2016
Hyundai
Sonata Plug-In Hybrid

Overall Rating 4.7/5Overall Rating 4.7/5Overall Rating 4.7/5Overall Rating 4.7/5rating 4.7
4.7
(65 Reviews)
Latest review 10 months ago
Category Summary (Avg. out of 10)
  • Value
  • Features
  • Build Quality
  • Fun
  • Reliability
  • Performance
  • Exterior
  • Comfort
  • Interior
  • Styling

Reviews


TL
Tim L.
2016 Hyundai Sonata Plug-In Hybrid
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 1/5rating 1rating 1rating 1rating 1
01/08/2019
Unreliable Sonata Plug-in Hybrid-
2016 Sonato Plug-in hybrid. At less than 10,00 miles was in shop in San Diego for two months. Unable to figure out how to fix the car. Dealership in Tempe has no Plug-in certified mechanic. Car is now at 15,000 miles and has been in the shop five time for Plug-in issues.

Cons
Dealerships do not have mechanics to work on Plug-in hybrids

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

DK
DOHWEE K.
2016 Hyundai Sonata Plug-In Hybrid
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5Overall Rating 3/5rating 3rating 3
03/07/2017
2016 Sonata Plugin EV limited
my first EV, not good as I expected but worth to try.

Pros
quiet ride
good option package
Gas savings

Cons
no sunroof
poor steering wheel control quality
poor OEM tire quality

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

WN
William N.
2016 Hyundai Sonata Plug-In Hybrid
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
04/07/2016
very ngood
very good

Pros
very good

Cons
interior missor

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

LH
LANA H.
2016 Hyundai Sonata Plug-In Hybrid
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
05/09/2016
Sonata PHEV
Good car
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

DD
Diana D.
2016 Hyundai Sonata Plug-In Hybrid
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
08/28/2016
excellent car
I love my car and the flaws are in the computer navigation and phone service which NEVER seem to work properly and I end up using my phone for navigation as it is sooooo much easier. Fabulous on the gas and electric part. Black dashboard a mistake and creates reflection in the windshield and heat in the car. Air conditioning does not work well in electric mode. Paint applied very thin and the car scratches very easily. Overall I enjoy driving the car and feel very safe in it.

Pros
love the electric feature and have very low gas bills and have seen a huge drop as a benefit on my home electric bill as an added benefit

Cons
computer system not responsive for phone calls and for navigation always getting the names and address wrong and if you type it in it will tell you the street does not exist. Dash board reflects on the window and is distracting in driving. Air conditioning is weak in electric mode. Body of the car feels cheaply made.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

RS
RAMAN S.
2016 Hyundai Sonata Plug-In Hybrid
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
11/10/2016
Raman_Huydai Sonata Plug in Hybrid
Good vehicle.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

AN
Anthony N.
2016 Hyundai Sonata Plug-In Hybrid
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
12/16/2016
great car with a few nitpicks
The plug in is great!
Love the summer time with this car! We were getting consistently over 1200 miles per tank full thanks to our driving habits and the plug in system.
problem is, when winter comes, the only way to generate heat is for the engine to run, even in EV mode.. so we get more like 600 miles, maybe..

Regarding other issues:
The navigation system is a bit annoying, and not very intuitive. I have seen implementations of navigation that autofilled addresses to reduce how much you need to enter based on database searching, etc. this does not seem to exist here.
also, the reach to the display is far, and since there is no other way to control the interface (such as a wheel controller, etc), you have to lean forward and touch the screen or push buttons. I bit annoying and difficult while driving.

Regarding blue link: great idea, especially looked forward to the remote start portion.
except for the fact that remote start will NOT work for this plug in if it is PLUGGED IN!?
ok, no real answer on this one yet, disappointed. and removed bluelink subscription.
what's the point? you have to now go outside, in the cold, unlock the car, unplug the cable, then, remote start..
a bit backwards I'd say.

otherwise, great car, not sure if many of these issues above can be rectified. hoping for a remote start "fix".

Pros
summer time, We were getting consistently over 1200 miles per tank full thanks to our driving habits and the plug in system.

super smooth riding.

Cons
when winter comes, the only way to generate heat is for the engine to run, even in EV mode.. so we get more like 600 miles, maybe..
Regarding blue link: great idea, especially looked forward to the remote start portion.
except for the fact that remote start will NOT work for this plug in if it is PLUGGED IN!?
The navigation system is a bit annoying, and not very intuitive.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

RS
Raman S.
2016 Hyundai Sonata Plug-In Hybrid
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
03/03/2017
My Sonata PHEV
I have been driving my Sonata PHEV for the past 6 months and very satisfied with the handling and performance for its class.

Pros
styling is good. Safety features work well

Cons
Noise level inside a bit high. Gas cap design need to be addressed

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

RS
Raman S.
2016 Hyundai Sonata Plug-In Hybrid
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
09/15/2017
My Sonata Plug in Hybrid
Overall Good performance
Good styling
Need to improve the pick up and reduce the cabin noise.

