Business Solutions

2004 Subaru Forester (Natl)

Average Score

Overall Rating 4.7/5Overall Rating 4.7/5Overall Rating 4.7/5Overall Rating 4.7/5Overall Rating 4.7/5
4.7
(13 Reviews)
Category Summary
(Avg. out of 10)
    Value
  • Features
  • Build Quality
  • Fun
  • Reliability
  • Performance
  • Exterior
  • Comfort
  • Interior
  • Styling

Reviews

Overall Rating 4.7/5Overall Rating 4.7/5Overall Rating 4.7/5Overall Rating 4.7/5Overall Rating 4.7/5
4.7
(13 Reviews)

PS
gravatar
PAUL S.
2004 Subaru Forester (Natl)
verified customer Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
02/14/2021
Verified Review

Trustworthy Vehilce

We live in Reno and participate in winter sports which puts us on varying road conditions. The car has performed well in all weather conditions, winter, or summer rain. Wanted a Turbo because it allow one to pass easily on single land roads and other situations where added horse power is needed. Would not by any Subaru unless turbo charged. The vehicle has held up well over the years requiring just normal maintenance as relates to mileage and time. When it came time to replace my 06 Forester we would have bought another except they are no longer offer a Turbocharged model. Fortunately the Outback has a XT model which we purchased. We couldn't be happier. When it's time to retire the 04 we are hopeful the is some electric version since the 04 is used mainly for city driving and a short trips to lake Tahoe.
    Value
  • Build Quality
  • Reliability
  • Exterior
  • Interior
  • Features
  • Fun
  • Performance
  • Comfort
  • Styling

KO
gravatar
KEN O.
2004 Subaru Forester (Natl)
verified customer Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5
08/31/2019
Verified Review

2004 Forester X

Purchased this car recently from Albany Subaru. Within 3,000 miles of purchase discovered the dreaded head gasket leaking. Subaru covered part of the repair and now I just getting everything up to service spec. Car starts and drives well with no leaks apparent now. I hope it lasts!!!
    Value
  • Build Quality
  • Reliability
  • Exterior
  • Interior
  • Features
  • Fun
  • Performance
  • Comfort
  • Styling

RL
gravatar
Rick L.
2004 Subaru Forester (Natl)
verified customer Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
06/09/2019
Verified Review

04 forester

This vehicle has served many years faithfully and dependably. It thrives in 5 inches of snow and plows through that stuff like a little tractor. Struggles a bit with fuel economy because of the AWD drivetrain but that's not a big deal.
    Value
  • Build Quality
  • Reliability
  • Exterior
  • Interior
  • Features
  • Fun
  • Performance
  • Comfort
  • Styling

DT
gravatar
Donna T.
2004 Subaru Forester (Natl)
verified customer Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
01/21/2019
Verified Review

wouldn't drive anything else

I have 2 Subaru Foresters, both have snow tires and get me through anything. I love my cars and feel safe driving in the snow. I've had 3 Subarus so far and will not drive anything else. I drive for my pet sitting business and am on the road early morning and late at night when roads aren't plowed yet....not a problem for me.
    Value
  • Build Quality
  • Reliability
  • Exterior
  • Interior
  • Features
  • Fun
  • Performance
  • Comfort
  • Styling

RL
gravatar
Rick L.
2004 Subaru Forester (Natl)
verified customer Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
01/14/2019
Verified Review

04 forester

Very reliable. 135,000 miles and still going strong. This rig loves to get in the snow. Just like a little tractor in that white stuff. Hoping to go 200,000 and more with this vehicle. Still decent mpg.
    Value
  • Build Quality
  • Reliability
  • Exterior
  • Interior
  • Features
  • Fun
  • Performance
  • Comfort
  • Styling

SP
gravatar
SUE P.
2004 Subaru Forester (Natl)
verified customer Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5
01/11/2019
Verified Review

15 year old Subaru Forester

When I traded in my 16 year old RAV 4 I never thought I would find another car to satisfy me. In fact, this old Subaru is even better on ice (Portland is a hilly town) than the RAV. The Subaru is good in snow too. There are 2 things that I miss: 1) the truck like straight up and down seats 2) when I lock the doors and have to open the tailgate I have to go back and unlock from the front.
    Value
  • Build Quality
  • Reliability
  • Exterior
  • Interior
  • Features
  • Fun
  • Performance
  • Comfort
  • Styling

