Business Solutions

2017 Hyundai Sonata Plug-In Hybrid

Average Score

Overall Rating 4.8/5Overall Rating 4.8/5Overall Rating 4.8/5Overall Rating 4.8/5Overall Rating 4.8/5
4.8
(54 Reviews)
Category Summary
(Avg. out of 10)
    Value
  • Features
  • Build Quality
  • Fun
  • Reliability
  • Performance
  • Exterior
  • Comfort
  • Interior
  • Styling

Reviews

Overall Rating 4.8/5Overall Rating 4.8/5Overall Rating 4.8/5Overall Rating 4.8/5Overall Rating 4.8/5
4.8
(54 Reviews)

GT
gravatar
GRAYCE T.
2017 Hyundai Sonata Plug-In Hybrid
verified customer Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
07/29/2020
Verified Review

I recommend my car to everyone

I love my car! Lots of people come up to me to ask about it and I rave about the mileage and the smooth driving. It is fun to drive, the stereo system and Bluetooth are super handy. All around its the best car I've ever owned.
    Value
  • Build Quality
  • Reliability
  • Exterior
  • Interior
  • Features
  • Fun
  • Performance
  • Comfort
  • Styling

SS
gravatar
SCYNTHIA S.
2017 Hyundai Sonata Plug-In Hybrid
verified customer Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
05/13/2020
Verified Review

Best car I’ve ever had in my 30 plus years of driving.

What makes this car the best is that it quite inside and out. Add the extra leg room front and back seat makes this car great for long commutes with getting on average 44 miles to the gallon with the hybrid option. I love this car.
    Value
  • Build Quality
  • Reliability
  • Exterior
  • Interior
  • Features
  • Fun
  • Performance
  • Comfort
  • Styling

GG
gravatar
GEOFFREY G.
2017 Hyundai Sonata Plug-In Hybrid
verified customer Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5
11/13/2019
Verified Review

Solid if not exciting overall

Solid transportation. Reliable, relatively comfortable, nice looking. Seats could be better. Some interior materials could be better, especially the dashboard. Leaks a little oil, which is crazy for a new car these days. Makes a weird noise when you brake (part of regenerative system but annoying) awesomely quiet and composed. Not so composed at higher speeds on crappy CA highways. Interstate it is a touring beast once the roads are smoother.
    Value
  • Build Quality
  • Reliability
  • Exterior
  • Interior
  • Features
  • Fun
  • Performance
  • Comfort
  • Styling

WS
gravatar
William S.
2017 Hyundai Sonata Plug-In Hybrid
verified customer Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
11/05/2019
Verified Review

Hyundai Sonata Plug-In Hybrid

At 15K vehicle has performed as advertised; variety of safety features were unexpected bonus; all aspects of car (excluding trunk space) are well done; hybrid/electric features have enabled very low gasoline usage; suspension and interior features make long distance driving comfortable.
    Value
  • Build Quality
  • Reliability
  • Exterior
  • Interior
  • Features
  • Fun
  • Performance
  • Comfort
  • Styling

LJ
gravatar
Lisa J.
2017 Hyundai Sonata Plug-In Hybrid
verified customer Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
08/04/2019
Verified Review

Hyundai sonata plug-in hybrid

The Hyundai Sonata plug-in hybrid is all I had imagined. It is smooth quiet in electric mode and provides electric power for a trip to work and back with a few miles left over if I use the gas motor on the highway. It the electric is used up, the gas engine takes over and is noisy on acceleration. A few more miles of electric power and a quieter, yet slightly stronger gas engine would be a plus especially if I had errands to do after work.
    Value
  • Build Quality
  • Reliability
  • Exterior
  • Interior
  • Features
  • Fun
  • Performance
  • Comfort
  • Styling

JP
gravatar
JESSE P.
2017 Hyundai Sonata Plug-In Hybrid
verified customer Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
07/27/2019
Verified Review

Comfortable, stylish, affordable, reliable, great gas mileage

We love our Hyundai Sonata Plug-in Hybrid. It has plenty of interior legroom and headroom for my 6'5" husband and is a very comfortable, quiet, and economical car. We almost never need to actually get gas, but the gas engine is nice to have for longer trips.
    Value
  • Build Quality
  • Reliability
  • Exterior
  • Interior
  • Features
  • Fun
  • Performance
  • Comfort
  • Styling

JP
gravatar
Joseph P.
2017 Hyundai Sonata Plug-In Hybrid
verified customer Verified Owner
Overall Rating 1.0/5Overall Rating 1.0/5Overall Rating 1.0/5Overall Rating 1.0/5Overall Rating 1.0/5
05/16/2019
Verified Review

