Business Solutions

2009 Chevrolet HHR

Average Score

Overall Rating 4.4/5Overall Rating 4.4/5Overall Rating 4.4/5Overall Rating 4.4/5Overall Rating 4.4/5
4.4
(25 Reviews)
Category Summary
(Avg. out of 10)
    Value
  • Features
  • Build Quality
  • Fun
  • Reliability
  • Performance
  • Exterior
  • Comfort
  • Interior
  • Styling

Reviews

Overall Rating 4.4/5Overall Rating 4.4/5Overall Rating 4.4/5Overall Rating 4.4/5Overall Rating 4.4/5
4.4
(25 Reviews)

BE
Bob E.
2009 Chevrolet HHR
verified customer Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
05/17/2022
Verified Review

Great car

At 13 years it has a few issues, but what car don't. Pulls my 13 ft. Scamp easy. ( Right at the 1000 lb. limit). Drove through Colorado mountains, and only needed the truck lane twice. Only issue is color, can't have everything when you buy used.
    Value
  • Build Quality
  • Reliability
  • Exterior
  • Interior
  • Features
  • Fun
  • Performance
  • Comfort
  • Styling

PQ
PAUL Q.
2009 Chevrolet HHR
verified customer Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
09/03/2021
Verified Review

awesome car

no major malfunctions, good car, made in mexico, worked well for a car pool of 5 large guys and all their stuff, good purchase, had it from new, at 170K, a starter, battery, and 2 serpentine belts, is all i have had to do...
    Value
  • Build Quality
  • Reliability
  • Exterior
  • Interior
  • Features
  • Fun
  • Performance
  • Comfort
  • Styling

JM
gravatar
Joseph M.
2009 Chevrolet HHR
verified customer Verified Owner
Overall Rating 1.0/5Overall Rating 1.0/5Overall Rating 1.0/5Overall Rating 1.0/5Overall Rating 1.0/5
08/19/2021
Verified Review

Worst care ever

Worst care ever for maintenance , very expensive to fix . Every time I took it in for oil change there was something else wrong, shocks, springs windows up and down button clutch and fly wheel and now shifter needs parts that are no longer made
    Value
  • Build Quality
  • Reliability
  • Exterior
  • Interior
  • Features
  • Fun
  • Performance
  • Comfort
  • Styling

DP
gravatar
Diana P.
2009 Chevrolet HHR
verified customer Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
07/01/2021
Verified Review

2009 HHR

Bought my vehicle, 2009 HHR, brand new in July 2009. It’s got over 118,000 miles and just had its first tuneup. I finally got that done because my gas mileage had dropped off significantly. I also had just discovered a fuel line leak so that got replaced. I now am getting gas mileage similar to when it was new so I’m happy!!
    Value
  • Build Quality
  • Reliability
  • Exterior
  • Interior
  • Features
  • Fun
  • Performance
  • Comfort
  • Styling

JS
gravatar
Joanne S.
2009 Chevrolet HHR
verified customer Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
06/29/2021
Verified Review

I drive this HHR and an Equinox...............and love both of them.

The HHR is a comfortable driving car. I bought it new and it has been used by my daughter and two grandchildren at various times. It has held up in times of need of a second car and all who have used it have been happy the way it handled.
    Value
  • Build Quality
  • Reliability
  • Exterior
  • Interior
  • Features
  • Fun
  • Performance
  • Comfort
  • Styling

CR
gravatar
CHUCK R.
2009 Chevrolet HHR
verified customer Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
03/08/2021
Verified Review

I love our HHR’s

We bought them new in 2009 and would buy another on if they still made them! One of them replaced the 2001 vehicle that “look similar”, but we had many more problems with it at a lot lower mileage. The HHR’s are a bit larger and way more accommodating.y
    Value
  • Build Quality
  • Reliability
  • Exterior
  • Interior
  • Features
  • Fun
  • Performance
  • Comfort
  • Styling

RE
gravatar
Roberta E.
2009 Chevrolet HHR
verified customer Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
06/11/2020
Verified Review

My Silver Stallion

My Silver HHR is the best car I’ve ever had. I will never give it up! It’s downright fun to drive. I’m 76, and this car is so comfortable, easy to handle, easy to get in and out, easy to see the road from the high perch. The cargo area has great hauling capacity. Everyone remarks on how much I can get in there. And it’s “healthy”....I’ve had to put very little money into repairs. I sure wish they still made ‘em so I could get a new one!,
    Value
  • Build Quality
  • Reliability
  • Exterior
  • Interior
  • Features
  • Fun
  • Performance
  • Comfort
  • Styling

HH
gravatar
Harold H.
2009 Chevrolet HHR
verified customer Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
06/11/2020
Verified Review

2009 HHR LT

Has been a very dependable vehicle. Have had very few repairs other than normal maintenace. There is over 135,000 miles on it. The only problem is that they don`t make it anymore. I have seen a lot of them over the road.
    Value
  • Build Quality
  • Reliability
  • Exterior
  • Interior
  • Features
  • Fun
  • Performance
  • Comfort
  • Styling

RA
gravatar
RUSSEL A.
2009 Chevrolet HHR
verified customer Verified Owner
Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5
04/21/2020
Verified Review

One of the better cars I've ever owned.

