2018
Hyundai
Kona

Overall Rating 4.76/5Overall Rating 4.76/5Overall Rating 4.76/5Overall Rating 4.76/5rating 4.76
4.8
(825 Reviews)
Latest review about 19 hours ago
Category Summary (Avg. out of 10)
  • Value
  • Features
  • Build Quality
  • Fun
  • Reliability
  • Performance
  • Exterior
  • Comfort
  • Interior
  • Styling

LM
Lorena M.
2018 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
07/20/2019
KONA Ultimate
What’s not to like ? With aggressive styling 1.6 L turbo to excel you , out of any Situation .
Spacious interior with urban compactness fits anywhere. Heads up display and lane departure safety is not a concern, it particularly drives itself! Hyundai has my business, plus hard to beat America’s best warranty especially with all bells an whistle what’s not to love .

Pros
Bells n whistle for the money

Cons
No ac seats in our ultimate limo mites

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

AA
ANAZETTE A.
2018 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
07/20/2019
Hyundai kona
Beyond happy with my Kona, I love everything about it! Being I had never bought a car before i was nervous when looking into cars, I walked into the Hyundai dealership and as soon as I set eyes on the kona I knew I had to test drive it. After a quick test drive I was so anxious because I knew this was the one; and this car had to be mine. I’m so thankful to own a car I feel extremely safe in! I 100% recommend the kona :)

Pros
-heated seats
-sun roof
-AWD

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

MC
MARGARET C.
2018 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
07/20/2019
Love Car, Hate Dealer
Wonderful vehicle and the AWD feature has helped in the winter ice. Do not buy the black roof feature if you live in areas with 100+ degree temperatures, interior reached 200+ (recorded) while shopping.

Pros
Easy to drive. Height is perfect for average people to get into/out of the vehicle.

Cons
Beware of dealer in a hurry to make a quick sale, vehicle was not ready and looked like they had just taken it off the truck. Still cannot get the tape residue off the roof.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

DR
David R.
2018 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
07/19/2019
1 year later
Nice & peppy (1.6 turbo).
Like the heads-up display.
5yr/100,000 warranty best in class.
It needs a heated steering wheel for winter like the non US versions have.
Heated seats need to be able to turn on thru the app before you sit down.

Cons
No heated steering wheel.
Heated seats need control thru the app.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

GP
GLORIA P.
2018 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
07/19/2019
None
Ok car. See my comments in survey. XXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXX

Cons
See survey for my comments.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

ES
EDWARD S.
2018 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
07/19/2019
Love my ride
I get regular compliments on my Kona.
Pleasure to drive and very peppy.
Great for road trips or trips to the store.
I love having this in my driveway.
I would highly recommend Hyundai in general and the Kona specifically to friends and family.

Pros
Easy to drive, great visibility. Fun car yet comfortable.

Cons
Sport mode will get me a ticket

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

GT
Gregory T.
2018 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
07/18/2019
Fast Fun Road Hugging Car.
I love my Kona T. It's fast, very responsive, hugs the road even at high speeds, it's loaded with everything, I especially love the sunroof. The infinity Stereo delivers great sound. I love driving this very thought out Kona T. It's a Hot looking car.

Pros
Great looking car, love the wheels. It's fast, hugs the road, comfortable and styling interior. Lumbar seat is a back saver. Heated seats, kick Ass Infinity Stereo and its feels like a very expensive car.

Cons
Kona T should have dual exhausts.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

ML
MAX L.
2018 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
07/18/2019
great little SUV
30 mpg, 4x4, and 10 year/100000 mile warranty. THis model had less features which brought the price down to under 20 grand. I am very happy with it. I got this for my wife. She is very easy on cars. I wanted the 4x4 for her in the snow. She likes it, so that means I like it. LOL
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

RE
Richard E.
2018 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
07/17/2019
Car of the Year
Bought this before it was named "Car of the Year", but liked it with just a test drive. Lots of goodies to help the driver stay in the lane and on-road. A pleasure to drive and to own. I'm still getting used to all the available options with this car.

Pros
A joy to drive.