Not at all happy with the car

The car is very noisy when it switches from electric to gas. Drive wise also, it feels as if the pick up is not at all great and on trying to improve the pick up by flooring the gas pedal, the noise the car makes is really scary. 5 months after buying the car, I also had an incident where the back tire burst and I had to spend money to replace the tire as well as the wheel since the wheel was also damaged because of the impact. On that day, I depended on Blue Link for help, but it was a nightmare. They didnt listen to what I said about my location and said they can track it from my car's computer system. They ended up plotting my location in a completely different city and send out a tow truck to the wrong place. Needless to say, I was stranded on the freeway for 5 hours on the freeway and finally gave up on them. Even during an emergency calling Blue Link and getting to talk to someone takes a wait time of 15-20 mins. I called my Insurance Road side assistance and they promptly had a tow truck on the scene within 20 minutes. Later I complained to Hyundai about the bad experience with Blue Link and they said they will look into it but nothing was heard back after that
    Value
  • Build Quality
  • Reliability
  • Exterior
  • Interior
  • Features
  • Fun
  • Performance
  • Comfort
  • Styling

DD
gravatar
DOMENICO D.
2017 Hyundai Sonata Plug-In Hybrid
verified customer Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5
05/15/2019
Verified Review

Great Electric Car with a super warranty

This was a great car. The Electric range was not good but I liked the car. Then I upgraded to a G90 and i also love that product even more. I would buy the G90 Limo if and when it comes to the USA.
    Value
  • Build Quality
  • Reliability
  • Exterior
  • Interior
  • Features
  • Fun
  • Performance
  • Comfort
  • Styling

VT
gravatar
VALERIE T.
2017 Hyundai Sonata Plug-In Hybrid
verified customer Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
11/23/2018
Verified Review

Sonata Plug in review

I love my Sonata. I like going green. It’s a nice car to drive and own. I like the way it looks. It is great on gas. I feel like I never have to buy gas which makes it very affordable. It’s roomy, smooth ride. I like how quiet it is except, sometimes I cannot tell if I turned if I turned it off.
    Value
  • Build Quality
  • Reliability
  • Exterior
  • Interior
  • Features
  • Fun
  • Performance
  • Comfort
  • Styling

P
gravatar
P.
2017 Hyundai Sonata Plug-In Hybrid
verified customer Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
11/10/2018
Verified Review

I love my hybrid

This is the first new vehicle I have purchased in 20 years and there are so many new technology features. I love how quiet this vehicle is. I love the gas mileage. I fill up once a month and total cost is under $30. My typical day of driving is under 25 miles so the electric feature allows me to drive everyday and the gas only is used when I exceed 25 miles in a day. I plug the vehicle in every evening to an electric vehicle charger that was provided to me at no charge from SMUD. I paid an electrician $400 to install the electrical conduit for the charger. SMUD gives me a great rate of 1.5 cents per kilowatt when I charge the vehicle after midnight and before 6 am. I scheduled my vehicle to charge at 12:10 am so while I sleep my car re-charges. I received a rebate from the dealership $7,500 and also energy credits on my state and federal income tax filings. I am extremely pleased with my very small carbon footprint and the car is fun....so fun....to drive. Not only that, I think it is beautiful and the rear seat is roomy for passenger legs. The surround sound is awesome. The trunk space is limited because of the placement of the battery behind the rear seat so cargo is a big change from my previous vehicle and took some getting used to. But all in all I am very happy with my decision to purchase this very classy Sonata Limited hybrid.
    Value
  • Build Quality
  • Reliability
  • Exterior
  • Interior
  • Features
  • Fun
  • Performance
  • Comfort
  • Styling

WK
gravatar
WARREN K.
2017 Hyundai Sonata Plug-In Hybrid
verified customer Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
11/03/2018
Verified Review

30 miles all electric is sweet!

Averaging 30 miles all electric for my commute to and from work. Only gas filled up 4 times for the year so far. Averaging 42 miles/gal in Hybird mode. The car is roomy and easily fits my 6'3" frame.
    Value
  • Build Quality
  • Reliability
  • Exterior
  • Interior
  • Features
  • Fun
  • Performance
  • Comfort
  • Styling

LH
gravatar
LYNNE H.
2017 Hyundai Sonata Plug-In Hybrid
verified customer Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
11/01/2018
Verified Review

Sonata Solution

The plug-in Hybrid is a great car for someone who drives low mileage each day, taking advantage of its small electric range. As a retiree I have found the car to be a perfect fit for me. I fill the gas tank once a month and use the electric charge daily.
    Value
  • Build Quality
  • Reliability
  • Exterior
  • Interior
  • Features
  • Fun
  • Performance
  • Comfort
  • Styling

MH
gravatar
MARY LOU H.
2017 Hyundai Sonata Plug-In Hybrid
verified customer Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
08/29/2018
Verified Review

