Business Solutions

2005 Subaru Forester (Natl)

Average Score

Overall Rating 4.4/5Overall Rating 4.4/5Overall Rating 4.4/5Overall Rating 4.4/5Overall Rating 4.4/5
4.4
(16 Reviews)
Category Summary
(Avg. out of 10)
    Value
  • Features
  • Build Quality
  • Fun
  • Reliability
  • Performance
  • Exterior
  • Comfort
  • Interior
  • Styling

Reviews

Overall Rating 4.4/5Overall Rating 4.4/5Overall Rating 4.4/5Overall Rating 4.4/5Overall Rating 4.4/5
4.4
(16 Reviews)

KL
gravatar
KAROLE L.
2005 Subaru Forester (Natl)
verified customer Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
11/17/2021
Verified Review

I LOVE my 2005 Subaru!

Because it is so well built and because I have the best auto mechanic, my 2005 Subaru Forester continues to run like a new car. It remains in great shape and I just love it! You can't go wrong owning a Subaru!!
    Value
  • Build Quality
  • Reliability
  • Exterior
  • Interior
  • Features
  • Fun
  • Performance
  • Comfort
  • Styling

DL
gravatar
Donna L.
2005 Subaru Forester (Natl)
verified customer Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
03/10/2021
Verified Review

Love my 2005 Forester

Bought my Forester in 2006 for a great price - it was a rental car brought over from Hawaii. It is very reliable and the AWD easily handles less than perfect road conditions, especially snow. I expect to be driving my Forester for many more years.
    Value
  • Build Quality
  • Reliability
  • Exterior
  • Interior
  • Features
  • Fun
  • Performance
  • Comfort
  • Styling

DH
gravatar
DOUGLAS H.
2005 Subaru Forester (Natl)
verified customer Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5
11/07/2020
Verified Review

Hope it lasts another 15 years

Love the key ignition and the lack of useless and distracting video information. If it had the backup cameras, side alerts, a stronger engine and a larger battery it would be perfect. The Subaru seat backs in general are horrible. They do not adjust correctly for anyone under 5'6". We have had 3 Subarus and I have had to tie pillows to support my wife's neck for all 3 of them.
    Value
  • Build Quality
  • Reliability
  • Exterior
  • Interior
  • Features
  • Fun
  • Performance
  • Comfort
  • Styling

DK
gravatar
Daire K.
2005 Subaru Forester (Natl)
verified customer Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
08/14/2020
Verified Review

Love our car

We bought our 2005 Subaru Forester after the transmission died in our truck and we needed a reliable family car to get us through the pandemic as we had to drive cross country several times for visitations since our child couldn’t fly. We bought it at 169,000 miles and now have 194,000 on it. This car has done well on the highway and extremely off-off road when we did dispersed camping (we didn’t realize how off-road it would be but our Subaru got us through no problem). It is true you can fit almost anything in this car though we wish we could afford a roof box, we have made it work with two adults, a kid and two bigger dogs and all of our camping gear. We will driving this car as long as she runs and finding a Subaru mechanic has been key (don’t trust Midas with your Subaru!)
    Value
  • Build Quality
  • Reliability
  • Exterior
  • Interior
  • Features
  • Fun
  • Performance
  • Comfort
  • Styling

CU
gravatar
CYNTHIA U.
2005 Subaru Forester (Natl)
verified customer Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5
01/28/2020
Verified Review

2005 Subaru Forester

It's true when you buy a Subaru it is LOVE> The company does stand by their product and the zero landfill is an awesome company philosphy. This car, my first is great. One thing that stood out as the most significant negative is it does DENT easily when other cars in the same situation and setting do not dent at all. Otherwise, I really have no complaints about this Subaru Forester. I will buy another for sure!!
    Value
  • Build Quality
  • Reliability
  • Exterior
  • Interior
  • Features
  • Fun
  • Performance
  • Comfort
  • Styling

RO
gravatar
ROE O.
2005 Subaru Forester (Natl)
verified customer Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
06/05/2019
Verified Review

Love my older Forester

I bought my 06 Forester over 2 years ago, trading in a newer Rav 4 for it. The older Foresters are smaller, closer to the ground, and handle better than the taller bulkier newer models. I got a standard transmission (which I had wanted to get back to), and found a Forester 'winter package' (heated seats and mirror defroster). The Forester out-performs the Rav at every point: pick up, control, handling in weather, braking, etc. It is much 'sportier' in the way it handles. The interior is very roomy. I am a musician and use the car to cart my equipment (including a double bass, amplifiers, stands etc.), which it handles with ease.
    Value
  • Build Quality
  • Reliability
  • Exterior
  • Interior
  • Features
  • Fun
  • Performance
  • Comfort
  • Styling

MW
gravatar
MARIE W.
2005 Subaru Forester (Natl)
verified customer Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
05/14/2019
Verified Review

2005 Subaru.

The car is the right size, I can park it with no difficulty. The car runs well, The problems we had were minor .Dash lights the sellor has worked with us. The problem is not totally solved, but he has been very cooperative. We have put 3000 miles traveled and no problems.
    Value
  • Build Quality
  • Reliability
  • Exterior
  • Interior
  • Features
  • Fun
  • Performance
  • Comfort
  • Styling

DM
gravatar
DIANE M.
2005 Subaru Forester (Natl)
verified customer Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
08/30/2017
Verified Review

