2002
Volkswagen
New Beetle

Overall Rating 4.38/5Overall Rating 4.38/5Overall Rating 4.38/5Overall Rating 4.38/5rating 4.38
4.4
(8 Reviews)
Latest review almost 2 years ago
Category Summary (Avg. out of 10)
  • Value
  • Features
  • Build Quality
  • Fun
  • Reliability
  • Performance
  • Exterior
  • Comfort
  • Interior
  • Styling

ML
MARVIN L.
2002 Volkswagen New Beetle
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 1/5rating 1rating 1rating 1rating 1
01/16/2018
Cheaply made
I love the look and everything of the car i just hate the quality of the plastic soo cheaply made its terrible! Like seriously? This is not a middle school project its a car that needs to be built tough to last.

Pros
Very good designed car

Cons
Cheap terrible quality

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

BG
Bernard G.
2002 Volkswagen New Beetle
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
09/29/2017
More than expected
I've owned a beetle in the past but wasn't expecting the economy and driving pleasure of this 2002 model. I will probably keep this vehicle for several years.

Pros
Handling, performance, maintenance

Cons
With age comes incidentals but nothing major as off yet.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

CW
CRAIG W.
2002 Volkswagen New Beetle
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
08/01/2017
Love from Germany
Solid vehicle with consistent reliability. Fun to drive and fuel efficient.

Pros
Easy to maneuver and reasonable power.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

MP
MATTHEW P.
2002 Volkswagen New Beetle
Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5Overall Rating 4/5rating 4
03/20/2017
Power Window...
The power window broke, the window fell into the door and busted some very expensive part... had to drive around in freezing weather for a few days. Expensive to fix.

Pros
I love the heated seats! Drives nicely and is super cute.

Cons
Power windows have a poor design.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

HM
HORST M.
2002 Volkswagen New Beetle
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
05/23/2016
15 years of awesome.
No problems for almost 15 years. Love the size and space!

Pros
The back space with the second seat down. Space is amazing.

Cons
Sorry, except cost, I can't think of any.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

LM
Lynn M.
2002 Volkswagen New Beetle
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
08/11/2015
2001 Volkswagen New Beetle
Excellent dependability!!!!!! As you can tell, I've had this car for 14 years and other than a new alternator two years ago, all other work has been strictly maintenance.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

DW
Delores (Dee) W.
2002 Volkswagen New Beetle
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
06/13/2015
Cute, dependable , and great car.
Driving this car makes me happy. Always starts even in the winter. Handles interstate driving easily. Always owned VW's. Can't imagine driving any other car. Brings smiles to others. I've had many offers to buy the car from me when I'm ready to sell. Not ready yet and cant imagine owning any other car.

Pros
Reliable, cute, great on fuel, mileage.

Cons
None

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

HP
HENRY P.
2002 Volkswagen New Beetle
Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5Overall Rating 5/5
04/28/2015
Joe Pecheles has a great service department.
I have thoroughly enjoyed the 2002 VW New Beetle. I have caught a lot of ribbing for having it since I am a big guy. The truth is, I actually bought in on 09-08-01, because me two children, ages 7 and 9 at that time, really wanted it. Of course they liked the cyber green color. I feel like I have gotten good service out of it, especially the diesel engine. I'm still not ready to part with it. I will say, however, I have found repairs to this vehicle to be rather expensive, but thanks to the service department there for trying to cut customer costs.

Pros
Great fuel economy

Cons
I've had issues with some of the interior components.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling
Displaying all 8 reviews