Business Solutions

2022 Hyundai Kona

Average Score

Overall Rating 4.6/5Overall Rating 4.6/5Overall Rating 4.6/5Overall Rating 4.6/5Overall Rating 4.6/5
4.6
(1212 Reviews)
Category Summary
(Avg. out of 10)
    Value
  • Features
  • Build Quality
  • Fun
  • Reliability
  • Performance
  • Exterior
  • Comfort
  • Interior
  • Styling

Reviews

Overall Rating 4.6/5Overall Rating 4.6/5Overall Rating 4.6/5Overall Rating 4.6/5Overall Rating 4.6/5
4.6
(1212 Reviews)

Reviews


HM
gravatar
HILL M.
2022 Hyundai Kona
verified customer Verified Owner
Overall Rating 1.0/5Overall Rating 1.0/5Overall Rating 1.0/5Overall Rating 1.0/5Overall Rating 1.0/5
11/28/2022
Verified Review

Radiator went out twice

Radiator went out twice . For a brand new car under a year old no major problems should occur. They should’ve replaced my car with a new car since I paid for a new car. If this was done I would be a returning customer
    Value
  • Build Quality
  • Reliability
  • Exterior
  • Interior
  • Features
  • Fun
  • Performance
  • Comfort
  • Styling
Dakota H. responded on 11/29/2022 07:41 AM
We're terribly sorry to learn of your experience. Should you need any further assistance in the future, please feel free to contact our customer care team at (800) 633-5151. Thank you. 

BK
gravatar
BRIDGET K.
2022 Hyundai Kona
verified customer Verified Owner
Overall Rating 1.0/5Overall Rating 1.0/5Overall Rating 1.0/5Overall Rating 1.0/5Overall Rating 1.0/5
12/11/2022
Verified Review

Broke down in 2000 miles

Engine failure - overheated. Dealership did not want to help. Had to be towed. Dealership was “busy” might get us in to check out in 3 weeks. We were out of state when this occurred. Dealership where we purchased also blew us off. No offer of help.
    Value
  • Build Quality
  • Reliability
  • Exterior
  • Interior
  • Features
  • Fun
  • Performance
  • Comfort
  • Styling
Hyundai Motor America NCC responded on 12/12/2022 02:12 PM
Safety is our top priority; we would like to contact you to discuss your concerns further. Thank you. ^cc

PD
gravatar
PAIGE D.
2022 Hyundai Kona
verified customer Verified Owner
Overall Rating 1.0/5Overall Rating 1.0/5Overall Rating 1.0/5Overall Rating 1.0/5Overall Rating 1.0/5
12/29/2022
Verified Review

Hate this car

Uncomfortable, ugly, and very small car. We can not wait till we are able to get rid of this POC car. Because our previous Hyundais engine blew, under a recall, we had to get this piece of crap car that doesn’t fit our life. We were on our way home for Christmas and the car broke down. Stranded between home our our destination we took the car in. The engine was covered under the recall, but it would take months to replace it so we had to get a new car. We HATE the Kona and Hyundai never attempted to make it right.
    Value
  • Build Quality
  • Reliability
  • Exterior
  • Interior
  • Features
  • Fun
  • Performance
  • Comfort
  • Styling
Dakota H. responded on 12/29/2022 10:13 AM
We're very sorry to learn of your experience. Please feel free to contact our customer care team at (800) 633-5151, and they would be happy to look into your situation further. Thank you. ^cc

DM
gravatar
DILBAR M.
2022 Hyundai Kona
verified customer Verified Owner
Overall Rating 1.0/5Overall Rating 1.0/5Overall Rating 1.0/5Overall Rating 1.0/5Overall Rating 1.0/5
01/12/2023
Verified Review

