Business Solutions

2022 Hyundai Santa Cruz

Average Score

Overall Rating 4.7/5Overall Rating 4.7/5Overall Rating 4.7/5Overall Rating 4.7/5Overall Rating 4.7/5
4.7
(1337 Reviews)
Category Summary
(Avg. out of 10)
    Value
  • Features
  • Build Quality
  • Fun
  • Reliability
  • Performance
  • Exterior
  • Comfort
  • Interior
  • Styling

Reviews

Overall Rating 4.7/5Overall Rating 4.7/5Overall Rating 4.7/5Overall Rating 4.7/5Overall Rating 4.7/5
4.7
(1337 Reviews)

Reviews


RD
gravatar
ROGER D.
2022 Hyundai Santa Cruz
verified customer Verified Owner
Overall Rating 1.0/5Overall Rating 1.0/5Overall Rating 1.0/5Overall Rating 1.0/5Overall Rating 1.0/5
08/20/2022
Verified Review

Transmission Out after 1300 miles

Loved the truck for the 28 days I got to drive it. Transmission went out while sitting at a stop light in busy traffic on a hill. It’s been at the dealer repair now over two months with excuse after excuse and delay after delay to get the new transmission in for replacement. I’ve made three car payments since they have had it with no eta on when I’ll get it back and no assistance on payments or anything other than I got a rental car.
    Value
  • Build Quality
  • Reliability
  • Exterior
  • Interior
  • Features
  • Fun
  • Performance
  • Comfort
  • Styling
Dakota H. responded on 08/22/2022 06:59 AM
We're sorry to learn of your experience, Roger. We have forwarded your survey to your case manager, as well as their supervisor, and they will be in touch with you to further discuss your situation. Thank you. ^cc

MB
gravatar
MICHAEL B.
2022 Hyundai Santa Cruz
verified customer Verified Owner
Overall Rating 1.0/5Overall Rating 1.0/5Overall Rating 1.0/5Overall Rating 1.0/5Overall Rating 1.0/5
09/02/2022
Verified Review

So much promise, terrible DCT reliability, and even worse repair times

https://www.santacruzforums.com/threads/who-has-two-thumbs-just-had-a-transmission-failure-and-is-stuck-on-the-side-of-the-highway.10883/ Aside from the obvious issues with reliability, I’m otherwise fine with the Santa Cruz. I don’t know if I’ll ever be able to trust it on a long trip with the potential of the transmission killing itself again.
    Value
  • Build Quality
  • Reliability
  • Exterior
  • Interior
  • Features
  • Fun
  • Performance
  • Comfort
  • Styling
Dakota H. responded on 09/06/2022 08:41 AM
Thank you for providing your feedback, Michael. For any future product concerns, please feel free to contact our customer care team at (800) 633-5151, and they would be happy to address any concerns you may have. Thank you.

EM
gravatar
Emanuel M.
2022 Hyundai Santa Cruz
verified customer Verified Owner
Overall Rating 1.0/5Overall Rating 1.0/5Overall Rating 1.0/5Overall Rating 1.0/5Overall Rating 1.0/5
11/15/2022
Verified Review

Horrible transmission

The vehicle is fun to drive but there is wrong with the transmission where when changing from reverse to drive it stays in reverse. The sound is also terrible even with the “premium” option. The fuel tank is so small you will have a 280 to 300 mile range.
    Value
  • Build Quality
  • Reliability
  • Exterior
  • Interior
  • Features
  • Fun
  • Performance
  • Comfort
  • Styling
Hyundai Motor America NCC responded on 11/15/2022 08:58 AM
Thank you for sharing your concerns with us. A specialist from our Headquarters will be in touch with you to investigate further. ^cc

PW
gravatar
Parker W.
2022 Hyundai Santa Cruz
verified customer Verified Owner
Overall Rating 1.0/5Overall Rating 1.0/5Overall Rating 1.0/5Overall Rating 1.0/5Overall Rating 1.0/5
11/23/2022
Verified Review

