2019
Hyundai
Kona

Overall Rating 4.84/5Overall Rating 4.84/5Overall Rating 4.84/5Overall Rating 4.84/5rating 4.84
4.8
(324 Reviews)
Latest review about 12 hours ago
Category Summary (Avg. out of 10)
  • Value
  • Features
  • Build Quality
  • Fun
  • Reliability
  • Performance
  • Exterior
  • Comfort
  • Interior
  • Styling

CG
CALVIN G.
2019 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
07/22/2019
C. Ginterreiter
I am very happy with my 2019 Kona SEL. The only thing I wish was standard is Lumbar support on the drivers seat. I have had the Kona for about 5 weeks now and the only thing I have not found is my comfort zone in the drivers seat. I am sure I will find it in a matter of time. I really like the car and the way it rides and handles. The Kona is loaded with many standard safety features that lowered my insurance. I like all the little storage bins also. This is my daily driver to work and back so I spend most of my time alone in the car. It seems to be the perfect size for my wife and I for any travel we do also. I like the cover on the trunk area so no one can see what is in the trunk. The rear window tint is perfect for the Thunder Gray color that I picked. If we need more room to haul things there is plenty of room with the rear seats folded down. The only other thing I would like to see standard on the SEL trim is LED Headlights.

Pros
Warranty and standard safety features. Good looking vehicle and fun to drive. Perfect for two adults.

Cons
Drivers seat does not have Lumbar support as a standard feature on the SEL level. Drivers seat on the SEL level should be a power seat.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

CM
CHARLES M.
2019 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
07/22/2019
YES...YES INDEED
I drove other cars in this class ( size, options, AWD ect. Subaru, Jeep, Honda.) Kona beat them all. Styling, comfort, performance. But the thing that sealed the deal was the warranty. No one came close.

Cons
No paddle shifters

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

MF
Mike F.
2019 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
07/22/2019
Very nice car but had an early a/c problem.
I really like the car but it did not meet the J.D. Power initial reliability rating. A/C compressor noise. Should be replaced. Also expected it to have adaptive cruise. Can it be added with software update?

Pros
Good safety features

Cons
Disappointed because the forward collision package does no include adaptive cruise. It seems that all mechanical equipment is there. Just needs software.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

BB
BRANDON B.
2019 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
07/22/2019
Over all a great vehicle
Perfect vehicle for our little family. Love the exterior and interior look, fuel efficiency, comfortable interior, easy to use on board system, engine performance and most of all the amazing warranty.

Pros
Plenty of leg room in the back seat

Cons
No air vents or USB connection in the back seat.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

CA
CAROL A.
2019 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
07/22/2019
2019 kona
I think this is the perfect car for me. I am 65, and the safety features were very important to me, as well as comfort and gas mileage. I mainly drive country roads, very impressed with city driving. Just took 600 mile trip one way and was disappointed in highway mpg.

Pros
Easy to get into and put of front seats. Drivers electric seat adjustments are wonderful

Cons
Highway mpg was a disappointment. Need compass and coin holder

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

GY
GARY Y.
2019 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
07/20/2019
Disappointed in dealership
I loved my Hyundai Kona SEL. Unfortunately, the dealership didn't get me the paperwork in a timely manner and the temporary registration has expired. I cannot legally drive the car. I haven't yet done extended highway driving. So I don't know yet how I'll like it on the highway. This lag by the dealership has soured me on the whole car buying experience.

Pros
Safety features

Cons
Haven't had a chance to drive it yet under all the conditions I'd like, because of the registration difficulties.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

MH
MICHAEL H.
2019 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
07/20/2019
Love This Car
I research this car for three months before my lease expired on my 2017 Elantra. after test driving many vehicles I settled on leasing this Kona Ultimate . I have thoroughly enjoy and look forward to driving it everyday.

Cons
Rear trunk not automatic lift

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

RF
REBECCA F.
2019 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
07/20/2019
Kona
I love the color and style of my Kona. The vehicle is great on fuel economy and still has the power to get up and go. I would recommend this car to anyone. How can you pass up the 10 year 100k warranty too.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JQ
JAMES Q.
2019 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
07/20/2019
Kona
liked the styling and cost. it was the right size and after test driving the kona i bought it. thought it drove excellant and the safety features were great. my wife fell in love with the look and color
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

BL
BRADY L.
2019 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
07/19/2019
Not perfect, but no regrets
I love my new Kona. As someone who was hesitant to move from a sedan to an SUV, the Kona is a great balance of not too big, not too small. It's size is perfect for city driving and parallel parking in tight spaces. I just wish it had a few more inches or rear legroom and cargo space. Feature-wise, it's got everything I wanted in a vehicle--except adaptive cruise control.