Will not buy again

Newly purchased car gave me so much headaches. The drivers seat gets heated by itself. Very poor battery since I couldn’t start my vehicle so many times in my first year of driving it. The screen went off 2 times for no reason with only time on it
    Value
  • Build Quality
  • Reliability
  • Exterior
  • Interior
  • Features
  • Fun
  • Performance
  • Comfort
  • Styling
Dakota H. responded on 01/12/2023 01:52 PM
We're very sorry to learn of your experience, Dilbar. We have created a case and assigned it to one of our corporate representatives for review. They will be reaching out to you to discuss your situation further. Thank you. ^cc

JP
gravatar
Jason P.
2022 Hyundai Kona
verified customer Verified Owner
Overall Rating 2.0/5Overall Rating 2.0/5Overall Rating 2.0/5Overall Rating 2.0/5Overall Rating 2.0/5
07/08/2021
Verified Review

Very cheap car

I feel the car is very cheap. Not happy with the purchase of this vehicle…………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………….………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………….1111111111111111111111111
    Value
  • Build Quality
  • Reliability
  • Exterior
  • Interior
  • Features
  • Fun
  • Performance
  • Comfort
  • Styling

JP
gravatar
Jason P.
2022 Hyundai Kona
verified customer Verified Owner
Overall Rating 2.0/5Overall Rating 2.0/5Overall Rating 2.0/5Overall Rating 2.0/5Overall Rating 2.0/5
07/29/2021
Verified Review

I would not recommend the kona

I purchased a vehicle after I test drove it. They didn’t have very many vehicles to test drive. When I initially drove the Kona I thought it was OK. After having it for the first few days I was not happy with it but I could not return it. So now I’m stuck with it. Not happy with my purchase.
    Value
  • Build Quality
  • Reliability
  • Exterior
  • Interior
  • Features
  • Fun
  • Performance
  • Comfort
  • Styling

PG
gravatar
Paulette G.
2022 Hyundai Kona
Overall Rating 2.0/5Overall Rating 2.0/5Overall Rating 2.0/5Overall Rating 2.0/5Overall Rating 2.0/5
09/04/2021

enjoy driving the car BUT.......

I leased a brand new Kona Limited on 8/9/2021. As of today, the car has 132 miles on it so you can see I'm not a road runner. While still in the dealership, my salesperson could not get the Blue Link to register to me and promised me to keep working on it and get back to me. Not a word from anyone for several days so I attempted to register it myself. NO LUCK!! None of my information or even the vehicle itself was recognized through everything I did. I finally filled out an online form asking for assistance. Next day I get an email telling me to get it fixed through the dealer....they wouldn't do a thing. I called Hyundai customer service at that point and got a sympathetic CSR who promised to get a solution ASAP. I then called my salesperson and found out that they were having problems too but they hadn't even called Hyundai at that point. They promised to do so. Almost a week went by and I hadn't heard from anyone so I called Hyundai back and got the same song and dance about the dealership needs to solve it. At that point, I was pissed and refused to take no for an answer. The CSR promised to escalate the issue and re-opened my original ticket number for help. I called my salesperson back and found out that they had an open help ticket on it, too. It took a total of 3 weeks to get this issue solved and get me hooked up to Blue Link. Without Blue Link, the vehicle is not being monitored so imagine my surprise when I finally needed to drive the car and a warning message came up that there was an engine issue which meant a service call. I tried to use both the app and an online site to request an appointment but there was no area to copy/paste the information from the email I got from Blue Link so I decided to call but the dealership was already closed. The next day, 9/2/21, I called the service department and the phone rang and rang and rang. I finally got a recorded message that the service department could not answer my call and to leave a detailed message......which I did. Since the service department appeared to be open late that night, I figured I would get a call that evening......but no, nothing!! Next morning.....more nothing....early afternoon....still nothing. So I called back around the same time I had called the previous day and had the same experience....no answer and I left another message.....this one a bit more heated. I also called my salesperson with no answer for her phone and left another message. Well, today is Saturday and according to their website, they are open for business and I HAVE NOT HEARD A DAMNED THING FROM ANYONE!!! I decided to join a Kona Owners group after going through this and heard some horror stories about Blue Link problems including the car stopping while driving down the road....lucky for that person that they weren't on the freeway or busy road. I've also read about a recall that involves the 2 liter engine and what problems you could face with that. Numerous people reported that their engines needed to be replaced or worse yet, having to wait for parts to repair thing....for a month or more. I love driving this car.....it's fun.....but I am very sorry that despite all the research and talking to a friend that had one, that I leased this car. I was seeking the reliability of a new car and liked the fact that it had a long warranty and 3 years free maintenance but if you can't even get a return call from the service department, I'm back to having an expensive old piece of junk.
    Value
  • Build Quality
  • Reliability
  • Exterior
  • Interior
  • Features
  • Fun
  • Performance
  • Comfort
  • Styling