CH
gravatar
Carter H.
2004 Subaru Forester (Natl)
verified customer Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
11/27/2018
Verified Review

Amazing Car - Everything I Could Ask For In A Car

I purchased this car after months of research. I wanted something to do mild off-roading in, something that handled well and something that was fuel efficient. This car fits the bill exactly. Because it's on the smaller side of cars, it handles well, is fuel efficient (for an AWD) - gets about 26 mpg combined, and is a blast to drive. That being said, it has more than enough space inside for both cargo as well as passengers. It's new enough to have all the goodies, but not too new as to have all the bullshit features no one needs, i.e. lane assist, annoying alarms etc. After throwing a lift kit and some General Grabber AT2 tires on it, it's an off-road beasty. Love it, if you see another for sale gimme a call.
    Value
  • Build Quality
  • Reliability
  • Exterior
  • Interior
  • Features
  • Fun
  • Performance
  • Comfort
  • Styling

JD
gravatar
Joe D.
2004 Subaru Forester (Natl)
verified customer Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
10/06/2017
Verified Review

Reliable hard worker.

This is a tough little car and I love it. 166,000!
    Value
  • Build Quality
  • Reliability
  • Exterior
  • Interior
  • Features
  • Fun
  • Performance
  • Comfort
  • Styling

DE
gravatar
Dave E.
2004 Subaru Forester (Natl)
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
06/08/2016

Subaru the benchmark.

I bought thr car new 12 years ago. One great decision on my part. I will do it again soon. My 04 will live on with someone else. Maplewood auto took great care of my wheels. The next owner will have a nice car.
    Value
  • Build Quality
  • Reliability
  • Exterior
  • Interior
  • Features
  • Fun
  • Performance
  • Comfort
  • Styling

JH
gravatar
JEFFREY H.
2004 Subaru Forester (Natl)
Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5
05/15/2016

Great economical vahicle.

I live in North idaho, so awd is a must. The forester gives that in a fuel efficient package. Only downside is road noise. It's loud. But, for the price, I couldn't ask for a better car.
    Value
  • Build Quality
  • Reliability
  • Exterior
  • Interior
  • Features
  • Fun
  • Performance
  • Comfort
  • Styling

HC
gravatar
HEATHER C.
2004 Subaru Forester (Natl)
Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5
03/03/2016

Best vehicle ever!

I love my Subaru Forester! It's the best car I've ever owned, and my family all have bought Subarus after getting to know my car. I'll never own any other car other than a Subaru again.
    Value
  • Build Quality
  • Reliability
  • Exterior
  • Interior
  • Features
  • Fun
  • Performance
  • Comfort
  • Styling

DE
gravatar
Dave E.
2004 Subaru Forester (Natl)
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
10/16/2015

Subaru will be my choice for years to come.

This car has been simply outstanding. I will buy another without hesitation.
    Value
  • Build Quality
  • Reliability
  • Exterior
  • Interior
  • Features
  • Fun
  • Performance
  • Comfort
  • Styling

SW
gravatar
SPENCER LEE W.
2004 Subaru Forester (Natl)
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
09/21/2015

Tank

For the past 11 yrs this car has never let me down. Every morning it fires up and we drive to work. It has towed a small tent trailer for summer camping trips. Not once has it let us down. The A/c is another story. Every 2-3 yrs it goes out, don't know why it just does. As far as everything else my family and I are very happy with the old "Tank".
    Value
  • Build Quality
  • Reliability
  • Exterior
  • Interior
  • Features
  • Fun
  • Performance
  • Comfort
  • Styling

Displaying all 13 reviews

Businesses Near You


  • BMW Dealer
  • Subaru Dealer
  • Auto Maintenance
Integrity Autowerks Inc
Overall Rating 4.9/5Overall Rating 4.9/5Overall Rating 4.9/5Overall Rating 4.9/5Overall Rating 4.9/5
4.9
(117 Reviews)

  • Subaru Dealer
  • Used Car Dealer
  • Auto Repair
Parker Subaru
Overall Rating 4.8/5Overall Rating 4.8/5Overall Rating 4.8/5Overall Rating 4.8/5Overall Rating 4.8/5
4.8
(18583 Reviews)
Overall Rating 4.5/5Overall Rating 4.5/5Overall Rating 4.5/5Overall Rating 4.5/5Overall Rating 4.5/5
4.5
(31) ReScores