2019
Hyundai
Sonata Plug-In Hybrid

Overall Rating 4.5/5Overall Rating 4.5/5Overall Rating 4.5/5Overall Rating 4.5/5Overall Rating 4.5/5
4.5
(14 Reviews)
Latest review about 1 year ago
Category Summary (Avg. out of 10)
  • Value
  • Features
  • Build Quality
  • Fun
  • Reliability
  • Performance
  • Exterior
  • Comfort
  • Interior
  • Styling

Reviews


SV
SAMUEL V.
2019 Hyundai Sonata Plug-In Hybrid
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
06/26/2019
Great but...
I like this car. I just wish that that it has three full LATCH seats instead of the two. I also think that a car that costs as much as it does should come with a moonroof. I also think that in future the sonata plug in should have most of the safety features available only on the limited on all its trim levels. I would also add that there needs to be more color choices

Cons
No moonroof

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

RG
ROLANDO G.
2019 Hyundai Sonata Plug-In Hybrid
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
09/13/2019
i really like this car
i primarily purchased the car for its fuel economy, and plug in capability. i was not disappointed! my commute to work is usually electric, and hybrid mode coming home. this allows me 900 to 1000 miles per gas re fueling.

Pros
fuel economy.

Cons
trunk space is lacking due to the batteries

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JR
JOEL R.
2019 Hyundai Sonata Plug-In Hybrid
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
10/01/2019
Good smooth drive
My Hyundai Sonata is a nice smooth drive with good acceleration. It is very comfortable and with the electric aspect I barely use gas. I would definitely recommend this car to anyone who wants to save on gas and still have a car that can fit four or five people.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

AC
ANASTASIA C.
2019 Hyundai Sonata Plug-In Hybrid
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
01/10/2020
Excellent car for my long commute
I drive an average of 100 miles per day. When looking for a car I wanted comfort and fuel economy-this vehicle delivers both and looks great as well!
Though the transmission shifting is more noticeable, the engine is more powerful than the other electric hybrids I’ve driven.
I love Apple Car Play and was happy to see it came installed in this vehicle-Android Auto also comes standard.
I get ~30 miles on a full electric charge and I’m happy with the large fuel tank-I hate stopping at the pump!
Overall I’m very pleased with my purchase.

Pros
Electric hybrid, Apple Car Play, large trunk, smooth ride, powerful engine, keyless entry

Cons
Lane keeping and adaptive cruise control not a standard feature, no button on trunk to open

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

MH
Monty H.
2019 Hyundai Sonata Plug-In Hybrid
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
02/25/2020
Sonata plug in hybrid
Loving it so far. Could shift smoother. Brakes are a bit grabby at times. Comfortable seating and legroom headroom. Great dealer experience. Plan to drive it for a long time. Happy with hybrid so far...

Pros
Great fuel range

Cons
Grabby breaks, awckward shifting occasionally

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

ES
EDMOND S.
2019 Hyundai Sonata Plug-In Hybrid
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
03/15/2020
Plug in Hybrid is the way to go
My second Hyndai Sonata, very reliable, spacious and fun to drive. This is ridiculous that I have to write 200 words, the car is great and you are forcing me to write an essay you just ruined the review.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

KT
KARLI T.
2019 Hyundai Sonata Plug-In Hybrid
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
09/03/2020
2019 Hyundai Sonata
Great Car! Exterior and interior is clean. Love the pearl white. Filling the tank for $25 is amazing! The milage is a huge plus. Plenty of space in the car. Having the blind spot feature on the side mirrors and back up camera is extremely convenient.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

FV
FRANCIS V.
2019 Hyundai Sonata Plug-In Hybrid
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
09/07/2020
Excellent
Love my hybrid. Great value. Very versatile. I've had quiet a few Hyundais and all have good. They seem to evolve well will style, comfort, and technology. I would definitely recommend to my friends and family.

Pros
style. Efficiency.

