2016
Hyundai
Sonata Plug-In Hybrid

Overall Rating 4.7/5Overall Rating 4.7/5Overall Rating 4.7/5Overall Rating 4.7/5rating 4.7
4.7
(61 Reviews)
Latest review 7 months ago
Category Summary (Avg. out of 10)
  • Value
  • Features
  • Build Quality
  • Fun
  • Reliability
  • Performance
  • Exterior
  • Comfort
  • Interior
  • Styling

SB
STEPHEN B.
2016 Hyundai Sonata Plug-In Hybrid
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
03/31/2019
Our new Sonata Plug-in Hybrid
We wanted a Plug-in Hybrid that would qualify for the HOV lane stickers and could be used in the HOV lanes with the driver only in the vehicle! We commute 100 plus miles daily in Southern California highways and was important to get to appointments on time without sitting in stop and go traffic during commuting hours! Our Sonata is very comfortable and quiet making our driving experience much less stressful on our daily commutes.

Pros
The car has been mostly a pleasure to drive and the fuel economy has been incredible!

Cons
It has had problems with the Navigation and Infotainment system since the day it was new! Many attempts have been made to correct the problems. It is better after the last trip to the dealer but still has intermittent failures! The drivers seat belt retractor is starting to not return properly.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

BZ
BLAS Z.
2016 Hyundai Sonata Plug-In Hybrid
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
02/26/2019
awesome car
Its the great mileage that I gotten with since I traded the old car and most of it great ride and look awesome color, exterior and interior and when you come with something better that what I have now I will wait in line to get a new one.

Pros
looks good overall

Cons
none at this time

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

TL
Tim L.
2016 Hyundai Sonata Plug-In Hybrid
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 1/5rating 1rating 1rating 1rating 1
01/08/2019
Unreliable Sonata Plug-in Hybrid-
2016 Sonato Plug-in hybrid. At less than 10,00 miles was in shop in San Diego for two months. Unable to figure out how to fix the car. Dealership in Tempe has no Plug-in certified mechanic. Car is now at 15,000 miles and has been in the shop five time for Plug-in issues.

Cons
Dealerships do not have mechanics to work on Plug-in hybrids

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

DH
Diane H.
2016 Hyundai Sonata Plug-In Hybrid
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
12/23/2018
a 2016 sonata plug-in
I still have not figured out all the bells and whistles this car has. the bad is the ride. my wife takes a cup of coffee with her in the morning, in the lexus the cup is still full when she reaches the first cross street; cannot say the same for her sonata.

Pros
It is the same size as my lexus es330 length wise and I think the rear seat has more room

Cons
my 12 volt battery went dead, with no warning and it was plugged in over night

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

AD
ALVIN D.
2016 Hyundai Sonata Plug-In Hybrid
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
12/15/2018
Keeps me away from gas stations
I have gone as long as three weeks before visiting a gas station. I drive at least 200 miles every week and have averaged almost eighty miles per gallon when weather is perfect. On trips to pick up medications I don’t get out of the car and keep the interior cool for my companion. Even if it is 100 f outside I am comfortable. I really am happy I selected this car.

Pros
Excellent mileage with power to climb mountains.

Cons
Difficult gas cap

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

VV
VAN V.
2016 Hyundai Sonata Plug-In Hybrid
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
10/04/2018
Awesome Automobile
I live in the upper midwest and when I purchased this auto in 2016, they were only be sold on the coast. Now they are availI was concerned about cabin warmth in winter and performance in winter. What I have found out is the electric feature is used less in the winter, because the engine kicks in to warm up the cabin just like my previous cars. When cabin is warm it seemlessly switches to battery and you can't hear it or feel it when it happens. Amazing technology. Driving on the interstate at 80 miles per hour for about 200 miles, i got 50 miles per gallon economy (first 30 miles on battery and then hybrid tecnology). We live within 12 miles of a major city and the battery can take us round trip using no gas. Electricity is soooo much cheaper than gas per mile driven. This is an awesome vehicle no matter where you live, but if you live in town and only take daily short trips, you may not be stopping to get gas. I have heard of people putting on 4000 miles and still be on their original tank of gas. I also find that I can use a standard outlet in my house to charge car overnight when my electricity is cheaper. It takes about 8 hours to charge the car, unless you have a charger in your home and I believe then it takes one to three hours, depending on the charger. When the car isn't charged I get just under 40 miles per gallon as a hybrid vehicle. If you want to make your contribution to air quality and save money on fuel, this is a wonderful option.