Cons
Body length provides a slightly more bumpy ride than my Sonata.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

TE
TESS E.
2018 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
07/17/2019
Best sport utility vehicle on the market!
I purchased the Kona after spending 2 years wanting the Subaru Crosstrek but the Subaru was a little out of my price range. Hyundai was able to give me an incredible deal on the Kona so I took the chance. I live in northern Utah where we get A LOT of snow and I was a little concerned with how it would drive in the snow being as light as it is. However, I was blown away with how it handled driving in extreme snow storms. The gas mileage is great, the quality is great and it's just an over all amazing vehicle. I'm a Hyundai fan now.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

BS
BETSY S.
2018 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
07/17/2019
Hyundai Kona
I wanted a vehicle that was dependable, stylish & gets good mileage. Driving in North Dakota weather, I also needed that it would be able to be able to handle ice & snow & the Kona does an excellent job.

Pros
Ease of handling & driving in our. North Dakota winters.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

CC
CLINTON C.
2018 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
07/16/2019
Love My Kona
This is one of the best vehicles I have ever owned. Great price, great gas mileage and great car. Fun to drive. Very economical and nice looking too. I would Highly Recommend a Kona and the dealership, Bowser Hyundai, Chippewa, PA.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

TW
Thipwan W.
2018 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5rating 3rating 3
07/15/2019
11,000 miles
11,000 miles Free play in steering still concerns me becoming a drift back-and-forth when you’re doing about 65 miles an hour the sensors all of a sudden light off and said they are disassembled disconnected

Pros
Gas mileage great

Cons
Steering is a little wobbly there’s a stretcher road on North Avenue that all of my sensors turn off I don’t know why

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JE
JANET E.
2018 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
07/15/2019
This survey is too long and I resent having to say something just so you can have 200 characters.
This survey is too long and I resent having to say something just so you can have 200 characters.xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxccxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

SC
STEVEN C.
2018 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
07/11/2019
2018 Hyundai Kona - An Excellent Choice!
From the moment I saw this car advertised I feel in love with the look of it. When I went to test drive it and sat down in it I knew I wanted this vehicle. The interior was roomy and my elbows didn't touch between the door and the console. Majority of vehicles this size are a bit cramped in the interior, this one isn't. I picked out and purchased the most basic model simply because it had everything I wanted included without having to buy a more expensive model with options I didn't care about. The fuel mileage is unbeatable and the vehicle is so comfortable to drive. I am truly happy I purchased this vehicle.

Pros
Distinct Styling and a joy to Drive! Excellent Fuel Mileage! Just a great smaller SUV for the money.

Cons
Because it sits lower to the ground, I have to squat a little to get in the vehicle and then pull up slightly to get out.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

MM
MICHAEL M.
2018 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
07/11/2019
Great little car
Car is great on gas. Performs great in the snow. I'm expecting it to have low running costs. Can fit 4 passengers but it's tight. Cargo space is small unless you put the back seats down. Only concern is durability in the long term as it is an economy vehicle.

Pros
Fuel economy
Poor weather performance

Cons
Passenger space
Cargo space

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

KM
Katherine M.
2018 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
07/10/2019
Great car.
Solid ride for a small car. Highway mileage in the 40's (several times 46+mpg). The car sits higher which makes it easier for older folks and people with bad knees/hips to get in and out. Nice all-around vehicle.

Pros
Great gas mileage.

Cons
A tad small hatchback space.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

TE
Theresa E.
2018 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
07/10/2019
Love my Kona!
The Kona is an amazing vehicle. It's sporty and compact. Can't beat how it handles in the winter. I was leery at first because I've always driven cars. But, I'm extremely comfortable. Highly recommend this fun and safe beauty!

Cons
The only con is the trunk area would probably be too small for most people. Not for me though.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

CP
Cheryl P.
2018 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
07/10/2019
Love the car, but....
Would not have leased if I had known the passenger front seat was not adjustable . Should have been told............Won't lease this model again based on the adjustability of the seat and the fact the sales person did not tell me. Also they forgot to put the antenna on when I picked it up.

Pros
see comment above

Cons
see comment above

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

CB
Carolyn B.
2018 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
07/10/2019
I LOVE MY KONA
I LOVE MY KONA. I LIKE THE WAY IT DRIVES, ITS COMFORT, ITS LOOKS AND ALL OF THE EXTRAS, THE ONLY THING I WOULD CHANGE WOULD BE THE TRUNK DOOR. I WISH IT HAD AN AUTOMATIC OPEN AND CLOSE. ITS QUITE DIFFICULT FOR ME TO MANAGE BEING A SENIOR.

Cons
TRUNK DOOR IS NOT AUTOMATIC OPEN AND CLOSE.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling
Displaying reviews 1 - 20 of 825 in total