CA
gravatar
CHRISTOPHER A.
2022 Hyundai Kona
verified customer Verified Owner
Overall Rating 2.0/5Overall Rating 2.0/5Overall Rating 2.0/5Overall Rating 2.0/5Overall Rating 2.0/5
10/04/2021
Verified Review

vehicle issues compounded by dealership shifty ways

cruise will not hold speed, dealer has been unable to resolve the issue. Dealer has in the documentation that the car failed in calibration but still told us it was fixed. Dealer contacted Hyundai engineers and still issue is resolved. Loss of faith in Hyundai if their own engineers cant resolve this issue
    Value
  • Build Quality
  • Reliability
  • Exterior
  • Interior
  • Features
  • Fun
  • Performance
  • Comfort
  • Styling

CC
gravatar
Candice C.
2022 Hyundai Kona
verified customer Verified Owner
Overall Rating 2.0/5Overall Rating 2.0/5Overall Rating 2.0/5Overall Rating 2.0/5Overall Rating 2.0/5
12/10/2021
Verified Review

Stay away from 2022 model

Please steer clear of the newer model of these cars if you’re an iPhone user. The Bluetooth connection is broken and will not stay paired with your phone no matter now many times you try to fix it. My local Hyundai dealership also told me this is an “Apple issue” not a “Hyundai issue” and maybe I should buy a new phone that will work better with their broken system
    Value
  • Build Quality
  • Reliability
  • Exterior
  • Interior
  • Features
  • Fun
  • Performance
  • Comfort
  • Styling

JV
gravatar
JAMES V.
2022 Hyundai Kona
verified customer Verified Owner
Overall Rating 2.0/5Overall Rating 2.0/5Overall Rating 2.0/5Overall Rating 2.0/5Overall Rating 2.0/5
12/14/2021
Verified Review

Fuel injector noise, transmission noise, failed radiator with major leak.

I have never had so many problems with a brand new car. I am afraid to drive it. I love the concept. The transmission is sketchy, the coolant system is faulty, the fuel injection system is super noisy.
    Value
  • Build Quality
  • Reliability
  • Exterior
  • Interior
  • Features
  • Fun
  • Performance
  • Comfort
  • Styling

JV
gravatar
Jim V.
2022 Hyundai Kona
Overall Rating 2.0/5Overall Rating 2.0/5Overall Rating 2.0/5Overall Rating 2.0/5Overall Rating 2.0/5
12/14/2021

Noisy, transmission issues and leaks.