Hyundai Sonata Plug in

I love my Hyundai Sonata Plug-In. I've been getting about 83 mpg. It's a sharp looking car and it has all the bells and whistles you can think of. The dealership was very friendly and my salesman, Jared Caparco was very accommodating.
    Value
  • Build Quality
  • Reliability
  • Exterior
  • Interior
  • Features
  • Fun
  • Performance
  • Comfort
  • Styling

PS
gravatar
Peter S.
2017 Hyundai Sonata Plug-In Hybrid
verified customer Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
08/22/2018
Verified Review

Great low key salesmanship with a great offer the first time around. There was no running back and forth to get a great deal it was the way one wants to purchase a car.

This car has great styling, high reliability, easy acquaintance and overall dependability. This is my third Hyundai in my family and we all agree that we get the most value for the dollar with Hyundai.
    Value
  • Build Quality
  • Reliability
  • Exterior
  • Interior
  • Features
  • Fun
  • Performance
  • Comfort
  • Styling

NJ
gravatar
Nathaniel J.
2017 Hyundai Sonata Plug-In Hybrid
verified customer Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
06/22/2018
Verified Review

Good For the Money

Nice and comfy very handsome car. Great warranty and overall value. Did a lot of shopping and it just seemed like the best choice. 500 plus miles on a tank. Very efficient hybrid battery. Insurance rates for it are suprisingly low. Would recommend if you’re a value conscious shopper.
    Value
  • Build Quality
  • Reliability
  • Exterior
  • Interior
  • Features
  • Fun
  • Performance
  • Comfort
  • Styling

NJ
gravatar
Nathaniel J.
2017 Hyundai Sonata Plug-In Hybrid
verified customer Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
05/09/2018
Verified Review

Economical and Stylish

This vehicle was purchased new from a Hyundai dealership in the Los Angeles area but I immediately felt at home with the Palm Springs dealership. Will trust them from now on to service my vehicle. This vehicle fits my every need and has just about every amenity you can ask for in a vehicle. I recommend looking at Hyundai for your next vehicle. Great blend in every imaginable category. Plug in Hybrid - I see so little of the gas station that I have to remind myself it still needs fuel! Great job Hyundai - I will buy again. :)
    Value
  • Build Quality
  • Reliability
  • Exterior
  • Interior
  • Features
  • Fun
  • Performance
  • Comfort
  • Styling

CB
gravatar
Charles B.
2017 Hyundai Sonata Plug-In Hybrid
verified customer Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
05/04/2018
Verified Review

Great car.

I wanted a car that would suit my driving habit, almost all city and suburban, with occasional trips of 200 miles or more. And I wanted to minimize my use of gasoline. This car does that in spades! I get from 30 to 33 miles per charge (it’s rated for 27) from an overnight charge in my garage using a standard 115 volt plug. My Gasoline usage is mainly for keeping the car warm in the winter and for long trips. I crudely calculate that I’m averaging over 85 miles per gallon! The dashboard gauge almost always says 99.9 mpg ( the max). And I haven’t noticed any significant increases in my electric bill. Aside from that, the car is pleasant to drive, comfortable, quiet and nice looking. I think I like it!
    Value
  • Build Quality
  • Reliability
  • Exterior
  • Interior
  • Features
  • Fun
  • Performance
  • Comfort
  • Styling

PG
gravatar
PATRICIA G.
2017 Hyundai Sonata Plug-In Hybrid
verified customer Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5
04/19/2018
Verified Review

A sweet ride

Our Sonata Plug-in Hybrid is everything we hoped it would be. The dealer was most helpful in finding us exactly the car for which we were looking. Hyundai warranty is second to none. One year in and we are still happy.
    Value
  • Build Quality
  • Reliability
  • Exterior
  • Interior
  • Features
  • Fun
  • Performance
  • Comfort
  • Styling

SH
gravatar
Shirley H.
2017 Hyundai Sonata Plug-In Hybrid
verified customer Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
04/18/2018
Verified Review

Great car so far

In doing my research prior to my purchase, I didn't believe that I could get the MPG that was stated in the evaluations online. I have only taken one long trip and got 46 MPG without a charge. Around my home, and I live about 18 miles from town, I have gotten as high as 90 MPG. Consistently, I get more than 70 MPG. I bought this car to replace a Prius and have been impressed.
    Value
  • Build Quality
  • Reliability
  • Exterior
  • Interior
  • Features
  • Fun
  • Performance
  • Comfort
  • Styling

