Business Solutions

2009 Subaru Forester (Natl)

Average Score

Overall Rating 4.5/5Overall Rating 4.5/5Overall Rating 4.5/5Overall Rating 4.5/5Overall Rating 4.5/5
4.5
(47 Reviews)
Category Summary
(Avg. out of 10)
    Value
  • Features
  • Build Quality
  • Fun
  • Reliability
  • Performance
  • Exterior
  • Comfort
  • Interior
  • Styling

Reviews

Overall Rating 4.5/5Overall Rating 4.5/5Overall Rating 4.5/5Overall Rating 4.5/5Overall Rating 4.5/5
4.5
(47 Reviews)

DJ
gravatar
DEBBIE J.
2009 Subaru Forester (Natl)
verified customer Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
11/10/2021
Verified Review

Bought new - love this car

My car has 180,000 miles on it and still fun to drive & dependable.
    Value
  • Build Quality
  • Reliability
  • Exterior
  • Interior
  • Features
  • Fun
  • Performance
  • Comfort
  • Styling

SM
gravatar
STEPHAN M.
2009 Subaru Forester (Natl)
verified customer Verified Owner
Overall Rating 2.0/5Overall Rating 2.0/5Overall Rating 2.0/5Overall Rating 2.0/5Overall Rating 2.0/5
04/07/2021
Verified Review

Expensive to own and repair.

I've never owned a car that cost so much in repairs.
    Value
  • Build Quality
  • Reliability
  • Exterior
  • Interior
  • Features
  • Fun
  • Performance
  • Comfort
  • Styling

LE
gravatar
LINDA E.
2009 Subaru Forester (Natl)
verified customer Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
01/28/2021
Verified Review

Great car especially the older design

Love my forester. visibility is my main feature when looking at cars. The older models ard great. The newer ones tapered the windows which diminishes visibility significantly. Looking forward to an all electric forester but see where it’s not slated for sale in the USA. Goodness. I guess I’ll just keep fixing the old one. If you live in the Pacific Northwest this is the best car company for our weather and terrain. I’m guessing that per capita there are more Subarus on the road here than anywhere else. If you bring your newest most fuel efficient and progressively environmentally friendly models here, we will buy them. This is your demographic.
    Value
  • Build Quality
  • Reliability
  • Exterior
  • Interior
  • Features
  • Fun
  • Performance
  • Comfort
  • Styling

JM
gravatar
JAQUELINE M.
2009 Subaru Forester (Natl)
verified customer Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
10/01/2020
Verified Review

Subaru owner for Life!!

First Subaru owned, bought used, first off road run in the woods to rescue my mom whose UTV cut out - driving on the sandy banks of the cranberry marsh - heavily snowing days and ice - never felt safer and under control than in my Subaru -
    Value
  • Build Quality
  • Reliability
  • Exterior
  • Interior
  • Features
  • Fun
  • Performance
  • Comfort
  • Styling

WB
gravatar
WILLIAM B.
2009 Subaru Forester (Natl)
verified customer Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
09/30/2020
Verified Review

Best vehicle ever!!

Very great vehicle for shopping and using every two weeks to go to necessary places!! Great value for all the features!! I always recommend to my friends to check this out!! I love it and would buy another if necessary!!!
    Value
  • Build Quality
  • Reliability
  • Exterior
  • Interior
  • Features
  • Fun
  • Performance
  • Comfort
  • Styling

MG
gravatar
MIKE G.
2009 Subaru Forester (Natl)
verified customer Verified Owner
Overall Rating 1.0/5Overall Rating 1.0/5Overall Rating 1.0/5Overall Rating 1.0/5Overall Rating 1.0/5
08/27/2020
Verified Review

Engine wore out at 150000 miles.

Even with regular oil changes, the engine used oil, not leaking, burning. The engine used all the oil and locked costing about $5,000 for a new engine. This is not 1950, it is 2000, and engines in cars today can easily last 300,000 miles if serviced regularly. More than a few mechanics told me this is a problem with Subaru engines to include an "aside" comment from a Subaru employee. Never another Subaru.
    Value
  • Build Quality
  • Reliability
  • Exterior
  • Interior
  • Features
  • Fun
  • Performance
  • Comfort
  • Styling

SM
gravatar
STEPHAN M.
2009 Subaru Forester (Natl)
verified customer Verified Owner
Overall Rating 2.0/5Overall Rating 2.0/5Overall Rating 2.0/5Overall Rating 2.0/5Overall Rating 2.0/5
08/04/2020
Verified Review

Expensive to own

I have never owned a car that needed so much repair work.
    Value
  • Build Quality
  • Reliability
  • Exterior
  • Interior
  • Features
  • Fun
  • Performance
  • Comfort
  • Styling

HH
gravatar
Hobson H.
2009 Subaru Forester (Natl)
verified customer Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
04/29/2020
Verified Review

I really have enjoyed being a Subaru Owner. This is my fourth one.

