Business Solutions

2008 Chevrolet HHR

Average Score

Overall Rating 4.6/5Overall Rating 4.6/5Overall Rating 4.6/5Overall Rating 4.6/5Overall Rating 4.6/5
4.6
(21 Reviews)
Category Summary
(Avg. out of 10)
    Value
  • Features
  • Build Quality
  • Fun
  • Reliability
  • Performance
  • Exterior
  • Comfort
  • Interior
  • Styling

Reviews

Overall Rating 4.6/5Overall Rating 4.6/5Overall Rating 4.6/5Overall Rating 4.6/5Overall Rating 4.6/5
4.6
(21 Reviews)

RM
RYANNE M.
2008 Chevrolet HHR
verified customer Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5
12/28/2021
Verified Review

Compact and Retro

not sure of this problem I have or just freaking out of somethings gonna be happened.But like I always my principle is take care of your car what ever is the brand is, it will last long. Do your maintenance regularly
    Value
  • Build Quality
  • Reliability
  • Exterior
  • Interior
  • Features
  • Fun
  • Performance
  • Comfort
  • Styling

JW
gravatar
Jerry W.
2008 Chevrolet HHR
verified customer Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
10/28/2021
Verified Review

My HHR

I bought my HHR brand new in 2008. I have not had any major problems with it. It is a great car and very dependable. I hate they don't make them anymore. Good gas mileage and a well built car for the money. Jerry W.
    Value
  • Build Quality
  • Reliability
  • Exterior
  • Interior
  • Features
  • Fun
  • Performance
  • Comfort
  • Styling

LB
gravatar
LARRY B.
2008 Chevrolet HHR
verified customer Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5
10/15/2021
Verified Review

Good Vehicle But......................................

I bought this 2008 Chevrolet HHR SS in 2015. I called the original owner after I bought it and found out he had truly pampered this vehicle always. It was always serviced or repaired at his local Chevrolet store. In addition to that, he had a garage to keep it in that was climate controlled by an HVAC system. His wife was the member of the family who drove it. I say all of this to show this vehicle was not abused or neglected. I bought it with 80k miles on it and within a few months, I had engine trouble with it. I took it to my local Chevrolet dealer. They called and first they said it should be around $8-900 to fix it. Then that changed to $1500, then to $2000. And eventually the final bill ended up being a whopping $3600!!! I pleaded with them to give me some sort of discount. They finally cut the price on the parts and the bill came down to $3300. That was a big disappointment to me so soon after buying this HHR. I seriously considered selling it then but as the service advisor at the Chevrolet dealer said, "You just about have a whole new engine now. Don't sell it!" So I didn't. It has been very reliable ever since although since I am retired, it is driven only about 1000 miles per year. My wife drove it recently and she called me on her way home and said it was overheating. The gauge had just begun to rise and she was only a mile from home so I told her to try to make it here unless the temp gauge started going higher. She did make it home OK. I called an independent garage I use to ask if they could look at it. They said they could. Due to the problem, I had it towed on a flatbed truck to their facility. They checked it and called to tell me it needed a module for the cooling fan but it was not available separately so I had to buy the module AND the cooling fan. By the time they were done, the bill was $744 and that was with a $30 discount coupon. So, I do still love this little vehicle (car, station wagon, small SUV??) and really love driving it. It is very fast and surprises a lot of people at stoplights. And I think it is a great looking vehicle too, especially with its 18-inch tires and 5 (or 10 depending on your opinion) spoke polished aluminum wheels, its red brake calipers and its vented and slotted rotors. I also especially like the different grille and front end on the SS version compared to the plain Jane HHRs. I will also say that this HHR and a C5 Corvette that I owned for 16 years are the only GM vehicles I've ever owned that didn't leak any fluids at all. Good job, GM because I HATE leaks under cars. Each time I have a problem with this HHR, it takes me some time to trust it again. So, I'm in that phase now since I just had the fan and module repaired. But I will come to trust it again as I have in the past. I just hope nothing else comes along to break that trust again very soon. Yet at the same time, I have a good friend who also has an HHR that he bought from another friend who bought it new. It isn't an SS but it is very nice. It now has 234,000 miles and he has had no problems with it at all. He hasn't even changed the timing gears and chains yet! Such luck I will never have.
    Value
  • Build Quality
  • Reliability
  • Exterior
  • Interior
  • Features
  • Fun
  • Performance
  • Comfort
  • Styling