TM
gravatar
TIFFANY M.
2017 Hyundai Sonata Plug-In Hybrid
verified customer Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
04/09/2018
Verified Review

my new purchase

I am so happy of my selection. thank you to jay p, I highly recommend him, he took the time to understand my needs and wants I was looking for before the time of my purchase. the process of my purchase was efficient and I highly recommend downey Hyundai. thank you downey team, Arnold and jay.
    Value
  • Build Quality
  • Reliability
  • Exterior
  • Interior
  • Features
  • Fun
  • Performance
  • Comfort
  • Styling

Displaying reviews 1 - 20 of 35 in total

Businesses Near You


  • Hyundai Dealer
  • Genesis Dealer
  • Auto Maintenance
Lee Johnson Hyundai of Everett
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
5.0
(111 Reviews)
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
5.0
(43) ReScores

  • Hyundai Dealer
  • Car Dealer
  • Car Maintenance
Hiley Hyundai Of Burleson
Overall Rating 4.9/5Overall Rating 4.9/5Overall Rating 4.9/5Overall Rating 4.9/5Overall Rating 4.9/5
4.9
(85 Reviews)
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
5.0
(23) ReScores

  • Hyundai Dealer
  • Used Car Dealer
  • Auto Maintenance
Towne Hyundai Orchard Park
Overall Rating 4.9/5Overall Rating 4.9/5Overall Rating 4.9/5Overall Rating 4.9/5Overall Rating 4.9/5
4.9
(3846 Reviews)
Overall Rating 4.8/5Overall Rating 4.8/5Overall Rating 4.8/5Overall Rating 4.8/5Overall Rating 4.8/5
4.8
(56) ReScores

  • Hyundai Dealer
  • Auto Repair
  • Auto Maintenance
James Wood Hyundai
Overall Rating 4.9/5Overall Rating 4.9/5Overall Rating 4.9/5Overall Rating 4.9/5Overall Rating 4.9/5
4.9
(1154 Reviews)
Overall Rating 4.7/5Overall Rating 4.7/5Overall Rating 4.7/5Overall Rating 4.7/5Overall Rating 4.7/5
4.7
(16) ReScores

  • Hyundai Dealer
  • Auto Repair
  • Auto Maintenance
Flow Hyundai Of Statesville
Overall Rating 4.9/5Overall Rating 4.9/5Overall Rating 4.9/5Overall Rating 4.9/5Overall Rating 4.9/5
4.9
(139 Reviews)
Overall Rating 4.9/5Overall Rating 4.9/5Overall Rating 4.9/5Overall Rating 4.9/5Overall Rating 4.9/5
4.9
(33) ReScores

  • Hyundai Dealer
  • Genesis Dealer
  • Used Car Dealer
Greenway Hyundai Orlando
Overall Rating 4.9/5Overall Rating 4.9/5Overall Rating 4.9/5Overall Rating 4.9/5Overall Rating 4.9/5
4.9
(130 Reviews)
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
5.0
(47) ReScores

  • Hyundai Dealer
  • Auto Repair
  • Auto Maintenance
Hamilton Hyundai Chambersburg
Overall Rating 4.9/5Overall Rating 4.9/5Overall Rating 4.9/5Overall Rating 4.9/5Overall Rating 4.9/5
4.9
(3818 Reviews)
Overall Rating 4.8/5Overall Rating 4.8/5Overall Rating 4.8/5Overall Rating 4.8/5Overall Rating 4.8/5
4.8
(74) ReScores

  • Hyundai Dealer
  • Auto Repair
  • Auto Maintenance
Steele Hyundai New Braunfels
Overall Rating 4.9/5Overall Rating 4.9/5Overall Rating 4.9/5Overall Rating 4.9/5Overall Rating 4.9/5
4.9
(30 Reviews)
Overall Rating 4.9/5Overall Rating 4.9/5Overall Rating 4.9/5Overall Rating 4.9/5Overall Rating 4.9/5
4.9
(9) ReScores

  • Hyundai Dealer
  • Auto Maintenance
  • Auto Repair
Hyundai Of Venice
Overall Rating 4.8/5Overall Rating 4.8/5Overall Rating 4.8/5Overall Rating 4.8/5Overall Rating 4.8/5
4.8
(203 Reviews)
Overall Rating 4.8/5Overall Rating 4.8/5Overall Rating 4.8/5Overall Rating 4.8/5Overall Rating 4.8/5
4.8
(27) ReScores

  • Hyundai Dealer
  • Auto Repair
  • Auto Maintenance
Price Hyundai
Overall Rating 4.8/5Overall Rating 4.8/5Overall Rating 4.8/5Overall Rating 4.8/5Overall Rating 4.8/5
4.8
(2664 Reviews)
Overall Rating 4.6/5Overall Rating 4.6/5Overall Rating 4.6/5Overall Rating 4.6/5Overall Rating 4.6/5
4.6
(100) ReScores