2016
Hyundai
Sonata Plug-In Hybrid

Overall Rating 4.7/5Overall Rating 4.7/5Overall Rating 4.7/5Overall Rating 4.7/5rating 4.7
4.7
(66 Reviews)
Latest review almost 2 years ago
Category Summary (Avg. out of 10)
  • Value
  • Features
  • Build Quality
  • Fun
  • Reliability
  • Performance
  • Exterior
  • Comfort
  • Interior
  • Styling

FF
Frank F.
2016 Hyundai Sonata Plug-In Hybrid
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
12/27/2017
Love this car
I really enjoy this vehicle daily. Nice quiet, roomy, and ease of operation are at top of the list. I would buy another when time comes.

Pros
Great fuel economy. Smooth quiet operation

Cons
Cruise control could use some reprogramming

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

SS
Samuel S.
2016 Hyundai Sonata Plug-In Hybrid
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
11/08/2017
Met my expectations plus some
Milage of course is the most impressive with this vehicle. Too soon to give a detailed summary relative to long term vehicle performance as I have only owned the car 5 months. Thus far, the car drives nicely. I love the reverse camera/guidance and the side mirrors notifying of vehicles in the blind as well as when you are backing up. The only comment I would make to suggest improvement would be the comfort of the chairs, especially during long drives. Also when entering the car it is somewhat "tight" requiring you to bend to sit in the chair especially when you have a cushion on the seat. Overall, thus far, it is a great vehicle.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

HU
Hemant U.
2016 Hyundai Sonata Plug-In Hybrid
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
09/27/2017
My Hyundai
Excellent

Cons
None

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JL
Joseph L.
2016 Hyundai Sonata Plug-In Hybrid
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
09/26/2017
Excellent
Great handling.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

DC
Deborah C.
2016 Hyundai Sonata Plug-In Hybrid
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
09/26/2017
My Sonata plug-in is a great car.
Love my Sonata plug-in. It has a great ride. It has power to climb a mountain and pass on the uphill. The plug-in is fun to play with how much more gas can we save. We hit 68 mpg!
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

RS
Raman S.
2016 Hyundai Sonata Plug-In Hybrid
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
09/15/2017
My Sonata Plug in Hybrid
Overall Good performance
Good styling
Need to improve the pick up and reduce the cabin noise.

Pros
Good styling
Easy to get and get out
Good mileage

Cons
Sluggish pick up
Cabin noise a bit higher than similar vehicle

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JA
Jeffrey A.
2016 Hyundai Sonata Plug-In Hybrid
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
08/30/2017
Sonata Plug-In Hybrid is Amazing
This is the best vehicle purchase I have made in my entire life and I have bought a lot of cars. I commute to work 52 miles each way plus client visits. I have a 220v charging station at work so I use almost no gas. My tank lasts about 3 weeks. HOV lane access everywhere is just icing on the cake. The technology inside and out on this vehicle is top of the line. This is my first Hyundai vehicle and I am extremely pleased.

Pros
Everything

Cons
Nothing

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

RD
Robert D.
2016 Hyundai Sonata Plug-In Hybrid
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
08/21/2017
Best car we have owned.
Well built. Comfortable. Easy to drive. Tracks well.

Pros
Perfect car for us. 25 mile range electric only. Fill tank every three months. 600 mile range as hybrid.

Cons
Small trunk space due to battery size. Works fine for two people on long trips.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

MF
MARY F.
2016 Hyundai Sonata Plug-In Hybrid
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
08/06/2017
Great value - Tax incentives
I love that I can drive for 27 miles on the battery before switching to the hybrid motor. Most of my travels are within the 27 mile range so I only fill my gas tank once a month!! The car handles beautifully, and I am please with all the safety features.

Pros
$4,900 tax credit from Federal return, Connecticut rebate $1,500
Great gas mileage
Quiet ride

Cons
Blue link app needs improvement.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

OS
Ortiz S.
2016 Hyundai Sonata Plug-In Hybrid
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
08/03/2017
Love this car!
Great fun car to drive.

Pros
Great style

Cons
Not enough charge or miles, would like to have more than 27 miles.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

DJ
D J.
2016 Hyundai Sonata Plug-In Hybrid
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
07/31/2017
Outstanding in all categories.
Hyundai is taking care of business! Phenomenal design and superior technology. There is no vehicle as solid as the Hyundai Sonata Plug-in Hybrid.

Pros
Every single detail is superior for its class.