Forced into Buying

Worst purchase I ever made. I hate this truck. Your leasing department forced me into a new vehicle when I wanted to buy my Kona. I will not be getting Hyundai again anytime soon. I miss my Kona and hate the Santa Cruz
    Value
  • Build Quality
  • Reliability
  • Exterior
  • Interior
  • Features
  • Fun
  • Performance
  • Comfort
  • Styling
Hyundai Motor America NCC responded on 11/23/2022 01:31 PM
We would like to contact you to discuss your concerns further, please contact our customer connect center at (800) 633-5151. Thank you ^cc

JD
gravatar
JOSHUA D.
2022 Hyundai Santa Cruz
verified customer Verified Owner
Overall Rating 1.0/5Overall Rating 1.0/5Overall Rating 1.0/5Overall Rating 1.0/5Overall Rating 1.0/5
12/10/2022
Verified Review

I’ve had many issues with my 2022 Santa Cruz.

Wishing the first 2 weeks a control module went out and I had no heat in the middle of winter then the vehicle broke down 29 days after purchasing the vehicle and sat at the shop for 4 months. Also 2 months after I receive my car back the head gasket blew and I had multiple cylinders misfiring.
    Value
  • Build Quality
  • Reliability
  • Exterior
  • Interior
  • Features
  • Fun
  • Performance
  • Comfort
  • Styling
Hyundai Motor America NCC responded on 12/12/2022 02:05 PM
We would like to get involved to examine your claim further. A specialist will contact you shortly. Thank you. ^cc

SP
gravatar
SRINIVAS-SRIKA P.
2022 Hyundai Santa Cruz
verified customer Verified Owner
Overall Rating 1.0/5Overall Rating 1.0/5Overall Rating 1.0/5Overall Rating 1.0/5Overall Rating 1.0/5
12/31/2022
Verified Review

Keep troubling

Feels like I bought a used old car. Wast of money and time. Not sure, what I face in future………………………………………………/..//./…………::…..//…………………………………………:…………………………………………………………………./………………///……………..
    Value
  • Build Quality
  • Reliability
  • Exterior
  • Interior
  • Features
  • Fun
  • Performance
  • Comfort
  • Styling
Dakota H. responded on 01/02/2023 07:48 AM
We're very sorry to learn of your experience. Please feel free to contact our customer care team at (800) 633-5151, and they would be happy to look into your situation further. Thank you. ^cc

KH
gravatar
KIMBERLY H.
2022 Hyundai Santa Cruz
verified customer Verified Owner
Overall Rating 1.0/5Overall Rating 1.0/5Overall Rating 1.0/5Overall Rating 1.0/5Overall Rating 1.0/5
01/30/2023
Verified Review

Hate it

Apple car play and door panels replaced within first 3 months dealership didnt believe me that the apple car play didn’t work. Needed 2nd phone to record the issues to prove got lost several times during this time dropped calls daily
    Value
  • Build Quality
  • Reliability
  • Exterior
  • Interior
  • Features
  • Fun
  • Performance
  • Comfort
  • Styling
Dakota H. responded on 01/30/2023 02:35 PM
We're very sorry to learn of your experience, Kimberly. Please feel free to contact our customer care team at (800) 633-5151, and they would be happy to address any concerns you may have. Thank you. ^cc

ZG
gravatar
ZACHARY G.
2022 Hyundai Santa Cruz
verified customer Verified Owner
Overall Rating 2.0/5Overall Rating 2.0/5Overall Rating 2.0/5Overall Rating 2.0/5Overall Rating 2.0/5
02/19/2022
Verified Review

Oy buy the high-end model or choose something else

I would like to update this review in the next few months. I overall love this vehicle its failed me in the first 4 months of ownership. I spent alot of money on it N 8k in repairs because I slid into an ice mound. I wish I could've afforded the highest end model to prevent the issue from occurring. I have alot to say reachout if you wish
    Value
  • Build Quality
  • Reliability
  • Exterior
  • Interior
  • Features
  • Fun
  • Performance
  • Comfort
  • Styling

DL
gravatar
DANIEL L.
2022 Hyundai Santa Cruz
verified customer Verified Owner
Overall Rating 2.0/5Overall Rating 2.0/5Overall Rating 2.0/5Overall Rating 2.0/5Overall Rating 2.0/5
03/21/2022
Verified Review