Pros
Fun to drive, fun to look at
Impressive safety features
Lots of bang for your buck

Cons
Jerky automatic shifting a low speeds
Stiff ride over bumps
Rear leg room and cargo space are a bit tight
Adaptive cruise control not available

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

DL
DOUGLAS L.
2019 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
07/19/2019
great subcompact crossover
great subcompact crossover, perfect size for young adults, great engine performance with the 2.0 liter, also good gas mileage. It's sporty and fun to drive, steering is agile, lots of cargo room to fit most items.

Pros
fun to drive, peppy engine

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

MC
MARLA C.
2019 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
07/19/2019
Kona 2019
Kona is a smooth driving compact SUV. It has a nice sporty looking exterior with a good looking interior that hides dirt and stains if you have children. The only thing it lacks is a good size trunk.

Cons
Small trunk

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

DS
Dennis S.
2019 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
07/19/2019
Kana is a good vehicle
For its price and class the Kona is a good vehicle. Drives and handles well, the interior is comfortable and the controls are positioned well. The engine and transmission is pretty responsive so I seldom use the Sport Drive option. The only thing it doesn’t have that I wish it did is a CD player (yes I am an old fogey!) and some kind of netting or strap to secure things in the luggage area so they don’t roll around
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

SD
SHERYL D.
2019 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
07/19/2019
Magical
This car is pure magic to drive, before I got with my husband 8yrs ago I would only drive a sports car and a convertible. In Tim's family there are 14 kias I purchased a Kia was on my 3rd and loved it but now nothing compairs to my Kona love everything about it. Only road noise is a bit loud . But everything else LOVE LOVE

Pros
I've had so many cars Mercedes down and my Kona is my favorite so far

Cons
Road noise didn't get my $50test drive rebate and the green inside trim forced me to buy the green exterior. I would have taken the orange but the trim didn't match.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

RD
RONALD D.
2019 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
07/19/2019
Hyundai lease
Great car, and second with Modern Hyundai at Concord, NC! Great for the price, and leasing was so much easier. I have no more to say so having a minimum of 200 words is ridiculous! The car is great and I love it! No more to say!

Cons
When using the Sirius radio, the volume knob has to be turned all the way up.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

ML
MARY L.
2019 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
07/19/2019
Mary's Kona
This is a sharp looking car and easy to handle. Would buy it again. I researched this vehicle and others before settling on the Kona. I had driven a sedan from this company for 5 years and loved the gas mileage and the car overall. Gave my grandson this car for college and got the KONA for me.Even great grandmothers like to look cool riding down the rood.

Cons
Don't like the passenger's seat.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

CB
CHRISTOPHER B.
2019 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
07/19/2019
Hyundai Kona
The handling of the vehicle is awesome, great technology and affordable. Although the cargo space for the vehicle is a bit smaller than I am used too for an SUV, the features and technology is unmatched.

Cons
The cargo space is a bit smaller that I am used too for an SUV

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

RL
Randy L.
2019 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
07/19/2019
Finally hit 3000 miles
Leased my Kona in January 2019. I have not taken any long trips, but several shorts little trips. The car is the right size for what I wanted and handles like a champ. The all wheel drive proved itself during a snow storm back in February 2019. All the safety features work great . A nice riding, easy to handle vehicle and nice to drive. I have told alal my friends about the deal I got and even let them drive the car if they like.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

LS
Lisa S.
2019 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
07/18/2019
Super fun!
My new Kona is more fun to drive than ANY car I've owned! I love all its high-tech features and how much power it has. Even my boyfriend loves to drive my Kona more than his Audi Q3! I'm thinking about buying another Kona for my parents.

Pros
Safety features, nav, voice command, touch screen, good horsepower, great handling.

Cons
Some parts of the owners manuals are not detailed enough for me.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

AB
Angel B.
2019 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
07/18/2019
Great small suv
I did my research and bought the Kona . I can not say enough great things about it . Super safe , great on gas . Best purchase ever . I would highly recommend this car to any of my friends and family . It’s perfect.

Pros
Lots of safety features

Cons
Zero complaints

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling
Displaying reviews 1 - 20 of 324 in total