2019
Hyundai
Kona

Overall Rating 4.8/5Overall Rating 4.8/5Overall Rating 4.8/5Overall Rating 4.8/5Overall Rating 4.8/5
4.8
(984 Reviews)
Latest review about 7 hours ago
Category Summary (Avg. out of 10)
  • Value
  • Features
  • Build Quality
  • Fun
  • Reliability
  • Performance
  • Exterior
  • Comfort
  • Interior
  • Styling

MJ
MARSHALL J.
2019 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
06/06/2020
Kona
Researched this car more than any other we've purchased. It has proven to be the best we ever bought! AWD works seamless, our main reason for purchasing was AWD, and the overall quality is better than all its competitors, regardless of price. We will be handing this down to our daughter next year and have complete faith it will serve her for years. And yes, we'll be buying another Hyundai.

Pros
Excellent commuter vehicle. Good room for 4 adults. Seamless AWD. Goes through our Michigan winters with ease.

Cons
None found.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

AP
ANGELA P.
2019 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
06/06/2020
Love it
I bought this car based on performance and looks. I originally owned a Lancer which I loved, but it was getting older and I wanted a new vehicle. My Kona turbo handles well. It gets up to speed very quickly, and handles quick turns very responsively. I like the features such as car connect with phone, Bluetooth, hands free, cruise control, keyless entry and push to start (Remote start also), back up camera, and the leather interior. They have many finance options which I was happy with, and a very good warranty ( I went with lifetime) . Overall I am very happy with this purchase.

Pros
Easy to drive, compact, cute car.

Cons
LED Headlights are so bright I don’t have to use the brights at all. Other drivers often think I have the brights on and flash me.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

MS
Mary S.
2019 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
06/05/2020
Excellent
excellent service and great car, Donna was so pleasant along with the other staff, we really enjoyed our sales person, he knew how much to say and was effective and knowledgeable about the product, Mr Witley, we were very good experience, we will recommend this dealership..thank you very much 😊

Pros
excellent riding car..

Cons
the price was a little more than expected for me...

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

NP
Nita P.
2019 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
06/05/2020
The perfect vehicle
Every single thing about our new Kona is great! We love it! My daughter drove it and now plans to buy a Kona as her next vehicle. I would only recommend that a navigation feature be on every Kona. Thank you! Brian Price. Author

Pros
Heated seats, sound system, styling, quiet ride, turbo power!

Cons
Didn't have the navigation feature

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

CB
CECILIA B.
2019 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
06/04/2020
KONA
totally LOVE my KONA. The only thing it doesn't have, which would make it absolutely perfect, would be a rear hatch that was electric...not totally manual. xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx

Pros
everything

Cons
manual rear hatch...but not a deal breaker

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

LS
LOTTIE S.
2019 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
06/04/2020
Nice Car
love the kona. It is sporty, and fun to drive. It is roomy for a small car. It has plenty of clearance, and great gas mileage to boot. I love the awesome colors it is available in. I do wish it came with tinted windows

Pros
Stands out, and fun to drive

Cons
stereo sub par, and needs to come standard with window tint

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

EH
ETHEL H.
2019 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
06/04/2020
Love my Kona
I have zero complaints about my Kona. It's perfect for me. This vehicle handles really well in mountainous regions, is great on gas and easy to maneuver. The basic technology is so much more than average.
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

MK
Michael K.
2019 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
06/04/2020
2019 Kona
Awesome! Super fun to drive. Excellent fuel mileage. Sporty. Agile. We've owned three Hyundai's and loved them all, currently still own two. Recommend the Kona to anyone looking for compact, AWD, sporty, quick, with super fuel economy.

Pros
Super fun to drive, awesome fuel mileage.

Cons
stereo sound level

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

SK
SUSAN K.
2019 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
06/03/2020
High quality, low price
I replaced a Tucson. Didn’t need the extra space so I downsized to the Kona Love this car. I’ve been very pleased with this choice vehicle and the past 3 I leased from this dealership I’ll be back in 2 years again when this lease is up.

Pros
Love it

Cons
None

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

HS
HENRY S.
2019 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
06/02/2020
Exceeds expectations
This little puppy comes loaded. I didn't have to add anything to it. AWD, blind spot, backup camera and alert, land keep assist were all standard. With all of the standard equipment there is no need to add any options. This is a great deal.

Pros
Perfect little SUV.

Cons
Very poor, dangerous factory tires. The seat bottoms are not comfortable.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

EG
Eiran G.
2019 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
06/02/2020
Ironman version
Just the right size for my needs, gorgeous, head-turning and smile generating colour combination and overall design. The drive is smooth, handles well in snow and rain. For the "special" it is lacking some features such as steering wheel heater, auto liftback door, sunroof. The passenger seat is a bit low and restricted, but in my case hardly used. Great runaround vehicle. Good mileage.