Mixed emotions

It took several months to get my Cruz and dealt with massively inflated prices within a 250 radius of Knoxville. $10k, $8k, and $4k over sticker due to availability (price gouging opportunity) and all the the Santa Cruz have dents in the rear passenger doors. It must be an imperfection in the molds but it’s there. I looked at three Santa Cruz’s that came in. I had to put a $500 deposit just get one of the three at $4000 over sticker and all three had the dents. My interior after the first month has rattles, I drive primarily on two lane highways 55mph so no excessive bumps. Right now I have paper jammed in the light on the overhead console because the rattle is so distracting. This vehicle was said to get 27 mpg… No, not even close. 23 if it’s not windy, I can get 23 out of a Jeep Gladiator with a 6 cylinder. I’m older I don’t drive aggressively, this is just sickening. Towing… if you can get everything you need is the first problem. The receiver isn’t an option for the inflated advertising of towing 5k lbs. Since it’s a DEALER installed option it’s $948!! That’s only a 4-pole (pin) wiring harness so you can’t legally or safely pull ANYTHING without a 7-pin wiring for trailer brakes (this isn’t an option or available). THEREFORE, you can only pull about 1500-1700lbs just using the vehicle brakes. Since there is no 7-pin through Hyundai, if you can try to get a Kia dealer to sell you one for a Tellride (they won’t do it unless you have a VIN#). So at this point 1500-1700 is what you get.
    Value
  • Build Quality
  • Reliability
  • Exterior
  • Interior
  • Features
  • Fun
  • Performance
  • Comfort
  • Styling

JH
gravatar
JARED H.
2022 Hyundai Santa Cruz
verified customer Verified Owner
Overall Rating 2.0/5Overall Rating 2.0/5Overall Rating 2.0/5Overall Rating 2.0/5Overall Rating 2.0/5
03/22/2022
Verified Review

Amazing vehicle, aside from transmission issues.

We purchased our 2022 Santa Cruz SEL Premium 2.5T new in February of 2022, and I want to preface this review with the fact that aside from the issues I've had thus far with the transmission I absolutely love everything else about the vehicle. During the first 600 miles or so it was free of issues and drove quite nice, plenty of power and the 8-speed DCT shifted smoothly. Soon after I was driving in a light snowstorm and had it in snow mode and attempted to pull out from a gas station, from a steady start (just over 1/4 throttle) RPMs shot over 7000 and had to completely let off the gas and wait before the car acted normal again. Since then things have just gotten worse with stickier shifts and essentially waiting for the transmission to engage properly before applying gas, basically driving on eggshells. The two worst scenarios were the transmission failing to shift when applying the brakes and almost flying into a (different) gas station parking lot from a slight downhill descent, and also getting locked at 2000 RPM (no shifting from gas pedal input) while going 50 MPH that didn't stop until I pulled over and had to aggressively apply the brakes in order to release the transmission. This 8-speed DCT is either a dud in our vehicle or just plain unrefined, and it's sad because everything else about the vehicle is fantastic. I can't recommend this engine and transmission setup in this vehicle until hyundai addresses it, stick with the 2.5L engine and the cvt if your still up for buying one.
    Value
  • Build Quality
  • Reliability
  • Exterior
  • Interior
  • Features
  • Fun
  • Performance
  • Comfort
  • Styling
NationalCA - List responded on 03/23/2022 07:24 AM
Hello, Jared. Thank you for providing your feedback. We have notified your case manager and documented your review within your case. Thank you. ^cc

JV
gravatar
JOBANY V.
2022 Hyundai Santa Cruz
verified customer Verified Owner
Overall Rating 2.0/5Overall Rating 2.0/5Overall Rating 2.0/5Overall Rating 2.0/5Overall Rating 2.0/5
05/04/2022
Verified Review

The vehicle looks nice, but reliability is questionable

I purchased the vehicle about one month ago and it's spent over 13 days in service. I've had to take it twice for service in less than a month for a brand new vehicle. The dealership is garbage and this puts the entire brand into question. Too bad, because the car looks nice.
    Value
  • Build Quality
  • Reliability
  • Exterior
  • Interior
  • Features
  • Fun
  • Performance
  • Comfort
  • Styling