Has nearly every option I ever wanted. I like the Flex fuel option.. i think it had good acceleration for its class.Great gas mileage! Best gas milage of any car I have owned. Got 34 mph coming home from Bend Oregon.
    Value
  • Build Quality
  • Reliability
  • Exterior
  • Interior
  • Features
  • Fun
  • Performance
  • Comfort
  • Styling

AM
gravatar
Arlinda M.
2009 Chevrolet HHR
verified customer Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
12/05/2019
Verified Review

I own it

I have own my car for 9 years and hthis is my second HHR it is a very comfortable car for me to drive and is very good on gas. It is a Chevy need I say more. I like the fact that I can use it to haul things more than you can with a car.
    Value
  • Build Quality
  • Reliability
  • Exterior
  • Interior
  • Features
  • Fun
  • Performance
  • Comfort
  • Styling

HH
gravatar
Henry H.
2009 Chevrolet HHR
verified customer Verified Owner
Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5
11/26/2019
Verified Review

wish we hadn't bought it

First the Chevy dealer sold us a car with less than 2,000 miles on it, but failed to disclose the car had after-market security system. That activates randomly without reason and has stranded us repeatedly. The dealer refused to correct the problem. The emergency brake is too hard for my wife to activate or de-activate, unlike her Honda Civic. Warning lights flash on when no problem exists. The control panel is more difficult than the Civic's to operate. The speedometer is smaller than the Civic's and more difficult to read with a quick glance. I recently learned that if an HHR hits a raccoon, the air intake slurps the animal into the engine and stops the car almost immediately. The mechanic had 2 HHR's towed to his garage in one week due to hitting raccoons.
    Value
  • Build Quality
  • Reliability
  • Exterior
  • Interior
  • Features
  • Fun
  • Performance
  • Comfort
  • Styling

JG
gravatar
JULIO G.
2009 Chevrolet HHR
verified customer Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
10/02/2019
Verified Review

Good car for exonomical

I had not expensive problems since i bought it. If u want an economical car this is the one. Cheap in gas. Easy to park. Comfortable to drive in. Have good space to put lots of things and the back seats can go down to have morw space
    Value
  • Build Quality
  • Reliability
  • Exterior
  • Interior
  • Features
  • Fun
  • Performance
  • Comfort
  • Styling

GA
gravatar
GEORGE A.
2009 Chevrolet HHR
verified customer Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
07/30/2019
Verified Review

Love the HHR

HHR's are a great vehicle. Easy to drive and makes a nice little family car. Good for road trips and easy to take care of. Plenty of room in the back for storage. Wish they would make more of them.
    Value
  • Build Quality
  • Reliability
  • Exterior
  • Interior
  • Features
  • Fun
  • Performance
  • Comfort
  • Styling

SM
gravatar
STEVE M.
2009 Chevrolet HHR
verified customer Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
06/29/2019
Verified Review

Not enough stars

There aren't enough stars to rate how well this car has performed. With almost 200k miles driven it runs great and gas mileage is really high. This one will keep going for a while. Proud this little red will keep going.
    Value
  • Build Quality
  • Reliability
  • Exterior
  • Interior
  • Features
  • Fun
  • Performance
  • Comfort
  • Styling

NK
gravatar
Nola K.
2009 Chevrolet HHR
verified customer Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
04/12/2019
Verified Review

I absolutely love my Red HHR

My car has been very reliable and dependable since purchasing it. I value my cars service. Its drive peperformance has surpassed any expectations or doubts that I had. It is fun to drive and I love the OLD SCHOOL body. Makes me feel young.
    Value
  • Build Quality
  • Reliability
  • Exterior
  • Interior
  • Features
  • Fun
  • Performance
  • Comfort
  • Styling

SW
gravatar
SUSAN W.
2009 Chevrolet HHR
verified customer Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
01/29/2019
Verified Review

Loving it!