Cons
None

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

BG
BRIAN G.
2019 Hyundai Sonata Plug-In Hybrid
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5
01/28/2020
Good car
Not great battery storage. Very short range on a full charge. Basically a hybrid vehicle. The plug-in option seems to be a wasted effort. Compared to my previous Hybrid purchases, I would not advise spending the extra money on the plug-in.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

GB
GAIL B.
2019 Hyundai Sonata Plug-In Hybrid
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5
06/30/2020
Best All-Around Hybrid
This is a review of a Sonata PHEV Limited, which I leased in May of '20. I spent several months researching a new vehicle. I have special requirements due to my large frame and partial disability. The Sonata/Optima ranked highest on my list for front seat leg room at 45 inches. This is more than full-size sedans, trucks, and SUVs. Second most important was that I wanted to go full or partial electric.

Besides the green benefits, the torque of an electric motor is very helpful in many driving situations. I like that for the most part I can travel on electricity or engage hybrid mode for longer, out-of-town trips. I do wish the vehicle had a 6.6 kWh charger onboard to cut down on recharging time. I live in a condo complex and don't have access to electricity at my designated parking stall, therefore I charge at a local ChargePoint nearby.

Accelerating onto the freeway is more than adequate (again thanks to the torque of the electric motor). In fact, the motor creates so much torque that traction control often has to retard it to prevent breaking traction.

Although still early days, the car is free of squeaks and rattles. Its ride is neither too soft nor too firm but just right. I have a bad back so this is an important detail. The 4-way power lumbar is very useful.

I'm really impressed by the headlights. They're LED and turn with the steering wheel. It really helps me to see on the winding mountain roads on which I live.

For a hybrid, this car is luxurious. It has all the creature comforts, gadgets, and doodads one would expect in a luxury car. The fact that it averages 50 miles per gallon makes it a great no-compromises vehicle.

Pros
Exceptional range; available features; fuel economy; warranty; ride; performance

Cons
Styling; only 3.3kWh charger

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JO
JOSE O.
2019 Hyundai Sonata Plug-In Hybrid
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5
07/09/2020
Great drive and eco friendly than most cars
The car works great all the features are nice I pick up time I need a little bit more of a muscle but once it takes off good performance I will recommend this car because it's eco-friendly I wish the range for the battery was longer than 28 miles but he's better than most cars I had this car for a year and only put gas four times.

Pros
Eco friendly

Cons
Not too much muscle at take off

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

TN
THERESE N.
2019 Hyundai Sonata Plug-In Hybrid
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5
08/20/2020
great overrall
I'm an early adopter of EV, having had BMW i3, Audi e-tron, chevy spark (EV), I knew exactly what I'm looking for in the next lease. Everything about the car is 10 out of 10 except the brake and trunk space. The regenerative braking does not work well with the regular brake pad, there is abrupt braking when attempting to brake slowly to a complete stop with moderate speed. I was willing to sacrifice the trunk space for the battery in this plug-in hybrid, the engineers definitely needs to redesign it properly, there's only enough room for 1 carry-on luggage. Again, everything else is 10 out of 10, great value for the money.

Pros
value, comfort, design and lay out of physical buttons

Cons
brake and trunk space

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

LS
Lawrence S.
2019 Hyundai Sonata Plug-In Hybrid
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5
09/24/2020
Sonata Plug In
Great car except the heater is very lacking. After multiple returns for service, leaving the car for a week, Hyundai would not authorize any repair or offer a solution. After driving 20 minutes in cold weather, the heater still will not produce heat. This is unacceptable.

Pros
Great mileage, 30+ miles in EV mode

Cons
Heater fails to warm up in EV mode even after 20 minutes of driving.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JW
Johannes W.
2019 Hyundai Sonata Plug-In Hybrid
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 2.0/5Overall Rating 2.0/5Overall Rating 2.0/5Overall Rating 2.0/5Overall Rating 2.0/5
09/24/2019
No pure electric mode
When I switch the car in “ELectric Vehicle (EV)” mode and press the ECO button I don’t want the gas engine to come on. However it does that at some random point as you start pressing down the accelerator. Why am I buying a plug in hybrid? So I can commute on battery. Close to impossible w this car. This one thing has ruined this otherwise really nice car for me. Wish I could afford to return it.

Pros
Great value for the money, lots of high end features. LED lights, automatic distance control etc.

Cons
The EV mode sucks. Gas engine comes on whether you want it or not.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling
Displaying all 14 reviews