Pros
Good styling
Easy to get and get out
Good mileage

Cons
Sluggish pick up
Cabin noise a bit higher than similar vehicle

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

VO
Virginia O.
2016 Hyundai Sonata Plug-In Hybrid
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
12/29/2017
Good
I really like driving my car. It's good on gas. Charge it once but it didn't last, other then that no complaints
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

UW
Ulrich W.
2016 Hyundai Sonata Plug-In Hybrid
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
05/29/2018
Solid, very good quality car, excellent fuel economy
The 2016 Hyundai Sonata Plug-in Hybrid is a solid car. It gets good fuel economy and offers high quality backed up by excellent warranty. Its downsides are related to its performance. When accelerating the reaction is delayed and when the power finally kicks in tends to be over accelerated.

Pros
- Spacious interior
- Excellent quality and warranty coverage
- Very fuel-efficient

Cons
Not very agile or nippy. Has a delay in reacting to acceleration. Perhaps that comes with a plug-in hybrid.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

RS
Raman S.
2016 Hyundai Sonata Plug-In Hybrid
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
06/06/2018
My Sonata Hybrid Plug in
I am very impressed with the performance of my Sonata Hybrid Plug in. Smooth riding and reasonably good handling.Exterior deign is attractive. Interior is nice. Easy to get in and out.Instrument cluster is easy to manage.

Pros
Good styling.

Cons
Temp control is a bit confusing.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

BZ
BLAS Z.
2016 Hyundai Sonata Plug-In Hybrid
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
02/26/2019
awesome car
Its the great mileage that I gotten with since I traded the old car and most of it great ride and look awesome color, exterior and interior and when you come with something better that what I have now I will wait in line to get a new one.

Pros
looks good overall

Cons
none at this time

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

OS
Ortiz S.
2016 Hyundai Sonata Plug-In Hybrid
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
01/12/2016
Awesome Vehicle - Plug In Electric Cars great!
This car is fantastic, fun to drive and meets all my needs! Great mileage better than expected and the car is super comfortable.

Pros
Our Sales Person was fantastic, Winchel Jeffers went above and beyond to learn everything about the Plug In Hybrid Technology before we bought the car. He was a master at explaining everything!

Cons
I am missing some features I wanted to have on the car, they are on the regular plug in model, rear window shades and the fold down seat but left off the top end model of the plug in hybrid.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

AS
Anujkumar S.
2016 Hyundai Sonata Plug-In Hybrid
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
02/25/2016
best car ever
amazing PHEV car..

Pros
best mileage.
best looks.
luxurious car

Cons
no sun roof, no panoramic view.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

AD
Aaron D.
2016 Hyundai Sonata Plug-In Hybrid
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
03/09/2016
Aaron's Plug In Sonata Hybrid (PHEV)
I never thought a vehicle could travel so far on one tank of fuel! Two fill ups so far since purchasing 12/15/2015, first tank 1371 miles, 2nd tank 1425 miles. Quiet gasoline operation and eerily quiet all electric operation. Stays in EV mode as long as you keep it in ECO mode and do not go past the 40%-50% mark on the instrument cluster. Very comfortable and lots of room for all occupants. Overall I could not be more pleased with this vehicle. It will be even better once Android Auto is released for it!

Pros
Excellent fuel economy, stays in EV mode all the time unless you really push the accelerator down. Comfortable, quiet, lots of tech, auto cruise control is incredible! Auto hold feature very useful in traffic and reduces fatigue. A lot of leg room and space for occupants

Cons
Poor Bluetooth music streaming quality//huge potholes or bumps will jar passengers, no interior LED lighting

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

LC
LAURIE C.
2016 Hyundai Sonata Plug-In Hybrid
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
05/11/2016
Awesome dealer, cool car
I used Rally Hyundai in Palmdale, CA, and the sales people there are wonderful.

Pros
Dealership, sturdiness of car, attractiveness of car.

Cons
seat adjustment limited

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

WM
WALTER M.
2016 Hyundai Sonata Plug-In Hybrid
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
06/15/2016
Hyundai Sonata Plug-in Hybrid
Great car

Pros
Great mileage

Cons
Road noise

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JS
Joseph S.
2016 Hyundai Sonata Plug-In Hybrid
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
07/05/2016
Sonata
New Sonata
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

SN
Steven N.
2016 Hyundai Sonata Plug-In Hybrid
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
08/03/2016
Fun Vehicle, Low Cost to Operate
I had the Sonata Plug-In for 3 months without opening the gas tank. Finally filled it when leaving on a long road trip. We drove over 8,000 miles on about $300 of gas. The car is super comfortable and the ventilated seats in cooling mode are a must for summer driving; don't know how I survived without them. The stereo system is phenomenal for blasting road trip music. The car handles well and really sticks in turns. It was able to run in electric mode at 80 MPH while driving in Texas with 2 passengers and a loaded trunk. The only negative thing is the size of the trunk; it will hold 2 suitcases if they are not overstuffed. The trunk was a trade-off for the extra batteries for the plug-in. The range when fully charged and a full gas tank is about 600 miles which can be a little problematic if you drink coffee or too much water on a road trip.

Pros
Handles like a sports car
Smooth ride
Comfortable
Awesome stereo
200+ horsepower
Uses little gas
About 600 range
27 mile electric range - with the vehicle generators the electric range can be much further.
Warranties

Cons
The 9 cubic foot trunk is a little small
There are a few minor software bugs being worked out in the programming of the onboard computers
The 600 mile range is much bigger than my bladder

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling
Displaying reviews 1 - 20 of 65 in total