Pros
I believe the technology on this car is very advanced. Actually the value for the money is very good with the $5000 rebate from the federal government. That brings the price down to close to a similar equipped hybrid. Without the rebate, you can buy lots of gas for the difference in price.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

T.
2016 Hyundai Sonata Plug-In Hybrid
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
08/31/2018
RK_180831
Very Happy with this vehicle.xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx

Pros
Fuel Efficiency

Cons
EV range is minimally acceptable

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

AF
Anne F.
2016 Hyundai Sonata Plug-In Hybrid
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
07/17/2018
Love it!
Here are the downsides first: no front bumper sensors, nose is super low, which makes the lack of front sensors even more of a big miss on design. Also, vehicle is a little bigger than I’d like (long for garage)
Upsides: I typically get 35 miles off a charge, and love that I rarely need to fill my gas tank; the comfort of this ride is amazing
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

RS
Raman S.
2016 Hyundai Sonata Plug-In Hybrid
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
06/06/2018
My Sonata Hybrid Plug in
I am very impressed with the performance of my Sonata Hybrid Plug in. Smooth riding and reasonably good handling.Exterior deign is attractive. Interior is nice. Easy to get in and out.Instrument cluster is easy to manage.

Pros
Good styling.

Cons
Temp control is a bit confusing.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JB
John B.
2016 Hyundai Sonata Plug-In Hybrid
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
06/02/2018
Months between fill ups
This vehicle has exceeded my expectations. After nearly two years, I'm still getting close to 27 miles per charge, and most of my driving is local. I've gone as much as 5 months between fill ups. It's comfortable and the safety features in backing up or changing lanes have worked well. It's comfortable and I've enjoyed using apple CarPlay, a nice add. Astounding mileage when on trips for a car this side, which is roomer and a bit better than my Camry Hybrid - definitely a more refined, safer vehicle, and if you live in an area not dominated by coal fired power plants, great for the environment. I did have a hiccup on warranty service because the dealer was inexperienced with unique aspects of the plug in.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

RB
Rebecca B.
2016 Hyundai Sonata Plug-In Hybrid
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
06/01/2018
Hyundai Sonata plugin rocks
I love my Sonata plug in. I always wanted an electric car and drove a Leaf for three years. I didn't particularly like the way the Leaf looked and the lack of range was a constant source of anxiety. There were times I could not drive it because it just did not have the range to get me where I wanted to go. I decided to trade it and began a search. When I found the Sonata plug in, I was surprised that it actually looked like a normal car and wasn't weird looking like the Leaf or other plugins. It is perfect for me. I can drive it as an electric car around town and when I need to go on a longer trip, I can drive it as a hybrid electric vehicle. Best of both worlds. And it is roomy, comfortable, has a great stereo, navigation, Android Auto and excellent safety features. And did I mention that it is beautiful to look at?

Pros
Looks great
safety features
comfortable ride

Cons
I wish it had more electric range

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

UW
Ulrich W.
2016 Hyundai Sonata Plug-In Hybrid
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
05/29/2018
Solid, very good quality car, excellent fuel economy
The 2016 Hyundai Sonata Plug-in Hybrid is a solid car. It gets good fuel economy and offers high quality backed up by excellent warranty. Its downsides are related to its performance. When accelerating the reaction is delayed and when the power finally kicks in tends to be over accelerated.

Pros
- Spacious interior
- Excellent quality and warranty coverage
- Very fuel-efficient

Cons
Not very agile or nippy. Has a delay in reacting to acceleration. Perhaps that comes with a plug-in hybrid.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JC
James C.
2016 Hyundai Sonata Plug-In Hybrid
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
05/24/2018
2016 sonata Plug in hybrid limited
Love it. Only filling gas about once a month. Getting 1000mi before needing a fill up. Using it as a commuter car for work. 46 miles round trip. If it was able to get a battery upgrade to do 50 miles on electric it was be perfect. Right now it’s close to perfect with 25 miles on battery power. Definitely recommend it. Drives great. Electronics and features a plenty. Auto braking in case of emergency would be appreciated as well. Seems like it could be a software upgrade to the adaptive cruise control.

