Hyundai Kona, limited edition,AWD is extremely reliable, overall performance is outstanding, no complain. Modern interior and exterior, loaded with safety features, overall quality is excellent.I will keep my 2018 Kona for a long time.

Pros
Loaded with modern tech and safety features, extremely reliable, comfortable front seats for short or long driving, fun to drive, save on gas, excellent interior and exterior in quality.

Cons
No remote power cargo door.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

DK
DIANNE K.
2018 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
05/09/2020
Love my Kona Ultimate
It is so fun to drive, so stylish. Very easy to get groceries in and out of vehicle. The turbo is nice and sweetie you can get around people real fast. Easy for my medium size dog to get in and out of it!!
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

RC
Ralph C.
2018 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
05/08/2020
2018 Hyundai Kona
I traded in my hyundai sante fe sport for this vehicle and never regretted. i absolutely love this vehicle and wouldn't trade it for anything. I only purchased Hyundai products for the last 10 years. always dependable vehicles.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

DE
Darrelle E.
2018 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
05/04/2020
2018 Hyndai Kona
I love my Kona. It is just the right size for me. It drives easily and efficiently and I get great gas mileage. I don't know what else to say, except that It is a great vehicle and is easy to drive.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JQ
James Q.
2018 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5
05/02/2020
A vehicle that lets cheap plastic keep it from 5 stars!
I was excited to hear that Hyundai had a new CUV in 2017 coming out called the Kona. After of months or reading thru technical documents and comparison shopping I decided to go to the dealer and test drive the 2017 Kona. I was all smiled when i got on the freeway and found merging a breeze. The brakes were good and the handling good as well. Several month of ownership and an accident sent me into a 2019 Kona about a year later. I live the driving experience and the technology thst Hyundai has put into the vehicle but it lacks in a major and a minor area for me.
Major area first was that the plastic in the vehicle is cheap in fit, feel and look. The rear hatch door has thin cheap plastic that cracks if you sneeze on it. I only have a pair of golf shoes and my CERT emergency bag in the back. The plastuc needs to he more substantial if it is going to be used.
A minor issue is that its big brothers, Tucson and Santa Fe have surround parking which is a "must" have as my wife is an amazing parker due to the surround camera system. This should be a safety feature on the Kona as well.

Pros
Acceleration, braking, handling, technology.

Cons
Cheap plastic, no surround parking available, 1st to 2nd gear change is annoying.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JC
JOHN C.
2018 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
04/29/2020
2018 Hyundai Kona
Overall, I like the car very much, but I would like a little more trunk space, bigger door storage, better headlights, protected wiring in engine compartment, little more height in driver's seat.
........................................................................................................................................................................................................................................

Pros
Overall, i like the car.

Cons
Wiring needs better protection against rodents.in engine compartment

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JC
James C.
2018 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
04/23/2020
My Kona
I've had my Kona for a little over a year and have no complaints. I do wish it came with a CD player, which would be easier than using the plug in unit. The mileage is a bit lower than anticipated but the car is easy to drive and surprisingly powerful for its size.

Cons
Would like to have a built in CD player.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

RG
Randy G.
2018 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
04/23/2020
Awesome Vehicle
We love the style of our car, the size is a little smaller than we would like, but it handles nicely in all weather. We get great gas mileage. We would definitely recommend this crossover to anyone looking for a smaller all wheel drive vehicle. We miss the size of our Tucson but for the most part this one has proven to be a great size for our needs. Would highly recommend this car. We haven't had any problems with it this far. Runs great, Rides great. We live on a dirt road on a hill and have never had to use the all wheel drive yet. Awesome stability of weight and great traction.

Pros
Really nice car for a small family and for smaller hauling needs. Economical and safe vehicle.

Cons
Size has been an issue a few times when we were hauling stuff while buying supplies for projects at our home, but other than that, we haven't seen any cons with this vehicle. Average daily use there are no cons to report.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling
Displaying reviews 1 - 20 of 1124 in total