Pros
size. an ~SUV but small

Cons
lacking some features such as steering wheel heater, auto liftback door, sunroof

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

CT
CAROLYN T.
2019 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
05/31/2020
Prefer Not To Say
We initially owned a 2007 Sonata and a 2007 Entourage. The Sonata performed very well and lasted over 200,000 miles. The Entourage is still in use and have over 150,000 miles. Since then we've purchased a 2013 Sonata and have been happy with that vehicle. I took a chance on this purchase since the Kona was first introduced a year prior and so far have not had any problems.

Pros
Great gas mileage.

Cons
Seat belt sits too high between my chest and neck and I can't seem to adjust it properly.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

AP
ALFRED P.
2019 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
05/29/2020
Good car and good price
All okay, save cabin noisexxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx

Pros
Good car for the money

Cons
cabin noise

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

JM
JAMES M.
2019 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
05/29/2020
review of Kona
Checked out vehicles on line. The Kona really caught my eye. It had good safety and reliability reviews, and I had a very good experience with my previous Hyundai. I went to the dealership to check out the Kona. After a test drive, I was sold! It looks great, it handles very well, gets great gas mileage, and is overall a joy to drive. It came with standard safety features that are optional on other vehicles, and it has all the extras I could possibly want. Don't expect blazing acceleration from your Kona, but do expect a very comfortable ride in a very well designed vehicle.

Pros
Great styling, great features, great gas mileage, excellent safety features (they lowered my insurance!) Very good handling, and just an all around good looking vehicle.

Cons
Limited cargo space, and the acceleration seems a bit slow.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

RD
ROSEMARY D.
2019 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
05/28/2020
Love my Kona
Love the new safety features and the overall performance. The styling of the interior and exterior is fantastic. Just an overall great vehicle. Also the purchase price is a good value for your mlney
Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

SW
SUSAN W.
2019 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
05/28/2020
2019 Kona
I absolutely love my 2019 Hyundai Kona. I was looking for an SUV type vehicle with great gas mileage and roomy enough for my family. At the time of purchase I was driving with 3 adults, 1 child, and 1 infant including myself. Now it is just 2 adults and 1 child. Even with the 5 total in the car it was roomy. The backseat was a little tight because of an infant car seat and a child booster seat but we made it work. One adult and the infant have moved on and are no longer residence of my household so now I have extra room in my vehicle. The gas mileage is awesome as I can drive anywhere from 350-410 miles on a tank of gas.

Pros
Great gas mileage for not being a hybrid vehicle.

Cons
Front windshield has distortion through the whole windshield only noticeable while driving toward the sun.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

PG
Pamela G.
2019 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
05/28/2020
Wonderful Car
I have had my leased Kona for 15 months and I love it. It is easy to drive and has a great camera in the dashboard so that I can back up safely. The drivers seat was very easy to manipulate and I feel very comfortable and safe in my car. I love that the doors open so easily with the push of a button on my fob and I don’t have to be worrying about keys. The trunk is also a great advantage, with just a touch under the back and the trunk rises up and I can fit anything I want in there.

Pros
Ease of use, very comfortable, I feel very safe in my Kona

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

TC
THOMAS C.
2019 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
05/28/2020
Good little suv
Gas mileage is better than expected. Handles and drives well. But I do wish fog lights came standard. That would improve driving visibility. The safety measures and AWD are great. Electronics are very well done also. If you are extremely tall, the cockpit may be a little small for you.

Pros
Fuel efficient and has AWD. Important in winter. Runs smoothly.

Cons
No standard fog lights. Seats are a bit hard. Could definitely use a little more padding. I would give up the heated seats for better padding.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

EL
ELISE L.
2019 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
05/28/2020
Great Car Overall
This car has served me well in all weather, for short or long trips, and with one person or four. I love my color, the interior and exterior design, the sound quality of music, and the low interior sound from the engine.

Pros
Interior design, exterior design, Bluetooth, sound quality, mileage.

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling

MK
Michelle K.
2019 Hyundai Kona
Verified Owner
Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5Overall Rating 5.0/5
05/28/2020
Kona Love
Very nice vehicle. Love all the security features. Very roomy too. Only problem is my CarPlay disconnects at random. Be in the middle of using navigation and it just disconnects, or be in the middle of my favorite song and disconnects. Has to pull over on multiple occasions to disconnect Bluetooth to use the navigation on my phone. 😔 but also 😀

Pros
Smooth ride easy to handle and small enough to fit everywhere

Cons
CarPlay does not stay connected

Value
Build Quality
Reliability
Exterior
Interior
Features
Fun
Performance
Comfort
Styling
Displaying reviews 1 - 20 of 984 in total