2005 Subaru Forester

I now have over 100,000 miles on my Subaru Forester and it is a great car. I have seen that it is maintained well and it has served me well. It is fun to drive and I have found it great in every respect.
    Value
  • Build Quality
  • Reliability
  • Exterior
  • Interior
  • Features
  • Fun
  • Performance
  • Comfort
  • Styling

DE
gravatar
DEBORAH E.
2005 Subaru Forester (Natl)
verified customer Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
07/17/2017
Verified Review

Subaru Forester

Love my new "used" car. Had a Toyota for 6 years and was happy when it finally kicked. I will always purchase Subarus.
    Value
  • Build Quality
  • Reliability
  • Exterior
  • Interior
  • Features
  • Fun
  • Performance
  • Comfort
  • Styling

DM
gravatar
DIANE M.
2005 Subaru Forester (Natl)
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
03/25/2017

Subaru Forester

I have 2005 Subaru Forester which has over 96,000 miles on it. I have maintained it well and it has been a wonderful car. A real workhorse and a pleasure to drive. I can't say enough to really do it justice. Tu
    Value
  • Build Quality
  • Reliability
  • Exterior
  • Interior
  • Features
  • Fun
  • Performance
  • Comfort
  • Styling

TD
gravatar
TOM D.
2005 Subaru Forester (Natl)
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
02/14/2017

best all around vehicle I ever had

bought the turbo XT new in 05. hands down the best car I ever had
    Value
  • Build Quality
  • Reliability
  • Exterior
  • Interior
  • Features
  • Fun
  • Performance
  • Comfort
  • Styling

AC
gravatar
Angeline C.
2005 Subaru Forester (Natl)
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
07/23/2016

Love my Subaru

After almost 300,000 miles, my Subaru is still serving our family well. It's an excellent car in bad weather, and the heating/ac system is also great in severe weather. It's a car I feel very safe in, and wouldn't hesitate to buy another.
    Value
  • Build Quality
  • Reliability
  • Exterior
  • Interior
  • Features
  • Fun
  • Performance
  • Comfort
  • Styling

SC
gravatar
Silvia C.
2005 Subaru Forester (Natl)
Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5
03/11/2016

Subaru Forrester - Commuter Car/Farm and Family hauler

This is a dependable all-wheel drive vehicle with good inside space to not only haul a family of 4 or 5, but take along a load of travel cases or about 400# of feed. Yet dependable and economical for regular distance commuting. We like this car so much we invested a replacement engine and transmission last year, and it keeps us on the road! Even when it becomes too worn out for being in public, it will be a vital "4-wheeler" for use on the farm. The only think it won't drive through is a foot of snow that lifts the wheels off the ground, lol!
    Value
  • Build Quality
  • Reliability
  • Exterior
  • Interior
  • Features
  • Fun
  • Performance
  • Comfort
  • Styling

AL
gravatar
Aaron and Rachel L.
2005 Subaru Forester (Natl)
Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5
02/05/2016

2005 Subaru Forester

I'm a fan of SUV's that look like an SUV. This one has the body shape, but sits a little low to the ground for my liking. It drives like a car with it's 5-speed manual transmission. Since it sits so close to the ground, it corners nicely and is fun to drive. It is getting older, so we have had some issues with it. In the last few years we have had engine leaking oil, which required repairing gaskets and seals. The sunroof no longer works, which is a shame because it is one of the big selling points as it goes over the front and back seats. It's huge. The engine is a little under powered. Would have been much better with a V-6 rather than a 4 cyl. It has a lot of bells and whistles for the time it was released. Great storage options, and things like heated cloth seats.
    Value
  • Build Quality
  • Reliability
  • Exterior
  • Interior
  • Features
  • Fun
  • Performance
  • Comfort
  • Styling

RC
gravatar
RUSS C.
2005 Subaru Forester (Natl)
Overall Rating 0.0/5Overall Rating 0.0/5Overall Rating 0.0/5Overall Rating 0.0/5Overall Rating 0.0/5
06/02/2015
-
    Value
  • Build Quality
  • Reliability
  • Exterior
  • Interior
  • Features
  • Fun
  • Performance
  • Comfort
  • Styling

JP
gravatar
Jerry and Gail P.
2005 Subaru Forester (Natl)
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
03/20/2015

Satisfaction

Great....great...great.
    Value
  • Build Quality
  • Reliability
  • Exterior
  • Interior
  • Features
  • Fun
  • Performance
  • Comfort
  • Styling

Displaying all 16 reviews

Businesses Near You


  • BMW Dealer
  • Subaru Dealer
  • Auto Maintenance
Integrity Autowerks Inc
Overall Rating 4.9/5Overall Rating 4.9/5Overall Rating 4.9/5Overall Rating 4.9/5Overall Rating 4.9/5
4.9
(117 Reviews)

  • Subaru Dealer
  • Used Car Dealer
  • Auto Repair
Parker Subaru
Overall Rating 4.8/5Overall Rating 4.8/5Overall Rating 4.8/5Overall Rating 4.8/5Overall Rating 4.8/5
4.8
(18579 Reviews)
Overall Rating 4.5/5Overall Rating 4.5/5Overall Rating 4.5/5Overall Rating 4.5/5Overall Rating 4.5/5
4.5
(31) ReScores