JW
gravatar
Jerry W.
2008 Chevrolet HHR
verified customer Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
06/10/2021
Verified Review

HHR Chevy

My name is Jerry. I bought my HHR 2010 chevy from Myrtle beach chevy company. It has been the greatist dependable car I have had. C & G keeps it in great condition and tir service to. It has 169k miles so far and runs great. Thank you G & G for keep it in great condition.
    Value
  • Build Quality
  • Reliability
  • Exterior
  • Interior
  • Features
  • Fun
  • Performance
  • Comfort
  • Styling

FN
gravatar
FRANK N.
2008 Chevrolet HHR
verified customer Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
03/25/2021
Verified Review

Thoughts on my 2008 HHR

Best car I ever owned, wish they did'nt stop making them. Good on gas even after 10 years. Low maintinance, smooth riding, as much room inside as my Silverado that I traded in for it. With 229,300 miles still runs like new.
    Value
  • Build Quality
  • Reliability
  • Exterior
  • Interior
  • Features
  • Fun
  • Performance
  • Comfort
  • Styling

MC
gravatar
Michelle C.
2008 Chevrolet HHR
verified customer Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
03/11/2021
Verified Review

Awesome

I love my car! Fun to drive, great gas mileage, fits a bunch of stuff in it! I feel like a beachy kind of car. Wish they made them still! I can fit a Great Dane and a German Shorthaired Pointer in it .
    Value
  • Build Quality
  • Reliability
  • Exterior
  • Interior
  • Features
  • Fun
  • Performance
  • Comfort
  • Styling

RP
gravatar
Ross P.
2008 Chevrolet HHR
verified customer Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5
02/12/2021
Verified Review

I think of it as a CPOS, but it now has over 100,000 miles without truly major problems

When my wife bought it I was driving a PT Cruiser (really great car, by the way). She has arthritis so had trouble with opening the cruiser’s doors from outside so bought a 1-year old HHR. I regard it as a not-particularly good rip-off of the PT Cruiser. It has held up remarkably well but it is still not my idea of a good car. GM did the same thing with its Omni vs VW’s Rabbit.
    Value
  • Build Quality
  • Reliability
  • Exterior
  • Interior
  • Features
  • Fun
  • Performance
  • Comfort
  • Styling

JJ
gravatar
JUDY J.
2008 Chevrolet HHR
verified customer Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
10/10/2019
Verified Review

Love my HHR

I bought it new in 2008, have over 227,000 miles on it and still love it even though it's starting to show it's age. It's been to Eastern and Southern Oregon numerous times and has never let me down. .
    Value
  • Build Quality
  • Reliability
  • Exterior
  • Interior
  • Features
  • Fun
  • Performance
  • Comfort
  • Styling

WF
gravatar
WASONYA F.
2008 Chevrolet HHR
verified customer Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
08/27/2019
Verified Review

HHR

I was told by a mechanic that Chevy made this car to last 4 years, I'm glad my car has proved him wrg, thank you Chevy, this is my 2nd Chevy THAT has lasted, thru my children and now thru my grandkids. I'm looking forward to a new Chevy, probably next year.???
    Value
  • Build Quality
  • Reliability
  • Exterior
  • Interior
  • Features
  • Fun
  • Performance
  • Comfort
  • Styling

JD
gravatar
Jim D.
2008 Chevrolet HHR
verified customer Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5
07/03/2019
Verified Review