Love my HHR. In 9 years I've only two problems with it. Could never complain about it. I wish the battery was up front, as it in the back under the spare tire makes it difficult to get to it when it needs attention.
    Value
  • Build Quality
  • Reliability
  • Exterior
  • Interior
  • Features
  • Fun
  • Performance
  • Comfort
  • Styling

AR
gravatar
Amos R.
2009 Chevrolet HHR
verified customer Verified Owner
Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5Overall Rating 3.0/5
04/19/2018
Verified Review

2009 Chevrolet HHR

Good car to drive to and from work. The 2009 Chevrolet HHR is very depentable and is good on car. This is my first time owning a car like this. I still need more time to get use to driving a car like this....
    Value
  • Build Quality
  • Reliability
  • Exterior
  • Interior
  • Features
  • Fun
  • Performance
  • Comfort
  • Styling

PT
gravatar
Peggy T.
2009 Chevrolet HHR
verified customer Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
03/24/2018
Verified Review

Chevrolet HHR

This is our second HHR. Convenient to get in and out. Hatchback is convenient for groceries, luggage etc. Good when climbing hills; good on Freeways and Interstates. Wish they had discontinued manufacturing in 2011. Remote start is great for cooling inside before driving when our weather is HOT. Ideal for us.
    Value
  • Build Quality
  • Reliability
  • Exterior
  • Interior
  • Features
  • Fun
  • Performance
  • Comfort
  • Styling

AS
gravatar
Alan S.
2009 Chevrolet HHR
Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5
03/07/2017

Perfect size for me and two dogs in the back.

Pretty reliable vehicle . This is my second HHR, Good milage
    Value
  • Build Quality
  • Reliability
  • Exterior
  • Interior
  • Features
  • Fun
  • Performance
  • Comfort
  • Styling

EG
gravatar
ELLIOT G.
2009 Chevrolet HHR
Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5Overall Rating 4.0/5
01/07/2017

Hated the look at first loved it after

It looks like a family car but it's straight business. Great gas mileage, I barely fill up and drive about 50 miles round trip from home to work. You can transport almost anything in it cause it's technically a truck. The only thing I don't like about it is it doesn't have enough pick-up but if I had pickup I wouldn't have the great gas mileage. I
    Value
  • Build Quality
  • Reliability
  • Exterior
  • Interior
  • Features
  • Fun
  • Performance
  • Comfort
  • Styling

Displaying reviews 1 - 20 of 25 in total

Businesses Near You


  • New Car Dealer
Bill Pierre Chevrolet
Overall Rating 4.6/5Overall Rating 4.6/5Overall Rating 4.6/5Overall Rating 4.6/5Overall Rating 4.6/5
4.6
(1230 Reviews)

  • New Car Dealer
  • Used Car Dealer
  • Auto Repair
Don Wood Chevrolet Buick Cadillac
Overall Rating 4.9/5Overall Rating 4.9/5Overall Rating 4.9/5Overall Rating 4.9/5Overall Rating 4.9/5
4.9
(628 Reviews)
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
5.0
(2) ReScores


  • Diesel Services
  • Repair Shop
  • Domestic Auto Repair
Barrett Performance
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
5.0
(5 Reviews)

  • Auto Repair
  • Car Maintenance
  • Oil Change
Gear Heads Garage
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
5.0
(137 Reviews)

  • Auto Repair
  • Auto Maintenance
  • Tires
Next Level Automotive
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
5.0
(237 Reviews)

  • Auto Maintenance
  • Oil Change
  • Repair Shop
Abee's Hi Tech Auto Service
Overall Rating 4.9/5Overall Rating 4.9/5Overall Rating 4.9/5Overall Rating 4.9/5Overall Rating 4.9/5
4.9
(120 Reviews)

  • Auto Repair
  • Oil Change
  • Tires
Oakland Tire & Service Center LLC
Overall Rating 4.9/5Overall Rating 4.9/5Overall Rating 4.9/5Overall Rating 4.9/5Overall Rating 4.9/5
4.9
(1315 Reviews)

  • Auto Repair
  • Repair Shop
  • Smog
R & R Automotive And Marine
Overall Rating 4.9/5Overall Rating 4.9/5Overall Rating 4.9/5Overall Rating 4.9/5Overall Rating 4.9/5
4.9
(597 Reviews)
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
5.0
(1) ReScores

  • Auto Repair
  • European Auto Repair
  • Auto Maintenance
Huber's Auto Group Inc
Overall Rating 4.9/5Overall Rating 4.9/5Overall Rating 4.9/5Overall Rating 4.9/5Overall Rating 4.9/5
4.9
(780 Reviews)
Overall Rating 3.3/5Overall Rating 3.3/5Overall Rating 3.3/5Overall Rating 3.3/5Overall Rating 3.3/5
3.3
(3) ReScores