Cons
If it could have the fast-charge option like Nissan Leaf or Tesla, it would be even better.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JR
James R.
2016 Hyundai Sonata Plug-In Hybrid
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
06/20/2017
2016 Sonata Plug In Review
This car is very good for those wanting to save on gas money. The most mileage I have recorded off one tank of gas is almost 1600 miles. As of this posting, I am at 1400miles and have just about a 1/4 tank of gas left. The car is stylish, and has a lot of bells and whistles. I would recommend to a friend.

Pros
Good gas mileage
Lots of room inside
Extra features such as gps, seat cold/hot, usb, bluetooth
Body style

Cons
none

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

HL
Hyun L.
2016 Hyundai Sonata Plug-In Hybrid
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
06/05/2017
The next generation
I really love my car, because of its comfort levels, high tech capability, great mileage, and incentives.
The car is really quiet.. so quiet that you will hear outside noise, which you have not notice with a gasoline car.

Pros
One charge and one fill can drive about 610 miles.
I commute about 40 miles/day 7 days a week (on an average) and have to fill the car once a month (only). ^^

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

CB
CHRISTOPHER B.
2016 Hyundai Sonata Plug-In Hybrid
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
06/01/2017
SONATA PLUG IN
This is a great car; comfortable, quiet, with excellent safety features (on the limited model) and great gas milage. We have solar panels on our house, so there is no added cost to recharge the lithium battery. We have been getting 33-37 miles on a full charge and averaging about 270 mpg. The only upgrade I would suggest Hyundai undertake is to include a 220 plug on every vehicle. This would significantly reduce time required to charge the battery and further increase fuel efficiency. As concern over climate change grows, being known as a company that takes its commitment to reducing greenhouse gases seriously will prove very beneficial.

Pros
Fuel efficiency, comfort, safety features, quiet ride

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

GC
GREGG C.
2016 Hyundai Sonata Plug-In Hybrid
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
05/30/2017
Very nice vehicle and a good value
I had a busy window tinter in SF tint my rear windows and he sees all kinds of cars all the time and he said "Wow I never knew the Sonata was so nice inside." I have a limited edition and it is very comfortable and nicely appointed. The car rides smoothly and quietly and the seats are very good. I very much like the exterior styling as well. The major complaint is that it literally takes between one and two full seconds for the engine to respond with acceleration if you have to floor it in a situation that requires a quick move, so you almost have to press the accelerator pedal before you actually want to move out. In normal situations the car responds just fine, this is only in situations requiring max thrust. And the engine sound is clattery. Otherwise I have no other real complaints and just high praises for the style and comfort and drivability of this car.

Pros
Mileage/economy, quietness, style, ride, comfort, quality, warrantee, value, stereo, ease of use/controls

Cons
Acceleration delay for max thrust, engine sound

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

KM
Karen M.
2016 Hyundai Sonata Plug-In Hybrid
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
05/16/2017
Hyundai Sonata Plug In Hybrid review
Not sure why when I select HYUNDAI on the drop down list, Toyota is inserted. Fix your program SURECRITIC.

Pros
Gas mileage and ability to go up to 27 miles on hybrid battery alone. Safety features like Blind Spot detection, lane keeping, self-adjusting cruise control, heated and cooled front seats, are all wonderful. Have owned it 1 year. Saved in rebates from my utility company, federal tax credit, and state rebate ($6,919 total)

Cons
Lack of any sunroof available, very small trunk, no spare tire or temporary spare tire available.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

HU
Hemant U.
2016 Hyundai Sonata Plug-In Hybrid
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
03/30/2017
Luxury in a budget
A high quality product at an affordable price

Pros
Style, fuel efficiency, full featured

Cons
None

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

DK
DOHWEE K.
2016 Hyundai Sonata Plug-In Hybrid
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5rating 3rating 3
03/07/2017
2016 Sonata Plugin EV limited
my first EV, not good as I expected but worth to try.

Pros
quiet ride
good option package
Gas savings

Cons
no sunroof
poor steering wheel control quality
poor OEM tire quality

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

RS
Raman S.
2016 Hyundai Sonata Plug-In Hybrid
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
03/03/2017
My Sonata PHEV
I have been driving my Sonata PHEV for the past 6 months and very satisfied with the handling and performance for its class.

Pros
styling is good. Safety features work well

Cons
Noise level inside a bit high. Gas cap design need to be addressed

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

BE
Barrett E.
2016 Hyundai Sonata Plug-In Hybrid
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
02/27/2017
Almost turns a luxury into an investment
After the government incentives and the fuel savings this car is about as close as you can get to considering a new vehicle an investment in financial terms. It's comfortable, stylish and saves me tons of money at the pump. If you have solar I highly recommend looking at a plug in hybrid.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling
Displaying reviews 21 - 40 of 66 in total