KT
gravatar
KRISTEN T.
2022 Hyundai Santa Cruz
verified customer Verified Owner
Overall Rating 2.0/5Overall Rating 2.0/5Overall Rating 2.0/5Overall Rating 2.0/5Overall Rating 2.0/5
06/08/2022
Verified Review

The dream car that crushed them

Had this car for less then a month and has thrown every warning light and tells me to power of in natural and restart the car twice!!! Also a bad strut already!! This is insane it had 14miles on it when I got it
    Value
  • Build Quality
  • Reliability
  • Exterior
  • Interior
  • Features
  • Fun
  • Performance
  • Comfort
  • Styling
Dakota H. responded on 06/08/2022 12:41 PM
We're terribly sorry to learn of your experience, Kristen. We have documented your survey and passed along your communications to your case manager. Thank you. ^cc

MC
gravatar
MARTA C.
2022 Hyundai Santa Cruz
verified customer Verified Owner
Overall Rating 2.0/5Overall Rating 2.0/5Overall Rating 2.0/5Overall Rating 2.0/5Overall Rating 2.0/5
07/07/2022
Verified Review

IT WAS ALL OKAY UNTIL NOW THAT I HAVE STILL NOT RECEIVED MY MISSING PART

IT WAS ALL OKAY UNTIL NOW THAT I HAVE STILL NOT RECEIVED MY MISSING PART. THE VEHICLE OVERALL IS A GREAT VEHICLE. I JUST WISH THE DEALERSHIP COULD HAVE BEEN MORE HELPFUL IN REPLACING WHAT IS MISSING ITS BEEN ABOUT 4 MONTHS AND I STILL HAVE NOT HEARD BACK FROM THEM. I CALLED SEVERAL TIMES AND I KEEP GETTING TOLD THE PART IS IN BACK ORDER BECAUSE THE VEHICLE IS A NEW MODEL
    Value
  • Build Quality
  • Reliability
  • Exterior
  • Interior
  • Features
  • Fun
  • Performance
  • Comfort
  • Styling
Dakota H. responded on 07/07/2022 09:05 AM
Hello, Martha. We're sorry to learn of your experience. Please feel free to contact our customer care team at (800) 633-5151, and they would be happy to address your concerns. Thank you. ^cc

NK
gravatar
NUMAN K.
2022 Hyundai Santa Cruz
verified customer Verified Owner
Overall Rating 2.0/5Overall Rating 2.0/5Overall Rating 2.0/5Overall Rating 2.0/5Overall Rating 2.0/5
07/26/2022
Verified Review

Hyundai Santa Cruz Fuel consumption

I have tis car for almost three months. I am planning to change it because of the high fuel consumption. It is around 18mpg in city which is less than what the sticker on the vehicle says. Built quality, style and driving is fine but fuel consumption is bad.
    Value
  • Build Quality
  • Reliability
  • Exterior
  • Interior
  • Features
  • Fun
  • Performance
  • Comfort
  • Styling

SS
gravatar
SANDY S.
2022 Hyundai Santa Cruz
verified customer Verified Owner
Overall Rating 2.0/5Overall Rating 2.0/5Overall Rating 2.0/5Overall Rating 2.0/5Overall Rating 2.0/5
07/26/2022
Verified Review

Suspension noise

loud hard clunking from suspension under slightly rough roads. I paid over 48k for this truck and it should tight and silent in that department. Other than that ok, but I find this very annoying and ruins the overall experience.
    Value
  • Build Quality
  • Reliability
  • Exterior
  • Interior
  • Features
  • Fun
  • Performance
  • Comfort
  • Styling
Dakota H. responded on 07/26/2022 09:00 AM
We're sorry to learn of your experience, Sandy. We have created a case and assigned it to one of our corporate representatives. They will be in touch with you to further discuss your concerns. Thank you. ^cc

DK
gravatar
Douglas K.
2022 Hyundai Santa Cruz
Overall Rating 2.0/5Overall Rating 2.0/5Overall Rating 2.0/5Overall Rating 2.0/5Overall Rating 2.0/5
07/27/2022

Issue with engine light claiming cooling issue. Replaced sensor but didn't fix. Returned vehicle under lemon law. Overall, the engine was not putting out enough power. Sluggish..