Good little wagon

Although it’s styling is an acquired taste, I like the look. It gets 29 MPG even if I’m driving 85 MPH in the interstate. Had some quirky electrical issues when I bought it used, but it’s never broken down on me. It zooms in and out of traffic easily and people don’t expect it because it looks so clunky.
    Value
  • Build Quality
  • Reliability
  • Exterior
  • Interior
  • Features
  • Fun
  • Performance
  • Comfort
  • Styling

SM
gravatar
Shirley M.
2008 Chevrolet HHR
verified customer Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
06/26/2019
Verified Review

Love it

Love this HHR, Panel looks like Older Panel cars, , had since 2008, and no Problems, will Soon be a Collectors Car (Panel Body stile) Much nicer Body style that Chrysler PT Cruiser. which Everyone has.
    Value
  • Build Quality
  • Reliability
  • Exterior
  • Interior
  • Features
  • Fun
  • Performance
  • Comfort
  • Styling

JW
gravatar
Jerry W.
2008 Chevrolet HHR
verified customer Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
04/19/2019
Verified Review

Jerry Williams

I bought my HHR in 2009. It is a great car for gas mileage. It Handles great and parks in small places. The seats lay down and makes for a lot of room to haul things. I have enjoyed many miles of driving across this state and others states too. It is easy to work on and has not gave me very little trouble. Sorry they don't make them anymore.
    Value
  • Build Quality
  • Reliability
  • Exterior
  • Interior
  • Features
  • Fun
  • Performance
  • Comfort
  • Styling

LM
gravatar
Leona M.
2008 Chevrolet HHR
verified customer Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5
02/06/2019
Verified Review

A dependable car, except for all the recalls

I bought my HHR with about 32,00 miles on it in 2008. It has been dependable. It has also had numerous recalls, which were fixed free of charge by Burien Chevrolet (Thank you!). The car is a little small in the interior. If you are much taller than 5'8", You will most likely be too tall for the car. Small things are no longer working, but these things are expensive to fix: The horn doesn't work, $1500 for a new computer board; a blinker sticks on, the side view mirror controls don't work anymore. If you give someone a jump, your power steering fuse may blow (it's about a $5 fix, but quite annoying). Overall, though, this car get me from point A to point B with no problems.
    Value
  • Build Quality
  • Reliability
  • Exterior
  • Interior
  • Features
  • Fun
  • Performance
  • Comfort
  • Styling

JW
gravatar
Jerry W.
2008 Chevrolet HHR
verified customer Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
02/18/2018
Verified Review

2008 LT HHR

I love my HHR, I bought it brand new and it has not given me any trouble and runs like a top. Drives good and easy to park and just the right size for me. I love it. It gets good gas mileage and handles great in traffic. I am very glad I bought it and looks great.
    Value
  • Build Quality
  • Reliability
  • Exterior
  • Interior
  • Features
  • Fun
  • Performance
  • Comfort
  • Styling

JF
gravatar
JOHN F.
2008 Chevrolet HHR
Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5
04/20/2017

Handy reliable car.

Love every thing about it but have had to get brakes repaired too many times.
    Value
  • Build Quality
  • Reliability
  • Exterior
  • Interior
  • Features
  • Fun
  • Performance
  • Comfort
  • Styling

PE
gravatar
PATTI E.
2008 Chevrolet HHR
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
04/08/2017

love my Chevy

I bought this car because I wanted a mini-van & when I saw this I fell in love....I call it my mini-mini-van I was going to buy a white one until I saw this color (blue with purple in the sun). I can carry a lot & It has served me well. But I do have to careful backing up, slight blind spots.
    Value
  • Build Quality
  • Reliability
  • Exterior
  • Interior
  • Features
  • Fun
  • Performance
  • Comfort
  • Styling

BG
gravatar
BUD G.
2008 Chevrolet HHR
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
03/26/2017

I love the little beast!