Great vehicle especially for winter driving. As an SUV, it has served me extremely well. My passengers have been comfortable and safe when riding with me. There’s plenty of room for groceries or boxed items. Glad to be a Subaru Owner.
    Value
  • Build Quality
  • Reliability
  • Exterior
  • Interior
  • Features
  • Fun
  • Performance
  • Comfort
  • Styling

MC
gravatar
MARTY C.
2009 Subaru Forester (Natl)
verified customer Verified Owner
Overall Rating 1.0/5Overall Rating 1.0/5Overall Rating 1.0/5Overall Rating 1.0/5Overall Rating 1.0/5
03/26/2020
Verified Review

Lemon

This used Subaru Forester had the following issues and recommendations upon inspection by an independent mechanic: leaking head gasket; replace very rusty exhaust system; replace timing belt; replace old tires; trouble shoot bad tire pressure indicator(s); replace old plugs/wires and battery; service AC system; service brakes; and more. And this car even had a clean CarFax, plus passing the Maryland State inspection!
    Value
  • Build Quality
  • Reliability
  • Exterior
  • Interior
  • Features
  • Fun
  • Performance
  • Comfort
  • Styling

RS
gravatar
ROSALEE S.
2009 Subaru Forester (Natl)
verified customer Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
11/02/2019
Verified Review

Love my Subaru!

I moved here from a dry area in California and had zero expericence driving in the snow! Thankful everyday that we have a Subaru Forester! This care is reliable, easy to handle in the snow, rain or whatever weather I am driving in. This car is comfortable and has made serveral trips across the states and never a problem. It is handy for hauling items, it turns easily, and overall it is perfect. We have over 170,000 miles on this car whch we bought new and will never have anything but a Subaru! And on top of all this it is super comfortable to drive and my husband is 6'2" and he fits perfectly in this car, and very comfortably.
    Value
  • Build Quality
  • Reliability
  • Exterior
  • Interior
  • Features
  • Fun
  • Performance
  • Comfort
  • Styling

DP
gravatar
Diane P.
2009 Subaru Forester (Natl)
verified customer Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
08/20/2019
Verified Review

Forester is great

My 2009 Subaru Forester is 10 years old & has 197,000 miles on it & it runs great. My first forester was a 2001 & had 250,000 miles on it & I sold it & bought the 2009. It is time to sell this 2009 because I have grandchildren that I watch & want to have a newer car.
    Value
  • Build Quality
  • Reliability
  • Exterior
  • Interior
  • Features
  • Fun
  • Performance
  • Comfort
  • Styling

DM
gravatar
Dan M.
2009 Subaru Forester (Natl)
verified customer Verified Owner
Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5
07/11/2019
Verified Review

2009 Forester Great once we got the kinks out

We bought this car used. It ran fine then out of the blue various warning lights began setting off and the engine was misfiring to the point of also dumping the car for a loss. Luckily the Subaru Dealership met me halfway on a ton of diagnostic work and after shelling out about $2000, the issues were resolved. The fuel lines were flushed and electronic fuel injection + catalytic converter were replaced. (Knock on Wood) this car keeps on trucking. After owning 4 Subaru Legacy Wagon's this was our first forester. I am glad I didn't dump the car as the Subaru Corporation Customer Service Rep. told me to do.
    Value
  • Build Quality
  • Reliability
  • Exterior
  • Interior
  • Features
  • Fun
  • Performance
  • Comfort
  • Styling

RS
gravatar
ROSALEE S.
2009 Subaru Forester (Natl)
verified customer Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
02/26/2019
Verified Review

Love our car!