The fuel injectors make a super loud noise, the transmission moan when cold, especially downhill, and the radiator failed with a major leak. It is a new car and I am holding my breath to see what fails next.
    Value
  • Build Quality
  • Reliability
  • Exterior
  • Interior
  • Features
  • Fun
  • Performance
  • Comfort
  • Styling

PP
gravatar
PARTHIV P.
2022 Hyundai Kona
verified customer Verified Owner
Overall Rating 2.0/5Overall Rating 2.0/5Overall Rating 2.0/5Overall Rating 2.0/5Overall Rating 2.0/5
01/15/2022
Verified Review

Not happy

All the doors have to close twice including trunk, apple play don’t work smooth. Kona is for school going kids not college going. It’s good for skinny people not for heavy people. Overall I’m not happy with the vehicle, I’m going to return the vehicle.
    Value
  • Build Quality
  • Reliability
  • Exterior
  • Interior
  • Features
  • Fun
  • Performance
  • Comfort
  • Styling

DW
gravatar
DENISE W.
2022 Hyundai Kona
verified customer Verified Owner
Overall Rating 2.0/5Overall Rating 2.0/5Overall Rating 2.0/5Overall Rating 2.0/5Overall Rating 2.0/5
01/29/2022
Verified Review

Defective AC clutch and AC

I purchased this Kona to replace a Nissan. What a disappointment...I asked myself how is it possible for something like an AC to pass the quality control? Actually makes you think, where is the quality control at Hyundai? How is it possible that a brand new car comes out to the market like this? Later I learned that I was not the only one. Very disappointed. Will never buy a Hyundai again. That's all I can say
    Value
  • Build Quality
  • Reliability
  • Exterior
  • Interior
  • Features
  • Fun
  • Performance
  • Comfort
  • Styling

LK
gravatar
LUKE K.
2022 Hyundai Kona
verified customer Verified Owner
Overall Rating 2.0/5Overall Rating 2.0/5Overall Rating 2.0/5Overall Rating 2.0/5Overall Rating 2.0/5
05/17/2022
Verified Review

Total disappointment

Sometimes I wonder where those great reviews are coming from. After driving Honda for a very long time I, foolishly, tried Hyndai. This car is not build for Michigan roads. At 4,000 miles it feels like it is going to fall apart. Excessive engine noise, break noise, and other rattling noises coming from different places. small cargo area, difficulty getting in and out of that car, make me think what's next is going to happen.
    Value
  • Build Quality
  • Reliability
  • Exterior
  • Interior
  • Features
  • Fun
  • Performance
  • Comfort
  • Styling
Dakota H. responded on 05/17/2022 12:59 PM
We're very sorry to learn of your experience, Luke. We have created a case and assigned it to one of our corporate representatives, Karen, who will be in touch with you to further discuss your concerns. Thank you. ^cc

JB
gravatar
JENNIFER B.
2022 Hyundai Kona
verified customer Verified Owner
Overall Rating 2.0/5Overall Rating 2.0/5Overall Rating 2.0/5Overall Rating 2.0/5Overall Rating 2.0/5
05/24/2022
Verified Review

Need help

Sales people did not tell me I had to worry that my phone might not work with my car. Service said I should have checked that before buying the car. Phone connects and disconnects all the time dealership blames Hyundai USA.
    Value
  • Build Quality
  • Reliability
  • Exterior
  • Interior
  • Features
  • Fun
  • Performance
  • Comfort
  • Styling

LL
gravatar
Lisa L.
2022 Hyundai Kona
verified customer Verified Owner
Overall Rating 2.0/5Overall Rating 2.0/5Overall Rating 2.0/5Overall Rating 2.0/5Overall Rating 2.0/5
05/31/2022
Verified Review

I bought my second Kona and the problem I had wasn't addressed.

Seems like a good vehicle but the problem with the paint is a real concern. We have two other Hyundais and the paint issue is only a problem with the new one. I knew that I would have to pay sticker price because of COVID but I got stuck with a crappy paint job.
    Value
  • Build Quality
  • Reliability
  • Exterior
  • Interior
  • Features
  • Fun
  • Performance
  • Comfort
  • Styling
Dakota H. responded on 06/01/2022 06:35 AM
We're sorry to learn of your experience, Lisa. Please feel free to contact our customer care team at (800) 633-5151, and they would be happy to address any concerns you may have. Thank you. ^cc