Pros
25 miles all electric

Cons
Only 25 miles on all electric. And delay in acceleration from stop.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

ET
Edward T.
2016 Hyundai Sonata Plug-In Hybrid
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
05/17/2018
My excellent Plug In Sonata!
This is a great great vehicle! Very comfortable, runs excellent and looks terrific! I have never had a hybrid car before but this is a very special vehicle. We love it and will not give it up for any other vehicle. With the long warranty we expect to keep it for many many years.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

TO
Talisha O.
2016 Hyundai Sonata Plug-In Hybrid
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
03/31/2018
Love my Hyundai Hybrid Plug-In
I have a 2016 Hyundai Sonata Hybrid Plug-In. This is my first hybrid car, and I am loving it. The ability to charge at work makes it a dream. The car runs well and accelerates pretty easily. I love all the details I can get on the car, right inside my car. The features are well worth the money. The car has Apple Car Play which I use everyday. The sound quality from the speakers is balanced and sounds great. I love my car!

Pros
Plug-In ability
Plenty of room in the trunk
Spacious car
High-tech feel

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

DL
Deborah L.
2016 Hyundai Sonata Plug-In Hybrid
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
03/30/2018
Love my car!!
My Sonata is a great car! First it is beautiful! The ride is smooth and gas milage is unbelievable!!! I haven't had any issues with the car aside from a small problem with the fuel tank lid releasing when I go to get fuel. The one thing that I don't like is that when you put the car in park, the doors automatically unlock. I realize this is a convenience feature but I think it is unsafe. At night or in certain areas, I want the doors to stay locked until I am ready to get out of the car. Also, when I get into the car, sometimes I immediately lock the doors, and the locks pop open right away again! This feature doesn't work for me but maybe there is a way to turn that feature off in my car and I just haven't found it yet.
My car is a hybrid, plug in so the only other negative for me is the small trunk. It is very limiting as to how much can fit.
Otherwise, my car is perfect!! I love it!!!
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

SS
Sheida S.
2016 Hyundai Sonata Plug-In Hybrid
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
03/19/2018
Repair
It has been pleasure owing my 2016 Sonata plug-in. It drives great and gives me best of both world of range (25 Miles on Battery) and gas engine. I put gas once a month in this car and it is comfortable and has excellent handling. First time owning a Huyndai and I love it.

Pros
love the comfort and stuyle.

Cons
Expected a bit more engine performance

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

CH
Courtney H.
2016 Hyundai Sonata Plug-In Hybrid
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
02/28/2018
Love my plug in!
After being stuck with a VW diesel Passat, I had no idea what car to buy after the buyback. I was disappointed and irritated to get into a new car because it meant, a new car payment. I knew I wanted something Earth friendly. We did a ton of research and test drive every single plug in out there that wasn’t too expsensive. Tesla’s are too expensive for this school teacher. When we test drove the Hyundai Sonata plug in I knew it was the car I wanted. It has all the luxury bells and whistles like seat warmers and even a warming steering wheel! It had a lot of trunk space for the comparable plug ins and even passed our fitting a stroller test. It also accommodated a rear facing car seat comfortably, meaning whoever sat up front wasn’t smashed against the windshield. We get 25 - 30 miles on a charge and our daily commute is 29 miles. We are able to plug in at work at a regular outlet so we essentially use 0 gas on a work day unless running the heater or AC. We LOVE our sonata and couldn’t be happier with all it has to offer. We have owned it for 1 year and only filled up the tank about 10 times. (It already has 20,000) miles on it so you can’t beat that. I recommend it to anyone who asks. It is a great car and I plan on driving it until the wheels fall off.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

KN
Khanh N.
2016 Hyundai Sonata Plug-In Hybrid
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
02/08/2018
Well design, economical family car
Spacious passenger room. Trunk is small due to battery., but still useful.
Controls are well laid out and simple.
The hesitation of the engine starting from stand still detracts from an otherwise excellent car.

Pros
Spacious and well laid out interior. Reliable.
Simple controls.

Cons
Car hesitates when starting from stand still

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JC
James C.
2016 Hyundai Sonata Plug-In Hybrid
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
01/08/2018
Love it
It’s been a little over a month and so far it’s been great. Drives great. Handles great. Love all the options and mileage I get. Great looking car. Would love to see more mileage out of the plug in battery. There’s a little hesitation starting off the line but that’s not too bad with all the other things I love about it.

Pros
High mileage. Styling. Features. Easy to use infotainment system. Loaded with safety features.

Cons
Hesitation off the line and when punching it. Plug in mileage only 25 miles on ev. Trunk space diminished by battery and rear seats don’t fold down. No awd option. No spare tire.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling
Displaying reviews 1 - 20 of 61 in total