ReScore Reviews™ (4)
Hi Emily, we are sorry you are dissatisfied with your experience. We did not recommend a thermostate only. The repair would have been signficantly less if we had only estimated a thermstate replacement. We recommended a thermostate housing and thermastate assembly. This recommendation was made because the vehicle had codes for a failure to maintain proper temperature, and there was also coolant residue on the bottom of the housing. We reviewed the orignal estimate and our pricing with discounts was $163.00 less then what is specified in your review. We are glad you found a path to get your car running.
Thanks for taking the time to speak with me over the phone. And address your concerns.
We talked through the repair and discussed the starter we were quoting was an OEM part. We also discussed that my cost on the part was more expensive then the total estimate from the alternative shop. We offer a 4yr/48k warrenty, and the reason we can do this is the quality of parts we use on repairs. We also discussed the billed hours for our three ASE Master technicians. We reviewed our book hours and confirmed that they were on target for the needed repair. We had also determined a new battery was needed during our diagnostic. We are glad you found a cost model that worked well for your needs.
We appreciate you bring this to our attention. There was a miscommunication on which two tires needed replacement. The two tires we originally replaced were the most worn. We are glad we could make special arrangements to look at your tire this past Saturday and resolve the issue. Thanks again for letting us know.
We apologize for any frustration with the rates. The parts we were quoted by our normal distributor were more than the local dealership. Unfortunately, this occasionally happens with parts pricing. After we were made aware of the issue, we refunded the price difference to your wife. This was in addition to the service credit. We spoke and our understanding was we addressed the issue to your satisfaction. Please let us know if there are any additional concerns.
My car's O2 sensor was broken, which caused the check engine light to come on. This shop quoted me $575 for the job of replacing it that another local shop did for $125. When they quoted me that price I did my own online research and realized that this was not a reasonable quote, so I went to pick up my car from the shop. I asked the gentleman who had "run the diagnostic" (for which they charged me $97) what he thought was wrong. He said that the "air fuel ratio sensor" was broken. My online research had told me that the air fuel ratio sensor is the same thing as an O2 sensor. When I asked him this question he responded with "no, but it looks the same to someone who doesn't know much about cars". He apparently used this lie to justify the more than $300 that he claimed the part cost on the quote sheet. I confirmed through numerous sources that those are two names for the same thing, and that the part can be reasonably found in the vicinity of $100.
I am never going back to the place again and I am telling everyone I know not to return as well.
Thank you for your feedback. The "Air Fuel Ratio Sensor" is what was broken on your car. O2 sensor and AFR sensor are often called the same thing, however they are different. The AFR sensor is an air-fuel ratio sensor that is slowly replacing (or supplementing) the zirconia oxygen sensor (O2 sensor) in modern motor vehicles (https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/AFR_sensor). We use OEM parts and our cost was more then $125 for the AFR sensor. There are less expensive aftermarket parts usually of lessor quality that are often used. Our work is guaranteed with a 4yr/48k warranty. The diagnostic fee, that was shared upfront, isolated the issue with your vehicle. Our team’s statement "no, but it looks the same to someone who doesn't know much about cars" was only in response to your statement that “you did not know much about cars”. They were only sharing that often shops and customers call different sensors the same thing. We apologize for any miscommunication on our side and glad you got your issue addressed.
Kevin, it is unfortunate to hear you did not feel you had a good experience. We had to replace the headlight (which you provided) as there was an integral piece that had been melted. To replace the headlight, we had to remove the entire front bumper so it was labor intensive and this the reason for the cost. However, our mechanic called to state he needed more time to run a diagnostic because there was no power to the headlight. At that point you stated you didn't have time and wanted to come get your car. Thus we did not have a chance to locate the busted fuse. We did break the sidelight but we replaced it at no cost of course.
It was the end of the day when we were able to do the work for you and did not have a full opportunity to inspect as you were unable to leave your vehicle.
We are glad you were able to find somewhere that you felt met your needs.
Jordan, my apologies that your visit did not meet your expectations. As a female owner, I am committed to having a business that welcomes and makes everyone feel comfortable.
The invoice you signed, stated upfront the diagnostic fee of $97.93 before any work began. We extended a 10% new customer discount for the distributor repair. The distributor repair costs on parts and labor were $589 and included a 4year/48k mile warranty. The other potential repair was spark plug wires which appeared to be the original wires on a high mileage car. Best practice is to replace the spark plugs when the spark plug wires are replaced. We provided the option to wait on that spark plug wires repair until we had the car running and determined if it was still needed. We apologize for any miscommunication and very glad you were able to find a place that fit your needs better.
Morgan, my apologies that your visit did not meet your expectations. As a female owner, I am committed to having a business that welcomes and makes everyone feel comfortable. A significant portion of our client base are women who know and trust us. I can assure you the service manager had no intention of making you uncomfortable.
The invoice you signed stated that there might need to be additional repair due to the rust but does not state anything about an extra $200. It also disclosed up front the diagnostic fee of $97.93 which is standard. We also extended a 10% new customer discount. We are very glad you were able to find a place that fit your needs better and we wish you well in the future.
Thanks for providing us your feedback and concerns. Honda Timing Belts are one of the most expensive fixes on a Honda. If the timing belt where to break, it would cause permanent damage to the motor. Honda also requires an additional components be replaced with the timing belt, such as the water pump. We stand by the diagnosis on the timing belt being the initial problem. We would have been able to determine any additional requirements for repair after the fix was in place and the car was running correctly. We offer a 4yr/48k Mile warranty on all repairs. We specify our diagnosis fee upfront and did not perform any of the needed repairs without talking to you first. Unfortunately, we could not waive the fee with the car being parked on our lot for over a week to wait on your decision regarding making the repair. I hope you get your needs addressed and let us know if we can help in any way.
I apologize that you feel you did not have a good experience with our store. I can understand how the price difference might surprise you. However, the reason is quality. We only buy OE parts (original equipment). Essentially, this means the part we install will last longer. Discount Stores use the cheapest parts available and have a shorter life span. We also have a 4 year/44,000 mile warranty on our work that other stores and repair shops do not. Additionally, parts stores pulling codes does not usually determine all the issue with a vehicle repair. We do charge a diagnostic fee which you will find with almost all quality and reputable repair shops. The reason is that we do a much more thorough inspection of the car using the best equipment. This fee is mentioned to all customers up front and the quote you received and signed has it listed on there so it is not a surprise.
I am glad you were able to find what you needed and make the repair. We wish you all the best.