We love our Subaru! We never lived in any area where it snows until we moved here 10 years ago! We are thankful everyday we bought a Subaru! It is reliable, handles beautifully! We will always buy a Subaru!
    Value
  • Build Quality
  • Reliability
  • Exterior
  • Interior
  • Features
  • Fun
  • Performance
  • Comfort
  • Styling

DJ
gravatar
DEBBIE J.
2009 Subaru Forester (Natl)
verified customer Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
01/31/2019
Verified Review

Love my car

Other than regular recommended maintenance this car has never needed anything extra except a battery once. Drives like a dream and 153,500+ miles so far.
    Value
  • Build Quality
  • Reliability
  • Exterior
  • Interior
  • Features
  • Fun
  • Performance
  • Comfort
  • Styling

FR
gravatar
FRANK J R.
2009 Subaru Forester (Natl)
verified customer Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
10/28/2018
Verified Review

Great car for the money.

We started with Subaru in 2000 leasing a Forester, we bought our last one a 2009. It has 165,000 mi. on it, I believe this will be my last vehicle. I'm 75 how many more miles do I have. I believe with good service (B&B Garage) I should get 250,000 without a hitch. That's enough for anybody.
    Value
  • Build Quality
  • Reliability
  • Exterior
  • Interior
  • Features
  • Fun
  • Performance
  • Comfort
  • Styling

JM
gravatar
JONATHAN M.
2009 Subaru Forester (Natl)
verified customer Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
09/11/2018
Verified Review

Fast and Furious

Beforehand let me explain that this is the truth. I say this as you may not believe the following or find it to be an exaggeration of the reality which is the 2009 Subaru Forester. Never before has a vehicle exuded such excellence in both performance as well as style and sexiness. In laymans terms the shit is bananas. B-A-NANAS. If ever the day comes when the good car scientists of Earth can make possible sexual relations between man and machine, flesh and steel..... this is the vehicle I would most want to be with
    Value
  • Build Quality
  • Reliability
  • Exterior
  • Interior
  • Features
  • Fun
  • Performance
  • Comfort
  • Styling

DJ
gravatar
DEBBIE J.
2009 Subaru Forester (Natl)
verified customer Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
09/08/2018
Verified Review

Love my car

150,000 miles and never had a break down or needed anything but basic maintenance.
    Value
  • Build Quality
  • Reliability
  • Exterior
  • Interior
  • Features
  • Fun
  • Performance
  • Comfort
  • Styling

WS
gravatar
WILLIAM S.
2009 Subaru Forester (Natl)
verified customer Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
08/28/2018
Verified Review

Long time owner.

I have had the vehicle for 9 years and I still love it. I love the vehicle for the space provided. I go on many camping trips and can fit all my stuff in the vehicle. I have also picked up a washer and a dryer(separately) and fit it in the car.
    Value
  • Build Quality
  • Reliability
  • Exterior
  • Interior
  • Features
  • Fun
  • Performance
  • Comfort
  • Styling

CM
gravatar
CAROL M.
2009 Subaru Forester (Natl)
verified customer Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
06/13/2018
Verified Review

Love it

I love my Forester. Best car I've ever driven. I get comments from friends on what a great looking car it is. I see suburu's everywhere I drive. Lots of smart people. After driving a suburu II wouldn't drive anything else.
    Value
  • Build Quality
  • Reliability
  • Exterior
  • Interior
  • Features
  • Fun
  • Performance
  • Comfort
  • Styling

DJ
gravatar
DEBBIE J.
2009 Subaru Forester (Natl)
verified customer Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
04/30/2018
Verified Review

Love my car

Bought new, 147,500+ miles on , dependable, trust worthy & comfortable.
    Value
  • Build Quality
  • Reliability
  • Exterior
  • Interior
  • Features
  • Fun
  • Performance
  • Comfort
  • Styling

Displaying reviews 1 - 20 of 47 in total

Businesses Near You


  • Subaru Certified Collision Center
Auto Stiegler, Inc. Collision Center
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
5.0
(4 Reviews)

  • BMW Dealer
  • Subaru Dealer
  • Auto Maintenance
Integrity Autowerks Inc
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
5.0
(131 Reviews)

  • Subaru Certified Collision Center
1st Class Auto Body - Pacific Hwy
Overall Rating 4.9/5Overall Rating 4.9/5Overall Rating 4.9/5Overall Rating 4.9/5Overall Rating 4.9/5
4.9
(6 Reviews)

  • Subaru Dealer
  • Used Car Dealer
  • Auto Repair
Parker Subaru
Overall Rating 4.8/5Overall Rating 4.8/5Overall Rating 4.8/5Overall Rating 4.8/5Overall Rating 4.8/5
4.8
(19731 Reviews)
Overall Rating 4.5/5Overall Rating 4.5/5Overall Rating 4.5/5Overall Rating 4.5/5Overall Rating 4.5/5
4.5
(35) ReScores