I love my little car. It handles well and so far ( 9 years old, 44,200 miles) it has treated me well. Now, Thanks to some of Rick's helpful tips, I will be treating the little beast much better. Thanks again Rick's!
    Value
  • Build Quality
  • Reliability
  • Exterior
  • Interior
  • Features
  • Fun
  • Performance
  • Comfort
  • Styling

WB
gravatar
WELDON B.
2008 Chevrolet HHR
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
03/21/2017

My HHR

Best small car on the market. Lots of room inside. Too many features to list. My HHR has 120,000 miles and all i've done is change the oit regularly and put a new set of tires on it.
    Value
  • Build Quality
  • Reliability
  • Exterior
  • Interior
  • Features
  • Fun
  • Performance
  • Comfort
  • Styling

TK
gravatar
TOM K.
2008 Chevrolet HHR
Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5
05/31/2016

HHR

Great mileage & space
    Value
  • Build Quality
  • Reliability
  • Exterior
  • Interior
  • Features
  • Fun
  • Performance
  • Comfort
  • Styling

TB
gravatar
TONY B.
2008 Chevrolet HHR
Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5
05/12/2016

Not well engineered

Being built while GM was on the downhill slide we should have expected the lack of quality not usually associated with GM. Overly complicated engineering has made the car a nightmare to work on. Parts are so expensive as the aftermarket supply is limited to poor quality such as was originally installed in the vehicle. Overpriced for what you get.
    Value
  • Build Quality
  • Reliability
  • Exterior
  • Interior
  • Features
  • Fun
  • Performance
  • Comfort
  • Styling

Displaying reviews 1 - 20 of 21 in total

Businesses Near You


  • New Car Dealer
Bill Pierre Chevrolet
Overall Rating 4.6/5Overall Rating 4.6/5Overall Rating 4.6/5Overall Rating 4.6/5Overall Rating 4.6/5
4.6
(1230 Reviews)

  • New Car Dealer
  • Used Car Dealer
  • Auto Repair
Don Wood Chevrolet Buick Cadillac
Overall Rating 4.9/5Overall Rating 4.9/5Overall Rating 4.9/5Overall Rating 4.9/5Overall Rating 4.9/5
4.9
(628 Reviews)
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
5.0
(2) ReScores


  • Diesel Services
  • Repair Shop
  • Domestic Auto Repair
Barrett Performance
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
5.0
(5 Reviews)

  • Auto Repair
  • Car Maintenance
  • Oil Change
Gear Heads Garage
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
5.0
(137 Reviews)

  • Auto Repair
  • Auto Maintenance
  • Tires
Next Level Automotive
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
5.0
(237 Reviews)

  • Auto Maintenance
  • Oil Change
  • Repair Shop
Abee's Hi Tech Auto Service
Overall Rating 4.9/5Overall Rating 4.9/5Overall Rating 4.9/5Overall Rating 4.9/5Overall Rating 4.9/5
4.9
(120 Reviews)

  • Auto Repair
  • Oil Change
  • Tires
Oakland Tire & Service Center LLC
Overall Rating 4.9/5Overall Rating 4.9/5Overall Rating 4.9/5Overall Rating 4.9/5Overall Rating 4.9/5
4.9
(1315 Reviews)

  • Auto Repair
  • Repair Shop
  • Smog
R & R Automotive And Marine
Overall Rating 4.9/5Overall Rating 4.9/5Overall Rating 4.9/5Overall Rating 4.9/5Overall Rating 4.9/5
4.9
(597 Reviews)
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
5.0
(1) ReScores

  • Auto Repair
  • European Auto Repair
  • Auto Maintenance
Huber's Auto Group Inc
Overall Rating 4.9/5Overall Rating 4.9/5Overall Rating 4.9/5Overall Rating 4.9/5Overall Rating 4.9/5
4.9
(780 Reviews)
Overall Rating 3.3/5Overall Rating 3.3/5Overall Rating 3.3/5Overall Rating 3.3/5Overall Rating 3.3/5
3.3
(3) ReScores