Issue with sensor light showing engine issues. Cooling system issues with watning light signal. In shop 3 times. Mechanics replaced sensor (8 weeks waiting for part). Lemon law utilized and vehicle returned. There are issues with this vehicle that are happening but not yet reported. Time will reveal production problems.
    Value
  • Build Quality
  • Reliability
  • Exterior
  • Interior
  • Features
  • Fun
  • Performance
  • Comfort
  • Styling

CL
gravatar
CHRISTOPHER L.
2022 Hyundai Santa Cruz
verified customer Verified Owner
Overall Rating 2.0/5Overall Rating 2.0/5Overall Rating 2.0/5Overall Rating 2.0/5Overall Rating 2.0/5
09/13/2022
Verified Review

Unhappy

This car suffers from a faulty transmission at less than 1000 miles. Dealership claims they can't diagnose the problem even though it is a known issue. I went from a perfectly good paid for older car to a new car with high payments that I can't trust. Truly disappointing.
    Value
  • Build Quality
  • Reliability
  • Exterior
  • Interior
  • Features
  • Fun
  • Performance
  • Comfort
  • Styling
Hyundai Motor America NCC responded on 09/19/2022 02:18 PM
Thank you for sharing your concerns with us. A specialist from our Headquarters will be in touch with you to investigate further. ^cc

SC
gravatar
SHARON C.
2022 Hyundai Santa Cruz
verified customer Verified Owner
Overall Rating 2.0/5Overall Rating 2.0/5Overall Rating 2.0/5Overall Rating 2.0/5Overall Rating 2.0/5
09/16/2022
Verified Review

High Priced Trash

A customer shouldn't have to be bothered with engine issues after driving off the lot with a brand new car. Minor issues is one thing. Your engine (and transmission) is the life of any vehicle. The overall design and look is awesome. But the what's important is the longevity of it's power systems.
    Value
  • Build Quality
  • Reliability
  • Exterior
  • Interior
  • Features
  • Fun
  • Performance
  • Comfort
  • Styling

DB
gravatar
DEREK B.
2022 Hyundai Santa Cruz
verified customer Verified Owner
Overall Rating 2.0/5Overall Rating 2.0/5Overall Rating 2.0/5Overall Rating 2.0/5Overall Rating 2.0/5
10/16/2022
Verified Review

Looks Fantastic, Not Worth It

Transmission, Height, Rear Window, all nightmares, Be prepared to use you warranty, 1,500 miles and I want to trade it in already. Definitely not what I expected l, maybe Hyundai Isn’t right for me. 2 more characters
    Value
  • Build Quality
  • Reliability
  • Exterior
  • Interior
  • Features
  • Fun
  • Performance
  • Comfort
  • Styling
Hyundai Motor America NCC responded on 10/17/2022 02:45 PM
We would like to get involved to examine your claim further. A specialist will contact you shortly. Thank you. ^cc

KA
gravatar
KACI A.
2022 Hyundai Santa Cruz
verified customer Verified Owner
Overall Rating 2.0/5Overall Rating 2.0/5Overall Rating 2.0/5Overall Rating 2.0/5Overall Rating 2.0/5
10/21/2022
Verified Review

Outdated

Not worth over 40k. I should have never traded my Tucson. Cheaply made, outdated, not enough room for car seat comfortably, manual seats, no seat memory, should have wireless CarPlay, and much more updated features to be that expensive. The Tucson was way better and I miss it.
    Value
  • Build Quality
  • Reliability
  • Exterior
  • Interior
  • Features
  • Fun
  • Performance
  • Comfort
  • Styling

Displaying reviews 21 - 40 of 1316 in total

Sponsored Dealer


  • Hyundai Dealer
  • Auto Repair
  • Auto Maintenance
Coastal Hyundai
Overall Rating 4.8/5Overall Rating 4.8/5Overall Rating 4.8/5Overall Rating 4.8/5Overall Rating 4.8/5
4.8
(9273 Reviews)
Overall Rating 4.8/5Overall Rating 4.8/5Overall Rating 4.8/5Overall Rating 4.8/5Overall Rating 4.8/5
4.8
(495) ReScores