BH
gravatar
Barbara H.
2022 Hyundai Kona
verified customer Verified Owner
Overall Rating 2.0/5Overall Rating 2.0/5Overall Rating 2.0/5Overall Rating 2.0/5Overall Rating 2.0/5
06/08/2022
Verified Review

Jerks when stop and than restart, engineer does not shut off When stopped for for a light

Jerking when stop and than restart, doesn’t happen all the time But it is very annoying and embarrassing with friends in the car And it jerks. Engine does not stop at a stop light or stop sign, works for a couple of days and than doesn’t work, doesn’t matter the kind if weather
    Value
  • Build Quality
  • Reliability
  • Exterior
  • Interior
  • Features
  • Fun
  • Performance
  • Comfort
  • Styling
Dakota H. responded on 06/09/2022 07:36 AM
We're sorry to learn of your experience, Barbara. Please know that we have created a case and assigned it to one of our corporate representatives who will be in touch with you to further discuss your concerns. Thank you. ^cc

JE
gravatar
JILL E.
2022 Hyundai Kona
verified customer Verified Owner
Overall Rating 2.0/5Overall Rating 2.0/5Overall Rating 2.0/5Overall Rating 2.0/5Overall Rating 2.0/5
06/11/2022
Verified Review

Disappointed

I am very disappointed at the design of this vehicle. The sunroof with the roof racks is pointless since it makes so much wind noise. The charging pad has already been repaired once at the dealership and it again does not work. The car jumps and surges if you accelerate from a rolling stop.
    Value
  • Build Quality
  • Reliability
  • Exterior
  • Interior
  • Features
  • Fun
  • Performance
  • Comfort
  • Styling

JL
gravatar
Joseph L.
2022 Hyundai Kona
verified customer Verified Owner
Overall Rating 2.0/5Overall Rating 2.0/5Overall Rating 2.0/5Overall Rating 2.0/5Overall Rating 2.0/5
07/15/2022
Verified Review

Overall quality is poor...............................................................................................................................................

car is NOT up to the standards of prior Hyundai purchases ....................................................................................... ........................................................................
    Value
  • Build Quality
  • Reliability
  • Exterior
  • Interior
  • Features
  • Fun
  • Performance
  • Comfort
  • Styling
Dakota H. responded on 07/15/2022 08:22 AM
We're sorry to learn of your experience, Joseph. If you're experiencing mechanical concerns, please feel free to contact our customer care team at (800) 633-5151, and they would be happy to address any concerns you may have. Thank you. ^cc

JV
gravatar
JULIE ANNE V.
2022 Hyundai Kona
verified customer Verified Owner
Overall Rating 2.0/5Overall Rating 2.0/5Overall Rating 2.0/5Overall Rating 2.0/5Overall Rating 2.0/5
07/30/2022
Verified Review

Cute car, but not great

I think the Kona is super cute, but the road noise and lack of power are hard to overlook. Cruise control does not keep speed on hills. A/C is not cold enough for Florida! Also the service at Werner Hyundai is absolutely aweful.
    Value
  • Build Quality
  • Reliability
  • Exterior
  • Interior
  • Features
  • Fun
  • Performance
  • Comfort
  • Styling
Dakota H. responded on 08/01/2022 08:08 AM
We're sorry to learn of your experience, Julie Anne. Please feel free to contact our customer care team at (800) 633-5151, and they would be happy to address any concerns you may have. Thank you. ^cc

Displaying reviews 21 - 40 of 1189 in total

Sponsored Dealer


  • Hyundai Dealer
  • Auto Repair
  • Auto Maintenance
Brandfon Hyundai
Overall Rating 4.7/5Overall Rating 4.7/5Overall Rating 4.7/5Overall Rating 4.7/5Overall Rating 4.7/5
4.7
(2136 Reviews)
Overall Rating 4.6/5Overall Rating 4.6/5Overall Rating 4.6/5Overall Rating 4.6/5Overall Rating 4.6/5
4.6
(136) ReScores